Marina Mandarin Singapore

Hello Christine,

I have actually changed a few dishes on my menu w/o additional charges & mine is a weekday dinner. If you are opting for smoked tea duck or a slightly more expensive dish, I think you have to top-up $20-$40 per table. My husband who has tried it at a friend's wedding at MM said the duck dish is nice but not "good enough" to everybody's liking so can see eftovers on several tables. Hence we stix to the spare ribs on the menu. Maybe your mom has a particular liking for this dish?

I think MM has 2 concurrent promotions. The 1st is the one Ju@n was talking about but only applicable to weekday weddings I think. However you save on several things in this package! And even get free food tasting for 10 pax!

The 2nd promo is dunno $30 or $50 nett discount off every table. I cannot remember the minimum tables to commit so maybe you guys like to check with MM if interested?

I am not surprised that they dun take bookings for 2005 now as they are trying to sell their banquets for this year using these 2 attractive promos.

Oh btw, their bridal march-in change theme already! Its no longer dry-ice march-in. They are using the theme of romantic bubbles or so I was told last week. Hehehehe! So exciting... looking forward already

Hi Christine,
Thks for ur info. I'm looking at Sep'05. So far the other hotels that i went to (eg. Marriott, Meritus Mandarin, Holiday Inn, Le Meridien, Crown Prince, Pan Pac) allowed me to make a tentative bkg, so I dun c why MM dun!

Anyway, I went to the TNP Wedding Planner yesterday and tok to the co-ordinators at MM booth. They cnfm that nxt yr's pkg is not out, and will keep me posted when it's out at the end of this mth. BTW, ur AD is my birthday leh. Heehee, wat a coincidence! =p

Hi zhuzhu,
At the exhibition yesterday, MM was showcasing the bubbles theme. They hv this "equipment" to blow out the bubbles, pretty much like how kids take a stick with an "O" at the end of it to dip into soapy water and blow bubbles.

Hi Judyl,

Have missed the TNP Wedding Planner show... Care to share are there other hotels has their booth there ?? Are the perks given by MM good ?? Thanks

Hi Powerpuffgirl,

Yup, my mum has a special liking for the smoked duck, so will be topping up $25/- for it.

Judyl,
That's a nice coincidence!

Hi Okipoki,
The TNP Wedding Planner show was quite ok. Nothing much actually. What MM has there was all stated in the package details they emailed me, so really nothing much to see. As for the perks, it is only applicable to wedding dinners (weekdays) held within this year. Hence, if yours fall on 1st Jan 2005 onwards, it is not applicable.

There's a few other booths by hotels like Grand Plaza Park Royal (it's quite nice actually, and the package pretty attractive too), Suntec and one and two more I think.

Hi Christine,
Thanks for your response... Well, I am looking at this year weekday wedding package. So, care to share what they have ?

Hi chatterbox,

Will email u the package tommorrow when I'm in my office as I only it in my office email... btw, their package for yr 2005 is out now...

hi christine,

i went down last sat...they did not offer anything other than the standard stuff...did they offer u anything more?...i asked for the $38 nett off...but Gladys did not agree to it as she says its for 2005...gonna bargain with her again this sat...as i got more than 45 tables hope they can offer something better...else i will go to Pan Pac...by the way, the new package isn't worth it compared to the old package...

Hi pektl,

Yup, on the whole, I oso find MM quite rigid as in what u read is what u'll get eventually. Anything else which is not listed is chargeble...

We wanted to have 60 tables but then Irene said the max is 55 tables if we wana have a video presentation. So we asked if she can throw in the extra complimentary litres of beer (which is meant for 60 tables) since we are oradie having the max tables allowed with the video, but she said no. Said at least muz hit 58 tables, and we wonder how we gona do dat when she oradie said 55 is the max???

But okie lar, parents verie happie with the menu and so we have decided to book MM. No other choice, other hotels we shortlisted are oradie booked for the auspicious date we want...

Yup, the new package is slightly more exp... but this is the norm for all hotels. Pan Pac is verie nice. Actually we eyeing Pan Pac but they having some conference on the day we want, so boh bian... heehee... btw, which date are u eyeing? I have Pan Pac package details too, can email u if u wan.

Hey chatterbox,
So sorrie, not at my desk yest and today so can't send u the package details. Will do so tomolow, will send u 2005 package too.

Anyone seen the new setup for the ballroom yet? Heard from Irene that the new centrepiece for all the tables (except vip tables) will be a glass bowl filled with water, with floating candles and flowers petals. Have any of you seen this setting? Just wondering if it look nice as I actually wanted fresh flowers centrepieces which will be chargeble... ;(

Hey Christine - My AD at MM is in 2 weeks time & I will take the pics of the "new centrepiece" & show it to you after that. Hope to catch pics of the bridal march-in with bubbles effect too

Hi Christine,

I hope to be able to get free flow of beer but not sure if Gladys will give. I already seen the package for PanPac...the ballroom is nice becoz it was renovated about 2years back and still look quite new. But if you compare the prices, theirs is a bit too steep considering the food to be only ok.

I nearly booked at PanPac three weeks back but they told me to wait for the new package to be out this or next week and i will be given the choice to choose...so meanwhile my wife and me also considered MM which was out initial choice...

PanPac is however very flexiable with their stuff...they are willing to give me 100% parking, and free flow is beer is standard...of cours their tables is about $70 bucks more per table...and also one less dish compared to MM.

So my wife & me are caught in between...but now seems that will likely go for MM as my parents says food quality if more important compared to the place that look slightly nicer...

By the way, did they allow you to take up the old package when the new one was out? The new package not really worth it compared to the old one...

Hi Powerpuffgirl,

U muz be getting excited!

Thanks so much then! U're such a dear... Can't wait to see the photos! Btw, is yr wedding on 2/5? Cos Irene told me dat there will be a wedding on this day at the grand ballroom...

Hi Pektl,

Hmm... u muz let me knoe if u manage to get the free flow of beer k? Then i'll go and pester irene for it... heehee...

Find Pan Pac food quite okie. Haven't tried MM one yet, but alot of pple has got prettie gd review for it, so shld be okie.

Yup, we are given a choice betw this yr and next yr package, cos our wedding date is in Jan 05. So will be using this yr package instead. But aft changing some of the dishes, it will oso cost us 700 plus per table. ;(

hi Christine,

mine is on the Friday so is $788nett...going to check out later with Gladys...see wat she can give me...free flow of beer seems ok...will keep u inform...

hi Christine,

i just sign up with MM yesterday...Gladys can't give me free flow of beer...since i am taking the 2004 package...it's considered good price compared to 2005 new packages...so if u want, better sign up quick with them before they stop using the 2004 prices...good luck!

hi des,

hehehe... mine is juz a few days aft yrs... 25 jan 05...

so, any extra perks given to u? any extra anniversary stay or dinner given?

hi Christine,

no leh...nothing special given ah...only parking up to 25% only...did she give u extra anniversary stay???...she got give me food tasting for free but i committed 45 tables...

hi Christine,

yap...hope can get good food...must pray hard...haha...have ya get any photographer for your big day already?...any good recommendations?

hi pektl,

yeh yeh... muz pray hard...

photographer? we rope in the help of our fren, who is oso a professional photographer. infact, all of our frens ask him to be their photographer for their ROM and wedding day too.

he is my photographer for my ROM, mu hubby and i are verie satisfied with the pics... :P

hi christine,

i just got the contract from MM today...gotto sign and return...haiz...ask u har...how much ur friend charge??...wat about video??...u getting anyone to do it for you?...

hi des,

not sure abt the exact price he is charging. can chk for u...

as for video, my cousin is doing it for me... he doing professionally for weddings too. tink he charging btw $300 to $600... :P

Hi des,
my AD is the same as urs.
MM was my initial choice but we feel kinda ex.
no free flow of beer & no FOC food tasting.

btw, tat day is a a Hari Raya Haji.

hi jas,

congrats! yap! i only knew that it was Hari Raya Haji after i booked MM...so where did you finally booked?...

hi des,
booked Orchard Parade instead.
so u r havin the ballroom at 1st flr rite? coz u mention u having 45tbls.
so wat's the final price gladys gave u?

hi jas,

yap...ballroom on the 1st floor...how u know i got 45 tables? price still the same...that is 788...can have discount one meh?...i only know for 2004 have discount but not for 2005.

Hi ppl,
I oso booked my wedding banquet with MM ..
Think that MM is not really that flexible with the package .. Not much to negiotiate abt ..
Do u all realise that their packages keep changing ??
When I made the booking in Feb'04, I was not notified of any special promo like UOB 8% discount or free fd-tasting ..
It was 2weeks after we signed, then MM has a package which has ard S$ 30 off each table ..
Their rapid changes juz made us very confused ..
Seems like no one is pretty sure what is their std package ..
Since then, we simply dun look fwd to seeing any of the promos ..
And then after we handed in the contract, no calls were made to us to inform us that they have rec'd the contract and we even had to confirm with them ourselves ..
Btw, we booked the ballrooms on the 1st floor ..
Juz my cents of tots ..

hi unicorn,

nebermind lah....as long as u like the palce can liao lah...so let it be...wait for the BIG day to come... all the besT!~

Des:
Juz wana to say that not much after-sale service once we signed the contract ..
This is not cheap oso ...
Till now we haven't heard from our co-ordinator since then ..
Perhaps we shd call her again ..

I noticed that Marina Square is having a massive renovation, especially on the road outside Marina Mandarin leading to One Raffles Link. Anyone knows when the renovation will be completed?

I have also booked MM for my dinner in Dec 04. Rather worried that the renovation cannot be completed and the guests will be affected, especially those who travel by MRT.

I also agree with Unicorn that their after-sale service is quite bad. Have not hear anythings from MM after I have signed the contract.

Hi Nemo and Unicorn

I agree with both of u. Service at Marina Mandarin is really not very good!

My coordinator also left me alone once I signed and returned the contract.

Yup... this seems to be Marina Mandarin's style of service. Hehehe...

As for me, I have to call up my coordinator just to ask if they have received the contract I sent... haiz...

Juz hope dat everyting will go nicely and smoothly on the big day.

after we signed up with Marina Mandarin, they kind of "disappeared" too. but i guess we had to be pro-active. we have you keep track of a time line. it was like slightly more than 1 month away (about 7 weeks) that i called them to arrange for food tasting and the collection of cards.
They have everything down somewhere. so dun worry.

once the date draws nearer, things will start happening... like meeting the coordinator to select decor of the venue and such.

So the reno at MM is not done yet ??
I tot that the reno has started long time ago ??
Need to call them tomolo to ask them abt the wedding cards ..
If they forget to call us, I dun think all the first-timers here will realise that ..

Hi hi...i am new to this thread...has anyone gotten the package for 2005? i read alot about the $38nett off the package price...is that promo for 2004 packages or for 2005 packages? me kind of blur liao...cos seems like each of you signed up with a different promo package

I am actually very new to this forum... planning to hold my wedding in 05, but have not made any dates yet... was drawn to MM cos I stopped by one of the shows at Suntec city last month... and found their deco (and the bubble machine) very nice....

I spoke to one of the managers there and she was very very nice and patient wif me... cos i dun have any firmed details yet but she was stil willing to run thru the whole package wif me (even though it was very obvious that i was just browsing) anyway, quite like what i saw and the service i received from her.. but now i bit worried when u guys mention abt the poor after sales service... who are your coordinators? who shld i avoid? the one I spoke to was Fern but she was saying that she is not handling weddings... so now i dunno who they will assign me to if i sign up wif them... do u have any coordinators to recommend?

hi jeanne,

i think its not that bad...must be confident of them...no doubth they seems "dun care" but at the end of the day as long as things get done as it is suppose to, that will be good enough...good luck...anyway my coordinator was Gladys...she is okiee...not too bad...not too pushy...congrats on your coming big day...

Hi Gals - Im also a MM bride in 2005. Have already booked from them. My coordinator is Gladys. Very sweet & nice lady.

Jeanne - Ive attended a wedding dinner recently, the service was not bad at least no rushing of guests. Food there was great too. That's why I signed up with them.