Marina Mandarin Singapore

hey my melody,

i went to the same hotels that u went!! i'm going to sign up with MM this coming saturday for my AD in June 2006.

hi nicole,

send u the pix taken during the wedding show. i think there's only 2 themes so far - Eden & Candle themes.

camy

hi ladies (S, LHT, tweetytwee & my melody),

can share your photos with me when ready pls?

hey melody,

mm & marriott had the best services so far. i feel i'm in good hands with MM. Really happy with my coordinator. She went all out to accommodate my requests! 2 thumbs up for her!!

hi nicole,

have re-sent u the link to view MM wedding show photos on my "yahoo photo!" already!

i think it takes awhile for the email to reach u.

let me know if u still don't get it tomorrow. i'll try to re-send again at my office.

Hi Camy,
Yeah, those hotels are very reputable.
U have not signed up with MM, better be quick. Heard MM got booked up very fast, oh yeah..do remember to bring 3k for the deposit (in case your co-ordintor did not tell u so u dont hv to make another trip down) btw, hv u settled your BS? when is your AD? Mine is Jan 06.

hi weddin,
perks?
Not nice to mention here.... Can only say that there was a couple of trade-offs. Our nice co-ordinator was very accomodating anyway. Anyway are you having your AD at MM too?

hi melody,

BS settled already. am with Z wedding. selected my WG & EG in Nov. Going for my 1st fitting in end Feb 06. so excited...can't wait to go for photoshoot next year. hehehehe..

yeh, my coordinator told us how much deposit to put down already. i will be signing the contract with MM this saturday. MY AD is 18 Jun 2006, me doing luncheon.

oooh..one more month to Jan 06, how's your prep coming along? which ballroom u be using?

hi Cami

Thanks for sharing. Really appreciate. Is your wedding going to be held in the grand ballroom or at the second level? Why are there few different colours of sash for the chairs? Mine is in Dec 06 grand ballroom.

Hi MM brides and BTB,

wonder which theme is nicer? Eden or Candle theme? How many months in advance must we let the hotel know the theme we wanna? I think I might like to take the bubble effect.

hi nicole,

no problem. good things must share.

we will be using vanda ballroom on level 5.

i think there are a few types/colours of sashes so as to match the table cloth for the VIP table. The lilac seat cover is really nice.

Hi S,
Welcome back. Must have lots of fun rite...

Any pics to share with us?

Hi melody,
ic ic.... so fast hor. Such a long preparation but it happened all in a day.
Ohh, my AD is 25thFeb06.

hi tweetytwee,

i have a couple of pics taken. but lazy to upload leh. haha....honeymoon is fun... it is a relax mode after all the wedding prep.

Hi S,
When u have time & not so lazy, u upload k.

Me will be away for a short trip to KL this weekend. Need a break mann! Take care k.

Hi girls!

The photos that i saw of the Eden theme looked a bit strange.. like there were creepy crawly twigs and messy stems growing etc. But I was told it looks much better and romantic in real life. Has anyone seen it before? is it really nice?

hi tweetytwee,

good to have a short break. Enjoy your trip.

Hi lcw,

Which ballroom will u be using? I was told that Eden theme is more suitable to be used in Level 1 ballroom cos there are more lightings there and can shine on the flowers to give a diff effect. Level 5 ballroom is advisable to use Candlelight theme cos the ballroom dun have much lighting and thus the candlelight theme will make it look romantic. Eden theme for Level 5 is still not out yet at tht time when i ask in Nov. Now duno out already or not.

Hi Cami,
Photoshoot is really fun,enjoy. June is a sunny weather, no worries about rain. Great!
exactly 1 mth more to my AD, so far so good,now am preparing for the seating arrangements for my banquet. Oh..this sun will doing wedding shopping with my hubby. I'll be using the Vanda ballroom.

Hi Tweety,
yes...so much preparations and effort involved but it happened and ended in a day only. Hope the day comes faster so I can take a break...hahaha

Hi S,
Envy u..haha. Im looking forward to my honeymoon too =)

Hi nicole,
I like the lilac seatings too. Happy planning for your wedding.

today i went to sign contract & pay deposit already.

notice something & like to share with u all. There are 2 wedding dinners tonight. The vanda ballroom was being set up & i went to take a peek. The couple selected lilac seat cover, peach colour table cloth for guest tables & golden colour table cloth for VIP tables. i feel that peach & lilac colours don't really match. i guess peach colour will go well with white seat cover just like tambourina's wedding, very sweet... i feel that white table cloth match the lilac seat covers better.

oh like to reveal a little secret here that the lady model in MM advertisement in the latest issue of her world brides is my coordinator. hehehe...

hi melody,

vanda ballroom's ceiling is a little low but i still find it ok... give a cozy feeling. i like. however i find the stage too dark like not enough lighting. partly becoz of the gold drape i guess.

i agree that the march-in will be quite short coz the aisle is not long (approximately 4 round tables spacing). Ok for me, i'm the shy type. long march in makes me nervous. hahaha...

And i only have about 20 tables so long everyone can see us march-in good enough. my fh & i want a cosy lunch banquet thus Vanda is very ideal for our situation. All depends on what kind of wedding u want.

Which theme are you going to use? candle or eden? i like to have eden display on the stage but candle flower stands along the aisle & arrangement for the tables, dunno can or not. hehehe...

I saw the set up for the eden theme at the grand ballroom today.. the flowers got many different colours, red and orange etc.. doesn't really match the lilac seat covers leh. I think I'll use all white flowers. is it possible?

Eh, another thing I heard about MM is that the fancy coloured lighting makes guests dizzy and is quite obiang. Anyone has seen it before and has comments?

Through a 1st round of research, I made the following three choices:

1. Hotel Intercontinental

2. Grand Hyatt

3. Marina Mandarin

Comments about all aspects on food/ballroom/perks are greatly appreciated! Many thanks!

Hi Axel, when r u getting married? Hotel Intercon was my first choice too but it is booked on my weddin date.It is a beatiful place with a long aisle. Perks wise i am not so sure.Food ok when i attended a wedding there 2 yrs ago. As for hyatt, i just attended a wedding there last month. The coodinating was bad. Projector didnt work. Dry ice effectwas not done properly. Guests were quite shocked with such service from such a reputable place. It happened to my another friend few years ago too. U might wanna to reconsider. Food was so so. As for marina mandarin, attended a few weddings there b4 too. Good food. My coodinator is v nice and helpful. One disadvantage is the short aisle. Hope my comments help.
happy searching

One thing i am worried is the deco in Marina Mandarin. Have read a fewcomments about the lousy colourcoordination. Is it true. To Those who had your weddin at MM, please share with us, the MM BTB.

Hi Nicole,

I just have my wedding last week at Vanda Ballroom and I have saw the comment...
I think the colour is nice when after photo taking...
May be some brides are very particular on the colour... but do remember the colour effect was different after taking photo...
I would like to say base on individual taste... You can choose your prefer colour.
Or you can let your coordinator to make the decision for you.
For my case, I let my coordinator to do it for me and surprsingly the effect is good in the photo

I have to thanks to my coordinator (Wendy) who chose the colour and the flowers...
They are so beautiful….

And also her team…. They have done a great job….

Thanks a million MM

Hi, Felicia, i'm also holding my wedding next year in Vanda Ballroom. It's good to hear good comments about the weddings held there. How is the bridal suite? is it a premiere suite given?

Hi Felicia,

wat color did u choose? My coordinator chose for me pink and lilac.. i thought it will turn out weird but when i saw it, the combi is lovely.

Hi Xynn,

The suite not bad... Anyway, we will not have the time to enjoy... hehe... when we reach there, we zzz... after dinner, we zzz... hahaha But the suite deco with rose petals... very sweet....

Hi S(worry),

My Coordinator chose peach and lilac...
Think the same... hehe... Yes... the combi is lovely... we take candle instead of eden theme..

Hi Felicia,

U took one nite stay?

I want to kapo a few stalk of flowers after the dinner to make dry flowers but after wedding totally forgot abt it. too tired liao... i also took candlelight theme. i was told eden theme is not suitable for level 5 ballroom.

hi felicia,

i also only have praises for my coordinator, she had been so nice, patient & accommodating. i've no regret choosing mm over regent. honestly, regent was so disappointing in terms of their service & professionalism. always thought highly of regent until i experienced it for myself.

your wedding was held on 10 Dec, last week? that day around noon time, i saw vanda ballroom being set up..only table cloth & seat covers were done...the staff were arranging the cutlery & setting up the tables. no flora arrangement as yet. so didn't get to see full set up of the room.

do actual visual & photos look very different? can share your photos with me pls? many thanks in advance.

just curious, did any brides here planning or had done something about the gold colour drape on the stage?

Hi S,

yes.... my coordinator chose yam rose which the same as my hand bouquet... hehehe....

eden look messy.... we straightaway say no when we saw the deco. :P

Hi Camy,

yes..10Dec...
the photo not ready is still in the process... my friend still arrange for me...

I will send to you once have it...

We didnt do any thing on the gold colourdrape...

I only can say simple can be nice... as the champage fountain, cake will be on the stage, Too many things will look messy... sorry.. this is my point of view... may be i like simple..

yeah i agree with Felicia,

The stage at level 5 is very small... after putting the champagne fountain and cake, u dun have much space for yam seng liao. at most two rows of ppl only. it is better to be simple, otherwise it will look very cramp.

Thks Felicia and all! That gives me a better idea what to go for. So the colours and deco we'll discuss with the coordinator and not the florist? and can i say candle theme is a better choice? anyone has pictures of both themes to share?

please share with me [email protected]

felicia, how's the food and everything? I jus went for a wedding at hyatt.food, coordination, sound system, dry ice effect was bad..so kinda worried..

Hi Nicole,

Good comment on food!! that a great relieve...
sound system gd... dry ice effect gd... i did not take bubbles effect.
and can conclude everything wnet off very smooth...

I think s(worry) also satisfied with the whole event... M i rite??

Yeah.. i am a happy MM bride.

From the booking of MM till my wedding day, there is no bad service from them except on food tasting. There is no one to entertain us on that day except for one waitress.

I have good feedback from guests too, especially on food and the fanfare. my frens was asking whether they can taste the food again at Peach Blossom (MM's restaurant) and i told them diff chef. they were kind of disappointed. haha. The fanfare give all my guests a shock! they didn't expect the waitress to sway and turn on stage. it is a surprise and special to them. they are very entertained and clapped. sound system i think is ok. bubble effect is special but i think look ok also.

hi felicia, thanks. My wedding will be Dec 06. I am just wondering that on the contract, it mentioned that if there is a last minute change in the use of grand ballroom, they arenot responsible except to refund deposit. was it in your contract?

For those you took MM lunch package, can i know what was included in your package? Thinking of changing the soup to shark's fin but find the top up in price difference quite big leh.

hi felicia & S,

hmm..you gals got a point. we might have quite a few people on the stage during toasting. Gee...Thanks for the tips!!

hi vick,

my lunch package is pretty standard except that i changed complimentary beer to 12 bottles of wine and red bean with dumplings to 'yam paste'. the rest are the usual. I also did not top up for shark's fin coz FH thought it was cruel to eat shark's fin. Topping up for suite is at $350+++ thus did not top up as well. =)

Hi nicole, thanks for your info. My big day is in jan 2007. Seems that Hyatt is having less good news than Intercon and Marina. We are more or less fix on Intercon and Hyatt initially.

Seems like I have to go back to the drawing board....