Marina Mandarin Singapore

mary_poppins

Y Kim, for the wedding show perks, lunch package can choose either free flow beer or 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. Weekday dinner package has both free flow beer and 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table. But it is only valid for contracts signed by 31 Jan 08. Their standard package already has a barrel of beer.

To choose btw weekday dinner or weekend lunch depends on your preference. The older generation might not like lunch as they deem it as inappropriate or too cheap (even though it's priced quite close to weekday dinner). If the elders are ok with lunch, it's not a bad idea though. Considering lunch will end by 3 plus, the guests can still go shopping or movies etc after that. You may check if lunch is still available for your preferred date.

Hi Kodomo Concert, I have been to a few wedding dinner at MM and had D&D there twice over the past 4 years. No unpleasant memories so far. The food and service may not be the best but it is considered not bad.

poppop

Hi Nec, Thanks!!

Hi Kodomo, I received very positive feedbacks on the food esp their mango sago ice cream dessert. . .

ykls

hi nec, thank you for the information
My fren just went to a weekend lunch and she commented its very nice too. She attended the Vanda Ballroom one. Do you think I can ask to extend the bridal suite one more night?

hi marry poppins, thank you for the information. I try and ask the coordinator if can extend to me a not. She mention there is another wedding show coming up. Yup, I have this problem I wanted weekend lunch but my future mil says dinner would be better. So will re-calculate the dates see if weekdays is ok for us. I am thinking of 1st 2 weeks of Dec. If the dates suit us then will take weekday dinner if not will be weekday lunch since no choice le. So worried now hope the weekday dates are ok for me and MM still available. Thank you

octo

Hi Ykls,

Extending the bridal suite for 1 more night, usually they will ask you to exchange the helper's room 1 night stay for it. Think its pretty standard.

It seems like you are quite set to hold your wedding dinner with MM. Rather accommodate your dates than the venue.

By the way, does anyone still remember the perks given during the Jan 08 bridal show for weekends' dinner?

ykls

hi shir, thank you for the information
Haha, no choice because hotels with my original weekend dates all booked. So thinking of changing it to weekdays plus I do not have many tables then MM one of those nice place for lesser tables so quite set on this unless re-calculated dates really no good then change to weekend lunch at Marriot maybe. Thank you.

wenwen2112

Hi Meiling.
what u mean by customise our theme ? meaning we get our own florist to do the decor ? or MM can suit to our request ?
this sounds interesting

necrosis

i think can use the plates from one theme, the roses from another theme...the table cloth...?
er...?
lol..haha
blindly guessing...
maybe they have some other table cloths colors to choose from rather than just the 2 themes?

i know you can use blue roses (my cousin had blue roses in mm).
i recall my very friendly coordinator saying can choose flowers (cos you'll get a chance to talk to the florist and see if you need to top up)

~sblbee~

hi shir, wendy n nec,
i was told my wendy dat june florist is d floridt dat did up d floral deco for mm...if u want ur theme to b different as in d choice of flowers, u can go down straight to june florist n tell them to use d mm's budget dat was given, tell them wat's ur plan or idea so dat if u need to top up, they'll advise u accordingly
but u'll still have to stick to d 2 available choices of tablecloth n table setting, dat's fixed :p

concert

Thanks all for the positive feedback on the food. I havent tried the food tasting yet.. since my AD is only next year.

But ur positive remarks do reassure my decision ! =P

colt_26

Can anyone advise on what type of cooking for prawns is nice? butter & garlic sauce? oriental sauce? quaker oats? chinese herbs? i am in the midst of choosing menu for food tasting.

Oso is the yam paste nice?

kjustina81

Hi Colt !!

Me personally like Prawns cooked in Chinese herbs or rather wine (Drunken Prawns ~ Yum!!)

Yam Paste or Or-nee is traditional cantonese dessert .. see if the restaurant can cook it properly if not it won't taste nice lei ...

mary_poppins

Hi colt_26, if you like yam paste, then just choose it first. If not nice, then change to other safer desserts. For me, think I will choose the poached live prawns (with either wine and/or herb) and yam paste. But mine's still quite some time to go...

wenwen2112

Hi Colt, I personally like like Drunken prawns but I chose butter and garlic sauce for my food tasting cos I think its easier. For butter prawns,some ppl eat with the shell, easier for them. And I tried this dish in my friend's wedding at MM, think is reali nice...

As for the dessert, I chose yam paste thou we both find mango sago ice-cream taste not bad. Its cos we find the presentation of the mango sago ice-cream not so nice, bit messy. We will try the yam paste during my food tasting.If is not too good, then will choose the mango sago, no choice...

I having my food tasting tonight. Will update you girls again on the food.

colt_26

Hi wendy,

thanks. do update me after your food tasting ya.
i be having it about 3 weeks time.

but need to confirm with MM about the menu by next week.

mary_poppins

Hi wendy and colt_26, do share with us your food tasting experience.

I am a yam paste lover. So if it's not to bad, I will take it for sure.

micmattina

I would like to do a survey....What colours are your EGs going to be? Coz I am toying with the idea of fuschia, cobalt blue or jade green....Does the theme play a part in determining the colour scheme of your EGs? Appreciate if you could share...Thanx!

mary_poppins

Hi mich, I would choose dark pink or maroon cos my grandma prefers brighter colours and those colours compliments my skin tone. Try not to use the exact same colour as the table cloth as u might end up blending into the environment... In this aspect, theme does play a role in determining the colour scheme of ur EG.

colt_26

Mine is a bit silevrish brown. not sure how to describe. initially wanted to take maroon but notice the colour of MM carpet is towards maroon also. so didnt choose that colour to avoid blending into the carpet.

hi mary, when is your food tasting? mine will be in mid march. will update on the food if yours is after mine.

mary_poppins

Hi colt_26, I didn't realise that the carpet is towards maroon... Hmmm, I shall try to choose the maroon that is not so close to the carpet then. My food tasting should be another half a year later, definitely way after yours. Hope that everyone likes the yam paste cos I am a yam paste lover. In fact, I was thinking to ask the hotel to save a big bowl of yam paste for me after the lunch... =P But that is provided the yam paste is nice lah.

colt_26

Hi Mary,

I will try out yam paste next month and let you know how is it ya. I love yam paste also thou i find the mango sago quite unique. but still be testing yam paste cos i think it will be a safer choice when eldery are involved.

ya, better to double check the colour of the carpet and table cloth to avoid getting similar colour tone for our EG.

mary_poppins

Hi colt_26, did you check out the colour with Wendy Lou? Or fix an appointment with her to see the colour of the carpet and tablecloth? I will going to select the gown on 1 April. Have to check this out by next month liao.

colt_26

i saw the colour of the carpet when i went for the wedding show. think no need to make apptm. you can just pop by to take a look at the carpet.

as for table cloth, i didnt check cos i believe there will be more variety for table cloth. as least it can be changed but not carpet which is fixed.

wenwen2112

Hi Colt,

The food tasting last night is quite pleasant. The yam paste is nice... I like it alot, is thick and not oily at all.. You have not gone for your food tasting ? When us ur AD ? tot your wedding is b4 mine...hee

colt_26

hi wendy,

my AD is 15 May. so you going to choose yam paste?
what are other dishes you take?
did you try their mee sua? how about prawns? and fish?

~sblbee~

hi colt 26,
personally i tried d yam paste n i felt it's nice...as for d prawns, i tried d oriental sauce one, hmm...it's so-so only n d downside is dat it's only 1 prawn per pax, though it's big but it doesnt seem so nice...so i may change to d drunken prawns...though i had selected butter wif garlic as drunken prawns is sorta safer choice for most ppl :p but i heard frm my coordinator dat d quaker oat one is special n nice too...sigh, so many choices so in a dilemma

think there's only 2 types of table cloth?

wendy,
wah...so fast? u went for ur food tasting alrdy? glad dat u had a pleasant experience...can share wif us ur menu n ur feedback...wld like to get ur feedback b4 i make my decision on my menu as well...
wat rice/noodles dish u have? im deciding between eefu noodles n mee sua. wat abt d prawns? is it 1 pc per guest? i wonder if d drunken prawns wld b 2 per guest? during my fren's wedding, i tried d prawns wif oriental sauce...it's not as nice cos it's a bit big n d meat is rather tough...hmmm

mary_poppins

Thanks wendy and Meiling for sharing the experience with the food at MM.

Hi colt_26, are you or ur HTB Hokkien? Think mee sua is more for the hokkiens.

By the way, my free lancer PG's website is up.
http://www.thomas-tan.com/
Feel free to contact him if you are interested in his works.

~sblbee~

mary poppins,
im kinda torn between getting d mee sua or ee-fu noodles as im a hokkien but den i find dat d mee sua tasted similar to mee hoon n i cant tell d difference...personally i like ee-fu better but den mee sua seems to b more uinque...sigh, wat abt u? wat's ur take?

ykls

hi all, went to MM this morning to check out the ballroom. Now I have second thoughts, please help. I realise that the Vanda ballroom has a low cceiling, on the actual day with the lights and flowers will it look weird? Anybody have any pics to share? Also, the stage is quite small, I am worried because I am thinking of holding my solemnization anybody planning to do that also? It seems too small to put tables for us to sign. Lastly, it seems to be a short march in, is it adequate? Or is there another way to come in by?

My FB and I really like the reception area and the location but is not woo over by the room so now not sure what to do. Please advise, highly appreciated. Thank you!!!

mary_poppins

Hi Meiling, as both me and my HTB are teochews, we never thought of choosing mee sua. Most probably going for Steamed Lotus Leaf Rice with Assorted Meat cos during the recent wedding show, we have tried it and like it. Furthermore, both of us are rice person. Indeed mee sua is more unique but you can easily cook it at home or buy it from outside. Comparatively, it's not as easy to find ee fu noodles. As mee sua turns sticky pretty fast, not too sure if they are able to serve everyone before it turns messy. Maybe for your food tasting, you may wish to try out mee sua. If it is not up to your expectations, switch to ee fu noodles (which is a safer choice).

Hi Y Kim, do you want to solemnise during the banquet or before that? If you wish to do it before the banquet, they should be able to arrange another function room for you (with tables and chairs only). So no need to worry about the small stage.

ykls

hi mary, I am thinking of doing it before the wedding so is quite worry about the small stage. The co-ordinator told me that there are couples who do that but I am not sure if it will be very cramp. Thank you.

sunqian

Just signed up with MM today, think MM has quite a value for money package as compared to other hotels of similar standards.

My AD will be in Jan 2009, hope they will have more themes and favours to choose from by then.

mary_poppins

Hi Y Kim, since I am using the grand ballroom, they allow us to use the smaller function room beside the grand ballroom to do the solemnisation in the morning at no extra costs since they only provide the table with skirting and chairs (no deco). If you use vanda ballroom, they might have smaller function rooms nearby for you to do the solemnisation then proceed to the reception area for the cocktail. Like that no need to worry about the small stage.

Hmmm mich, think I will attend the next wedding show to see the colour of the carpet. Or maybe do something to the edge of the maroon EG to differentiate it from the carpet.

Hi sunqian, now colt_26, u and me are using the same BS and hotel. Maybe mine is lunch and with top up to include suckling pig slices for the first dish, it costs almost as much as the weekday dinner pricing already. Comparing with other hotels such as Goodwood Park and Ritz Carlton, it is definitely more value for money. But comparing to Swissotel Merchant Court, Traders Hotel, and many other hotels, it is actually much more expensive. As for the themes, I am not so particular so long as it doesn't appear too distasteful. For wedding favours, so long as they still have the magnetic photo frame and coaster by the time we select our favour, I think that's fine as well.

~sblbee~

mary poppins,
i've tried d mee sua at their wedding show but both my fh n i were not too impressed, however i tried their ee-fu noodles at my fren's wedding last yr, it was still ok :p
same here, im doing my solemnisation at d function rm bside d grand ballrm...hehe, after dat it'll b my changing rm :p

y kim,
i agree wif mary poppins...cos they r arranging for another function rm for me for my solemnisation ceremony b4 d banquet, unless u r gona do it during d banquet...dat time when my fren had his wedding in d vanda ballrm, i felt d stage is rather small as it allows only a small grp of yamseng party to b on stage given dat d backdrop has alrdy occupied part of d stage :p

mary_poppins

Hi Meiling, you want to change in the small function room beside the grand ballroom? I wanted to do that initially but was told that we cannot lock the door for the function room. Furthermore, if we want to use the toilet we have to use the common toilet for the ballroom. Another concern will be where to get a mirror? So I have 2nd thoughts about using the function room as the changing room.

sunqian

Hi Mary Poppins, ya 3 of us have the same BS and hotel. I've been to Traders and Merchant Court, Traders ballroom is not very nice, the reception area is within the ballroom itself, Merchant Court hotel interior decor looks not as grand as MM, so still think that MM is more value for money lor =) Mine is on a weekday night.

The existing MM themes are not bad also but hope to have more choices.

ykls

hi marry_poppins and meiling, thank you for the suggestion. I am thinking of holding it during the dinner itself as I am holding it on a weekday. Now quite worried the stage cannot hold the solemnization table although the coordinator say ok. For the march in through the vanda room, are you all planning to start from the door? I am thinking if can go a few steps before the door so the march in can be longer.

hi sunqian, yup I agree the traders ballroom reception not very good I went there and check it out also. Yup, I also think MM is value for money me. I am also holding it during weekday. Are you getting the vanda or the ballroom?

I saw the coasters during the meet-up on saturday with the coord. It looks quite nice with organza pouch. She mention that there will be another design coming up so hopefully more to choose from

~sblbee~

mary poppins,
yah i intend to get my JM to guard d door while i change...

y kim,
oh, as im using d grand ballroom i shd think it's ok but i intend to march in a few steps before d door too

ykls

hi meiling, oh but grand ballroom I think the march in enough
quite long. You book dinner or lunch? Another option I have is change my weekday dinner to weekend lunch and take the grand ballroom.

mary_poppins

Hi sunqian, I thought the ballroom for Swissotel Merchant Court is more grand since the ceiling is much taller? My best friend held her wedding there last year and I find it pretty ok. But I still prefer MM though, hehe... What I like most abt MM is the wide and spacious reception area. I only look at two hotels, which is GWP and MM. It's only after I booked MM then I started to realise other hotels are charging so little for lunch. No wonder some of my colleagues and friends thought lunch is very cheap compared to dinner, although I am paying almost as much as weekday dinner. But then, I did not regret my choice since we can rest assured that everything will go on smoothly, given that MM has very good coordinators, compared to some other initial choices of mine.

Hi Y Kim, I am taking the grand ballroom for my lunch as well. Maybe I shall march in a few steps before the door as suggested by Meiling and yourself. If you are not so particular about having suckling pig slices for the first dish, lunch would be quite value for money. However, if you want suckling pig slices, then you will have to pay almost as much as weekday dinner but with lesser perks like no room for coordinator, pay 50% for trial dinner...

Hi Meiling, I intend to hold my tea ceremony after lunch inside the same function room. So don't think I can use it for changing since they need time to clear up the room.

~sblbee~

y kim,
i booked for dinner on fri...how many tables do u have? if not, u can consider fri or sun dinner, only require 35 tables

mary poppins,
hehehe...oic, i'll not b having my tea ceremony inside d room as i'll having my solemnisation ceremony there b4 my banquet...anyway im sure they can make arrangement to clear d rm after im done....so i'll juz stick to dat as my changing rm cos im changing twice, doubt i'll have d time to take multiple trips :p

wenwen2112

Hi ladies ! I'm back again. I chose yam paste, mee sua, butter prawns with garlic.

Meiling, Yes that the prawn is 1 each cos they are big. I prefer big prawns than small prawns. Looks more presentable. I doubt they will give u 2 prawns each for drunken. They are ordering tiger white prawns, so shd be standard to all banquets. We can only choose the cooking style.

I chose my food tasting to be on the 15th of CNY. More festive mood ma... is Oriental Valentines' Day.. so is a good meet up session for both parents..

Colt, I chose Mee sua cos i think ee fu noodles too common. Think rice will be too oily and filling for the last dish. That's our point. The mee sua is nice cos is v smooth and thin, it does taste like vermicilli. I think its not as oily. Mee sua is their recommended dish.
Well, taste is subjective. :p

ykls

hi mary_poppins, yup that is my next alternative to take lunch but afraid of the attendence and people will not be use to it. Was thinking your night gown did you tone down? Do I need to choose a less elaborate one if I take lunch?

hi meling, but my auspicious date have no friday aiyo stress leh only wednesday or saturday. Yup, I think no problem just ask people to guard outside ok le but how do you view yourself there is no mirror right?

sunqian

Hi Y Kim, I will be taking the Vanda ballroom.

Mary Poppins, I mean Merchant Court overall hotel interior & decor is not as modern and grand as MM, although the ballroom ceiling is high but the design is slightly dated lor. (my personal opinion) I am not using the grand ballroom but I also like the reception area outside Vanda, overlooking the lounge below and high ceiling above.

colt_26

hi sunqian, you also from SWC? when having PS etc? who is your coord for SWC and MM? My wedding also on a weekday night.

I actually like the high ceiling of Merchant court but hubby finds the interior not as grand as MM. like Mary, the spacious reception area of MM attracted us as well.

~sblbee~

wendy,
ok ok, now i got it...den i'll choose either d butter wif garlic or d quaker oat prawns den...hehe, my frens were asking if i got prawns which they dun need to shell one :p
pondering if i wana hokkien mee sua or ee-fu...still cant decide which is better for me :p

y kim,
oic...den y dun u choose wed dinner or sat lunch? shd b able to make it for d min. no. of tables rite? hmm...i'll ask my JM to come in wif me while another 1 guard for me, 1 can help me change n let my mua doll up for me :p

sunqian

Hi colt_26, yup yup, me signed up with SWC as well, PS not so soon cos' I just confirmed my AD on Jan 2009. Coordinator is Hebe (SWC) and Kaylynn (MM).