Marina Mandarin Singapore

Not been here for quite some time... seems like it is getting lively again.

My Coordinator is Irene, she's okie. Seem quite cold at first, but will joke alot aft she warms up to u...

Jeanne,
Hmm... think the more popular coordinators are Irene and Gladys, u might want to chk it out...

Overall, 2005 package are slighty most costly, but with some changes in the menu... Yup, think they having some discount off the package or something now... heard abt it too, but not too sure.

Hey, anyone heard abt them intending to offer candles as wedding favors other than their usual chocolates? Heard Irene mentioning it to me when I signed up but no news aft dat... sigh... their aft sales service is realie amoz zero...

I was a MM bride and had my wedding dinner in April this year. Not too sure what kind of after-sales services you are expecting but we had a wonderful experience with them. What else is there is talk about till nearer to the wedding date?

Whenever we had questions on the wedding arrangements that popped out of the blue, they were always so eager to assist when we called them over the phone. When it was time to send out the invitation cards, we were contacted promptly to pick up the cards and advised the timing to send out the cards. And then when we met up again closer to the wedding day to confirm final details , we were again impressed by their professionlism and friendliness. Guess it must be hard to perform a "boring" task like wedding dinner coordination over and over again, and yet you can feel their passion for their job and the genuineness in them to make your important day as perfect as they possibly can for you.

Again, excellent service rendered by the banquet team and great food served on the actual day. We recieved a lot of positive comments from our relatives and friends.

Just sharing my experience with brides who had signed up with MM to assure you that you are in good hands.

Christine - Gladys told me about their wedding favours for next year, but she herself not sure what's its going to be but will update me once its finalized.

hi all ...

i'm a MM bride too .. be holding my banquet there nxt mth ... i do agree wif Dniw ... so far they r great ... usually they will call u 2 to 3 months prior to wedding for collection of cards .. and one month before wedding day... to meet up for a detailed discussion of the wedding ... i shd say i'm impressed ... i went for the discussion with a full list of questions ... and know what .. all questions had been answered after her 'briefing' .. i didn't have to ask anything at all.. it's good ... i felt very assured that the whole event will be in good hands ...
so dun worry gals .. i'm sure you will have a great time wif MM ....

hi unicorn,

thanks! ya .. busying preparing ... buying stuff

oh .. ok ... well ... originally it's just chocolates for wedding favours .. bt irene showed us their new wedding favours .. candles ... 2 designs .. heart shapes and roses ... i chose the latter .. she says look nicer .. i trust her lah..

no leh ...
i oso look at pixs only ... when u meet up wif the coordinator to finalise details for ur wedding dinner .. she will sure show u .... maybe i try take one pix after my dinner .. and email u?

I just got the MM wedding package (dinner: $708 for weekday and $808/$838 for weekend and pool garden buffet: $65/$75 per person) from Gladys also for 150 guests. I have yet to decide whether to go for it. It looks quite ex.

How about yours? Care to share?

the marina square renovation will be completed in phases... part of it will be completed end of this year.. the other part next yr..
i think it's not a good idea to have the wedding dinner at marina mandarin during this period of time

i'm also going to have my dinner at MM in 3 weeks' time. I got quite a good deal off the weekday package but that was last year's prices. I agree that the service has been decent thus far, they did call us up promptly to remind us to collect cards, plus they were willing to give extra cards etc. Meeting up with our coordinator soon, to finalise the details of decor and food etc.
Just went to take a look last saturday, they happened to have a wedding that evening. I thought the decor (for les oiseaux) was quite elegant and nice.

Huiling:
Oic ..
Did u change your wedding favours to candles as well ??
Who is your coordinator ??
Can share your experience of the bqt preparation with us ??
Thanks a lot ..

hi Unicorn,
I don't know if they'll allow us to change the wedding facvours, but will try asking..
I'll be meeting my coordinator Irene by end of the week, I'll let you all know how the meeting goes. =)

hi All,
I managed to meet up with Irene. Things went well. We'll be using the romantic bubbles theme for the march-in (exciting!), and will also be using the new favours- rose-shaped candles. Quite nice. Also decided on our menu- quite satisfied too... For the desserts, there were a few choices, we finally decided on the mango sago with ice-cream, something refreshing and different from the usual stuff. According to Irene, it's usually quite well-recieved by guests.

Nemo, as for the renovation, it's unlikely that it'll end anytime soon, because it's part of the circle line connection, i think! But i agree with Irene that it won't affect the wedding held inside at all. Of course, when we invite our guests, we might want to 'prep' them first, so that they won't be in for a rude shock when they see all the reno/construction happening there.

The pre-dinner menu was not bad - had quite a few things to choose from. But warning- don't go for things like lime juice if you plan a special item to sing to your spouse during the dinner! =)

So far, we are happy with MM's services. (although initially we were also quite apprehensive about how it'll turn out). So no worries, you'll be in good hands!

yup, they gave us a list of items, chinese food or western food, to choose from. you can check with your coordinator about that. that's probably small costs to them, probably can negotiate..

Huiling:
So u got your pre-dinner free ??
We haven't meet up with our co-ordinator yet ..
Mebe next mth which is approx 3 mths away from wedding ..
Do u have any pics of the candles ??

it's part of the package, probably absorbed somewhere in the costs, so i wouldn't call it "free"...=)
erm.. and actually, we met up with her only 2 weeks before our wedding. 3 months is quite a long way off =)
no pictures of the candles. it's in a round shaped tin, with an ornamental lid of either heart shape or rose.

Hi..

I'm thinking of holding my dinner at MM too.. heard from Gladys that the ballroom will be renovating next yr ard aug..hope the ballroom will be brighter..BTW, what r the perks that I should go for when I want to sign up with them?? Is it possible to bargain for 1 free table for every ten tables?? Cos my friend at Beautford can do that.

Any Ex Marina Mandarin Brides? I am thinking whether the LO ballroom is too dark? care to comment or show me some pictures? thanks!

Hi SP80, the room was ok...preferred the slight darkness because of the ambience it creates, when the lights came on, the ballroom didn't look as romantic. Just my two cents worth.

Just had my food tasting with MM and am very disappointed. We had to pay 50% for the food tasting and the serving seems to be deducted by half as well. Is there any change in the chef? The food didn't taste as nice as what we had tried during the wedding show. The display of the food was horrible as well
Very disappointed... if we had this kind of food during the wedding show, I doubt we will sign up with MM.

Is the co-ordinator supposed to be around during the food tasting and get our feedback? (I know some hotels do) Or are they supposed to follow up with us the next day on our feedback? I had none and still waiting....... as I couldn't get hold of my co-ordinator

My sister just had their food tasting last month. Food & portion is pretty ok. Her co-ordinator, Irene spoke to them next morning & she went thru every detail & description of the other menus for my sister to consider. My sister is very sad to know that she has already left the hotel & so far nobody has contact us on who is taking over. Who is your co-ordinator?

i held my dinner at MM just last month, things were great! was surprised to hear that irene has left...she was our coordinator. i felt that the lighting of LO created a very nice warm and cosy effect, which we liked very much, plus the banquet manager did a good job. on the overall, we were quite happy with MM. why don't you guys contact the General Manager, if you have difficulty with their follow up service? i'm sure the GM will do something about it. think his name is Eddy Tan if i'm not wrong

Hi Ann

No, don't think I wanna contact Irene since she has already left the hotel.

Anyway, got a call from MM and met up with the new coordinator. They didn't contact me earlier as after Irene left, they are trying to settle the upcoming weddings first.

Now I can be rest assured that I am in good hands as this coordinator is so much sincere than Irene. At least I don't always get a "No No" for an answer and "everything is in the package already, you cannot exchange for anything" etc.... not even to buy wine from them at a cheaper rate (that they are offering now). Irene said my package comes with this price and I have to pay this price... no negotiation.... She will say NO without any hesitation. Now that she has left, everything is negotiable and more flexible. Things are not as rigid as before anymore

Hi Kohtan

Who is your co-ordinator? Mine was Rebecca who has left and then passed on to Jennifer who has also left... so kind of worried now...

i agree with kohtan..with Irene everything is No & fixed..not flexible at all..discuss with her also fed-up...but with the new co-ordinators , issues can be discussed & negotiate..but still, there is still room for improvement..like, their service..wedding cards..esp, the beige colour one, its really ugly...

not been reading this thread for a few mths... it's gd to see dat it is thriving again!

huh? so irene has left? cham! she was my coordintator! who can i contact if MM failed to contact me? Irene told me dat i shld hear fr them in sept... any idea anyone?

hihi to all,

I am new here, but I'll be signing a package with MM for Oct 05 next year. Hope to have a good discussion with you folks here! =)

Hi Christine

I sure they will call you in Sept lah... don't panic first. When is yr wedding? Have you collected your wedding cards?

hi Jovia.. when's ure wedding? is it a wkday/ wkend? me seriously considering MM for wedding next year... haha! after touring most hotels so far.. finally narrowed down liao.. =) care to share ure experience with them so far?

Hi Jovia, Im also a May 05 bride with MM. Have you booked your banquet already? Who's your coordinator?

Shellzzz - Wat about you? You booked yours?

hi there.... (fat), I've not booked mine.. gonna do it soon, I hope.. if i can be convinced on certain stuff.. like the whole ambiance & feel of it.. saw the suite, but felt that it looked really plain.. not very special.
btw.. which room will u be using? i'm considering the 'french sounding room' hahaa.. forgot how to pronounce.. quite like it, but feel that the walk-in march super short.. any ideas/comments on this?

Hi (fat) and shellzzz,

Finally some activity! =) Mine is on Oct 05, have tentatively booked and will be paying deposit in Sept (after 7th mth). Will be using the Grand Ballroom on the 1st floor.

Co-ordinator is Cara, very friendly, helpful, and easy to talk terms with. Hehe.. try to ask for her! For me, I din really look at the bridal suite, was more concerned about the overall package, perks and ambience of the hotel. In fact, they will be doing slight renovation to the ballroom next year (finishing in Aug 04 estimated), so I will get to use the renovated ballroom!

Short march-in, but everyone will get to see the stage =). Think can work on ways to enhance the march-in, maybe get e guy to come in from side door first, then the ger from the other side door, then meet in centre (read from the other thread on enhancing march-in), so all these can be worked out... best is you think the package is value-for-money, and you like the ambience.. ;p

Hope the above helps!

Shellzzz - Im using the room on the 5th floor. Cant remember the name of it. I think you are referring to the same one as me rite? Basically, the march in distance is still quite ok for me. As for my suite, I only know its on the 10th floor.