Marina Mandarin Singapore

tab00

Hi WM,
Just went to a dinner last Sat, the food is good. But as there are several function rooms on level 1, there is another wedding that night too. So my friends & I actually walked to the wrong reception!
hehehee...:b

angie

Hi Kiki,

I've seen the bridal suite and it's nothing to shout about

There are 2 adjoining rooms. I think it used to be 2 separate rooms. There's also a balcony but it seems quite dirty outside so I dun think you will want to step out :p

nobody

hehe.. i m still quite looking 4ward to the nite stay there!! hehe... but anyway, it just a nite stay onli!! hehhe....

angie

hI Kiki,

No lah, it's quite alright. Passable. In fact, I think it is better than Trader's suite coz when i visited the latter, the wardrobe door cannot even close properly!

Like nobody says, it's just one nite
Moreover, there shd be more than 1 bridal suite. Hehe... the others might be better. To put your mind at ease, do ask the Events Manager / Exec to show you the suite.

For your info, I booked MM.

linda

Hi Kiki,

I find the bridal suite quite nice. My friend got marrie dlast year and we all shared to pay for a room for him and the wife. (his dinner at restaurant so no room) and I thought it lovely for the space was great for all the "Ah Yees" and "brothers" to gather and talk while getting ready...while the bride could have the other room all to herself to make up and chage...and trhey have 2 bathrooms too!

kiki

Thanks so much! Glad to know that as am actually in the final consideration..
Hi Angie, when is ur date? Am considering next Jan, 2002. Although not deciding yet, i feel the overall package and service offered by MM is one of best

angie

Hi Kiki,

Mine is in May

I agree that MM offers the best overall package. I checked out Pan Pac, Traders & Rendevous. Pan Pac has a nice ballroom but out of my budget, dun like Traders ballroom and suite. Quite like Rendevous but find that they are not very experienced. Overall, MM gave me the best feeling.

Have you booked your bridal package?

s3

hi Angie
I've bk mine @MM too. Wedding day in Dec.Yrs on a wkday or wkend?Mine is on a Sat.I booked my package in 2000. Have u choose the themes yet? Irene attended to me.So far she's not bad, My trial dinner will be in August.Will be meeting up with them soon

angie

Hi S3,

Great to have a MM kaki :p

Mine is on a Sunday. But we may want to change it coz Tong Shu not out yet. So which day is your wedding?

Since ur wedding is earlier than mine, do give me some feedback then.

I have not checked out the themes tho gold seems to have the most favourable comments in the Forum. How abt you? Oh yah, and your march-in songs?

sunny

Hi S3 n Angie,
me also booked with MM. my wedding this sept. i liase with pauline. we will be getting the invites for printing this 2 weeks n will be settling the food tasting too. guess i can let u girls know the feedback after my wedding.

my friend just attended a MM wedding on monday. she feedback that the food is quite good. she just mentioned that the ceiling a bit low n the stage a bit small. the rest are quite favourable comments

kiki

hi Angie,
I haven't booked with MM yet but intend to.
I have seen three theme of MM and gold is best.

The 2002 menu also has more selections than 2001 thus i beleive food wise should be quite O.K.

kiki

Angie,
The first theme i saw is Peach..
I think Peach theme is a bit simple. The ballroom looks old and i even feel light dimmer(might because of color of flowers).
) Anyway,u won't feel 'wow' when u see the set up. But is only my personal opinion.

Since ur banquet is next May, i suggest u to view both gold and peach theme before you decide.

nobody

Hi Angie,

Me 2 also booked with MM, n i hv seen both the Gold n Peach theme. For peach theme, it looks ok, but like those resturant style, it more 2wards those traditional set-up!! As 4 gold theme, it looks more nice n classy, not traditional!! 4 me, I will choose gold theme unless they hv new theme
hehe...

Hi Sunny,

My coordinator is also Pauline, so how is she like?? Easy- going??? Gd 2 hear that the comments on wkday is not bad, cos my falls on wkday 2!! hee..

sunny

Hi nobody,
the person that i sign up with was Lunna n i have heard favourable comments for her. unfortunately she left MM n Pauline took over. So far, i have not met her personally, only spoke to her over the phone. She seems all right and i hope she will be flexible cos Lunna is very flexible.

i will be asking her to let me know which dates has wedding for the different themes n will go down to have a look. So far, Gold theme is the most popular one. I am choosing either the Gold or Silver. I agree the Peach theme a bit restaurant style.

3 mths to go... getting excited now !

angie

How about the silver theme? Anyway, I will check out the various themes but just want some comments

Hi Sunny,

Wow, 3 months to go. How's your preps?

sunny

HI Angie,
me will also check out silver n gold themes. don't really like the peach one.

err..right now trying to sort out the invites. will be meeting T-dragon for the printing then will call up pauline for the food tasting n the rest of the works. photoshoot n gowns all done, very happy with them
currently, busy with my renovation and hse furnishings. what abt you ?

adrianne

I'm considering booking my dinner at MM and am liasing with Beng Khoon on the contract. We liked the 5th floor ballroom because it was cosy and very personal. Plus MM is offering a very attractive package of course

Were any of you able to negotiate for a free trial tasting with MM or additional night stay?

linda

Hi Adrianne

Congrats!
I think a free trail tasting and additional nite stay is dependent on the no of tables you have. Both were given if 50 tables and above. But if you really want an additional nite stay, can opt to exchange something for it. Like the 3 tier REAl wedding cake. I exchange it for a dummy and a 30L barrel of beer! No point having a real cake right?

angie

Hi Sunny,

I still have a long way to go. Anyway, have decided on Divine for bridal, so nothing much to do yet.

Hi Adrianne,

I also liased with Beng Khoon.
Sorry I can't help coz I didn't even try to ask for free food tasting as we din plan to have it. I changed the real cake to a dummy cake & day room for my co-ordinators. However, I have heard that a 3-tier real cake can cost up to $1 k so I will try to negotiate to extend the day room to one nite's stay for my frens. Beng Khoon is very flexible but I think it is still better to negotiate before you pay the deposit.

Hi Linda,

Do you mean to say you exchanged the real cake for a dummy cake, additional nite's stay and 30l of beer?

pang pang

Hi Angie,

MM was in one of my choice when I was choosing a venue to hold the banquet. I understand that the real 3-tier cake can be exchanged for a 5-tier dummy cake + 1 tier real cake and 1 nite stay. So I think u shdn't have any prob getting them to extend the day rm to a nite's stay.

Hi Linda,

How many tables will u be having? I think u have gotten a gd deal on the exchanging of real cake for the beer, additional nite stay and dummy cake.

linda

Hi Angie Hi Pang Pang

The free tasting and additional night's stay comes 'automatically' with my 62 tables.

Only the additional 30L beer and dummy cake in exchange for the real cake.

Then she gave me another 20L lor after some more bargaining cos she cannot give me the projectors mah.

kiki

hi Angie,
For silver theme, there will be two silver candle stand are set in front of entrance. As the color is either white or silver, thus whole theme is also a bit dull compared to gold theme. I will say gold is best.

BTW, u mean u got one day-use room n dummy cake in exchange for the real cake? Do u manage to get additional one nite stay as well?

hi Linda,
When u change the real cake to dummy cake, is it 3-tier or 5-tier?

angie

HI Linda & Kiki,

Thanks for the info

Yup, I exxhanged the real cake for a 5 tier dummy cake and a day use room. I din ask for an additional nite stay.

sunny

i check with Pauline n there's a gold wedding theme wedding at the level 1 ballroom on June 27th wednesday if u r interested to view it. best time to view is 5.30-6.30pm.

linda

HI Kiki

I exchange the real cake for a 5 tier dummy cake and 30L barrel beer.

Anyone of you gals renting projectors for use during the wedding?

kiki

hi angie,
i just checked out with MM yesterday that most u may get it in exchange of real cake is one deluxe room stay. I think that is good enough.

Besides, i saw the layout of suites as well. Maybe u could just use the sitting room of ur suites as day use room then u could get additional one room + dummy cake.

Linda,
Thanks for information.

angie

Hi Sunny,

Great! I'll go look.

Hi Linda,

I was thinking of that. Not confirmed yet tho. Any idea what the charges are for renting the projector?

Hi Kiki,

I think it's a great idea to use the sitting room as a day room for the co-ordinators. My hubby also feels that our frens would most likely want to be with us. We dun really need an extra nite's stay unless my frens want to stay over. Otherwise, I'll ask for an extra barrel of beer.

linda

YAH...$450 for a projector..I couldn't get them to lower the price so I am sourcing for one.....

The suite is quite big and it indeed can be used as a dayuse room for coordinators and they have 2 bathrooms too so the bride could have one to herself.

My wedding is 2 days so after the day ceremony we will go to the hotel and stay overnight there and plan the dinner from there...but I thought it funny to have friends sleeping with you on the first day of being truly married....

kiki

hi Angie,
Maybe u could exchange real cake to barrel of beer. Having room for ur friend stay means they could make more funs of u n ur hubby. That is wat i am trying hard to avoid.

Besides, since MM doesn't give any gift for ur anniversory, u could use the additional deluxe room for celebration. U dont need to use it now.

jenjen

Anyone in the process of dealing with MM???
Share your experience???

I am considering to book MM for my banquet...
Offer seems quite attractive...

Anyone asked for more than what was stated and got accepted? ;)

Will be interested to know...

alice

Hi all, I'm also scouting for a wedding package and will be going down to MM for a look today. I'll be only having 30 tables. Wonder if I can "squeeze" for extra freebies.

jenjen

hi alice, I shld be placing my booking wif MM sometime this week... but i am guaranteeing 40 tables... they will be giving me the entire ballroom on the 1st floor...

my fren last time went there to ask abt 30 tables... they suggested another ballroom I think on the 5th floor, the Les Oiseaux Room... that room is suppose to cater for abt 28 tables... my fren thought that the room will be too squeezy for 30 tables so in the end, he did not take up MM's offer...

u might want to source for other hotels just in case u dun like to ballroom size...

but then again, u might like the room, coz I heard it was quite nice... but u better ask to see the room when there are about 30 tables... then u will know if it is enuff...

sunny

i'm also with MM. i only have 35 tables n they will also be giving me the entire ballroom on the 1st floor. i understand that the Les Oiseaux Room max tables is 30 but i could be wrong.

jenjen

hi sunny... thanx for ur response in the deco section... u sure they give u the whole place???

from wat i understd from pauline, the min for the whole place is 40 tables... u better check if they will close up 1 partition or something for u... if they do, scarly there is another 10 tables wedding banquet just next door!!! then no good leow lor...

les oiseaux is max 28 + 2 reserve... so is 30... to confirm only 28, they provide 2 reserve...

btw, when r u looking at for the banquet???

alice

Hi JenJen, I don't think i like MM very much. Irene showed me the 5th floor. Someone just had wedding lunch then, and it was in silver theme. I thought the design was pretty yucky. 8)
Rate a little steep. Now got to look at other place. 8)

sunny

hi jenjen,
yes i am sure they will be giving me the whole place. i book my dinner last aug with Lunna. she did tell me that the min was 40. then we told her we need 35, n the 5th floor max is 30. in the end she agreed to give us the whole ballroom to us cos my wedding is on a sun. she said if sat, not possible. anyway, Lunna left MM already, n Pauline took over. she has been very flexible n nice too. my wedding is this sept, 2 more mths !!!

i think the usual decor theme for MM is peach, gold or silver. maybe the blue one is a special requested one. if i am not wrong, for the 2001 package, they are looking into adding in more themes.

jenjen

sunny, lucky u!!!
so u have more space to play wif during ur wedding... later ur frens all sabo u...hehehe... btw, I never heard of the blue theme before... it is nice??? have u seen it???

alice, the silver theme is not very nice... becoz it is too "white"... so u must be quite unlucky to see that theme...
u should see the gold theme... i heard it is quite good... i might consider gold theme...

I heard that they are adding more themes for 2002... maybe there are more suitable ones... wat is ur budget??? maybe i can give u some suggestions???

blue

Hi sunny,
Got blue theme??? Can special request?? Goody!!!

Alice, actually I find the 5th floor romantic...expecially at nite when the music from the 4th floor lounge playing softly & the decor (gold) is neatly in place. I especially like the stairs (they decor the stairs as well)...I could just feel myself like a princess walking down the stairs in my gown...wowz...so fairy-tale like ah? The only sad part is i don't look like a princess lah..because i am too "tomboyish" hahaa!!

sunny

oh, i made a mistake, they shall be looking at adding in more themes for 2002 packages !!

eh, when i was there to discuss abt the contract, Lunna show me the 5th floor n it was decorated in silver n dark blue. if i am not wrong, it is for an office function. then she told us that if we like, we can request for this kind of decor too.

i have yet to check out the diff themes. i think most probably go for the Gold theme too since it is highly recommended by most MM brides.

jenjen

basically at the moment, i think they have 3 themes... gold, silver & peach...

I haven't seen any yet, but just a basic knowledge from the photos...

gold is quite classy, I think... the VIP tables will be in gold table cloth and the other tables are in ivory (off white)...

silver, the VIP in silver and the other tables in white... according to pauline, the overall effect is very very white... some pple dun like becoz too white and bright... they can change some things for u so that they dun become too white, like the napkins in light green, etc... think u can ask...

peach is the most traditional... VIP tables in red... the other tables in pink... so it's like the normal customary chinese kind of thing...

hope this helps!!!

linda

Yes, Pauline did mention that for those who booked year 2002 packages can choose between this year's (Gold, silver or peach) and next year's theme.

Gold is very classic. Just make sure your EG and your groom's suit is not gold or cream cos I did cream suits are in the trend now and MM's captains wear cream...So do be careful. If not, the bride will look like a walking tablecloth and the groom a handsome captain

jenjen

Oh wow!

That's the most amusing comment I have ever heard, Linda!!! That reminds me, I have to ask what colour the waiters & captains wear...

so have u booked ue banquet???

linda

Jen Jen

I have booked with MM for June 2002 with Pauline.And my EG is not GOLD...kekekekkekek

When's your wedding?

jenjen

Linda ah...

Mine still long leh... going to book for Nov 2002... and I've not been to the bridal shop yet... so I dunno I will choose wat colour EG...

I hope I can squeeze as much as I can from Pauline...hehhee...

elaine

Hi Jen Jen,

Most likely I will be booking with MM soon, before the due date for the free flow of beer. Can you share with us what are the additional stuff to negotiate for? Thanks in advance!