Marina Mandarin Singapore

Dear Snow26:

You signed already? Then dunno how to bargain further le..

Actually the coords are pretty flexible with the carpark coupons and the wedding invites, tho they din put in the contract, if u really really need some more (not too many), i'm sure they can still give lo! Note that the carpark coupons they can't be too loose on that cos the carpark is shared with other hotels and complexes, not theirs alone, so they need to pay for that too!

What u can bargain for depends on what are ur specific needs lo... Like for me, i really need a big room to conduct my solemnization just before the cocktail, so negotiated for a function room for free lo!

hehe..
169085.gif

Hi Crystal,
I am going to have a wedding lunch next yr too....but can't decide on the venue. Is your ballroom at 5th flr(Les Oiseaux) rather than 4th? I heard comments that the ballroom is a bit dark and cramp? Any comments?

Dear Snow26:

I see! I know they have 4 Bridal Suites! Not all are sea view? I dunno le.. hehe.. For me, cos i sign based on their current promo, all corkage waived
Oh! Their another current promo is free use of 1 LCD projector, otherwise priced at a few hundred cos they need to pay the company that rent it to them.

Cheers!!!

169107.gif

Dear Yingal:

Welcome!!!
It'd be best to go down and check out MM tmr afternoon! It's only $20 a couple and there's a buffet lunch! Heard they'd also show us their bridal suites, though i've seen before liao! Some more they give more perks during the fair!

One point to note though, do go down with tentative dates in mind! See if they're taken up or not yet.. hehe..

Cheers!!!
169144.gif

yingal hw many people u r looking at? yup its at 5 th floor, i always can't get the level rite, hehe

tink if less than 30, like 20-25 will be more comfortable.i saw the dinner set up before there, according to my coordinator the deco is the same, i tink not bad lor, every table got floating candle and flower stands along the isle.the staircase is also decorated, small but cosy and nice. but of course it is not grand compared to the grand ballroom

Crystal, I am having about 25-30 tables. Hopefully it will be below 28 tables. I wonder if there is any wedding coming up in the ballroom, at least I can have a feel of how the set-up would be.

Problematic....

hi yingal usually weekends shld have, i drop by last time abt 5 pm and they are doing the setting up, u can ask ur coordinator if u dun wan to make a wasted trip

wow! have not been following this thread for a few mths... neber expect it to be so alive and kicking now!

my AD is on 25/1, was one of those early birds who booked with MM for their new 2005 package, so wasn't given any much perks leh...

wanted to ask, did anyone manage to bargain for free flow of beer for wkday packages next yr? can let me kw pls? i've cfm 45 tables, but might need at least 58 tables in the end... scarie... dunno how to manage...

so juz wana knoe if there is any chance dat i can ask for free flow of beer since we getting so many tables. btw, heard dat irene (my coord) is no longer with them. anyone knows who's taking over her account?

hi sashamama,
yr hse in tampines arh? it's so near my office! heehee...

btw, here's my info...
Summersnow
ROM - Date:20/3/2004 / ROM
AD - Date:25/1/05 / Main Ballroom
Tables - 45 confirmed (need 58??? - scarie!)
Coordinator: Irene
Photographer: William (hubby's fren)
BS - Name / Cost: Bridal Zone $3388
PS - Name / Cost: Bridal Zone (total : $5300)
Flat - Housing Estate:Seng Kang/ Flat Type:5rm standard / Cost: $ 300 /Contractor.ID: Rustics Novena/ Reno Cost:$15K (resale flat, no need to reno much)

lastly, can u pls send me yr famous file too? my email add is [email protected]. Thks!

hihi christine my bridal is also with bridal zone...hw u find the tea dress and night gown?? heard my frd says not much choice and they always dun show the new ones....

hi christine! i tink u can try bargaining for free flow of beer, since you have so many tables and they are offering it as part of their promotion now. try calling charles at 6845 1225, he's very friendly and you can negotiate with him.

Dear Sasha...

btw, here's my info...

Piyopiyo
ROM - Date:28/12/2004 / ROM
AD - Date:Nov 05/ Main Ballroom
Tables - 35 confirmed
Coordinator: Cara
Photographer: Still looking around
BS - Name / Cost: Z wedding Design $3388
PS - Name / Cost: Z wedding Design
Flat - Housing Estate:Seng Kang/ Flat Type:5rm standard / Cost: $ 210 /Contractor.ID: TBA/ Reno Cost: TBA

Cheers, Piyo

Hi Shellzzz and Sasha

Did you gals go down to the fair last Sat? How did you find it? I felt that only the bridal show was OK, but the lightings show by that company was quite BAD! Also, nothing was revealed about the renovation plans to the ballrooms for next year... not many promotions done by MM for their packages as well....

hi crystal,

hmm... their WG collection are quite ok but aren't realie the kind which i like. my package came with MTM for both WG & EG, but in the end i managed to choose OTR instead...

their WG are quite plain, luckily my designer ling ling is verie indulging and added some silver threads and crystal for me on the skirt and train to make it nicer...

did u follow the BZ thread? we always chat there... on the whole, all BZ brides seem to have a great time with them.

keiki,
thanks for the info! i dun even kw who is my coordinator now as irene had resigned. tink i better call them to chk...

Dear Summersnow:

Mi no bargain for free flow of beer as it came with their promo package for the wedding fair over the weekend. Unsure if u can still bargain for that though! Hope it's not too much of a prob cos weekday mah, not a lot of people drink beer, some more now the trend more towards wine if u inviting many within the 20 30 plus ages.

As for ur coord, best to call them up to ask who took over. The other coords are all very frenly

Ya, my house in Tampines, right opp Century Square lo! Where u working at? Which building le? My FH working in Tampines Junction.

Sent my famous file over liao lo.. hehe..

Dear JovialGer:

Ya lo! The lighting show was horrid! I was sitting in the first row of the breadth of the ballroom, quite near to the speakers. The show was too loud and meaningless with regards to a wedding celebration! hehe..

Ya lo, they did not promote much for their packages, didn't hard sell lo.. It's the first wedding show i attend and i must say i'm impressed lo.. The ballroom didn't look old after all! And the food was good!!! I be taking the RED theme

CHEERS!!!
190728.gif

COME JOIN US!!!

TEMPLATE:
Nick:
ROM Date / Venue / JP:
AD Date / Ballroom Name / Table No / Lunch.Dinner / Cost / Coordinator / Photographer / Videographer:
BS Name / Cost:
PS Name / Cost:
Home Date Gotten / Housing Estate / Flat Type / Cost / Contractor.ID / Reno Cost:
HM: Place / Length of stay / Agency (If any) / Budget:
Sch History Pri / Sec / Tertiary (If any, can include Course):
Email: For sharing of Pix / Lobang / etc.

Please feel free to edit / leave out info u think unnecessary or sensitive ya?

(Note: AD = Actual Day / BS = Bridal Studio / PS = Photo Shoot / ID = Interior Designer / HM = Honeymoon :P)

--------------------

List of MM Brides (In Alphabetical Order)

JovialGer
ROM/AD: 08.10.05 / Grand Ballroom / 40 Tables / $800 / Cara / Sam Photography / Mirage Pictures
BS & PS: Yvonne Creative / $3,588
Home: With HB's parents @ Tampines
HM: Not decided
Sch: NHPS / NYGH / HCJC / NTU

Piyopiyo
ROM: 28.12.04 / ROM Registry
AD: Nov 05 / Main Ballroom / 35 Tables confirmed / Cara / Photog - Sourcing
BS & PS: Z wedding Design $3388
Home: Seng Kang / 5 Room Standard / $210k / Contractor.ID: TBA / Reno Cost: TBA

Sashamama
ROM: 28.06.05 / Marina Mandarin / JP - David Loh
AD: 28.06.05 / Grand Ballroom / 40 Tables / Dinner / $600Nett / Cara / Photog - Hilarion Goh / Videog – Adrian Lee
BS: Dang / $3288nett, Add poss other top-ups, $4100
PS: Considering The Edge or Robin Photography
Home: Gotten during the recent WIS / Punggol Edgefield Plains / EA Premium / $329k / Sourcing
HM: Japan / 7D / Agency – Sourcing / Budget – Max $7k
Sch: Tampines Pri / Temasek Sec / Temasek JC / NTU-NIE (Teach Sec Chi)
Email: [email protected] / [email protected]

Snow26
ROM: 28.05.04 / ROM Registry cum Ritz Carlton
AD: 03.04.05 / Les Oiseaux / 20 - 25 tables / Lunch / $550Nett / Gladys / Photog - Alan
BS & PS: Bridal Zone $3388
Home: 16.02.04 / Boon Lay / 5 Room Standard / $201k / Contractor.ID - S.C at Novena / Reno Cost - $25k
Sch: Fengshan Pri / Bedok South Sec / NYP

Summersnow
ROM: 20.03.04 / ROM Registry
AD:25.01.05 / MM Main Ballroom / 45 Tables confirmed (need 58??? - scarie!) / Irene (TBA) / Photog - William (hubby's fren)
BS: Bridal Zone / $3388
PS: Bridal Zone (Total : $5300)
Home: Seng Kang / 5 Room Standard / $300k / Contractor.ID: Rustics Novena / Reno Cost: $15K (resale flat, no need to reno much)
Email: [email protected].

Yuuri
ROM: Undecided
AD: 06.03.05 / Grand Ballroom / 35 Tables / $770 Nett / Gladys / Photog - Everbliss
BS & PS: Everbliss / $3388
Home: Getting Keys in Nov / Hazel Park / 2 Room Condo / Still looking
HM: Finland,Sweden,Norway,Denmark,Estonia / 12D + extension / Agency - Super Travels / Budget - Max $10k
Sch: MGS Pri / MGS Sec / ACJC / NTU

List of MM Brides (According to Dates)

1) Summersnow – 25th January 2005 (Tue)
2) Yuuri – 6th March 2005 (Sun)
3) Snow26 – 3rd April 2005 (Sun)
4) Sashamama – 28th June 2005 (Tue)
5) JovialGer – 8th October 2005 (Sat)
6) Piyopiyo – November 2005

P/S: Feel free to update or edit ur info so when i post it the next time, the info is accurate and new! Especially brides who missed out on info on Honeymoon / School History / Email.

CHEERS!!!
190737.gif

Hi Sasha,

I'll be staying in Tampines too! So you are now staying near Tampines Park, but will move to Punggol after marriage ah...

Hi Jovia Ger,

yupp, was there for the show, but was quite disappointed on the way it turned out... felt that it was really disorganized. music & lightings didn't match... the bridal show didn't appeal... & service of the staff when clearing the cutlery seemed somehow below average... Used plates were piling up & it seemed so difficult to find the waiters to get drinks. Efficiency made me question on how the actual day will be like.. overall, wasn't impressed at all.

hi ladies , i was at their wedding show too ... ya, i agree that the lighting show wasnt that good ... but i must say that MM desert is nice ! haha ....

Dear Jovia Ger:

Mi stayin between Century Square & Tampines Primary.. hehe.. Will move to Punggol after wedding next June.

Dear Shellzzz:

The bridal show was by allure & the lighting and music by the showmakers entertainment company, so no worries as they wun be involved in ur wedding unless u engage them! hehe..

The clearing of the plates was indeed a prob tho! Was wondering if they forgot abt that! Too few waiters with too small trays around lo.. For AD won't be like that cos it's table by table mah, and at least 2 waiters to 3 table guests, compared to sat, those few waiters to hundreds of buffet guests!

The drinks part also.. Think they mobilise the waiters to clear plates.. But i guess they did try hard lo.. I saw coords clearing plates too! hehe..

You been to other wedding shows before? How were they like? This was my first show so guess my expectations not very high, easily wowed..

190889.gif

Hi Shellzzz and Sasha

Agree with Sasha that though food co-ordination/clearing part was way below expectations, but hopefully, banquet will/should be different due to more waiters, scheduled timings of changing plates, less chaos etc..

However, I've been to other wedding fairs where they arrange for guests to sit down in tables of 10, let you have a sample of some well-known dishes, and show you what a real wedding will be like, such as 1st march in settings/effects etc. That will have been much more impactful and will make it easier for couples to have a feel of what the actual AD dinner will be like.

I would have preferred that instead of a buffet setting ..;)

Oh yar, also, instead of just letting the MC read out the wedding package and showing the video presentation (both of which are already in the package brochure!), they shld have just maybe introduced the wedding co-ordinators, show some video clips of feedback of past couples, let them share their experiences of what they had gone thru etc... that'll be much more interesting!!

Dear Jovia Ger:

The sit-down thingy really sounds much beta compared to buffet style! hehe.. And you should tell Cara ur marketing strategies for the wedding fair packages! hehe..

Would u gals be going to other wedding fairs after u've confirmed with MM? Is there any need other than cheap buffet? (haha..)

And what theme would u gals be going for? Mi be going for the red one. Goes with my red colour theme and asian overall them.

CHEERS!!!
191328.gif

Dear Keiki:

That day saw three on display...

One is red, one is violet/purple with white, one is ivory

Maybe can custom make le?

The red one got red plate, violet one got purple plate, ivory one got a bird painted on ivory coloured plate.

And the floral arrangements differed somehow too! Mi be meeting up with June Florist to discuss in detail what i want and see if i wanna top up more for certain arrangements to be made.. One or two months b4 the banquet will do..

Cheers!!!

hehe..
191338.gif

hi sashamama,

i dun have a single idea abt the themes too! haven't even seen them before... so, which one's nicer? oso, their main theme is still the candlelight one rite?

i called MM up yest and spoke to Charles, he agreed to let us have free flow of beer if we have 58 tables. shldn't be a prb, but it means no video montages liao... sad!

i working at ocbc...

Dear Summersnow:

Eh... Actually i like the purple-white theme.. My fav colour is purple mah.. Then FH says like Malay wedding.. haha..

The ivory theme also not bad, but might be drowned in the whole sea of white tables..

The red one is more outstanding, but might be cheena-obiang if u choose to think that way lo.. Especially the red table cloth has some cheena-gold-motifs. But i dun mind cos that's exactly my decor theme - asian, and colour theme - red.

hehe..

Ur wedding coming lo! Think u can ask ur coord when are the weddings coming up these few weeks in ur ballroom and choosing the different themes. Then if u dun mind, go down and view the decorated ballrooms according to the different themes before u decide lo!

Think having candlelight is still their overall theme. Based on what i saw the first time i went down to view the set-up ballroom, every table had a transparent glass bowl with rose petals and tea lights. Looked quite plain to me, but then again, when the first dish comes, it'd be removed. Unless u wanna pay more for every table to have a smaller floral centrepiece that would stay on the tables throughout the night..

Video montage if u wanna pay other companies to make, would be abt a few hundred. Mine is $580 by itself, but my whole package is $2380, inclusive of whole day videography, photo montage and express highlights of what hap in the day (which would be evntually edited to include highlights of the banquet as well - end product is like an MTV for what hap in the whole day)..

Ocbc! i went there a few times to pay for my car's instalments before my giro was approved! hehe..

CHEERS!!!
191538.gif

hi sasha, thanks for your theme info! didn't realise there were 3 themes.

hi christine, glad u managed to get free flow of beer, u mean he took away the video montages? but there'll still be the projector rite? maybe u can get frens to do a simple slideshow of your pictures?

Hi gals, which ballroom are most of you using? I only have about 28 - 30 tables, so MM has given us the Les Oiseaux Ballroom. But there are two pillars there and since the max capacity is 30 tables, I'm kind worried that the last two tables may be blocked. Has anyone held their wedding in Les Oiseaux with 30 tables? Is it cramped and will the tables be blocked? Thanks.

I would say that their wedding show last year was definitely much better than this year's. Last year, we sat in round tables and had tasted 5 dishes and they were fantastic! THerefore, I was very disappointed by this yr wedding show but luckily my tickets are complimentary.

Wow, I was away for a week and the thread is soo active!

Just wondering, at the wedding show, did they showcase their wedding favours or feature any favours supplier?

Beerbambi, how come you got comp tickets??

Hi all, this is my first time posting a message. (hope it works!)

Have booked with MM recently but din't attend the wedding show 'cos i was sick on that day...but looks like I din't miss much from the comments. Any1 seen their bridal suite? Any idea which floor they are on?

Other than the banquet, everything else is still not ready in my case...that is haven't buy house, haven't choose ROM date... should i start to panick?

Sashamama, read that you have compile a list of wedding info...could you send a copy to me too? Thanks in advance.

hi heaven i have seen the wedding suite when my frd has the wedding there, if it is the one sea view facing it is very nice

hi S

General comments on food is good. As for service, not sure, but know that they will be serving each individual guests...waiter to table ratio 1s 1 to 2.

so have you booked with them or still evaluating?

For MM co-ordinators,

I have 1 comment on the Les Oiseaux Ballroom, hope you would take into consideration for the next year renovation.

The foyer outside the ballroom where the reception and cocktail party are held is a bit dark in the evening. Pls see whether the lightings could be improved in this area.

Hi Heaven,

I've arleady booked for a Sat wedding and my ballroom will be Les Oiseaux Ballroom. When is yours? have you booked? where will be your ballroom?

I've seen yoru post for MM coordinators. I find the foyer lighting is jsut nice. have the taste of romantic. If too bright, the whole place won't look grand anymore. tat is my personal view.

HI ALL , I JUST HAD MY WEDDING @ MM ON THE 10/10
I HAD 50 TABLES THE MAINBALLROOM
everything was good and fine just that the svc a bit slow but all my guests said the foodd was goooood ............and i think the march - in wif bubbles effect are something diff and is beri cosy and nice .........

Hi Paulyn

Great to hear your wedding went well at the main ballroom! Just to check, how long did your march-in take in total, taking into account the bubbles effect etc?

Did you manage to have different songs for the march in and cake cutting/champagne pouring etc?

hi paulyn, juz wondering, also about your march-in, coz mine's also in the main ballroom, and I find the march-in rather short... did you lengthen it?

I was at the wedding show...agreed wif all...it wasn't impressive...but the perks are really attractive.
We are now down wif either raffles the plaza or MM... it is a tough choice... any opinions?

Hi vivtan,
I was stuck with a similar choice- MM, Raffles,Pines...
In my opinion, MM will be more economical as the majority of the guests would be giving the same amt of angpow for these 2 hotels.
So I went for a lower cost....if atmosphere and bridal suite is more important to you, then guess you can go for raffles...
Just my personal opinion...hope it helps

thanks Yuuri!

sigh....yeah....that's the problem...we couldn't decide which is more important.

haaa...when i finally decided to go wif MM...my FH couldn't get the suite out of his mind...

how was your wedding at MM? who was your coordinator? mine is gladys...she is nice n easy going wif perks.

is there anything i should look out for if i go wif MM?

Eh Vivtan,
Pai sey, I'm a bride-to-be..haven't had the dinner yet :P

Can someone help out with the walk-in? I wanna know how long it would take for the main ballroom!

for those who has tied their knots at MM, may I check with you how much you paid for printing the inserts recommended by MM? my wife & i just collected the invitation cards yesterday...going to look for printing of the inserts...will appreciate and advice...thanks

Hi Nismo:
Below is what i quote from another bride Unicorn, from the archives of this thread. Hope there's some help!
"We got our inserts printed at Kentridge ..
Pretty fast and the price is reasonable ..
70bucks for 300 inserts ..
You can ask your MM co-ordinator for contacts .."

Dear gals:

For the bridal suite, I know there're four, are they all facing the sea? Or we need to make special request for one that faces the sea?
Thanks!!!

Dear MM NEWBIES / NEWBIES 2B!!!

Come join us!!!
Update ur info so we can chat beta!
Me will do the compilation now and then!!!
Please include ur email so i can send u my 82-page wedding info file!
CHEERS!!!

TEMPLATE:
Nick:
ROM Date / Venue / JP:
AD Date / Ballroom Name / Table No / Lunch.Dinner / Cost / Coordinator / Photographer / Videographer:
BS Name / Cost:
PS Name / Cost:
Home Date Gotten / Housing Estate / Flat Type / Cost / Contractor.ID / Reno Cost:
HM: Place / Length of stay / Agency (If any) / Budget:
Sch History Pri / Sec / Tertiary (If any, can include Course):
Email: For sharing of Pix / Lobang / etc.

Please feel free to edit / leave out info u think unnecessary or sensitive ya?

(Note: AD = Actual Day / BS = Bridal Studio / PS = Photo Shoot / ID = Interior Designer / HM = Honeymoon :P)

--------------------

List of MM Brides (In Alphabetical Order)

JovialGer
ROM/AD: 08.10.05 / Grand Ballroom / 40 Tables / $800 / Cara / Sam Photography / Mirage Pictures
BS & PS: Yvonne Creative / $3,588
Home: With HB's parents @ Tampines
HM: Not decided
Sch: NHPS / NYGH / HCJC / NTU

Piyopiyo
ROM: 28.12.04 / ROM Registry
AD: Nov 05 / Main Ballroom / 35 Tables confirmed / Cara / Photog - Sourcing
BS & PS: Z wedding Design $3388
Home: Seng Kang / 5 Room Standard / $210k / Contractor.ID: TBA / Reno Cost: TBA

Sashamama
ROM: 28.06.05 / Marina Mandarin / JP - David Loh
AD: 28.06.05 / Grand Ballroom / 40 Tables / Dinner / $600Nett / Cara / Photog - Hilarion Goh / Videog ¨C Adrian Lee
BS: Dang / $3288nett, Add poss other top-ups, $4100
PS: The Edge (Andrew Tay)
Home: Gotten during the recent WIS / Punggol Edgefield Plains / EA Premium / $329k / Sourcing
HM: Japan / 7D / Agency ¨C Sourcing / Budget ¨C Max $7k
Sch: Tampines Pri / Temasek Sec / Temasek JC / NTU-NIE (Teach Sec Chi)
Email: [email protected] / [email protected]

Snow26
ROM: 28.05.04 / ROM Registry cum Ritz Carlton
AD: 03.04.05 / Les Oiseaux / 20 - 25 tables / Lunch / $550Nett / Gladys / Photog - Alan
BS & PS: Bridal Zone $3388
Home: 16.02.04 / Boon Lay / 5 Room Standard / $201k / Contractor.ID - S.C at Novena / Reno Cost - $25k
Sch: Fengshan Pri / Bedok South Sec / NYP

Summersnow
ROM: 20.03.04 / ROM Registry
AD:25.01.05 / MM Main Ballroom / 45 Tables confirmed (need 58??? - scarie!) / Irene (TBA) / Photog - William (hubby's fren)
BS: Bridal Zone / $3388
PS: Bridal Zone (Total : $5300)
Home: Seng Kang / 5 Room Standard / $300k / Contractor.ID: Rustics Novena / Reno Cost: $15K (resale flat, no need to reno much)
Email: [email protected].

Yuuri
ROM: Undecided
AD: 06.03.05 / Grand Ballroom / 35 Tables / $770 Nett / Gladys / Photog - Everbliss
BS & PS: Everbliss / $3388
Home: Getting Keys in Nov / Hazel Park / 2 Room Condo / Still looking
HM: Finland,Sweden,Norway,Denmark,Estonia / 12D + extension / Agency - Super Travels / Budget - Max $10k
Sch: MGS Pri / MGS Sec / ACJC / NTU

List of MM Brides (According to Dates)

1) Summersnow ¨C 25th January 2005 (Tue)
2) Yuuri ¨C 6th March 2005 (Sun)
3) Snow26 ¨C 3rd April 2005 (Sun)
4) Sashamama ¨C 28th June 2005 (Tue)
5) JovialGer ¨C 8th October 2005 (Sat)
6) Piyopiyo ¨C November 2005