Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Tweety,
I am thinking of it too.kekeke.
but dont knoe need to take permission anot as well.And on AD,think Photographer will take a few pix for us.
So are u going to do it ? I cant decide yet

Hi Cottoncandy,

I think we would need to inform MM before going down for PS lor. I did asked them on this before lor.

Actually, me is waiting for their place to be fully renovated lor. I want to see how nice their swimming pool and bridal suite is lor. :P
Then I will decide lor. :P Taking Photos at MM can be incorporated into our Wedding Album as well lor. :P

Me also have not decide yet. By the way, are you going for their Bridal Show? :P

It will be nice if one of u all can show us the pic. Thanks!
Btw, is the projector screen provided? How about the seat cover and decor? Is it nice? What colour of the table cloth are you all choosing?
What about the bridal suite?
Please provide more info.

Really getting worried liao... If doesn't look nice after they spend so much on the reno, it will be a bit disappointing.

Hi sim,

I do not have pics of the ballroom. But I did went down to take alook. There are changes to the grand ballroom but I find the Chandliers seem tired to me lor. Overall, it gave me a Marriott feeling with the smart lightings and changing lights on stage. :P

The entrance is a huge change as compared. Overall, I do not have the WOW factor as compared to when I saw Oriental. :P

But the whole Hotel will only complete its reno in Oct as told by my coordinator. I cant see the swimming pool and bridal suite yet.

Why not u go down to take alook and feel for urself. Pics cant really show much.

Hi tweetytwee,

Thanks for your information.
Yap will probably take a look on this sunday. There's a wedding going on. Anyway, my friend is going down to attend the wedding , therefore, i have engaged her to take as many pics as possible. Then i will share it with you all.

Hi Cottoncandy,

Ya... maybe I will meet up with my Coordinator next week. Have not call him to disturb him. :P

My AD is 25Feb06. What about urs?

Hi, can anyone tell me how much is a table for a Sat banquet in 2006?

Read in this thread that sat banquet is 908...nett or +++?

Me still sourcing for a venue...

Btw I went last sat to take a look at vanda ballroom. It's candlelight theme and its too bright do didn't feel much.

BTW the projector has been mounted to the ceiling thus it will not block the walkway and make the ballroom look nicer ...

GKF

Went to take a look this evening at both the ballroom as they have wedding functions going on.
In fact, i personally felt that it is acceptable for me. Much modernised than before. Should say, there's quite an improvement overall. Yes, i do agree the vanda ballroom ceiling is really low but, i give a pass on that when actually it have the stand alone' cocktail reception. Regarding the intelligent lighting, it will be something similar to amara hotel, the spot light will change colour.

I guess overall set up has to depend on what decoration you going to choose. Most important of all, the table cloth colour will stand out. So, have to choose it wisely.

If i have the excess money, i will spend a bit more on the decoration. Anyway, it's better than i thought. So i give 4 thumbs up!
What say you all?

hi sim,

i do agree with you that it looks better than before. mine will be at vanda ballroom too. overall is fine just that it'll be better without those chinese paintings hanging on the wall.. and the gold-coloured curtains on the stage. i thot it makes the stage looks very old-fashioned. me even thinking of buying my own fabric to hang it over the gold-coloured ones!!!

i've been to a wedding at their grand ballroom abt 2 weeks ago.. if only vanda ballroom can hv that stage as well..

btw, has anyone seen the eden theme?? i'm interested..

I have seen the Eden theme last weekend at Grand Ballroom. Looks much nicer than the candles theme. 1) Stage looks nicer, with more flower stands. 2) The aisle flower design also better, and also with small candles (just dun have the big candles as per Candles theme).

Will see if I can post some pics here for u to see soon. ;D

Anyone thinking of taking the RED VIP tables, plus the Ivory theme for the remaining tables?

I did not see the old design but I do feel Vanda Ballroom more special than the Grand Ballroom considering that Vanda is in the middle of the whole hotel and has a clear view of the atrium, lounge and the whole hotel.

While the grandball room is hidden behind the ground floor receptionist.

Of course the grand ballroom is really grand with high ceilings, nice lights and a nice stage.

One thing I like about Vanda is the permanent stage, it does not look unstable and look more presentable.

I think I am more bias against Grand Ballroom cause I've booked Vanda ballroom ..

GKF

Yeah.... Me booked the Grand Ballroom. :P

I feel that the Chandliers are dirty!!!! Please clean it. :P Overall, it is of cos better than last time! :P

Me tot of adding Alternate Sash to my wedding dinner. Anyone have did that? How much is it? :P

I totally agree with Lavender, they should remove e gold curtain and the chinese painting, do smthg like the grand ballroom, wooden backdrop with small candles in-between. My co-ordinator was telling me that Vanda room was too small to do the same concept as grand ballroom.

Hiaz, aldy booked vanda ballroom & AD will be end of next mth.

BTW, there's a wedding going on 3/10 & 4/10 for Eden theme at vanda ballroom.

Have sent the pics to whoever requested.
In my opinion, the decor really a bit plain. Ceiling really low. Stage not as nice as ballroom 1. Room is small. Outside teh ballroom is nice and new. Inside...like conference room. Really need a lot of nice decor.

Thinking to sell my package liao.

Hi sim,

wow...sell ur package? Can meh? Dun think it is allowed rite?

Afterall, I think it is alrite lor. Nice and new place to invite ur frens & colleagues.

Oh, sim ... is it really that bad?

I went there to take a look too, indeed its quite plain.

Maybe should wait for the new eden theme and see whether it will brighten up the room.

Sometimes we can't get the best of both worlds ... so far i heard quite good comments on MM food and service ... if decor a bit plain .. me and my future wife will try to improvise it ourself ... it's also part and parcel of the joy till the day of marriage ...
Give and take lor ...
Since my AD is still quite far, dec 2006, I will try to ask them to improve on the design .. see any outcome on this ..

GKF

Hi GKF and tweetytwee (vinmei),

Mine AD also dec 2006. I will also ask them to improve on the design. Haiz...the stage really not as nice as grand ball room. A bit dissapointed. Maybe grand ballroom couples pay more therefore more reno done.:P

And the ballroom got no chanderlier. Only spot lights. Think the stage also need improvement. Like pri school stage. Anybody seen the suite?

I thinking to sell off my package and book conrad. Still thinking.

hi sim,

can email me the pictures too? [email protected]

i've actually seen the bridal suite coz my friend was holding her wedding dinner there few weeks ago. it looks smaller than what it was before the renovation. and i remembered that my ex-coordinator was telling us that they'll hack the wall of the bathroom and replace it with glass panel.. hmm.. u know what i mean??.. just like changi village hotel if u've been there??.. anyway, its not done.. i wonder why also..

foodwise was good. btw, if any of u gals are thinking of having the red carpet.. better think twice.. coz i guess they're still using the old carpets and this poor waiter was squatting down whole night trying to pull the carpet taunt so that nobody will trip.

i wasn't sure which theme was my friend using then though.. will probably drop by this weekend to hv a look at their eden theme..

btw, i'm seriously thinking abt bringing my own fabric to hang and cover over the gold curtain on the stage leh.. heheh.. feasible????

Hi sim,

I dun think can sell the package from what I know from my wedding coordincator.

Life is like that, you make a choice, then try to stick with it. You change to conrad then later found out not that good or anything make conrad a less better choice then change again ... its never ending ..

I think Grand Ballroom and Vanda Ballroom same price.

Btw when did you book the ballroom and for which date?

hi vinmei
, we finally booked the grand ballroom! Hee ... wanted to wait for the wedding show actually but the coordinator said not much promotion except for weekday package. Since ours is a Sat wedding, so we went ahead first. Me so tempted to attend the wedding show despite oredi booked 'cos wants to see if there are really no perks for weekend weddings. If have, then we sure
kao_angry.gif

Is the chandelier dirty? aiyoyo ... din really take notice. But it's great to have a much bigger reception area after the reno and a much nicer stage.

hi sim
, the price per table is the same for both ballrooms but there has to be a minimum of 40 tables to book the Grand ballroom so maybe in a way, the couple pays more.

Hi sim,

I'm actually looking at Dec 23rd but it's been booked and by you which you had booked it during June ... that's real early !!

We should look at whether the eden theme will improve the ballroom if not either they will need to improvise or we will need to do it ourself .....

GKF

Hi GKF,
Hahhahah....sorry about that. My Fh can only hold the wedding during school holidays.

Guess we left with no choice. Anybody got the eden pics? Anybody had seen it?

Oh, it's ok. No worries. In fact we got the date that we want actually which is 9th Dec ...

We will go to the Marina Mandarin Wedding Show to look at eden theme.

Hope everything goes well...

GKF

Hi LHT,

It was 30 tables. So a bit cramp. And there is two pillars that will block the 29 th and 30th table. If you are planning for 25 tables, it will fit in nicely.

Is it a good idea to have the red carpet pullover the march in? Btw, is the eden theme is out yet?

I called my wedding co-ordinator to check whether i could sell my package. Unfortunately, they said it's not allowed to do so. But, they told me that they will be bringing new table cloth, lilac colur. So, i guess we have to wait patiently.
Regarding the ballroom decor, they told us that we have to spend like $500-$600 if we really want to beautify the whole ballroom.