Marina Mandarin Singapore

captain_piglet

Hi simple, my wedding is also in Sep 2008. However, Fiona told my fiance and I that they are not accepting bookings at the moment because of the F1 race scheduled in Sep-Oct 2008. Traffic might be affected for guests since the road in front of Marina Mandarin is part of the F1 route. You may want to check again with them...

mrsyap

My wedding is also in sept 2008. Will be going for the wedding show this sunday to see the gowns by whitelink which is the bridal studio we we are taking.. I love MMH and i also held my ROM at MMH last year. Problem is also the F1 and we are unable to get free flow of beer. Sobs.. really hope to get this but seems like it's really impossible. Sigh.. don't know what to do...not forgetting wendy the coordinator.. she is really a very good coordinator!!!

libragal80

Hi Jolene,
my additional perks are additional night stay for the suite but forgo the one night deluxe room for helpers
one function room for my soleminsation ceremony

waiver of corkage charge for red wines

colt_26

hi jolene,

congrats! when is your AD? i find the new themes quite nice. I will be signing with them next week once my coord draft the contract.

its good to know that they offer free flow of beer.......

~sblbee~

I was at the wedding show yesterday too, got the consolation prize.
Booked my BS with White Link. Well, the package for 2007 was attractive as compared to 2008. I was thinking of booking the venue for Nov 2008, but the perks not so attractive. I like the ambience and the ballroom. Did anyone book yesterday and managed to negotiate for free flow beer for weekends?

Hi colt_26, my AD's 2nd Nov 2008, how about u? you should have asked ya coordinator to draft the contract on the spot and sign with them yesterday, you may still have the chance to get the free tickets to bangkok... tat's what i did also...

Hi Meiling, free flow of beer is only applicable for 2007 packages, be it wkday or wkend... if you can wait, you can book next yr during the wedding show coz they should have the same perks but then the price will not be the same as this yr's liao...

tinkling

I'm curious what are the themes available for Vanda room? Went for the wedding show & viewed the place but seems like it doesnt carry off a romantic feel to it. The reception area seems alil too plain too, on the actual day, will they decorate the reception area?

~sblbee~

Dear Jolene,
You're fast! I still can't make up my mind cos I haven't choose my AD.
Dear Lilian & Ivan,
Havent booked with MM, still considering because of the perks. I like the ambience but it's on the high side, furthermore need to confirm 40 tables if I want it on a weekend.

~sblbee~

Dear Jolene,
You're really fast, I can't make up my mind on the AD. Guessed I'm concerned about the perks. too.
Dear Lilian and Ivan,
I haven't booked with MM as there's a min. of 40 tables as I want it on a Sat and also no free flow beer. Seems like there's a lot of difference in the 2007 and 2008 package though it's after the 7% increase. I wonder why? That's why I hestitated to commit myself.

Hi Meiling, actually the package price will increase every year even if there's no increase in gst... my suggestion is to book as early as you can, firstly u can secure the date you want, secondly, even though you could get free flow of beer if you book next year, you'll have to pay more for the package (i dunno how much is the increase in price next year)... so my analysis is the increase in price next year may cost more than the free flow of beer. do you get what i mean?

~sblbee~

Hi Jolene,
After going through my shortlisted list of hotels and comparison, I should be taking Marina Mandarin. My colleagues have advised me that actually not much beer is consumed during their weddings. Mostly red wine is consumed. I have spoken to FH, I will speak to my mum and MIL about it before confirming. Can I confirm the min. no. of tables first cos I'm not sure if I can hit the 40 tables requirement, so may not take the grandballrm. Don't mind if I asked how many tables did you book and what additional perks did Steven offer you?

Hi Libragal80,
Your co-ordinator is Sen Ng? How's Vanda Room? Is it the one located on Level 5? When's your AD? I spoke to her briefly before she rushed off to attend to a couple on Sunday after the wedding show. She said she can negotiate for 35 tables for the ballroom if it's a Friday or Sunday.

Any additional perks that you all managed to get from your co-ordinator? I'm not a person good at negotiating so it's better for me to be prepared when I meet them.

~sblbee~

In my excitement, I forgotten the most important thing, just wondering if you all know MM has vegetarian and Muslim menus?

Hi Meiling, of what i know, once you have booked with them, you can only increase the number of tables but no decrease... so its better to give them the min number of tables you can commit and increase later if you need more... you can book the vanda ballroom 1st and change to the big ballroom (subject to availabilty) if you can cfm meeting their requirements... i have booked 35 tables (sun package)... didnt have additional perks other than the ones they offer during the wedding show... yes, they do offer veg and muslim food...

jaslyn_82

Hi Lilian...

Sen is still in MM??
cos my coordinator was her last yr and was taken over by Fiona cos she said she is leaving...

~sblbee~

Jolene, I confirm have more than 30 tables but not too sure if I can hit 40 tables, that's the problem. Have to double check with both sides on the no. of tables again, unless I'm taking the Fri or Sun package. Thanks, I have obtained both the menus from Wendy already.

~sblbee~

Tink Ling,
I went to view the Vanda Room as well, it seems a little small and the room was not too visible. As there were very few people around after the wedding show, I didn't really notice the room, hopefully with more people, it'll be visible. Thought they are offering 2 themes? Was interested in the one with the rose backdrop at the grand ballroom.

colt_26

my coord is Wendy. Nice lady. I should be signing with her this weekend. With that, another big load off my shoulder. :p

tinkling

Hi Meiling,
Ya the room is relatively small, surprised that the max no. of tables is actually 30.
I'm not very clear on the themes cause didnt really ask abt it...
I'm wondering if there's any one who held their wedding in vanda ballroom who can share pics of the actualy day setup =)

libragal80

Hi Meiling,
the vanda room not too bad
it is just above the atrium lounge so i find it veri nice as there is a piano background
u can send her an email . she will arrange to meet up with u

~sblbee~

Hi Libragal
My tentative AD should be 081108. I'm so stressed, received so many comments...now yet to confirm my hotel, AD PG & VG...
Thanks for your advice, really appreciate that! I know that actually Vanda Room can be an option but the capacity is too small. Hope to find a solution soon.

colt_26

hi Meiling,

Don't worry ya. you still have plenty of time. No stress ya!

Mine in May 08. Have yet to confirm AD PG and VG also. But glad to say hotel is more or less confirmed. Will be signing contract this weekend. Another load off...........

libragal80

Hi Meiling,
if u are looking into more tables then u can consider the MM ballroom...
i tink also not too bad
me also haven my AD PG & VG
still sourcing around

jaslyn_82

Hi Lilian...
oic..thanks!
my wedding is on 1st Dec 07..
Do you have her email?
do not know whether isit still the same...
would like to request her to be my coordinator
again... cos she is the one I liase with..
she knows what I want...
and I find that she is very friendly and effective..
whereas I never met Fiona before...
and seems like there are not much gd comments on Fiona...

colt_26

hi libragal,
have yet to source for AD PG and VG leh. dont know where to look for. perhaps will check with friends if they have any to recommend. but i do have a friend who use Waipeng for PG from Foto U and seems like no bad.
May check with Waipeng and see how. Hopefully can find those with one entire package (PG & VG) then dont have to keep sourcing.

what about you?

libragal80

Hi Jaslyn,
i dunno whether you can ask her to be yr coordinator or not
but you can try....btw wat perks you get ?
When you book your wedding banquet?
her email is [email protected]
You can try to email to her and see how

jaslyn_82

Hi Lilian,
ya lor.. dun noe whether can anot..
will try lor..
cos she was my coordinator but she left thats y I got transferred to Fiona..
I will email her...
I book my banquet last year may..
did not get much perks.. quite standard lor..
how about u?

libragal80

Hi Jaslyn,
i know abt her case. she just joined back MMH loh...and she is my coordinator too...
just booked from her not long ago...
me got the standard perks...
u leh?

jaslyn_82

standard lor..
free food tasting for 10 ppl for wkdays only..
no wine corkage..
25% parking...
no more liao..
mine is $958nett per table.. urs?
I using the grand ballroom. u?

libragal80

Hi Jaslyn,
u gota ask for 2 nights stay for the bridal suite?
me same as u...got free food testing for 10 people, free wine corkage and free one wine per table..
me book the vanda ballroom.
mine is 988 nett as my one is 2008 weekend package

jaslyn_82

Lilian...

I tried to.. but cant..
maybe will pay to stay one more night lor..
how about u?
so gd u still have free one wine per table...
I have to go get my own wine...
oic.. so they increase by $30 per table for 2008...