Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Jen Jen,

Just saw your earlier qn abt helpers. MM has a operations manager who will guide you. For the music, they have a technician. You must still allocate duties to your helpers tho like receptionists etc.

The op mgr briefed my hubby and helpers abt what to do. He will also help with with your march-in, tell you what to do on the stage, how to pop the champagne and so on.

Hi Luzon888,

I dun know how to show you the decor leh. Some of my wedding pics are ready so you may want to view them at http://photos.yahoo.com/splendour_crystals

Hi Dap,

I placed the vase at the foyer. I did contemplate putting it in the ballroom but the Les Oiseaux is not very big so I changed my mind. My guest cards were distributed at the reception to each guest. If you are interested to purchase from me, pls contact me at [email protected]
Alternatively, you could make do with printed ones with you can do easily with a printer.

Hope I din miss out qns. If I did, just let me know

hey bluebell... thanx for the advices, so I need to arrange for receptionists (how many?), music, help photographer, emcee, who else?

saw ur pics leow... u look soooo pretty leh....

Hi Jen Jen,

No problem. I had 3 receptionists. Still "so mang jiao luan" :P I had 1 recept for the groom's side and 2 recept for the bride's side coz I had twice as many guests as my hubby.

I had 2 CDs, one is my march-in music and the other is the dinner music. Get your main co-ordinator to pass it to the technician. You also need to let them know which part of the song you want to start your march-in.

Can standby some ushers so that you can see which tables can be closed or shifted to join another table. This group of helpers can help you again with the table to table photo-taking.

Oh, and remember to tell your frens to go on stage for yum seng if they are not the spontaneous kind. I have been to weddings where they frens refused to go up! :P

I think that's abt all. By the way, some guests may arrive before 7pm. So your recept must get ready.

Anyway, just be pretty and happy on that day. I spent so much tim,e at the recept i missed mingling with my guests

And thanks for your compliments.

Hi BlueBell

Have seen your pixs. Those floral stands also come with candles or issit chargeable? Wanted swan or dolphin ice-carvings initially, but have change my mind after seeing your pixs. It's quite unique especially after placing flowers inside the vase.

Before I forget, are those lovely bare back gowns from Divine?

Thanks for sharing.

hi Linda/dap

thanks for telling me tat! this girl called Linda is laising with me regarding the food tasting n cards. she say gota pay for extra cards.
but i m not good at bargaining one leh...maybe tell get my hubby to tok to them!

hi Cowie
hey such a coincidence!

does tat mean we get 2 c each other?
they only confirm the venue on the actual day hor..
c if we can bump into each other loh..

Yup, Linda also told me that she will only confirm the venue on the actual day
.....Hee, okay...lets see if we bump into each other....

Cowie

*wonders if u will c this posting*
me asked Linda this morning..tat another couple also having foodtasting..n she said 'ya..2 yvonne today.." hehehe
ur room will be next to mine leh! so if u c a head 'popping by' tats me!

Hi Bluebell

Did they charge you for the stands with candles?

Anyone engage June Florist for decor? I feel quite frustrating dat we can onli engage June Florist instead of getting our own...some more they charge $500 for 4 floral stands and a simple backdrop

Pauline told me the floral decor have to be done by june florist, and they charge for dat, even for the 4 stands along the aisle, and the drape for the back drop.
There isn't much decor provided by MM, dats why i am tinking of including some flowers...even if i do decor without touching their fixtures also cannot find my own florist....
JenJen, can you let me know wat decor they provide which is FOC? issit coz mine is poolside and they charge extra???

hi girls

juz came back from my foodtasting...we were served by Karen. she's very friendly..can chat with my parents n in-laws.

well, we r pleased with the dishes..
for cold dish, we chose the one with big prawn n gosh..the prawn is really v big!
the butter n garlic sauce prawns (big prawns 2) also nice..in fact, i like all of the dishes! hehehe...esp. love the dessert..mango sago with ice cream!! *slurp* very nice ah!
:P````

oh yes..i met Cowie..
hey Cowie, thks for your offer to let us sample the mee-sua..but we were too full to try! heheheh

did u c the dolphin ice carving? i find tat it looks more like a fish than dolphin leh...or perhaps the ice already melted??
think i'll b choosing the vase instead.

anyway, hope u enjoyed ur foodtasting as much as we did.

Nice to be able to see you in person. Yup, overall no complains about the food.
But hubby and myself thought the mee-sua not very fantastic. So, we are thinking of changing it to the lotus leaf rice instead
For cold dish, ours is different. We took the suckling pig combi one. Very nice also

Yah, I agree the dolphins dun really look like dolphins
. Seriously thinking of using vases also

I will be having my dinner at MM too this coming NOv. Found a lot of info from the messages posted here. I have a few question.

1) Since my wed is in Nov (4th Nov in fact) when would MM be contacting me? my coordinator is Beng Khoon. should i call him?

2) I booked a min of 35 tables. How many wedding cards will they provide for me? Linda got almost 100 cards extra for free. how many extra should we ask for to play safe.

3) Do we need to pay any more deposit prior to the dinner?

4)some of u girls asked for specific kind of flowers, if i dun know what kind of flowers i want, will the staff at MM be able to advise me?

5) Mango sago and ice cream ? is that a new dessert? good to hear so many good feedback about MM.

cheers,
starfruit

Hi Starfruit,

1) They will keep you inform when you have to go down. In fact Pauline called me to go down to discuss the fianl details of the wedding. I totally forgotten abt it.

2) They will give you a certain % of the minimum guranteed. I think it is 70% of the 35 tables. U can asked for more. I think they give it to me cos I have more commanding power at 55 tables. Most hotels do so. I still have some at home but no inserts. If you want, let me know. If not then I will return to them liao.

3) Nope. No more deposit after after you check out.

4) I didn't even see the flowers I choose...I didn't choose actually, only told them I dun like Gebbarras..(the sunflower like flower..) They theme it for me.

5) Sorry, can't help on this. I had the red bean with rice balls. I love that!

Happy wedding!

Hi Linda,

How come u have extra cards but no inserts? I dun mind taking them over from you. Can i ask if its the traditional ones or the white one?
and i heard that MM will provide inserts for us and we need to send these inserts for printing? so what if we did not print enough inserts?

starfruit

Hi Linda, starfruit's wedding one week before mine but how come I haven't got call yet?? do we have to confirm with them the no of tables when we go and pick up the cards?? I thot the no was roughly specified on the initial contract?? wat if the table no is lesser than wat is stated on the contract?? pls advice..

Hi Star fruit,
Cos I printed the inserts myself so some were smudged and printed wrongly... If you are doing it outside, then better make sure to have enuff, if not very trouble to go MM then to printers to print. And at the printers, there is always minimum qty....so your next batch of inserts might be more expensive. If you want my cards, please contact me at [email protected]

Hi jenjen,
Maybe you shld try calling them. They have a list for you to fax back to them one week prior to the dinner with regards to VIP card numbers, no. of muslim/ vegetarian tables, total no. of tables, etc.... So not to worry abt the no. of tables now. I think there is a minimum guaranteed no. of tables listed in my contract....which is 55. So as long as I have at least 55, okie liao.

BTW, MM sent me 2 VIP cards for 15% off dinning at MM's restaurants.
SO nice of them. I think every couple gets one.

i juz called pauline and she said i need to pay $500 for the 4 flower stands along the aisle and back drop, i told her dat i heard some who had their weddings already no need to pay for the decor but she said it is impossible

can someone help me on whether you paid for the these items?? Tks!

Hi Bluebell and starfruit, can i email u for your details eg wedding date/name so that i can check wif pauline? i ask her issit coz the difference in number of tables or my venue is poolside but she said all packages need to pay the $500....from wat i gather here, seems like i am the onli one who need to pay

u can also email me at [email protected]

tkss!

I have just collected my cards on Monday. My wedding date is end of Nov. I didn't call MM but a girl, named Linda, called us to collect. My hubby also finds it too early as we have not decided on the guest list.

I have a question which I need help. As we are planning to print our inserts ourselves, may I know how do the Chinese write 'only son' and 'only daughter' in the wedding cards??? (PS: We are not the only child in our families)

Thanks in advance!!!

Cher

Hi Jowie

I called Beng Khoon just. May I check if your wedding is at the pool side? Beng Khoon said pool side wedding and ballroom banquet below 20 tables will have to pay the flower stands and decor. hope it helps.

Hi dap

mine is poolside and 15 tables, but pauline told me all packages must pay for the stands, irregardless of the number of tables and venue...i will check wif her again, tks

Hi bluebell

Will drop u an email shortly, tks

Hi Jowie,

My wedding is Nov 4. I have a min of 35 tables. The flower aisle comes with my package i think. let me know if you need more infomation.

Hi Cher,
I had the same problem as you also when Linda called to say my cards were ready for collection. Just give a rough estimate. I asked my parents and in-laws to tell us how many tables each of them need, and just add to the number which my hubby and myself need. Can confirm the final number of tables later on

As for the wordings of the card, try "ai nu" for only daughter and "ai zi" for only son.

Hi gals, MM called me oredi too... dunno how many to tell them coz they say they only give cards to 70% of the guaranteed no. of tables... so little only meh??

juz called pauline and she said the charges for flower stands apply to poolside and not ballroom...sigh...she said mayb i heard wrongly or she misrepresented to me...moz probably not going to pay the $500 liao

tink my wedding is the 1st among all here, but they haven't call me for the cards yet...

Hi JenJen

At first i also think 70% of no of tables is too little but i think you dun need too many as there are families where you only sent one invitation card to each one. so that helps to reduce the no of cards needed.

Hi gals!!

I've run through the list:

1) Sunny 23/09/2001 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
2) Bluebell 26/05/2002 (Les Oiseaux) --> Over
3) Linda 10/06/2002 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
4) Lily 30/06/2002 (?) --> Over
5) Mo 07/07/2002 (?) --> Over
6) Cowie 15/09/2002 (?)
7) Reebok 21/09/2002 (?)
8) Yvonne 24/09/2002 (?)
9) Jowie 03/11/2002 (Poolside)
10) Starfruit 04/11/2002 (?)
11) JenJen 10/11/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
12) Luzon888 20/11/2002 (?)
13) Adeline 15/12/2002 (?)
14) Jasmine 23/12/2002 (?)
15) Dap 16/01/2003 (?)

Did I miss out anyone? Please help me by filling up the locations of ur banquets...

Linda is Pauline's assistant. Most times, if you need anything, you will have to get back to pauline before she can tell you. So look for Pauline directly.

Cher
I heard it is Wu4 Na (son) and Wu4 nu (daughter). The wu4 is written with a wu3 (the chinese character number 5) and a Kou3 (mouth) underneath.

Hi hi

Linda called me for the invite cards, i also dunno how mani i wan leh, guests list haven't confirm yet coz FH going to quit job, mayb guest list have to change a bit

JenJen, beri nice of u to compile the list, tks! i used to be at the bottom of the list, now promote to middle liao hehee

Wow, MM had already called those weddings in Nov to collect their invitation cards?

It seems a bit too early for me leh. I guess they will be calling me soon since mine is on 23/12?

Jen Jen,

My location is at Les Oiseaux

Jasmine, I just got the call not long ago and mine's more than a month before urs... so maybe they'll call u one month later or something... dun worry...

btw, gals, I'm just waiting for more of u gals to reply me on the venue first before completing the list... so hurry!!

Hi JenJen

as usual i'm always the last in the list;) Next time also dun know who to ask for advice after you gals finish off your wedding.

Mine will be in the grand ballroom.

Hi JenJen,
Mine will be at the Grand Ballroom. Mo's over, but hers was at the Grand Ballroom also. Thank you so much for helping to recompile the list again

More updates needed...
Last position:

5) Mo 07/07/2002 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
6) Cowie 15/09/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
7) Reebok 21/09/2002 (?)
8) Yvonne 24/09/2002 (?)
12) Luzon888 20/11/2002 (?)
14) Jasmine 23/12/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
15) Dap 16/01/2003 (Grand Ballroom)

Dap, you can ask ALL of us... I'm sure we'll still be visiting the forum regularly...

Hi Cowie

looks like u r next!

btw, i will be collecting my cards next Mon.
oh one more thing..i m getting Choon Huat for my actual day photography leh..
noted from the Sep bride list tat u also using him rite??

ha..then can get some feedback from u liao..hehehe

JenJen
thks for updating the list...mine will be at the grand ballroom.
MM called to ask u to get the cards alreadi? hmm..tats fast.
but i think its alright if u dun collect so soon..maybe 3 mths b4 ur date can also rite?
actually no need so many cards..coz only 1 card for say family of 4/5 etc.

Yup, I am engaging Choon Huat. Okie, do remind me to give you feedback after my wedding if I forget yah?

Gosh, I am next on the list yet I am just so unprepared!! Have not even thought of the actual day schedule and stuff like that!...

Calling ALL Marina Mandarin brides... Last position:

5) Mo 07/07/2002 (Grand Ballroom) --> Over
6) Cowie 15/09/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
7) Reebok 21/09/2002 (?)
8) Yvonne 24/09/2002 (Grand Ballroom)
12) Luzon888 20/11/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
14) Jasmine 23/12/2002 (Les Oiseaux)
15) Dap 16/01/2003 (Grand Ballroom)

Yvonne, yup, got the call... but think I need to give them a call sometime next week to confirm the no of tables to base the no of cards on...

Cowie, lucky the list came up... time for u to panic coz u're up next!! I just compiled my guo da li list... actual day program and guest list will be next...

Hi JenJen,
Thanks for "pressurising" me to start doing something!!....
Okay, okay, will start doing my schedule......where's my pen and paper....
....*panick panick*

One question, as i cannot confirm the table. I confirm 35 with them and now it seems like it might extend to 45. So should i confirm 41 with MM and get the crads base on this figure?? I am soo stressed by this guest list thingly.

For all brides who already ahd their dinner : do u see a lot of changes to teh geust list as the dates draw nearer? and what percentage of the guest will reject or not turn up for the wedding. Pls help.