Marina Mandarin Singapore

when is ur AD?

if AD in 2005, weekend sat is 838 and weekend fri/sun is 808. if AD in 2006, (if i remember) weekend sat is 908 and weekend fri/sun is 888? correct me if i am wrong.

for min table, are u saying the grand ballroom? grand ballroom min is 38/40 for weekend. for the vanda ballroom is min 20.

Hi cp,

Glad to have some compliments here. heheee
Think all the pple read those post will not consider MM. But I always think that u need to experience it urself. Go down to check it out with the coordinator. :P Rite?

Hi S,

You are rite. It is 908 for sat/PH & 888 for fri/ sun lor... So when's ur AD?

hi tweetytwee,

Mine is Nov this yr. how abt u?

I think the weddings held this yr are not fully reno and deco is not fully done yet. If want to see the fully done up MM have to wait till next yr. Now even the swimming pool also not yet done. table cloth, etc. not yet changed.

Hi, I have also signed up wif MM Vanda Ballroom for 2006. Greatest draw was the food quality. Hope tt they maintain the std.

Was initially quite apprehensive cos of the low ceiling. Was expecting a major upgrading... But turned out quite alrite in tambourina's photos. I hope mine will B too.

Now after seeing so many comments, I am oso a bit scared of the service level and quality. Seems like the florist is oso not very professional in the decor. Maybe need to consider hiring my own florist.

hello SG & K, agree with you that the flowers by the florist weren't very professional based on what I saw last Sat. Maybe the coordinator should stress on the importance of having fresh flowers to the florist and help the couple to check on that day. If such details were not overlooked, I am sure that it will turn out to be much better.

I am not trying to put down anyone but would like to offer some constructive suggestions to MM here. For the comments by Jovia|Ger earlier on about her wedding banquet, suggestions would be for the coordinator to brief the couple much earlier on rather than at 7+ when the guests were already strolling in as well as take note of the quality of the food and service by the waiters.

Hopefully, they will take note of these and make an effort to improve. I am sure that it will be a more pleasant experience with you all next year. With the price we are paying next year, we all hope that it will be match our expectations.

i just went down to MM to take a look this afternoon. the vanda ballroom, not much changes. i feel it's quite small due to the odd room shape. i believe if there's 25 tables or more, it will be rather cramped. the ceiling is low and march-in will be quite short. food tasting is not FOC.

i heard tt the poolside area reno will be completed end of the month. but tink now you can go and take a look. i am still contemplating about signing up with MM. honestly the package not tt attractive/ competitive despite there's a few good hotels around.

SG & K, think the florist is not in-house...i rmbr its J*** Florist. who's your co-ordinator?

how's the food? any comments? anyone?

I went to attend my friend's wedding at the Level 1 Ballroom recently. Food was quite good. Just noted a few points as follows:
- The 1st dish was quite interesting as they had the waiters perform a little dance. Hahahaha... Quite innovative. I'm not sure whether other hotels have such.
- Carpet kept creasing and someone tripped and knocked down 1 of the pedestal (iz tt how it's spelled?). Maybe should consider tambourina's example and not have any carpets.
- Bubbles may fly into the drinks and onto the plates of guests seated near the entrance during the march-in. Can't think of any solution.

An additional recommendation I have is that maybe MM should consider installing a chandelier in the Vanda Ballroom. Would make the room look more classy. Think they spent more effort on the 1st level ballroom rather than Vanda Ballroom. Too bad I don't have enough guests to book the 1st level ballroom.

In addition, I think I quite worried abt the cheena pix tt was mentioned sometime back. Have not really seen it so no further comments.

Hi Janet,

Food-tasting is not FOC. But for e packages, think that we only need to pay 50%. But I guess tt is e confidence MM has in its food.
Out of curiosity, Y e mention of poolside area? U intending to hold ur solemnisation there?

Florist is J*** Florist. I was actually looking 4ward to the Eden theme for 2006. However, given tt Eden theme consists of more plants, if not fresh then wun look nice.
Think have to make a trip down when they have e Eden theme to take a look b4 deciding whether to go along wif the florist. Hopefully, MM has conveyed tomomi's feedback to the florist.

I dunno whether to reveal my co-ordinator here in e thread. But overall, I think we could sort of "click" when we were liaising for the hotel booking. I have also been sending feedback to her. I have another friend's wedding at Vanda Ballroom to attend in December. Maybe can feedback to her more. Hahahaha...

Hi S,

Mine is feb06. My coordinator said by end Oct, the swimming pool will be ready leh.

They will try to finished everything by then ready for the bridal show lor. :P

Hi SG & K,

My coordinator did tld me about a child trip and hit the flower stand and the candle lights drop on the child. And the parents are very angry about this and left the dinner leh.

So my coordinator asked me not to put the red carpet lor cos they already have new and nice one in placed. But if I insist, it is up to me.

Before I signed up with MM, they have already told me that there will not be much changes to Vanda Ballroom. They will only concentrate on the Main Ballroom lor. :P

My coordinator also tell me that the Eden theme is not new. It is already in place when the hotel is not even reno leh. It is a theme which blends with the deco, carpets and the liliac seat cover is to match as well. :P

Me also can click very well with my coordinator leh.... He is a very nice person lor. Patient with me cos I told him it is once in a lifetime and I keep calling him and ask him this & that. hehee
So far, my experience with MM is great! But got to wait till my AD lor. :P

So far, alot of praises for their food lor. But recently, heard some which are not good leh. Food wise, it is very individual lor. As long as it is not too bad can liao. heheee

Hi tweetytwee,

Did U book Vanda Ballroom or e 1st floor one?

Eden theme not new???!!! My co-ordinator told me e florist still experimenting leh... Dun tell me I kena conned... Hohohoho...

I not yet seen e Eden theme yet. So not sure how it'll turn out. Hope it is as romantic as e candles theme.

Juz out of curiosity, wat plans U have for e swimming pool? Suddenly got ppl asking abt swimming pool? Can incorporate anything there? Hiak hiak...

Hi SG&K
The waiters did a little dance? Hahaha ... must be quite amusing ... so what kind of dance with what music? Did it look cheesy? :p

Hi SG & K & all gals,

the reason i asked about the swimming pool is because i m thinking of holding my solmnization there before my banquet starts. hence i was able to go up and take a look. but not FOC...got rental fee...i hv yet to know the price.

i think MM really very confident about pple signing up with them hence not so much perks lor...and hence also no food tasting.

my co-ordinator very nice lady too...

Hi SG & K,

Me booked the main ballroom. The Eden theme, my coordinator tell me not new one leh. Just that they did not emphasis on it only. But hor, I cant really rem what I saw in the last wedding show liao. Got to wait for this Oct and check it out myself. :P

Ohh... Me just want to see the swimming pool and see if I can take any pix there that's all. :P I will be having my solemnization on my AD as well. But will be using the side room lor. Anyone have any experience on this? Do you need any emcee to say anything? :P Really got no idea leh.

SG&K, you can asked them to throw it in for you. Just asked them lor. :P

Perhaps they will have more perks at their wedding show? Did any gals check it out? :P

hello SG & K and Janet, the package states that the food tasting would be at 50% but you can negotiate that to be complimentary. It is definitely negotiable but all up to your coordinator, as on how strict or easy-going he/she is.

that's good, SG & K! I thought the perks are quite standard, what else can you afford to give up and exchange for it?

Hi jy,

Ohh, thats bad leh.
It is not weird leh. Me been to their last wedding show last time, also like that one. Intercon also like this. Think it is very common nowadays.

Me quite enjoyed it. Dun need to walk around or stand to eat lor. Can comfortably sit down to enjoy.

Hi jy,

The food is nice. I think their chef have been with them for very long liao lor. But hor, normally during food tasting, the food will be good. But during dinner, it will be mass production, so expectation cant be that high lor.

Nowadays me went to Wedding dinner, even at restarunts where pple said food is nice nice. In the end, it turn out also so so. My sis wedding is an example lor. When go for food tasting, I think the food is nice but wedding nite, not nice at all. Standard drop.

And food wise is very individual. Some may find it nice, some dun.
Overall, I think the food at MM is nice lor cos when I attend the last wedding show, the food served was cold, but still I dun think it is very worst off. But I did feedback to my coordinator, and he mentioned that the event started late.

So I think we need to tell them our expectation and how we want the food to be like as well.

my FH went for a wedding dinner last month at Marina Mandarin. He said the Yam Paste not very nice. Any comments from brides here?
If not very nice, I might choose other desserts.

I just attended a dinner last friday at vanda.

From service viewpoint, there are alot of part-timers that night. While they are generally ok i wont rate the service as very good. (3/5)

From ballroom perspective, i think the setup is cosy for 28 tables.

But i got the feeling that the crew are still getting used to the new lighting and audio controls. When music should be played, it wasn't played on time and the volume wasn't consistent.

The spot lights also kept changing colours and intensity. I could see the guests at tables who are being shone at kept pointing to the lighting distraction.

I personally find the food portion decrease towards the end of the banquet. but it could be intentional to prevent wastage, this i am not too sure lah. Food presentation also not too fantastic but i must say the food taste <font color="ff6000">good</font>

(Hi Xynn, our table find the yam paste ok, in fact we finished everything but i was surprised that instead of ginko nuts it was sweet corns that were used)

Maybe because vanda ballroom has rather low ceiling, so the bubble effect for the couple's walk-in did not really have much of an effect. The bubbles all cluttered ard the entrance and were generally around the 1st one-third of the ballroom.

Hopefully by the time it reaches our banquets they would have already improved and sort out the kinks.

hi tweetytwee,

i guess food is very subjective...i think during food tasting you are the only table..so definitely nicer..when mass produce..standard may drop...can only cross fingers...

Hi LHT,

Thanks for the feedback. VEry helpful to us when we talk to our coordinator leh.

Hi jy,

Ya lor. So just keep our fingers crossed but must bring across to them that we want good service &amp; good food.

Hi tcflabby,

Wow! Your review is very detailed.

I agree with you on the lighting thing. Same when I went for the wedding at the 1st storey ballroom.

Vanda Ballroom low ceiling is a problem. Haizzz...

Hi cottoncandy,

sure we can meet lah... wat time start ah?? 2pm? want to go punctual or go late? if go late then meet 2pm.. if want punctual, meet 1.45pm at MM lobby. How is it? I think chop a good place or not also nvm lah.. cos on stage will be showing all the gowns only. :P U still want to see or not?

Hi S &amp; Cottoncandy,

Me also going leh.
But me only drop by to see see only ba.

Just want to check out the deco and bridal suite lor.

Hi vinmei
you have the tickets to the show or just passing by to see see look look? If ok for us to just drop by and check out the ballroom deco and bridal suite, I am thinking of doing that, too. :p

hi tweetywee,

we had checked with our coordinator previously. She say u can't see the deco and bridal suite if u dun have the tix cos they will block. only ppl with tix then can see...

cottoncandy,
is this wat ur coordinator told u too?

Thanks S for letting us know ... at least we won't be making a wasted trip.
maybe we shall attend the next one nearer to our date.

Hi S,
then we can meet at 1.45pm at the lobby mah.haha.
Hi tweetywee,
ya,wat S say is right ,thats wat my co-ordinator told me.if dont have tickets,u cant go.Cause they will block it,thats the reason i bought the tickets.so ex manzz this year.

hi elcy,

u're welcome. I just tell wat i know. then u won't make a wasted trip if u are not happen to pass there.

hi cottoncandy,

see u there at 1.45pm then. This yr price really very ex leh.. i actually intended to pass by without the tix to see the suite and the theme since it is a new one. THen can see wether can be used for my wedding... since need tix to go, then we buy lor.. so ex leh... so the food better be nice. if not like waste the tix.

I have 18 bottles of Red wine for sale. Bought extra for my wedding which was just over on the 23rd Oct 2005.

Details:

Kangaroo Ridge Shiraz 2003

Original price per bottle:S$22
Selling at only:S$16 per bottle

do email me at [email protected] or 91180976 for the necessary arrangements.

Hiya, anyong made it to the wedding show on Saturday? I had to miss it cos I got something on that day. Anyone took any pix of the new theme? I am eager to see it.

Hi S,

Me did not go down to take alook cos I was tied down with my contractor.

So how was the show? Did u gals take any pics? Me want to see leh....

I will be having my PS this week. So very busy leh. Want to rest well also. Will be on leave after today liao.... Yeah... :P

hi tweetywee,

The wedding show ok... i go there main thing is for food and theme. other details didn't go and pay attention.

food wise, not very fantastic but i like hte chef joe crispy chicken. i didn't take any pic. cottoncandy, did u take any pic?

i went to the wedding show too, also mainly for food &amp; theme. agreed with S that food was so-so. crispy chicken &amp; shark's fin were good. The red bean cream with dumpling was diluted &amp; not nice.

took some pictures of the vip tables &amp; a video of vanda ballroom. let me know if you want.

hello gals!

Need to ask those of you who had attended the wedding show last Sat, what were the perks that were mentioned apart from the bottles of wine advertised for weekday tables? Were there any discount or promotion for weekend tables?

i attend the show is cause want to see the theme n eat the food too.haha.
well,food is ok.i like the mee sua n chicken only.Dont like the red bean n prawns.The prawn so small compare with Oats prawn.
Sorry,i didnt take any pixs.

Just some comments on the food. I had my wedding @marina mandarin vanda ballroom 1 week ago. Basically, everybody give a thumbs up on the food especially the mee sua, oats prawn, herbal chicken &amp; mango ice-cream (which is their signature desert I heard).

I had the food tasting before my AD with my aunt (who's pretty fussy eater) &amp; she found that the AD dinner was much better than the food tasting! Maybe is becoz of the comments we wrote during the food tasting which helps them to take note.

Was quite disappointed with the bridal suite though, is just a combination of two rooms into one with a door adjoining with each other. Don't think they did anything to the bridal suite.

I've left 18 bottles of australian red wines (Brand: Kangaroo Ridge Shiraz 2003). Anybody interested, please email me at [email protected]