Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hi Keiki,

The grand ballroom (and all other ballrooms) will be renovated next Jun-Jul (not sure), and I think they are going to change the carpet. Not sure when is your wedding, but if it is from Sept 05 onwards, then should be able to use the renovated ballrooms ;P

Keki,
Same here..mine also first half, so it's the old ballroom...
carpet is worn..dunno how to explain also, perhaps it's the colour...
But overall, not that bad don't worry! :D

hee ok i hope so!! when's urs? how many tables u haf? i haf about 33 - 35, so not sure if it will look very empty... but i can't fit the 5th floor one with more than 30 tables...

Mine is in march..urs?
The dinner that I peeked in on had 33 or 34 tables, and it looked rather comfortably spaced out.....mine's also around the same number of tables..but i guess we'll just look at it as the guests being more comfy, rather than looking too empty :P

mine's also in march! wat a coincidence, and we haf about same number of tables too! mine's probably wkday... is urs wkday or wkend?

Hi5 Keiki,
You should prolly join the March O5 brides thread also! hehe..
Mine will be a wkend, to please the elders :P

Hi Yuuri,

Yours is a weekend and at the grand ballroom, they did not insist that you have min. 40 tables? that's very good.....

Juv:
I followed the sample piece given by my co-ordinator ..
You still need to pass Kentrich your inserts as well ..
But I wld say that their service is pretty okie, espy for those with time constraint ..

Hi Yuuri! i actually wanted wkend banquet as well, but decided to keep costs low and stick to wkday... hope it turns out ok, coz it'll most prob haf to be a monday as my customary is sunday... a bit worried about attendance... will see ya in the mar05 thread

Dear MM brides:

As of today, I'm officially an MM bride as well! Wld hope to share experiences and lobangs with fellow MM brides!

Let me start off with my intro & hope some of u might wanna follow suit according to this template? Then it'd be easier for us to share on specific stuff.

TEMPLATE:
Nick:
ROM - Date / Venue / JP:
AD - Date / Ballroom Name / Table No / Cost / Coordinator / Photographer / Videographer:
BS - Name / Cost:
PS - Name / Cost:
Flat - Date Gotten / Housing Estate / Flat Type / Cost / Contractor.ID / Reno Cost:
HM - Place / Length of stay / Agency (If any) / Budget:
Sch History - Pri / Sec / Tertiary (If any, can include Course) [To find ex-schoolmates!]:
Email [For sharing of Pix / Lobang / etc. ]:

Please feel free to edit / leave out info u think unnecessary or sensitive ya?

(Note: AD = Actual Day / BS = Bridal Studio / PS = Photo Shoot / ID = Interior Designer / HM = Honeymoon :P)

Sashamama
ROM: 28.06.05 / Marina Mandarin / JP - David Loh
AD: 28.06.05 / Grand Ballroom / 40 Tables / $600 Nett / Cara / Photography - Hilarion Goh / Videography - Adrian Lim
BS: Dang / $3288nett, Add poss other top-ups, $4100
PS: Considering The Edge or Robin Photography
Flat: Gotten during the recent WIS / Punggol Edgefield Plains / EA Premium / $329k / Sourcing
HM: Japan / 7D / Agency - Sourcing / Budget - Max $7k
Sch: Tampines Pri / Temasek Sec / Temasek JC / NTU-NIE (Teach Sec Chi)
Email: [email protected] / [email protected]

JOIN ME, i can do the compilation and updating of our info every now and then!!!
hehe..
Cheers!!!
166605.gif

Dear Hil:

Mwah hah hah hah hah..
My mistake..
hehe..

Dear Piyo:

I got SOME perks due to:

1) Signing up with them during this wedding fair period
2) Signing up as a weekday package
3) Signing for for our banquet BEFORE June 2005 because they having renovation works for the hotel from April onwards, so sure to have visible signs of the reno works somehow. ALSO, their ballroom will be renovated in July & Aug 2005, so our Jun banquet is in the current OLD ballroom, and if u gals' banquet is from Sep 2005 onwards, then you gals will use the NEW ballroom!!! ***envious***

Think u can negotiate for perks like
1) Invites 70% to 80% (Tho not stated in the contract, but they can give a little more if you REALLY need)
2) Parking 20% to 30% (Tho not stated in the contract, but they can give a little more if you REALLY need)
3) Late check-out (Subject to availability)
4) Free tix for upcoming bridal show (If u confirm ur banquet)

Because of the coming wedding fair, they giving 1 or 2 more BIG perks, but that's if yours is a WEEKDAY BEFORE JUNE 2005!!! They throw in some perks that u can use depending on how many tables you confirm with them.. So depends on what you choose from the list lo..

We chose
1) Free flow of beer
2) Food tasting for 10
3 & 4) Free 2 x 12 bottles of wine
5) 2nd Nite bridal suite with breakfast.

We confirm abt 45 tables, so we got 5 perks

When did u sign ur package?
When's ur banquet?
How many tables you confirm?
So what are ur perks like?

Dear Crystal:

The hotel will be fully functional during their reno works. They'd have hotel guests staying there and many other weddings & corporate functions going on. The management wld definitely make sure that the hotel is presentable as a respectable 5 star hotel, i'm sure!

The reno works for the ballroom starts in July 2005 til abt Aug 2005, which explains why they did not accept any weddings in these two months. So for urs in April 05, definitely won't be affected, no worries

But of course for brides who booked their room after the reno period would not get the same perks definitely. They get to use the NEW ballroom and the hotel wld have completed their reno works by then.. You win some, you lose some, of course!!!

Hope we'd share more experiences here!!!

Cheers!!!
167023.gif

thanks sashamama
i m taking the smaller ballroom does not look as grand as the grand ball room. u leh?
wat is min no tables if wan to take the grand ballroom?

Dear Crystal:

Mi taking the grand ballroom cos me confirm 45 tables. The minimum for the grand ballroom on level one is 35

When did you sign up for your package le?

Dear MM Brides / MM Brides 2B:

Going for the wedding fair this coming Sat? Can try their food, see their ballroom, etc!

Dear Piyo:

Where did you go?
hehe..
You asked for my perks and you've yet to share yours!
Sorry i edited my post, cos the original one wasn't accurate..

There was actually an MM bride who PM me, asking me if I got more perks, and that she intend to copy and paste my post to her MM coord and ask for the same perks.

I am very upset and shocked abt that! Firstly, on this forum, it's not permissible to copy and paste others' postings especially as quotes!!! Moreover, that bride's package is on a WEEKEND AFTER the reno period! It's impossible and unfair if the perks are the same. On top of that, her coord had already accorded her other perks which I didn't have. So i really don't see why the bride should make things difficult for her coord.

Different couples hav different needs and concerns lo, the MM coords wld surely customize a package to suit specific couples. I'm sure the MM brides here wld agree with me that the MM coords are frenly and flexible with regards to perks and negotiations as compared to other hotels.

I really hope that there can be more sincere sharing on this thread and brides here wld stop making use of others' postings whether the postings are mine or not. If many brides do what that bride intended to do, looking for more perks from their coords though their packages obviously entitle them to different perks, then there'd be many unhappy couples looking for their coords for more perks every now and then, then the MM management wld have to cancel all perks to eliminate such discrepancies that cause unhappiness. I'm sure non of us want that to happen. MM definitely wldn't want to sell us standard packages with no flexibility too.

So the best way is to negotiate with ur coord based on ur own concerns and needs. And note that the same perks don't apply to all packages especially when the packages are signed during different promotional periods.

I forgot the nick of that bride who wanted to quote me but i'm glad she realized that our packages are different and didn't go make things difficult for her MM coord. Hope more sincere brides can join me in sharing real experiences here without having to fear being quoted for anything.

So, anyone care to share some of their wedding prep info so we can chat?

167236.gif

Hi Sasha,

I'm back...I was outstation over the weekend.
Welcome to the MM thread..cos saw
a lot of your "intriguing and valuable" postings on other threads.

Hmm.. My perks are not as attractive as yours(we already signed). Not to discuss about it again
cos you sound so affected...Poor Sasha.
Look on the positive side..Be happy...MM and MM to-be couples should enjoy the interaction and exchange of
information. We are all sincere in sharing the BEST with our fellow comrades...

Got to do some unpacking now..catch up with you guys again..

Dear Gals, esp Piyo:

Hehe.. Ya, i did quite a lot of compilation of info on wedding stuff before i started teaching in July. Have been sharing with many brides.

If u gals dun mind sharing ur wedding info and email add, mi wun mind sending u my file too! hehe.. Share the BEST like what u said! hehe..

No probs discussing abt the perks tho! Who's ur coord? And what wld u like to have that are not in? If it's the usual perks like what i stated above, like more invites / carpark coupons / late check-out etc., sure ur coord can work out something for you!

When's ur banquet? Before or after the reno works? Weekday or weekend? If urs is weekend and after the reno works, think the big perks wun be that many lo.. But you can be sure the hotel renovated til nice nice, no signs of reno at all, and the ballroom sure to be even nicer!

Mi & FH actually wanted Sheraton cos we found the current MM ballroom a little older, but due to budget constraints, we chose MM. Of cos also that MM is reputed for good food and service! So if urs is the newly renovated room, must be a very good deal!

Maybe they'd reveal how they wanna renovate the ballrooms and hotel during their coming wedding show! Anyone here going? Cos i signed with them in this promo month, i got 2 free tix to go with FH. Wonder if wld see any of u there? hehe..

Actually, mi & FH went thru quite a bit to have our banquet at MM. Our original date was 16th June 2005 (Thu). It's the best wedding date for us, and on a Thu, very near weekend, easier to apply leave and beta weekend mood, etc. Though there was a tentative booking, we went ahead to discuss details thinking the other couple not very keen..

Scar-ly the other couple want the room too! So we went back to our temple uncle and asked for a second choice date. He gave us 28th June 2005 (Tue). So we had to go check with our JP David Loh, Photog Hilarion Goh & Videog Adrian Lee if they're available on that day too, and luckily they were. We also had to go for our 1-week honeymoon BEFORE our banquet during 10th - 16th June or so, which of cos we wonder how we're gonna explain to our parents.. Moreover, school would have started and that wld mean i need to take leave and my lessons wld be disrupted and wld lose some of the celebratory mood too!

Whatever the case, we're glad we eventually booked with MM. Cara has been very thankful & apologetic with this whole saga and we're really lucky to have worked out something with her and are able to continue to work with her for the coming months. We're sure we're in good hands

Oh ya! With regards to exchange of info, yet to know when's ur banquet, who's ur coord, what are ur perks, etc! Maybe can update according to my earlier format a few posts above?

Cheers!!!
167259.gif

Dear Sasha

Thanks for sharing so much info and thoughts on the forum.. Will be glad to share further on the wedding preparation info!

I have also signed up for a weekend package in 2005, and will be going for the Wedding Fair this Sat. Are they going to reveal the changes to the ballrooms? All i know is they will remove the spiral staircase leading to the 2nd floor ballroom, hence no more confusion and 2 groups of guests at the grand ballroom! ;p

Dear JovialGer:

Thanks for being willing to share experiences and info here too! I scrolled up to read and got to know ur wedding in Oct 05 and Piyo's in Nov 05! That would mean u gals get to use the new ballroom! Me also not sure how it'd be like, but i guess when we go down this weekend, we'd know! I didn't find out much abt that cos I don't have the fortune of using it lo.. hehe..

Actually, me just had an op abt 10days ago, to remove a blood cyst in my fallopian tube. It's a condition called endometriosis which may affect fertility. That's why mi & FH decided to bring forward our banquet planned for 2006 to next June latest. So that we can start a family earlier! So definitely wun be able to use the renovated room and hotel.

But what MM is offering us is good enough! Especially with good reviews on their food and service, me & FH wld work harder at our theme and photo montage so as to leave a deeper impression in our guests' mind as compared to the look of the ballroom

Wow! Removing the spiral staircase is a major reno plan lo! Wonder how bad it'd look in June when i have my wedding. One thing to note tho, that reno works will end by 6pm everyday, so when we start our banquet, no sounds or sights of the works going on.

Wonder how are we gonna recognize one another?
hehe..
167454.gif

Dear MM Brides / Brides 2B

Free to update ur info so we can know what specific stuff we can chat abt? hehe..

My info is somewhere up there

TEMPLATE:
Nick:
ROM - Date / Venue / JP:
AD - Date / Ballroom Name / Table No / Cost / Coordinator / Photographer / Videographer:
BS - Name / Cost:
PS - Name / Cost:
Flat - Date Gotten / Housing Estate / Flat Type / Cost / Contractor.ID / Reno Cost:
HM - Place / Length of stay / Agency (If any) / Budget:
Sch History - Pri / Sec / Tertiary (If any, can include Course) [To find ex-schoolmates!]:
Email [For sharing of Pix / Lobang / etc. ]:

Please feel free to edit / leave out info u think unnecessary or sensitive ya?

(Note: AD = Actual Day / BS = Bridal Studio / PS = Photo Shoot / ID = Interior Designer / HM = Honeymoon :P)

=============================================

ALSO, i have compiled a list of useful wedding info that may be of some help to you. When u update ur info and include ur email add, i can forward you the file

List of contents as below:
Accessories Pg 1
Banquet Pg 4
Beauty Pg 15
Bridal Studio Pg 21
Car Pg 27
Customary Pg 29
Fashion Pg 38
Favours Pg 46
Fengshui Pg 49
Flat Pg 54
Florist Pg 57
IT Pg 60
Jewellery Pg 60
Legal Pg 62
Medical Pg 62
Photo Shoot Pg 64
ROM Pg 66
Wedding Pg 73
Miscellaneous Pg 76
Useful Webbies Pg 78

Cheers!!!
167459.gif

Nick:snow26
ROM - Date:28/5/2004 / ROM cum ritz carlton /
AD - Date:3/4/05 / 4th floor MM / abt 20 or 25 tables / $550nett per table / Coordinator: Gladys / Photographer:Alan
BS - Name / Cost: Bridal Zone $3388
PS - Name / Cost: Bridal Zone
Flat - 16/2/2004 / Housing Estate:Boon Lay / Flat Type:5rm standard / Cost: $ 201k /Contractor.ID: S.C at Novena/ Reno Cost:$25k
HM - Boon Lay Dr / Length of stay:2 mths
Sch History -Fengshan Pri /Bedok South Sec /NYP

Sashamama (sashamama) hello!
pls email details to crystal_keong @yahoo.com.sg

Dear Snow26:

Thanks for sharing ur info! Now there's something that can start us chatting! hehe..

BTW, HM means Honeymoon! hehe..
SO:
HM - Venue / Length of Stay / Agency (If Any) / Budget:

hehe..
Sent u mi file!
Hope there's some use!!!

Also, mind asking why ur banquet is $550 Nett le? Is it becos u adjusted ur menu or cos of the room u're using or cos urs is lunch? hehe..

Going for the fair this sat?
167517.gif

OIC i so sotong, blur abt the short form
mine is lunch
so cheaper
btw tis sat and sun is my hubby's brother's wedding, their customary on sat and dinner on sun cos they book too late

tink can't go down,such a pity. U going hah?

Hahaha Crystal,
When I saw your HM in Boon lay, I started laughing! ;)

Yuuri
ROM: undecided
AD: 06.03.05 / Grand Ballroom / 35 Tables / $770 Nett / Gladys / Photography - Everbliss /
BS: Everbliss / $3388
PS: Everbliss
Flat: Getting Keys in Nov / Hazel Park / 2rm Condo / Still looking /
HM: Finland,Sweden,Norway,Denmark,Estonia / 12D + extension / Agency - Super Travels / Budget - Max $10k
Sch: MGS Pri / MGS Sec / ACJC / NTU

Onegaishimasu!

Here is my update:
JovialGer
ROM/AD - 8 Oct 05 / Grand Ballroom / 40 Tables / $800 / Cara / Sam Photography / Mirage Pictures
BS/PS - Yvonne Creative / Cost: $3,588
Flat - With HB's parents @ Tampines
HM - Not decided
Sch History - NHPS / NYGH / HCJC / NTU

Yo Sasha, would love to take a look at your compiled info! ;p

Dear MM Brides:

So happy that u gals are so open abt sharing info!!! Now we can find specific stuff to chat abt!!! Have sent u gals the file.. Hope there's some use! Now compiling one on home & deco. Will forward to u gals when it's done!!!

Anyone going to the fair this sat?

Dear Snow26
So u have any HM plans?
HM - Venue / Length of Stay / Agency (If Any) / Budget:
Or still undecided le?

Ya, mi going with FH to the wedding fair. Can try their good food! hehe.. Will keep you updated with regards to what happened!

Dear Yuuri:

No probs at all, gal!
hehe..
You learnt jap before?
I did, a little..
So go Japan HM can ask "Ikura desu ka?" hehe..

Ur package is with EB i see.. Hard-sell or u really wanted le? How are they so far?

Dear JovialGer:
Ur coord same as me, Cara! She's very pretty and frenly ya? Though i went thru a lot to change our AD date, she also went thru a lot to customize a package for us.

BTW, i'm staying in Tamp! Street 12, right opp Century Square! Which part of Tamp u be staying in le? hehe..

Arlow Sasha,

Your file is amazing! Really full of info! Like some FYP like that! LOL!

Hehe, EB sure hard-sell lah...we fell prey lor, but so far everything's smooth sailing so I'm not complaining!

Besides Ikura desu ka, also must add in 'Takaiiiii' (expensive) haha..I'm not japanese lah.

I noticed alot of MM brides from NTU! Whoosh!

Dear Yuuri:

Actually, mi also kena hard-sell by EB, paid $500 deposit. That time, me & FH neva even talk abt marriage at all! Blur blur paid lo.. Later, when i did more research on bridal studio, i realized i'd have more confidence in Dang & Kai and wldn't mind paying more, so we decided to change our deposit for something else! Like take grad photo or top up another $500 to make it $1000 to take makeover with my mum / my doggie / my new-born, etc. Mi younger bro also signed with them on an earlier occasion and was unknown to me til i signed up for mine! They paid $1000 tho, and are thinking of letting it go or changing it to something else as they really like Ted Wu.. So if u have any friens who are satisfied enuf with EB, do lemme know and see if a deal can be made!

Share with u our package (mine and bro's are the same) see if urs is beta or if u can negotiate for beta stuff! haha..

$3388 Nett ; Open for Life

ROM Gown - Made-To-Measure (MTM)
ROM Jacket - Rental
ROM Make-Up (MU) - Free (Trial)
Free use of accessories

Wedding Gown (WG) - MTM
Evening Gown (EG) - MTM
Teadress (TD) - Rental (Can waiver the $80 dry-cleaning fee for rental of their kua)
2pcs Bridegroom Suit - OTR
Bridegroom Pants - MTM, To Keep
2pcs Jackets (2 Fathers) - Rental
1pc Jacket (Bestman) - Rental
1pc Gown (Bride's Maid) - Rental

2pcs Bouquet - Actual Day (AD) & Photo Shoot (PS)
4pcs Corsages - 2 for Groom, 2 for Fathers

Car Deco - Any Design
Following Cars Deco - 8pcs
Car Model - Merc 2000E (Can deduct $200 if not used)

Bridal Make-Up - 1 Day, 1 Nite
Free use of accessories

20pcs 15R Photos - Include 2pcs Metallic Paper
24pcs 4R Photos - 6 Poses (Repeated)
1 5R album (Repeated)
1pc 8R Table-Top
1pc 20" x 24" Canvas with frame OR 3-in-1 8R

Indoor Photography
Outdoor Photography - 2 Locations at least (Include Transport)
Free use of traditional costumes (6 Outfits)
Free use of accessories
Free MU & Hairdo for PS (5 Hairstyles)

BONUS:
Negatives returned on the spot
1 CD-ROM of photos (Those chosen to be printed in 15R album)
Actual Day Photography - 3 rolls (Extra rolls at $50 per roll) [Refund of $200 or Exchange for 4 15R photos if not needed]

Super good deal, i must say!
hehe..
167651.gif

Hi Sasha,
haha no wonder I thought your nick is very familiar! I must have seen you trying to sell the package!
Mine's almost the same, except i think I got a newer model of the Merc and AD photography extra rolls at a lower price

I will keep a lookout for you though.

Guess for FH and I, we were too lazy to have to look at another BS so we just went along...

Dear XiaoDingDang:

Mine is Cara. Very frenly too

Dear Yuuri:

I see! Good good! hehe..

MM Brides & MM Brides 2b:

Other than myself and JovialGer, who else going for the fair this Sat le?

168004.gif

thinking of holding my dinner in les oiseaux. has anyone held their dinner there? how's the food and decor? would really appreciate it if you will be willing to share your pics

pls email to [email protected]

Dear Shymz:

No pix from me but my advice is to go down to the hotel this Sat for their fair! It's just $20 per couple and you get to try their food, view their rooms, and receive very good perks!!!

My advice though is to make a tentative booking on the date you want first... Cos i'm sure there'd be quite a number of couples going down this Sat to book their packages. You can try calling 68451018 for their events personnel to help you. My coord Cara, and some other coords like Beng Khoon and Gladys are a few frenly ones you can approach.

When do you plan to have ur wedding? If it's the first half of the year, do note that the wedding fair is offering very good prices and perks. If it's after aug 05, note that u'd be using the newly-renovated ballroom

Try going to their webbie below to view the hotel and find out more.
http://hotels.meritus-hotels.com/meritus/marinamandarin/index.html

Below is a pix of Les Oiseaux which i copied from their webbie

So far there's been much good reviews abt MM's food and service, so shouldn't be much of a prob there, i guess! hehe..

All the best!!!
168066.jpg

Dear Shellzzz:

Care to share ur info?
hehe..
Can email u my famous file!
hehe..

If we have the same coord, sure can spot one another if we just tell our coord our online nick! Who's ur coord? Or how abt emailing one another our pix le? hehe..

Cheers!!!
168409.gif

this has been very informative thread about MM. Wonder how do i register for the wedding fair at MM on 09 Oct? Thanks.

Dear Newkiddy:

You can just call them at 68451018, their events department.

My advice would be to shortlist a few dates that u intend to hold ur wedding on, then call that number, ask to speak to Cara or Gladys or Beng Khoon, and see if the dates are taken up or not first.

If not, make a tentative booking on ur first choice date before u go down, in case that date is taken by another couple! No need to commit or pay anything when u make a tentative booking. Except if another couple decide to confirm that they want the date and you've yet to decide, then u need to give it up to them.

For the tix, just need to register over the phone (same number as above), that day just go down lo.

It's 2 - 5pm. Think 130pm can go down personally and pay over the counter.

Cheers!!!
168486.gif

Hi Sashamama,
my e-mail add is [email protected]. =) hahaa! looking forward to receiving your famous file! my co-ord is the same as yours, Cara gal.. think I saw some of your initial postings in Meritus Mandarin's thread earlier... but the dates u wanted were not available or something.. For me, having a headache now cos dunno wanna choose Meritus Mandarin or Marina Mandarin... estimated no. of tables is 32... neither here nor there.. so a bit "fan"

Dear Shellzzz:

Ur wedding on a weekday or a weekend le?
Before or after June 2005 le?

If before and on a weekday, should really go for Marina lo.. Super good deal with many perks, less risk of losing money lo.. Though need to be prepared that the hotel may not look it's best when undergoing reno. Well, me & FH will make up for it by playing up our Red Theme, very nice Photo Montage and Express Highlights, to leave deep impressions in our guests' minds instead

But Meritus of cos was our first choice cos we really like the place and their perks are not bad too!!!

Dear Gals:

Just emailed u my famous file!

Can also share info le! Join me, JovialGer, Yuuri & Snow26!!!

hehe...
169006.gif

Hi Sasahmama,

Mine would be a week-end, after June '05... hahaa! your Red Theme sounds really interesting! With Express Highlights some more... cool! =p

Dear Shellzzz:

Go down to MM's wedding fair tmr and see how good a deal you can get before u decide? hehe..

Express Highlights is a term used by my Videographer lo.. hehe.. It means what hap in the morn, the tea ceremony and stuff.. To leave a deep impression in my guests' minds, i need to plan a very difficult tekan-the-groom session! Mwah hah hah hah hah...

Keep us updated on ur choice ya?
hehe..
169036.gif

sashamama, yesterday i just signed with Gladys and paid deposit, so confirm i using the 4 th floor ballroom liao.she says the wedding fair only for dinner not for lunch...u knw what are the tings to bargain?