Marina Mandarin Singapore

leah

just slow motion for everything lah, its your big day, everyone just wait for me to walk down the aisle. I will take a min..ha

leah

Going to do our food tasting next week, I can't wit to eat the tea duck again...yummy..and oh the roasted chicken..yumss.

donaldaisy

Getting really quite in here during ching ming period... Hope this thread will be merrier after a week or so...

leah

yeah, seems like I am the only one going around talking about food tasting etc. I have not really seen the bridal suite, is it nice?

xynn

my banquet is on 30 Sep 06, Vanda ballroom. When do you get contacted by MM to do the food tasting and collect the wedding cards?
I haven't seen the bridal suite either.

corsage

hi all, I am considering Vanda Ballroom for Mar 07. Did anyone manage to get complimentary food tasting? Currently it is at 50% of each table's price - and many of my friends think I should get it waived? Any advice on this? Thank you!
))

leah

I am taking the grand ballroom on level one. I don know the name though..

I booked 50 tables , so the food tasting is waived. I am doing the food tasting tomorrow. Super excited and hungry now...ha

corsage

Leah - OIC, so it seems that they will waive food tasting only when a larger minimum number. Sighs... guess I've no choice then
Keeping dinner small coz I've got a huge church wedding and another dinner in KL...

pinkfurry66

Hi Leah,

Who's your coordinator? Is your dinner on a weekday or weekend? Very disappointed and upset now. I also signed up 50 tables but no trial dinner waived.

leah

hi pinkyfurry,

If I am not wrong, you can choose what you want to include in your package when you sign 50 tables for example. you can either waive the trial, or get the projcetor for free , or free flow beer etc. I am sure they gave you choices.

leah

hey piml furry,
how many tables did you book in the first place?

I jsut went for food tasting yesterday, we would be upgrading the shark fin soup. it was so pathetic..haha, too little shark fin, it piss my Parents in law off. But my other dishes were really good...hee hee...yummy I love the tea duck.

donaldaisy

Same as Leah, we booked 50 tables and got our food tasting waived too.. not too sure how the bridal suite looks like but would like to find out if they will have something special for us during the one nite stay there... haven't check with my coordinator.

Any ex-MM brides care to share with us?

happytea

i am new in this thread, my coordinator is willing to waive my food tasting if i can confirm 40tables, so pinkfurry surely can get it waived w 50tables.

Just want to find out if anyone of you managed to get another additional nite at the bridal suite?

thks!

pinkfurry66

Happy tea. i already signed up some time ago. dun think i can still ask to waive the food tasting right? you did it before u sign the contract right?

happytea

Pinkfurry, we havent sign up w them yet.
maybe u can try to ask your coordinator again, just quote her that u got a few frens who got it for free and how come u need to pay.

Tomomi, they said cannot exchange for the 2nd nite in the suite. so u managed to exchange it?

they said if i want to stay 2 nites, 2nd nite to change to the deluxe room which will not be far away but sound so funny...

tomomi

pinkfurry, you mean you din get trial dinner waived? Only free use of projector? What about 2nd night in bridal suite? Corkage waiver? Free flow beer? Wow, they seem to be getting stricter with their perks after the renovation. Higher cost with higher quality.

happytea, my friend managed to get the 2nd nite in the suite by exchanging as well as free trial dinner but they signed up during the wedding show last year. I think there's another wedding show coming up in May.

happytea

Tomomi,
for the May wedding show, wat they offer is 1 bottle of wine per table which i will be getting too.

You mean u manage to get free flow of beer?
we thought of asking them if we can have free flow of beer too, dunno if possible but no harm to try our luck

tomomi

HappyTea, if you already have 1 bottle of wine per table, it's very unlikely that they will offer you free flow of beer.
In my friend's case, she didn't get 1 bottle of wine per table. Also bear in mind that they signed up before the renovation so they stood more to gain.

tomomi

pinkfurry, did you try bargaining the perks with them in the first place or just accepted whatever they offer you? Waiver of trial dinner shouldn't be a problem with your 50 tables before you signed up, unless you didn't try to ask for it. I don't think it's easy to ask for the waiver after you signed the contract.

pinkfurry66

hi tomomi, i tried asking but the coordinator said no. so mad now..esp after knowing so many got it. wonder y?! i signed up after the renovation.

i got only wine corkage waived, 2 nites bridal suite, an extra barrel of beer.

tomomi

pinkfurry, your extra barrel beer means you get 2 barrels of beer altogether or just one barrel? I think the perks are on a case to case basis, probably you have a higher percentage of invitation cards and complimentary parking? Sometimes, for hot dates, they give less perks. Whatever it is, since you had signed the contract, better don't think about it anymore lest you feel more shortchanged. At least you have the 2 nites bridal suite.

leah

ya, don think and compare too much. This world is all about perceived values. Noone gets a better deal than the other. Just enjoy your wedding

leah

Oh by the way, I am upgrading my menu again. Ha..my Parents in law are not too happy with the shark fins, they want to see "lumps". I cannot imagine the bill..

happytea

Tomomi, free flow beer not granted, only got one extra barrel. no exchange of the deluxe room to suite too. i think that is the best our coordinator can give us.

wow, Leah, your table price is going to be ex, but since your PIL wants to upgrade, think they are mentally prepared to help u w the bill already, hee

yinyin77

Can anyone share the vanda ballroom photos?

My email: [email protected]

I am going to have my Wedding on Fri. anyone knows that will it be very rush for those who work? will the dinner be delayed till very late from your experience? Thanks for the advice~!

asura

Hi Camy,

Just to update that the MM wedding show is now $30 for 2 persons for UOB credit cardholders (which i am). Have booked the seats for us already. Hee... See you on 14 May! You might want to let your cooridinator know that you are attending so that you can confirm your arrangements on your wedding after the show. (suppose to confirm the details one month before wedding).

asura

Hi Yin Yin,

So far the weddings i attend on Fridays start really late... about 9 to 9:30 pm.
So what usually happens is that food would be rushed out. YOu would probably need someone to help you ask the manager to slow down the food if you have not finished your rounds for photo-taking.. otherwise, you would find guests leaving before you even eat your dessert and stand out to wave them goodbye.

corsage

hi Asura
Do you know what promotions will they be having at the MM wedding show? Not sure if I want to spend $$ to attend it, if it is nothing much.

asura

Hi sharon,

I dont know what promotions leh... i just want to go and taste the food since i am exchanging my food tasting for a free table for the evening.
Have you decided on MM yet? usually during wedding shows, they would have some special offers. Another way is to call them up and ask them directly what discounts are going to be offered at the wedding show. Sometimes they would offer to you even if you dont go for the wedding show. But the wedding show would show you the actual presentation of the tables clothes and stuff.

happytea

Hi Sharon & Asura,
i know that they are giving one bottle of wine per confirmed table for the wedding show. but if sign now, they are able to give too.
i dunno if there are other freebies which they will give during the show.

Asura, how did u managed to exchange the food tasting for a free table? i did ask my coordinator but she doesnt allow. had you booked already? or plan to do so during the show?

asura

Hi Happytea,

My AD on 24 Jun 06. When we booked last yr, the coordinator told us that the hotel's practice is to exchange the food tasting for a free table. To play safe, we made them include in the contract that if we dont go for food tasting, we get a table free. If they no longer have this policy.. i really thank god i force them to include it last time.

Who is your coordinator? Is your food tasting for 10 pax and for the full 9 courses?

corsage

Oh! If it is one bottle of wine per table then it is worth it for us! Coz we were going to buy wines anyway - I better ask about this..we're supposed to sign soon. I wanted to change my 30L of beer for 20L and get the trial dinner..but cannot
Quite sad about that.

asura

Hi Sharon,

If they dont let you get the wedding show promotion now. Just register for the wedding show. YOur date would be still urs unless another couple wants your date and is willing to pay the deposit, they would then call you to check whether you want to pay the deposit or let go of your date.

corsage

Hi everyone, I managed to get the info of the MM Wedding show. My AD is in 2007, so dunno if can get the 1 bottle per table - the publicity email says for weddings in 2006 only..sighs... But some of you may find this useful!

MARINA MANDARIN PRESENTS
BRIDAL EXTRAVAGANZA 2006
Make your fairytale wedding come true!

Book on or before 14 June 2006 to enjoy
For Wedding Banquets in Year 2006:
Complimentary 1 bottle of house wine per confirmed table for Timeless Love Package

This promotion cannot be used in conjunction with other promotions & discounts and is applicable for NEW bookings only.

Sunday, 14 May 2006
2.00pm to 5.00pm
Marina Mandarin Ballroom
$40.00nett per couple (inclusive of reception)

Marina Mandarin and Graceful Image jointly present a wedding show that will dazzle you with a stunning display of elegant wedding & evening gowns and the magical ambience of our grand Ballroom!

HIGHLIGHTS
- A showcase of fabulous gowns by Graceful Image
- A sumptuous sit down Banquet featuring Marina Mandarin Singapore’s signature dishes prepared with finesse and flair by our chefs
- A complete one-stop bridal fair with participation by various Bridal services

happytea

when i enquire abt the wedding package, they send me the one with the wedding show and the free wine as the cover page. and at meetup, they also gave me the wine, so i think wine is given for all new bookings made from now till the show too.

Sharon, 30L beer enough? how many tables u got?

Asura, its for 10 pax, full course. too bad we cannot exchange the food tasting. but also got its plus point la, cos can enjoy the food slowly, on AD think no time to eat too. haha

corsage

HappyTea, I really hope you are right!
Would be nice to have wine thrown in. But how many tables to you have? I'm having a small one, min 20, max 30 tables.

My guests and parents guests don't really drink beer you see. Dad said wine..so I thought it would be wise to cut down on the beer..
And I told friends who drink hard liquor to bring their own..coz I'm not providing! heh heh...

asura

Hi HappyTea,

Dont worry, on AD, you would get to eat the first dish and dessert (got start and end).
In addition, you would get the full 9 course in your room for supper..

I am looking forward to that.. hee

yinyin77

Hi Asura,

The Wedding that you attended and drag till 9-930pm one is it at Marina Mandarin?

Sounds horrible if at MM and will delay till 930

I tho Fri after work should be better? or too rush for those who work?

Sad.....

aspialle

hi sharon now adays not many people will drink hard liquor, more of red wine...i ordered mine last time $18 nett per bottle. As for beer provided by MM is more than enough

corsage

Yin Yin, I actually went for a Tuesday wedding before. I think it is ok to have a weekday wedding. Just inform all the pple impt to you waaay in advance and request that they take leave. Many will, you will be surprised
At the end of the day, remember that it is your wedding, so you call the shots. Guests should/would remember that

Aspialle: I have a bunch of friends who are hardcore whisky drinkers. Single malt. Haha.. Waaay too expensive for me to serve!
$18/bottle of wine sounds good! Did you get them on consignment? Could you share with us where?

happytea

Sharon, your frens not mad when u ask them to bring their own hard liquor? we are having more than 40-45 tables bah..

Asura, how will they serve the food to our room har? small small plates or big big plates? must lay big table, i love food! but now on diet for the wedding, so poor thing...

Mine is also a weekday wedding, limited dates give by our fengshui master. mine will be in Dec06, how abt you gals? this yr or next yr?

Weekday wedding should be starting earlier cos guests come direct from work and will be there ard the same time bah..

leah

I think Weekday weddings are cool and good. In fact you may even be able to start earlier than expected. At least that was what happened to the week day weddings I have been. We all turned up right after work so about 7.30 , we starting the first dish already, furthermore, the next day is working day so dinner tend to end early as well.

Mine is on Sunday , so my jie meis will be staying over night. All taking leave next day lor.

Tonight ,meeting my co ordinator to choose table cloth and decor...so excited again!!!