Marina Mandarin Singapore

HI Meiling, the dishes in the menu can all be inter-change except for fish right ? Or which are the things that cannot be changed ?

Thanks for your compliments.
Do keep my updated when ur gown is ready to present to all of us. Actually many things e.g beadings etc still not done to my gown...

wendy, all my dishes r exchangeable....she didnt mention dat fish is not exchangeable...
wah ur gown is really gorgeous leh....im sure d completed gown will b more beautiful so do keep us posted ok? wat abt ur EG?

Meiling, Quite sure the fish not able to change. Rest not too sure, cos the price for both fish is different. You may wanna check with your co-ordinator. I was not informed initially too..was informed later when I enquire in detail...
My EG is still doing...not ready to see... too raw. MMnn.. will let u noe when ready to see.

We just met up with Wendy Lou this week. She also told us that all the dishes are interchangeable without additional charges.

Hi all, I m officially a MM bride as of today. Just signed up for the lunch package with some paid top up since my HTB wanted suckling pig slices in the cold dish combination.

Hi colt_26, Wendy Lou is really good. There were some issues about the package. She raised it during the sales meeting and got approval from her bosses to accomodate to our requests.

Hi Meiling, wendy may be right. If your original package comes with sea bass, they will allow you different cooking style but not fish that are more expensive like garoupa. However, if your package comes with garoupa, you may be able to get similiarly priced fish or seabass (which is cheaper).

Yap. BS is Sophia Wedding Collection. Signed up with them in late Dec 07.

PG have two: Thomas Tan (free lancer who is my HTB's fren who has done an excellent job in AD PG and overseas PG) and Simon Video & Photos Services (SVPS). SVPS is also my VG. Just signed up with SVPS yesterday. Their promotional price is S$1,200. The cheapest available I guess.

What about urs? Everything settled?

Dear Ladies,

Like to ask..if you girls ever check with them..if dun want their wedding favour. Can deduct how much money??

Cos i dun really like their wedding favours..would like to maybe source for others (if its not too troublesome and of cos taking cost into consideration

I've checked with them before.. they said no refund if you don't want the wedding favours.
Even the guest book and hong bao box.. all no refunds.

Hi Mary Poppins,
Not yet for me. My AD is in Sep 09 so havent really started sourcing. Only booked the venue. But im looking ard for PG and considering for VG. Do you have any sample for me to see for those 2 PG you mentioned?

Hi Mary, then we be having the same AD venue and BS.

Glad that you find Wendy Lou comfortable. She is nice lady and we like her very much. Which ballroom did you book?

Hi Kodomo,

Thanks for the info...Hmm guess will have to take their wedding favours..Hope by my AD, they will have new ones hee...

Till out of the 3..will prefer the teddy bears the most..followed by chocos i guess

colt 26,
no problem, thanks for ur "gd luck"! hope we'll look gd like u too

wendy,
i'll chk again...closer to d food tasting date but mine is garoupa so i dun think i wana change dat

sure....will b excited n looking forward to viewing ur EG pics soon

mary poppins,
thanks for d useful info! i think i'll juz stick to d garoupa dat i have in d package as it's supposed to b d more ex fish :P

amanda,
i chked wif wendy dat if i do not want d following, tis is wat i get:-
1. wedding favours - 6 bottles of red wine
2. invites - 6 bottles of red wine

anyone has contacts of wine suppliers dat sell eaglehawk wolfblass black label? need to order some more on top of wat d hotel provides....if u have, can pm me or email me at [email protected]

ask you guys something er....dumb...

if we swop favors/invites for 12 bottles of wine, but don't use it all...
do we keep the remaining?

if we have 2 barrels of beer, but use up only one, do we keep the other barrel?

*hee*

Hmm.. strange.. when I posed them the qn.. they say no reimbursement nor swap with any other thing... looks like I have to confirm with them nearer to my day...

Sigh Sigh. Maybe change of perks and plans.

Gd that we keep each other posted this way.

nec,
i think u can keep d remaining red wine, but for beer, how u bring d barrel home? heheh....most ppl wld juz leave it...:P

kodomo concert,
i think d perks varies wif d no. of tables, d price as well as d coordinators, esp d no. of tables n d package price....some perks can b negotiated but some r strictly no-no :p

Hi Gal, Thomas is still updating his website. Will let you know once it's done.

SVPS's website is as follow:
http://www.simonvideo.com.sg/
They have a promotion package for photography & videography package which is $1,200.

(A) Digital Photography Include :
* 300pcs of 4R photos print out
* 1 wedding album
* 1 CD-Rom with wedding couple cover
* unlimited of photo shoots.

(B) Digital 3CCD Videography Includes :
* Creative opening title with graphic animation
* Edit video with special effects
* Insertion of Music
* 2 sets of DVD

Photo montage will be $100.
It might not be excellent but I guess it's value for money for its pricing.

Hi colt_26, I was very glad that Wendy went the extra mile and mentioned our case during the sale meeting. I will be taking the grand ballroom since no of tables is likely to exceed 40. Btw bcos the response for the latest wedding show package was not as good as most of the good dates are already taken up before that, I managed to get the pearl necklace and earrings.

Hi Meiling, why don't you consider using Carrefour for the wine? Cos they allow refund of maybe 25% (not too sure of the exact percentage) of bottles if you cannot finish it. A few of my friends are using Carrefour. Yap, stick with your garoupa, unless you have particular preference for fishes.

Hi Kodomo Concert, I agree with Meiling. If you are paying weekend dinner price which is more than 900nett with more number of tables, you should be able to ask for slightly more things within each coordinator's limits. Anyway, I was told that they will be having two new wedding favours. Magnetic photo frame (which is currently out of stock as it is very popular) and glass coaster (with cupid picture). You might want to consider what they have to offer nearer to you AD.

Regarding wine, how many bottles are you all going to standby per table? I was thinking maybe slightly more than 1.5 bottles per table. Not too sure during lunch, does guests prefer consume more beer or wine.

For beer, we have to consider that one 30l barrel is only about 90 glasses. Not too sure how many tables is nec having? So 2 barrels might be just sufficient.

mary poppins,
i've went to several supermkts but i cant seem to find d particular brand dat d hotel is serving as their house wine...thanks, i may consider to buy frm carrefour as it's so close to proximity to d hotel

yah i'll stick to d garoupa as suggested by many of u gals here
as for standby for wines, i got abt 35 tables, i shd b getting ard 2 cartons of red wine cos 1 carton is not enuff....im not too sure if d guests consume more beer to wine...as for d beer, do u have free flow? i dun have...juz hope dat my guests dun drink as much beer...if not, getting additional barrel is not worth it esp when it's not fully consumed...den i'll ask them to charge by per glass, shd b cheaper...
based on my fren's experience at another hotel, she got 2 barrels of beer but only 1 barrel is consumed n it's not finished...den for her wine, she ordered 60 bottles for her 45 tables but still have 2 cartons balance as hers is a sun nite :P

Hi Meiling, is urs sat or sun nite? Mine's sunday lunch so quite hard to gauge... Free flow of beer is not included in the lunch package.

I will be having around more than 40 tables. Maybe can use your friend's no of bottles as a rough guide. When there's no free flow beer, then need to standby more wine.

Carrefour should have free delivery service, so not to worry whether it's near or not. Guess what's attractive is that they allow a certain percentage of refund for unconsumed wine. I won't bother to look for the house brand. Think any brand that taste not bad should be fine with the guests.

Hi Meiling,

Thanks for the infor..very helpful
Oh and meiling..yes stick to Garoupa..my relatives also say that is a more exp fish hee.

Hmm if i can get coaster (as mentioned by Mary) then i think can save me the hassle to look for favours liao hee..

During the wedding shows, i tot the invities looks pretty decent esp the red one..You girls dun like it?

Anyway Thanks everyone for the info..

mary poppins,
mine is a fri nite....it's kinda hard to gauge but given dat many ppl wk 5-day week nowadays so they may drink more than expected :P

amanda,
sure no prob....i'll stick to d garoupa as well...hehe, most ppl will, i think d coasters look nice...no need to waste ur effort to look for other favours....actually i saw some nice cake towels in d mkt, looks cute n gd, but it's rather ex in sg...

meiling,
heard from wendy that garoupa is the more ex fish also.

for me , i'll choose the edible favous, either the choc or tarts.

i love food.
hence, will love to give food to more pple. hee...

btw,
what's a cake towel?
i cannot imagine a cake needing a towel...
LOL...

nec,
yah tis is wat i heard too, garoupa is more ex...i'll take d non-edible stuff cos i prefer sth more lasting :P
a cake towel is a towel made into a cake design, v nice, hehehe can b found in mini toons, u can go n take a look but ex :P

colt 26,
nope, i havent seen d coasters....but i heard it's coming in....hopefully they r coming up wif more choices...i havent been contacting my coordinator for a long time, still thinking abt d dishes for food tasting...cant decide yet :P

hi libragal80,
congrats again! im so glad to see u back n know dat u had a wonderful experience at MM! do share wif us ur pics when u have them ok?

Hi Libragal80,

congrats for being a true Mrs now. keke...gotta give ang bao this yr liao loh...kekeke...

So,everything at the banquet is smooth and pleasant?...

I am in the midst of sourcing for a venue for my AD in end Dec 08.. Marina Mandarin is one of my option. Any feedback on the food and service? Good or not?

Hi Libragal80, congrats and glad to hear that the experience is wonderful! Pls share with us the photos and video when they are ready ok?

Hi Gal, just PM you the test website of Thomas Tan. Will share the website with the rest once the final product is up.

Very impressed when Thomas showed us this latest completed album. In fact, we were already very impressed with the overseas and underwater PS done by him for another friend last year. The quality of the coffeetable album is much better than some PG has shown me during wedding shows. If anyone keen to see his portfolio before his website is up, let me know, I will PM/email you the link of the test site.

hi libragal,
i wana see ur pics when they r ready :P hope dat u will enjoy ur honeymoon....remember to have lotsa fun though it'll b tiring as ur schedule is q packed, hope to cya back soon...thanks for ur help!

Hi Libragal, congrats! So, how many angbaos u given out this CNY?? haha.
Mine was 2 days before urs and too, had a wonderful experience. Was so glad that we had our wedding there.
As for those wondering over wedding favours, the bears will be a better choice*)

Hihi all,

We just signed up with MM for our big day next year. So happy that we finally settled the venue. Hee.. hope that everything will be fine.

can i check which theme did most of you choose?
cos MM only got 2 themes, quite limited.
wondering which theme is more popular.

hi all, I am new here. Now looking for wedding venue. Want MM but my weekend dinner date booked. Now checking if can change to weekdays. Anybody booked weekend lunch? Thinking of either changing to weekday dinner or weekend lunch if my dates really cannot change. Thank you.

hi colt,

i'll choose the red roses theme (i think the other is ivory?)
cos my fave flowers are roses...lol..
so regardless of hotel or theme, i'll surely pick one with the red roses lor...

kim,
what is you question re weekend lunch?

hi nec, would like to check if the layout and food is the same for weekend lunch also? Will they give free barrel or beer also or the perks are different? Thank you!

Hi Ykls,

I think its best for you to check with the hotel coordinators regarding any difference in the perks that they offers for dinner and lunch packages. Because even weekday / weekends packages, the perks are also different.

hi shir, thank you
I just called Kaylynn she is so nice! Since my dec weekends no more I thinking of changing to dec weekdays so far she say its still available so now I cross fingers my re-calculated dates are ok then I can book with MM. Going to calculate on sat then should be going down MM next week if everything ok should sign by next week.

Sorry, I am new to this check with you all what are the perks that I should look out for? I see there are 2 kinds of Menu which one do you all choose? Looks similar to me.

hi, anyone had problems with the food at MM? some frens of mine commented that its not nice. Isit true..?

Me worry, cos i've signed the package with MM too.

y kim,

for perks, see if you can ask them to extend the wedding show perks (they had one in mid jan) for weekend lunch.

think have free flow beer and 1 bottle wine per confirmed table. (i think!! not sure, must check w coordinator)

anyway, i think their service is very good. been to a few hotels, not all are as nice as those from MM. (personal opinion only )