Marina Mandarin Singapore

shellzzz

hey! =) I'd also be using the one on the 5th floor if confirm too.. guest list around 26 tables, so grand ballroom is eliminated liao.. Jovia/Ger, whould ures be a wkday/wkend?? can share what are the perks that u have negotiated for? thanks!

jessp

Mine is on Sat (weekend). Weekday perks are better, such as free flow of beer etc.. Just negotiate for higher % for car park coupons, invitation cards etc.. and "Other Perks" as they detail in the last page.. will yours be on weekday? Mine I can negotiate more as I have more confirmed tables of 40..

jessp

Hi shellzzz..

which month will your wedding be? BTW, will you be going to their wedding fair coming up in Oct 04? Can get to try out some of the dishes too.. ;p

shellzzz

yupp.. will definitely be going to to the wedding fair coming up.. most prob will sign up then then can get more freebies & stuff.. =) btw, how much did u pay for the package altog? will u be having the sash thingy for each chair? Am thinking of doing it... =)

jessp

Hi shellzzz

so you cant accept private message! Maybe you PM me with your email, then we discuss via email abt the packages will be faster...;p

tootsieroll

Nice to know people are considering MM. Cara followed up promptly from my email enquiry. I'm only looking at 10-15 tables, so we'll see what perks she can/cannot give.

shellzzz

well, for me, i think the lighting is not too bad.. ceiling not super high, but still ok... =)Like the nice & long walkway a lot.. haha! but becoz of that, it may be a little difficult for pple to really see what's happening on the stage...

piyopiyo23

Hi Anyone had their wedding banquet held at MM?
Hope someone can share their experience with MM cos I plan to have mine banquet held there. But do not hope to regret after signing the contract. =)

jessp

Hi Piyopiyo,

I have signed up with MM, will be having banquet on grand ballroom (level 1). How abt you? They have a wedding fair coming up in Oct 04, and I'll be going there too.. maybe you would like to attend as well to better make your choice ;P

yuuri

Thanks choo,
in your opinion, is it nice? Has anyone been to see the bridal suite prior to the wedding coz' when I asked the coordinator, she die die won't let me see the suite....

jessp

Hi Yuuri,

I have taken a look at it. It's basically a combination of 2 rooms, but as what choo said, one is with bed, cabinet, the other with TV, sofa. Looks normal and OK to me, but i dunno if they will do special deco or wat for the actual bridal suite....

choo

Yurri,
If compared to some other much more'grand'hotel,i think MM bridal suite can be quite normal.Think my expectation too high lah..but overall still acceptable.Yup MM coordinator not that flexible..

starfruit

I had my dinner at MM in 2002.. gosh thats like 2 yrs ago. no complain. really enjoyed myself that day. my wedding manager was fantastic too.

As for the bridal suit, yeah, its basically just 2 connecting rooms, one room which is the sitting area and one is the bed room. Oh and the bathroom is really huge too

Hope thsi helps.

yuuri

Thanks for all ur replies...guess I won't opt for an additional night then!
Can share how negotiable their terms are? Do they provide day rooms for helpers?

eeggyolk

Hi Yuuri

my package have an overnight deluxe room for helpers...not sure if they have removed this item. Think you need to check with them their current package

yuuri

Can I check with you guys for the upcoming Marina Mandarin Wedding show...do we need invites for it? Or pay for it?

yuuri

Egg yolk,
Actually I was wondering more about a room for use before the dinner, do make up, change, etc...the last time I asked, they refused to give me a room...

jessp

Hi Yuuri,

Yup, the upcoming MM show is on 9 Oct, $20 per couple, thk the application form can be found on one of the recent magazines (cant recall which one)..

Tot the room to use before dinner to do make up etc will be the bridal suite right?

babysheep22

Hi all MM brides / considering MM

I just had my food tasting at MM and I must say, the food is very good. I will be having my wedding dinner at the grand ballroom on 9 Oct (yes. the same day as the wedding show).

My present coordinator, Beng khoon is v nice and professional. It's enjoyable dealing with him and I am sure my wedding will go smoothly.

Yuuri,

I agree with JoviaGer. The last time when I was jie mei... it was also done in the bridal suite. It was in conrad hotel. And I felt the bridal suite was only so so lor...

The wedding show is $20 bucks per couple. But I think got some perk if book using UOB card. Not sure... got to check.

tomidia

attended my frd's wedding at MM on wed, personally i feel the ballroom is so old looking...food wise, i will say so so.. but service was very slow, we only finished dinner at 11:10pm although the dinner started at 8:30pm!

piyopiyo23

Heehee, I went to see the actual wedding setup yesterday, Not bad! The amtosphere very warm. However, I do agree with Tomidia that the ballroom look abit old. No Worry, Understand from my coordinator, Cara, Main Ballroom will be renovated after June 05. Hopefully, by then the ballroom will be more grand. =)

blurunicorn

Juv:
We got our inserts printed at Kentridge ..
Pretty fast and the price is reasonable ..
70bucks for 300 inserts ..
You can ask your MM co-ordinator for contacts ..

piyopiyo23

Hiz...

Can any kind souls advise us what is the average consumption of beer like say for 40tables? Cos we did not manage to garner free flow of beer..

Jovia_ger...u said that u manage to negoiate for free flow of beer.. When is ur dinner?

Cheers..

jessp

Hi piyo...

nope, i din get free flow (that's usually for wkday only), but i'm getting an extra 30l ie total of 60l for 40 tables, think you better have 60l as well. so when's your AD? we may be in the same mth, which is Oct 05! taking grand ballroom too?

hi babysheep,

so your wedding will be held in the same ballroom immediately after the wedding fair? wah.. so we will get to see close to the actual setup of your wedding then! ;)

piyopiyo23

Hiz...jovia..

Thankie...mine is in Nov'05..u are slightly ahead of us..
Yup..also in the grand ballroom...heard from my coordinator, they may have intelligent lighting. But the actual "do-up" details have not been finalised. Hope we have a more beautiful and cosy ballroom after the "do-up".

Hiz babysheep...we will be able to see "pretty pretty" you in gorgeous gown after our wedding show.. Rem us..we shall step up to you guys to send our congratulations.. Cheers...

Hi Egg yolk..u said u have a room for the coordinators. When is your dinner?

Would appreciate any further advice from any "experienced" persons or anyone who has done some feedback on beer consumption..

Thanks a lot for all the help...

eeggyolk

Hi Piyo Piyo...

My AD is this coming Oct...signed up with MM late last yr. Maybe they may have changed their freebies already.

jessp

Hi piyo,

If you also have 40 tables.. then u can get those perks listed in the MM package right? Try to discuss more with Cara.. so which perks are you likely to take from the list?

yuuri

Hi Piyo,
I believe the freeflow beer is offered as an extra perk for their upcoming wedding show....and also within this period, the coordinators will just throw it in even if you do not attend the show. Hope this helps

nemo_sg2004

HI UNICORN,
You printed the inserts at Kentridge? What types of inserts is it? Are they the transparent type? How soon can you get the printed inserts?

blurunicorn

Nemo:
Yah ..
The inserts are actually those translucent type, provided by MM ..
Took us ard 1.5 weeks to confirm and print the inserts ..
Better to go down personally ...

glitter

Hi Unicorn,

thanx for your reply!
did u choose the red cd or beige one? i choose the red colour... can i hv a look at your card? but kentrige a bit far for mi cos i stay in north..might be going to AMK there called H iTech..

shymz

just checking to see if anyone here has had their dinner at Les Oiseaux in Marina Mandarin. How's the service and food? Could anyone share their photos of their actual day? Please email [email protected]

keiki

hi has anyone had their wedding or attended e wedding at the grand ballroom? is it old-looking when the set up is done? coz i'm about to confirm e venue... but juz wanna get opinion of others whether they find the place old looking... tks!

yuuri

Hi Keiki,
I peeked in on someone's dinner last week...
and it looked quite nice after set-up...i mean, if you don't stare at the carpet or something, it actually looks pretty okay...

keiki

hi yuuri! haha thanks for ur comment, i tink i'll prob go down and haf a look this week, but do u mean the carpet looks worn??