Marina Mandarin Singapore

s_lavender

Hi My Melody,

I used the candlelight theme (lilac & white). My dinner was at Vanda Ballroom so coordinator said this theme is better. Overall, it was a great experience except for some hiccups with the table arrangement. My guests all loved the food

Traffic was bad and i think parking has always been a problem there, so my dinner started a little late..

strawberry_love

hi lavender,

thks for sharing.
im using garden theme, initially liked the candlelight theme but my coordinator recommend garden theme as this is a new theme. don't how how is the effect? i never seen the garden theme setup.

mcfluffy

I'm interested in MM.

Just wondering, what are the perks that are negotiable in MM? Are they very inflexible on the terms and conditions?

strawberry_love

hi muffin,

MM coordinators are v friendly, flexible and helpful. They try to give you what they can. You can consider making an appt with them and ask for more details.

asura

I am also a MM bride. My wedding dinner is on 24 Jun 06. Hoping to get some advice from everyone here..

Have read that there are 2 themes for the dinner.. does anyone has pics to show for the 2 themes?

weddinstory

hi i hv booked 40 tables with mm. does anyone know what happen if i dun use up the 40 tables on my actual day? will i be given voucher or wat to go back another day forthe food?

springdance

Yo My Melody

How are you? Finally both our big days are over and can relax liao...

You back to work yet? Did everything went well on your wedding? Mine was ok..dun think there's any hiccups (or not that I know of lor..heheh)..

My wine all finished...even those I brought in...the guests all prefer drink wine than beer..very little consumption for beer

vinmei

Hows everyone? Me MIA for sometime leh. Was very busy and AD is so near liao leh.
Me going for my food tasting this wed. Looking forward to it mann! :p

Hi weddingstory,

I asked before on this. They told me that they will cook the food and portion it to the rest of the table. But if we can confirm like one week before, they can try to do something ba.

strawberry_love

hi springdance,

welcome back. yeah, we can relax now. Waiting for my HM. i have minor hiccups but everything was settled v fast. for my wine, i bought 5 dozens, i thought they wld prefer wine too..to my surprise, my guests prefer beer than wine we had to open another 2 barrels of beer.

springdance

Hey my melody

Looks like out guests got opposite tastes..hahah

So where you buy your wine? Can return those unopened bottles?

Are you going for honeymoon? me thinking to go in May..after my new house reno complete..think got NATAS fair in March will go see see got what packages.

Where's your new house?

strawberry_love

springdance,

yeahhhh...hehe.

I bought my wine from Jason's market @ Raffles city sc. Yes, we returned 1 dozen to them and my hb friend bought 1 dozen from us.

Going for a short trip to bangkok on 16 feb for 6 days. Our HM will be sometime in oct, going to Korea and Taiwan. Yes, good to know about NATAS packages, can be quite attractive. Any country u hv in mind for your HM?

Currently, staying w my in laws. Our sengkang flat is still constructing. will be ready in 2 years time. where u staying?

dreamer17

anyone know wats the maximun capacity for the Marina Mandarin Ballroom? Also hows the food for the chinese Dinner? And the bridal suite nice anot?

springdance

Hiyee my melody

It's a good thing you manage to return the wine and even got your hubby's fren to buy.

Well, for HM, likely we are going Italy in early May.

Hmm...you must be a shopping queen...staying bangkok for 6 days! For me...3 days of shopping is the max...heheh...tiring siah.

My new nest is at redhill...pending reno...probably will move in in 3 months time.

Hey, can PM me your email add? so we can keep in touch.

leah

Hi Everyone. I am new here. My wedding is on the 18th June this year at MM. Please let me know what I should note since you guys are propbably getting married before me. My coordinator is MengWen.
Anyone also under her account?

strawberry_love

springdance,

yep. i love shopping haha esp bangkok when its so cheap there,haha. my hb like the temples there, everytime we visit bangkok, he must go to the temples.

italy is a nice country with nice buildings. i love italy too.

glad to know your house is going to be ready, happy for you.

oh ya, my email : [email protected]
keep in touch.

dreamer17

Hi guys...

as i am planning to hold my wedding at MM, can anyone share wif me the perks you manage to squeeze out from them. And is there any coordinator that is easier to bargain?

As i am holding my in a week day, is it possible to change to sea bass fish to grouper without extra charge?

Lastly, how is the bridal suite for MM?

Thank you...

pita

I just attended a wedding at MM main ballroom last night. And felt the service was really terrible. So does take note a few points.

The food ordered by the Host seems expansive with items like suckling pig platter, abalone, sea cucumber etc.

As it is for 60 tables, it is natural that the food is not really good.

But it is the service that really disappoint me.

Before Dinner while seating.
1. the waiter dont bother to ask if you require any other drink, they just pour the tea and walk away.

2. When we try to wave for waiters to request for drinks, at least 8 of them just stand at the side, while didn't notice us.

During Dinner,

3. the refill of drinks never came. and I actually walk to their serving station to get my own drinks. And to my amazed I am not the only one to do so.

4. the service staff didnt try to top up the drinks before toasting. thus my partner have an empty glass during toasting.

cont

pita

cont

5. When serving the noodle, the jap bowls they use is too big. Thus even though the bowl is half filled, it can only serve 7 bowl. Though they offer to get more noodle after that. (but we decline)

6. The worst issue happen when our dessert is served. we were among the last few table to be served, and by the time it is served, 80% of guest had eaten and leave the room. And the waiters are busy packing up the other tables and dont bother to attend to us.

This is the 1st time, I felt so bad about a wedding dinner. especially since it is a 5 star hotel.

I felt i get better service when attending functions at cheaper hotel and even the staff at Gim Tim perform better when they do outdoor 7th month dinner.

p.s. We were not the sitting near the toilet table, we were actually sitting near too the VIP.

vinmei

Hi Pita,

So bad to hear about these. I am meeting my coordinator this week and to ensure that all these will not happened during my dinner.

Anyway, me had my food tasting last wed. The food served was not bad. I am pretty satisfied with the food as compared. But it is just food tasting and it all depends on individual preference.

And I have attended a D&D last sat at MM with a table of about 65tables. It is buffet style and the food is nice. The service is ok and the waitress keep refilling our drinks and clear ed our plates away. Overall, it is not bad but too bad that we did not win any licky draw! hehee

dreamer17

Hi tweety,

did u pay 50% for the trial dinner? and also does they allow to change the dish for the weekday menu? coz we intend to change the sea bass to grouper...wonder if can change without topping up the cost?

Pita,

i think they need to polish up their service...

vinmei

Hi dreamer,
Nope. I did not cos I sign up during their bridal show. Change menu... Not too sure leh. Got to check with them on this.

y4735

I had just finished my wedding in MM yesterday night (Sunday), and we are a happy MM couple.

The service from the banquet manager was well coordinated, and prompt. We managed to start our banquet at abt 2015, (also thanks to the puncutality of our guests). and the last dish was served at abt 2230. We had 41 tables.

Heard some comments from my guests that they are very happy with the portion of the food served, and they loved the food.

Personally, I love the dry ice effect, and the feeling of marching into the ballroom was simply estatic!

Please feel free to pm me if you any questions.

Sotong...throw in your comments too! It will be helpful for me to feedback to the hotel personally.

pita

Hi Square, so MM can host a few weddings at 1 time? Which floor did u held your dinner?

How do you make the guest come so punctual? Thats amazing for chinese wedding to start so early.

I am real happy for you, as it turn out so good for your side.

Tweety, well the food served in food tasting normally taste better as the chef cook only 1 table. They can close shop if they cant even cook 1 table nicely. But I agree that personal preference differ. But normally the actual day will not be as nice.

pita

Anyway no guest should/will ever tell the couple, the dinner is not nice. (Unless it is very very bad) As it will spoil the couple wonderful evening

worry

hi tweety,

For my wedding, the food in AD taste much better than the food tasting. during my food tasting, there were some dishes that is too salty or tasted hard, etc. we commented it to the coordinator. On our AD, surprisingly, it is much better. My brother-in-law also felt the same way. Initially i thought maybe is VIP table is better. but my aunt who went for the food tasting and sit in a non-VIP table during AD also agrees that it is AD is better than AD. It's all thumbs up for the food. I think it also got to depend on ur luck cos to cook a good food, think u need to be in a good mood?

At the end of the wedding, the waiter will heat up the food and bring to your hotel room. I also tasted the food myself. Indeed it is very nice.

worry

To have wedding in MM, I think the thing to take note is the sound system. i've heard a few cases of sound system not able to play.

y4735

Hi Pita,

It is possible to have several weddings going on at the same time, depending on the size of the ballroom used.

We used the grandballroom, and had the whole area for our guests during the cocktail. We had informed out guests that we try our best to break the tradition, and hope to start early. I think our guests cooperated and hence helped alot. I think another way is to have your tea-ceremony for your relatives in the hotel before the banquet, so that they will be there early.

Hi S(Worry), my banquet manager is Joseph. A nice and down-to-earth guy.

Hi Dreamer, we did not try to change the dish...so I am not sure. But I think this can be done, speak to your coordinator.

Once I have the pics, I will send to you.

thelovebox06

Hi worry, i hope the music system will not break down on my day. I am v particular about the sound system cosis one of the things tt creates the mood. furthermore i spending alot on videography and express highlights..how to ensure the sound system is ok? anyone

hi square,i am thinking of choosing the bubble effect cos i thot it's nice.why did u chose the dry ice effect? any reason? i hv never seen both there so i not sure. did u take the lilac or white covers? which theme did u gofor? please advice. thks

elcy

That's strange
MM has only the smaller Vanda Ballroom and the main ballroom named the MM ballroom for at least 40 to about 60+ tables. Square had her wedding at the main MM ballroom and Pita attended a wedding at the main ballroom on the same night. Does that mean Pita was one of Square's guests?

vinmei

Ya lor. same tots here Elcy.

I am meeting my coordinator tml to discuss on details. Can I seek some help here on what should I asked and what should I look out for?

worry

hi nicole, i think depends on luck. cos sometimes it is tested ok then during the actual thing, the sound just dun come out. Maybe what you can do is, u tell ur coordinator abt ur concern and see wat best she can do for u.

pita

hmmm... ya dont think I attended square wedding? Cos the one I attend start at 9 end at 11 plus.

Funny huh.

Anyway, I think couples who want to use MM better make sure that such things dont happen. Or else will not be worth to spend so much on it.

worry

I've heard when sound system problem happens, the hotel will make compensation, although the sound didn't work for awhile only. But i hope the hotel will do something abt it. cannot always sound system got problem. Sometimes i think is it the system too new that they havne't master the usage yet.

pita

oh then no fish prawn also good loh. but this type of things its better to engage e pro. then less chances of error

pita

haven decide but think of doing outdoor wedding. come in to this thread, just to warn others regarding MM poor service.

piggy05

I think depend on your luck. my wedding was held in MM and all i have are gd feedback. I also find the service is gd. Hmmm.... for the food wise, as i am quite picky so do my family and what we find the food not bad except for the sharfin is abit watery thats all...

dreamer17

ya i feel its purely on ur luck...even the best hotel in singapore dun gurantee nothing will go wrong...coz after all we are still human and u know there are always human error...so just have to keep ur fingers cross on ur big day...

cheers...

cottoncandy7681

i had my wedding in late dec last year.On my dinner,my hubby had check n double check on the sound system before the banquet .but sad to say,its still happen...during our first march in,there's was no sound coming out! And both of us stand outside like a fool for a whole 20 mins waiting for the system sound to be up again.I feel veri sad about it.It really spoil my mood.and my VG effort on the photo montage as it is really wonderful done..

cottoncandy7681

And during the 2nd march in,things crop up too .I think due to the PA guy is new.He stop the express highlight before it finish as he 'thought' that its already ended! But its still got 7 sec playing.7 sec is quite alot too...Veri disappointed with MM services on this.Though the services is good,dishes are great like wat my guest commented but then.who will want this kind of things to happen on her BIG DAY!If given a choice again,i will not have choose them