Marina Mandarin Singapore

I'm just back..from Bkk! ^_^

dreamdream: my rom is in Jan...and err...will be at ROM cos well, we both can't really be bothered :P Sounds so terrible, but it's true!

sashamama: Likewise with dreamdream, both me and FH are not very keen on giving 'speech' or being 'tekan'....so since it's our day, we'll have it our way!

Actually, the last time I went to MM to take a look at someone's wedding, during the playing games part, a big part of the guests actually left the hall...either to go toilet or to smoke!!!

Dear DreamDream:

Me wanted FH to sing a song for me too! We both frequent KTV, can sing la. But his parents prefer simple affair, short speech and no song even before we discuss abt the prog. So guess wun have lo. But of cos FH's parents very easy-going and accomodating. If we want, think they'd be ok too!

I engaged Adrian Lee from Videolane as videographer lo. In the package, would have MTV of our love story (usually shown b4 1st march-in) and also the express highlights of what happened in the day. During guests arrival, will be doing simple ppt slideshow of our pix lo.

Dear Swangal:

Sent u my wedding info liao. Hope there's some help! Saw that u're looking for renovator. Me too! Hope to exchange more experience on that. I've been to the following, any comments?:
1) Ying Feng
2) The Interior Place
3) Intra Design
4) Joop!
5) Cis**rn
6) Project File
7) Iconn Alliance
8) Frontier Design Studio
9) Fuse Concept
10) Darwin Interior
11) Werk Interior
12) Fusion Concept
13) Spacious Planners

Might be going more!
hehe..
Any recommendations?

For the wedding favours, i heard that there'd be new ones next year, though not sure when and what they are. We keep one another updated ya?

Dear Yuuri:

Doubt we'd be playing games, esp after hearing ur experience! hehe.. Still thinking.. Hope we can all share the good tried and tested programmes if there're any!

CHEERS!!!

Hi Yen2,

I have not decided on the perks yet....I leave the options open. My coordinator Cara told me I can let her know 2-3 month before AD

Quite keen on the video montage cos me and FH v lazy pple...Would rather leave it to the experts..Moreover, I may nt be getting a videographer that day....
U? decided on the perks, theme and special program for the day like singing or anything?

Sashamama,

Thanks so much. Sorry, I have nt spoke to any of the interior designer above...I have heard abt Joop!, In fact my FH ask me nt to be so kancheong, he say we will source together. He got a fren in reno business, so will consult him 1st...But u noe we gals want to plan for new hme, yet sometime they are not interested or kan cheong, can be expasrating at time...Haiz...

Will share more with u if I have more info...;p

Hi Elin, Yen2,

On whether the uncomsumed bottles of wine could be taken back home...I have checked before and the answer was yes, you can... not sure whether there are any changes subsequently for new signups.. think wines should b our entitlement..

As for beer, you can't take back 'cos they come in barrels...

Hi Swangal,

Nice to "meet" u... u working in ocbc? where? prob near my work place n we can really meet up...

can i enquire abt your new flat... did u get the dover cresent flat in the recent ballot exercise or was it sometime ago...i am currently looking for a flat... but don't remember seeing dover cresent flats in the last ballot exercise... would like new flats in that area too, do u know whether any more left? Thanks.

Hi Heaven,

My office in People's Park. U working in CBD?

The dover crescent flat was last year June balloting. I got the results in August. Wud consider myself quite 'heng' to get the flat cos it is our dream location (near town and workplace)in our first try. It is also 5mins fm my FH current hme. Unfortunately, there is no more balloting or units left. The units leftover are open to other ethic groups only.

HDB is also building new flats in dover now but that is like another 2-4years more. Or you want to consider Strathmore/Queenstown area.There seems to be available units. U can email HDB to enquire and to let you noe in advance for the next balloting/walk in exercise.

My sis also wanted Bukit Panjang very much. She emailed HDB to inform her and go to HDB website everyday to check the release of new flats. Finally her hard work paid off and she just got the dream Senja premium flat that she wanted. Hope you find your dream home soon! ;)

Hi Sashamama,
Since you and your FH like to sing so much..perhaps can do what my friend did...her hubby sang a song walking into the venue for the first walk-in...then second walk-in, they did a duet singing...was very nice and really captured everyone's attention!

Have you decided on your reno yet?

for renovation, i will propose the one at novena,SC, my designer is Joan and she is very helpful. Materials used and skills are good too, the price is low too

Hi Swangal,

I have yet to decide on the perks.. but as i have only committed 20 tables, think the no. of perks i am entitled to will be fewer.. :-( Most probably, will go for the wines, additional night stay and food tasting... still yet to decide..

I'm also another lazy person... both HB and myself have not even settle our wedding package, let alone think of the themes for our wedding... :-P

Hi Heaven,

Really huh? We can bring the wines home? Maybe I'll email to cara to ask her about it...

Dear Swangal:

Oki!
We keep each other updated on the renovator lo!

Dear Yuuri:

Ya lo, original plan was to either we sing a song for each other, or do a duet! hehe.. But in-laws-2b may not want anything too fanciful, so gotta reconsider! But singing as we're marching-in is indeed a great idea hor! Everybody confirm watching us! Rather than on stage.. Hmm... Thanks!!!

Dear Snow26:

Can gimme more details abt ur renovator? Wat's SC? hehe.. Any number to call or addy? Pix to share? THANKS!!!

Dear Swangal

Believe it or not!!!Currently, my hubby and I are also in the midst of searching for a reliable contractor to do up our 5-rm flat, which is also at Dover Cresen. What a co-incidence!!!What adds more to my surprise is that you had mentioned that it is about 5 mins from your FH's current home..Same here...so, how is your sourcing going?So far, we had seen quite a number of the renovators and we are about to make our final decision soon, most probably this weekend.

Dear Panickybride:

Care to share more abt ur renovator-search? Who have u gone to and who u're serously considering to sign with? I gotta make my decision by end of this month! hehe.. Thanks!!!

Hi Panickybride,

Wat a coin-cidence! I am sourcing now too, but my FH say we go approach his friends 1st cos he got a fren in reno business...I have been looking design mags like 'Square rooms' and 'home and decor' for ideas. The featured flats will state the contractor and price and will consider approaching them. Contractor search is only v preliminary. Sorry can't comment much. U stay which blk? I am at blk 19. ;)

Hi Yen2,
I remember asking Cara about the wine thing.If I rem correctly, the wine is meant for us to keep or use it in banquet. We can bring our own wines if we want to standardise and bring home their wines. u can chk with her again..;)

Hi Sashamama,

My search for the renovators had not been as intensive as yours. You seemed to have consulted quite a lot of them.My hubby and I only started off comparing the prices of various IDs at the more centralized area, i.e. IMM building. This was our first sourcing spot, from which we just planned to obtain the quotations as well as the design concepts from different IDs like CITY DESIGN, NOUVA DESIGN, OMEGA and 3-D DESIGN. A week later, we paid a visit to Singapore Expo where we had our second round of quotation-and- Idea-gathering. The three IDs we consulted were IMAGE(using big posters to highlight KYM NG as one of their clients and they also claimed that those showrooms in the HDB building were done by them), RxxxNRelax and Kxxzo DESIGN(who claimed that they are probably the cheapest ID you can find in Sin, Haha). After this, we also happened to pass by Queensway shopping centre and from one non-designer renovator located there, we were able to roughly gauge the price of those materials as quoted by different IDs. Hence, we eliminated those who are way above our budget and narrowed down to 3 IDs. After which, we requested these 3 to come up with perspective drawings on any one of the rooms so that we are able to compare them in terms of their designing skill. Out of them, City Design is relatively more aggressive. The designer paid a visit to our flat once and his presentation focused on 3-D computer graphic perspectives which gave us a better visualization. All these were proceeded without any obligation at all. kekkee..of course, it did give us an impact on our final decision. I think he has won over our heart eventually.

Hi Swangal,

I learnt from the Dover thread that it would be dusty inside our unit. So are you on the upper or lower level of the block?

Hi Panickybride,

I read that briefly in the Dover thread too. I am the upper level. I really adore the view and its v windy even without aircon. But have not move in yet. Guess have to clean the house as often as we can regarding the dust.

U in blk 19 too? :p Where is City Design? Can give me contact no? When u starting? If finish, can pop by ur home to take a look since we r neighbours....hehehe....

I have an attractive Marina Mandarin wedding package to transfer at $3,000 with good perks.
$600nett per table

The banquet should ideally be held within in June. Before 30 june 2005, though another date can be negotiated subject to availability.

Please leave a message ONLY if you are genuinely interested. Thank you and have a good day ahead

here's the details of my package.
8 course weekday wedding dinner to be held before 30 june 2005.
Venus is the les oiseaux level 5 for 30 tables
$600 nett per table.

Decorations

· Romantic settings by renowed florist using fresh flowers along the aisle with dry ice effect for bridal march
· Champagne foundatin display with a bottle of champagne for toasting
· A 5-tier wedding cake which one genuine tier will be given to the newly weds
· Centerpiece for all table inclusing two special arrangements for the VIP tables

Complimentary

· Unlimited serving of soft drinks,mixer &Chinese tea throughout the event
· 80% of wedding inviation card
· 2 night stay in bridal suite complete with fruit basket & breakfast on the following day in the privacy of your suite or at brasserie tattler
· one night stay in our deluxe room for your co-ordinators
· 25% free car park coupon
· 2 VIP front cark park lot for your bridal and family cars
· a specially designed wedding guest book and an exclusive angpow box
· complimentary seat cover for all chairs
· complementary food tasting for a table of 10 person with free flow soft drinks (weekday only)
· complimentary use of one lcd projector on your wedding day
· free flow beer throughout the dinner
· wavier of corkage for non duty free hard liquor brought in
· 50%off room rate for guest
· 10% discount on dinning during stay of bride and groom
· 10% discount from june florist for additional floral arrangement
complimentary use of function room for ROM ceremony (subject to availability)

pls msg me if you're really interested.

Just had my PS already...
And now urgently trying to settle on the ID or contractor

I found that the contractor's quotation for a similar ID design, comes up to nearly the same price...maybe less 1K only...

Hi All........

Juz checking if anyone holding their dinner from May04 next year? Juz received a call from them that they will be close for renovation, which I will be affected.

Hi (fat)

Oh no... do you mean dinner in May 05? Should still be OK right, as I understand they intend to go for renovation after Jun 05 - Aug 05 probably... When did you sign up?

Hi fat,

why they start the reno so early? do u know? i heard they decide to start reno from apr - sept instead rite? is it affecting all the ballrooms?

Hello everyone...
I'll be visiting MM this weekend as we're scouting for a venue for our banquet. We need help. We're having a small banquet (not more than 20 tables), so The Orion Room is available to us. Can someone tell me more about The Orion? Square-ish? Rectangular? Ceiling? We're running out of time and options and its making us nervous as the dates we have in mind (late Nov. 2005)are apparently "hot" ones. STRESS!

Also...Has anyone worked with Deon before? Is she easy to work with? Feliible or rigid? Thanks!!!

Dear All:

It's confirmed.
Reno was July to August05.
Reno now starts April to July05.
All couples affected.
Just received a call from Cara.
She helped me make tentative booking at Pan Pac & Meritus & Oriental Grand Ballroom which are still available on our wedding date.
Will keep you gals updated.

Sigh...

Aiyoh so all the affected couples will have to 'migrate' to other forums liao? sob sob..

If they help you change booking to other hotels, do you still pay the initial MM package or the other hotel's package?

couples ad on apr-jun got to change venue liao? cannot change date? will the reno be delayed?
is from apr-jul and not apr-sept? anyone know wat the reno will be like? wat changes to the ballroom? why need so long now?

hee... i ask too much questions.

Hi, I am being affected by the reno. Do you think we can claim the hotel or can i ask for a better hotels and they paying the balances? I think we(those couples being affected) should be in a upper hand to ask for more perks. I had read thru the contract and there are some loops holes. Any couples want to join force and engage a lawyer to go thru the case if the hotel don't give in.. this will be the last resort.. I am willing to be the lead to engage but those interested will need to chip in cost, depending on how many couples... Will keep you couple update

Hi Gals.....

Basically the hotel will be closed almost all the area coz did chk with my coordinator that the hotel will not take in anymore guests or tourists for their rooms too. As for the groundfloor ballroom Im not quite sure.

This issue happened previously at The Oriental as well,you gals can chk the past archives under Oriental's forum. The contract didnt actually state that there will be any compensations. it will all depends if MM wants to compensate us anot to maintain their service & the hotel's image. From my understanding in the Oriental's forum, some gals did seek legal advice but their lawyers said that the most that the hotel will do is either refund all the deposits or they will help us source for other hotels for us.

I feel that MM shld bear all other extra amount shld the other hotels rates are higher than them. They are the one who is at fault rite from the beginning and they shld settle everything themselves!

i tink it will be so unfair if last min they just refund the deposit to us. By then we will not be able to find a location we like, even if they can find an alternative place, it may not be wat we like

in the end we may be left with no choice but to accept.....Before i sign up, i have repeatedly asked whether i will be affected, my coordinator keep saying no problems...hope so

hello!
my sister has also signed up her wedding with MM for June 2005!! she's also affected by this reno thing! i think she should demand for at least paying the price diff if she goes to alternative hotel of similar or higher range. But now last minute so difficult to get other hotels liao! Maybe you all make it BIG and report to the media e.g. call the news hotline and complain.

Hi crystal, their reno starts 23rd Apr. When's ur AD? Mine is definitely affected..it's in May..
got a shock too when I rec the news...

Dear all:

I got a call from Cara yest.
Reno was in july-aug, thats why they din accept any banquet booking between that time.
Now as the reno works for the hotel getting faster than expected, the ballrooms affected from apr to late july.

Before i signed, i repeatedly asked if will kena the Oriental saga or not, and was reassured repeatedly too, saying it's a lesson learnt and they wun wanna jeopardise the couples that have signed and earn a bad name. Yet, now...

Went thru a lot to sign with MM actually. Even changed my BEST wedding date you know... Sigh! Cara said she helped me make tentative booking at Oriental, Pan Pac & Meritus Mandarin Grand Ballroom as i have at least 40 tables.

Anyone of u also offered other hotels? I signed for the promo $600nett, so it could be a blessing in disguise for me as i dun need to pay the difference as all the other hotels actually charge at least $100 more per table. That's their compensation i guess. All perks remain, tho i hope to get more.

Overall, i'm upset about this arrangement, yet feel lucky enuf that at least i'm informed 7 mths beforehand, and not 2-3mths beforehand like the Oriental saga.

Doubt we can sue them, tho we may gather and ask for more perks or something, unsure...

We keep one another closely updated. I be meeting Cara & the management this Sat 1pm.

Hi MM brides and Sashamama,

My fren who signed up in June is affected as well. He was offered to take up Pan Pac...

I dun tink you need to top up the difference cos it is due to MM planning and renovation rite...
PanPac is supposed to be a more exp hotel but heard from the thread that food nt very nice as MM

So sorry to hear that some of us will be affected...

hey all, why not ask for better hotels cos as I know the Marina Sq hotels belong to same chain ler...try, fullerton, raffles or shangri la lah?

I had serious doubts abt the hotel reno plans back in Aug when I met the co-ordinator Gladys to view MM. I grilled her on how sure she is that the plans will stay on schedule and will not change? she was very confident and assured me that everything is confirmed and as a 5-star hotel, they will plan things such that everything runs perfectly.

It was indeed a blessing in disguise that my FH and me didn't like her attitude and service and decided not to take up their pkg even tho it was very attractive. Furthermore I have never trusted the credibility of anybody's renovation plans as they seldom run to plan.

I have heard of the Oriental saga and I understand that they moved many of their customers over to Conrad. as for the price difference, Oriental undertook to cover and the couples need only fork out for their original pkg with Oriental. Conrad was also committed to sticking to the Oriental menu as closely as possible. the only downside was that the couples may not necessarily get the dates they originally booked with Oriental as Conrad is already very heavily booked.

Perhaps all of u can band together and pressure the MM mgt to do smtg. Think its a good idea to call in the press as bad publicity is the last thing they want.

Good luck to all and hope u find an alternative venue u like soon.

Dear all:

Really hope that all affected brides will update with regards to their status.

I read thru the Oriental threads. Most of the brides changed venue, some had to change date & venue, some postponed and have at Oriental. They got compensation like staying in the newly-furbished suite and i dunno wat else. Hope to be enlightened on this if anyone else knows.

I'm offered Pan Pac Pacific / Meritus Mandarin Court / Oriental. Also considering Grand Hyatt, Fullerton, HIPV, but unsure if the menu wld be compromised and if need any cash top-up. Will check on availability and menu and perks.

Anybody has advice on these hotels?
Meeting Cara at 1pm later today, will keep u gals updated. SIGH!!!

Hi All.....

Before signing the contract with MM, my coordinator also gave me her assurance that this wont happen and thats why we made the deposits but its seems that my most dreadful fear is finally happening!!! Im very disappointed and worry too. Bcoz even we have another hotel & a change in our date but wat about our AD photographers & videographers that we engaged? Whether they will be available on our new date, will be another issue or "headache"?

For myself & hubby, we are quite afraid of having another hotel of the same area with MM cos the whole area, be it the shopping mall, hotels, road, new MRT line.....who knows if we take another hotel but same thing will happen or it could have a power failure....etc Remember the "blackout" at Pan Pac recently?

So we are considering Meritus Mand, Marriot, Hyatt, Orchard Hotel.......If possible, I hope that I wont have to change my AD date. So hopefully, these hotels have the date that we want.

Anyone went down to MM to meet your coordiantor or his/her boss? Kindly update wat was their explanations. Thanks!

very shocked to read about this. before i signed up, gladys did mention to me abt a upcoming reno mid next year. my date is in early march. she told me mine is not likely to be affected but i had her double checked with her mgt b4 i finally signed the contract. she did tat and said tat mine definitely wont be affected. i signed the contract around sept.

tho' this reno doesnt affect me, really felt this is very unfair to all the couples who are affected. they shd hv been more upfront abt the reno dates. they shd hv understood tat this is a once a lifetime event for everyone. how cld they hv just jeopardised such impt events???

wish all of u who are affected good luck in sourcing alternative hotel!

hi L.S

i think everyone's too upset with the change of reno date to answer ur question.

currently the orion room is rectangular. however understand from gladys that they r planning to expand it outwards during the reno. therefore the room shd be able to take more than the current capacity by then.

Dear all:

Have spoken to the hotel's mgmt and Cara. They've been very sincere in helping us and explained that with the reno works going on around the hotel and the construction of the MRT, they'd rather not do business during that time, than to be unable to ensure the comfort and safety of the hotel guests.

Tho the contract din mention that in such a scenario, they need to help us find a substitute venue and top up the diff, they are trying their best to do that lo.

Still in the midst of negotiations...

Anybody that's affected has updates?

Hey all,
I am affected too.. my wedding will be in June 2005. From what I understd, Marina Mandarin will only top up the difference for the Guaranteed Tables... IS this true?? Lets say I guarantee 25 tables and intend to hold 35 tables.. they only top up the difference for that 25 tables.. And the rest of my 10 tables I will have to pay full price at the NEW hotel... true?

Hi Michelle - Regards to your doubt, its true. Lets say if from the beginning you told MM that your guarenteed tables is 25 tables so watever your new hotel charges is higher than the amount of your 25 tables than MM will bear the extra but if you are taking 35 tables than the rest of the 10 tables will be at your own cost.
Ive chk with them yesterday, that's wat my coordinator had told me too.

Dear All:

I see...
I confirmed 35 tables to be safe, but am going for 40-45 tables actually!
Sigh...

Please update on which hotel you're requesting for and how is the negotiation like, and if anybody got compensation of any sort...

I'm still waiting for response from my coord.

Thanks!!!

Dear Sallynah:

Have you met up with ur coord and the management? Are they offering you other hotels? Don't think can get compensation, their contract only states that they'd only return us the deposit in such a scenario. They are of course trying to help us find alternative venue on the same date, or if we postpone the wedding, can still hold it there at thew newly furnished ballroom at no added costs.

Keep one another updated on the situation, k?

Sad to see so many couples affected by the change in the renovation date.... though I'm not affected by the renovation as my wedding is in Oct 05, I stil feel sorry for u all.. tot this wun happen to MM.. was given assurance by the coordinator then that they are very sure that their renovation plans wun changed coz their image have to be protected... they even mentioned that jul-Aug were the best months for the renovation coz that time was the chinese 7th month.... but this has happened... like wat happened to those who have chosen oriental hotel earlier..