Marina Mandarin Singapore

vinmei

wow.... thats very bad leh. I think need to tell them about this mann! Quite scary lor. Later I will remind them on this.

elcy

Aiyo ... sound and AV system plays a major part in a wedding dinner. I do hope that they will seriously look into this and make sure that it will work for every wedding dinner and not solely depend on luck for its functionality.

strawberry_love

I had my wedding on 10 Jan, everything went smoothly.. from 1st march to the end. Guests were all very satisfied with the food. I guess it's depend on luck.

dreamer17

hi melody,

do ur have any pics on the ballroom and bridal suite?

As i am goin for a weekday package, and they only provide sea bass, is it possible to change it to grouper without any extra charge?

other then the per table charge, wat is the hidden cost u paid? (eg. for wkdays, 35tables x $788 = $27,580) then in the end u end up paying more...lastly, is it possible to wavied off the corkage charge? and wats other perks u got from MM? And who is ur coordinator?

sorry for asking too much...coz i try to do my budget for my AD....thank you...

happy chinese new year...

strawberry_love

Hi dreamer,

For the change.. i think u can check with your co-ordinator, u have to top-up if im not wrong.

There's no hidden cost except for the extra two barrels of beer that we opened. We got the cockage waived off as ours was a weekend rate.
Our co-ord is BK.

Gong Xi Fa Cai.

pinksotong

Hi all! Happy New Year!!
sorry to mia for some time, was so busy with work n CNY prep.

Square,my personal experience after going to MM for the first time for wedding dinner( that's yours) is generally the service is good, as the gal who was serving my table was very polite and bubbly. BUT, this does not apply to all the other staff, as some were working as if we owe them money. guess we can't prevent that. but i think the problem Pita faced is the same. My table was the last few tables which was served dessert, when abt 80% of the guests were leaving. was feeling a bit disappointed with the service then (think it's the kitchen's fault). we were pretty rushed to finish the dinner since they are clearing the other tables next to us.

y4735

Hi Sotong,

Thank you for your feedback, and I will let the hotel know about this.

8 more months to yours!! hehe...

aspialle

tink it depends on ur luck. My videographer taking for another couple also at MM one week before my wedding had PA system crop up...no sound during march in...and montage. For me, everything went smoothly and coordinator is good too, did not call us to top up $$ eventhough i change certain dishes. Mine was wedding lunch last April.

Goodluck to u too
happy and blissful marriage

dv1adm2

im still shopping for AD place.

wat kinda perks did u guys manage to get?
extra nite stay? free-flow beer?
any idea when there wld be a wedding fair?

weddinstory

hi to all MM btb,

Shall we all join effort to remind the banquet manager and coodinator to ensure the sound and pa system work well for every wedding? ifthere's a need, they shd change their system.they cant go on like this.after reading about the sound system crop up, really worried. imagine we spend money on photo montage and video highlights and in the end, everything cannot work well..or when marching in, no sound..that's going to affect us esp the brides and all that we hv been planning.agree? v worried....

elcy

hi weddin
sounds like a good idea. So, how do you intend to join forces? We would stress this importance to our coordinator when we meet up again ... As hosts, we cannot afford to 'lose face' in front of our distinguished guests if the hotel's reputation is at stake, too. Hence, my hubby is very particular over this and he will surely kick up a greater fuss than me and demand compensation if there are serious hiccups like these that will spoil the smooth running of the banquet programme. On the other hand, as much as compensation serves to soothe the angry minds, I think that no amount of compensation is able to turn back time and revive the day's events again. Thus, it's better for them to be more vigilant in this area than to resolve unhappy issues later.

elcy

Vinmei!
Your wedding is on 25 Feb this Sat! So near! You must be very excited!
Hope things will be smooth for you and remember to share with us your experience for that night, ok?

weddinstory

Hi Elcy, i think all we can do is to stressto them. and i certainly agree the compensation will be useless if things happen...cos all we really wan is things go on smoothly.

Vinmei, all the best. let us know how's yourdinner.which themedid u choose?

snowbells

i am interested in having my wedding banquets in MM. however, i only have a few tables, max 25 tables.

does anyone knows if MM is able to cater to such a small dinner? i will really like to have my dinner in a ballroom but i really have limited guests. =<

xynn

hi snowbells, you can use the Vanda Ballroom on 5th floor. min is 20 tables. i'm using that ballroom too because i only have about 20-22 tables.

pinksotong

my wedding coordinator, Beng Koon has quited...so he's passing my wedding to another coordinator call wendy... anyone knows if she is good? any comments about her so far...?

dreamer17

Hi Lynn,

When BengKhoon quit? i just met him during the road show they have in marina square and find him quite approaching...i thought i could liaise with him...

so who are the other coorinators in MM? and who are gd?

camiberry

hi leah,
our AD is on the same day. i'm having lunch at vanda ballroom.

anyone knows if MM planning a wedding show soon?

fuyutsuki

may i have your comments on the vanda ballroom? i have heard comments that the vanda ballroom is not as posh and grand as the lobby due to the low ceiling. how's the food portion and food presentation? i appreciate all your views on this. thx a lot

fuyutsuki

hi elcy, i think u can call up the catering dept of MM to find out more about the wedding show

hi camy, my friend juz attended a wedding at vanda ballroom and her comments was the vanda ballroom looks juz like any normal restaurant becoz it's not as posh and grand as the outside, food portion is miserable and food presentation is not that gd. i was quite disappointed after hearing her comments coz i hv quite a gd impression of MM and now i m hesitant whether to book MM for my wedding next yr.

fuyutsuki

hi elcy, i think u can call up the catering dept of MM to find out more about the wedding show

hi camy, my friend juz attended a wedding at vanda ballroom and her comments was the vanda ballroom looks juz like any normal restaurant becoz it's not as posh and grand as the outside, food portion is miserable and food presentation is not that gd. i was quite disappointed after hearing her comments coz i hv quite a gd impression of MM and now i m hesitant whether to book MM for my wedding next yr.

dreamer17

hi fuyutsuki,

i think this has to depend on luck also. Or mayb ur frend have a high standard that a 5 star hotel shld present.

I have attend wedding at Ritz Carlton and Fullerton, i dun find their standard very special...same as normal hotel like MM, pan pac, hilton...

sometimes there are always black sheeps among the waiter and waitress...

judebabe

For those who have held your wedding at the MM,
does the low ceiling in the Atrium ballroom bother you?
Is the aisle considered short for a bride to walk-in?

camiberry

hi ai li,
the low ceiling doesn't bother me coz i want a cozy, warm &amp; simple wedding. vanda is just nice for me.

the aisle might be a bit short for ppl who prefer a long march in. it's alright for me as i'm quite shy. long march frighten me...hehehe...

hi fuyutsuki,
i agree with dreamer. i guess we can't match everyone's expectation as well. So long as the food is good &amp; portion is sufficient for everyone that's good enough for me.

judebabe

thank you camy.

i think i will have a look at the actual set-up, this weekend.

My AD is in June 06. Not much time left.

Anyone who had their wedding in the Vanda ballroom, care to share some pictures?

my email addy: [email protected]

vinmei

Hi Elcy,
I am back!
My wedding at MM is perfect!
The whole place is so nice leh. But anyway, I did not realised anything on the ballroom that day. Was too busy with my Guests. But my AD PG took pics of the ballroom. It is wonderful! It looks so nice mann! hehee

The sound system is ok and the AV manager is good mann! We meet up with him few days before to check out and test our CD. Everything went perfectly well!
Cant wait the whole thing to replay again leh... :p

camiberry

hi ai li,
My AD in June 06 too. have u collected your invitation cards? i just received samples of the new cards. The new cards are smaller. Not sure whether i should use insert .... any advise?

judebabe

hi elcy,
did u have yours at vanda ballroom?
the smaller one?

Camy,
I have not sign on the dotted line yet.
should b signing sometime next week.
so i have not seen anything yet.

elcy

Welcome back, Vinmei!!
Glad to know that everything was perfect for you! Did you just come back from your honeymoon? How was your trip?
By the way, which theme did you adopt? Could you please email me your pics with the ballroom?

Hi Ai Li
I haven't had mine yet but mine would be at the main ballroom at Level 1.

vinmei

Hi Elcy,
Nope. Me have not gone for my HM yet. Will be going end Mar.
Now still planning!
I took the garden theme.

Actually, on that day itself, I got no time to look around the environment leh. Was so busy talking and shaking hands with my Guests leh! But when I saw the pics then I know it is so nice. hahaa:0 I will email u the pics when I am home k.

Hi weddin,
Bear with me a while. I will email u the pics when I am back home k.

bluetomato

Hi Tweetytwee,

Do you mind sharing with me also? My email is [email protected].
I'm also a MM bride. v excited. =)
But im a bit concerned that the ceiling is a bit low and the guests at the far end of the ballroom are v far from the stage...
Did you use the grand ballroom or Vanda? =)

vinmei

Hi Elcy,weddin &amp; Icw,

Photos of MM sent.
My wedding is held at the main ballroom level 1.
My theme is the Garden theme.

To me, the ceiling is ok. The whole place looks so grand and so nice both inside &amp; outside.

elcy

Hi Vinmei!
Pretty girl! Hee ... couldn't help noticing your gorgeous photo with your husband on the screen.
The lightings were magnificent! Must be intelligent lightings, I supposed? Can tell they keep changing ... and the lightings on the stage didn't seem to be the same as the general lighting. Beautiful!