Marina Mandarin Singapore

sunny

Hi Angie,
thanks for the reminder. will take note of it. the min. tables for the main ballroom is 40 and the max tables that the one in 5th floor is 30. And we have 35 !!! in the end, MM agreed to let us take the main one. heeee

sounds so nice to be able to march in on flower petals..

Hi Sunny,

Cake-cutting is done after the first walk-in. Champagne popping and "yam seng" cheers is done after second walk-in.

sunny

Hi Angie,
ya, MM mail me the contract only after i paid the deposit. eh..i think i waited for quite some time, abt 1 mth !!! but if u r unsure, call the person in charge to confirm.

Hi Sunny,

Is that a common practice? For my case, I'm only required to pay the deposit after I've signed on the dotted line but I signed up with Hotel Intercontinental.

jerraine

How interesting to march in on petals!! But if u have a gown with train then won't your train be sweeping up all the petals under your skirt??

sunny

Hi Chin Leng,
it was because when i sign up with MM, the banquet manager told me abt their coming promotion. however, that promotion will only start abt 2 weeks later. she was kind to inform me so that i can get the cheaper deal. but because of that, she can only give me the contract after the promotion start date, plus some processing n delay here n there. i got the contract much later. however, she did issue me an official receipt from MM and called me to let me know when she is sending me the contract. sorry, i should have explain clearer.

angie

Hi Jerraine,

You are right :p Anyway I am quite short, abt 1.53m only so will go for a short train. So hopefully won't sweep away too many petals under my gown.

Sunny,

My case is different. I remembered seeing somewhere in this forum that we shd only pay upon signing the contract but the Manager told me that their policy is to collect the deposit first. Maybe he wants to ensure that we will stay with them. Anyway, he did issue us a receipt and promised to send us the contract within this week. Will see if he does as promised.

ivy

I have sort of decided to book with M.M but can anyone advise whether it's too early to book for Jan/Feb 2002 wedding?

and i have heard abt. the promotion that they are offering if you booked by 31st mar 2001.

the problem is i do not know which is an auspicious date coz the chinese calender for 2002 is not out yet! does anyone have any good dates to recommend ? and anyone know where to get the chinese calender for 2002?

i was thinking of booking a date first then maybe change the date once i have decided. but not sure whether it's allowed or not?

pls help

hwey

Well, I've booked my Feb 2002 banquet. I don't think it is too early, or too late. One thing, the 2002 Chinese Almanac won't be out till later part of this year. And if we book early, the hotel I book with allows me to pay the 2001 price instead of the 2002 price (at that time 2002 price not out yet) so it is more addvisable to book early for us.

To be fair to the hotel, once we book, it starts turning away other people who want to book that day at our ballroom. So, it will not be fair to them if we decide to change date.

sunny.

i think MM only allow u to change the date once according to the contract and it has to be within certain time limit before the actual day.

i just found out that the banquet manager incharge of my account has left MM
and now another lady will take over. i hope she is flexible.

icin

If u are talking about Lunna, yep she handled my account too. And yes, she has left.

sunny

Hi Icin,
yup, that's rite. i was referring to Lunna. So, ur account has been handled over to Pauline too ?
Have u been in contact with her so far ?

angie

Hi Ivy,

I think it is not too early if you are looking at specific dates or weekends. Last Dec when I tried to book for this Dec, the date was already taken up in a few hotels. But I understand this only happens to auspicious dates and weekends.

You can change the date 6 months before your original date. Beyond that, it depends on the availabilty of the date you want and also whether there is anyone else who wants your original date. Just to be sure, do check with them.

Hi Sunny,

Thanks for the clarification. Just wanted people to know that it is common practice to pay deposit only after signing of contract.

ixwong

Ivy,

you can check out for auspicious date in this website:

www.chinesefortunecalendar.com

I got my wedding date 1.5 years in advance there, and it is pretty accurate - the day we picked from this website turns out to be a good day when the traditional alamanc finally came out.

This website is good if you dun care about matching your birthdates with the day....

ivy

thanks for all the info!

but hwey, did you actually select an auspicious date?
if yes, based on what?

out of curiosity, for those brides-to-be, is an auspicious date really that important?
i mean it's quite difficult to accomodate everything on that auspicious day and it's actually quite a hassle!

my FIL actually wants to select a date that will not clash with me, my hubby, my MIL and my parents! oh gosh, can u imagine how difficult it is?

actually to me, as long as it is not the seventh month, it's ok!

angie

Oh dear, Chinleng, now I'm quite worried. I think I will call the manager if I don't get the contract by this week.

hwey

I did not book my wedding day base on whether it is auspicious or not. To see whether it is really auspicious or not, besides just the day itself, one has to take into other considerations such as birth dates, birth time, all those stuff.

We picked 2 Feb 2002. One for the unique numbers and secondly, my 28th birthday falls on 3 Feb. So, if it like I will be 27 when I marry and after the whole event is over, I turn 28. Kinda cute. Like wedding day takes one year.

hwey

I've booked my bridal package, just that first appt is in August. A long way to go...but glad that I settled the major stuff early cos nowadays I am too busy with work that at the end of the day, I am too tired, not to mention that by the time I knock off, the boutiques already closed.

gyspygal

I chanced upon this topic after i had booked Marina Mandarin...luckily wasn't much negative comments!! Planning to do a garden theme...with lots of fresh flowers. decorated candle stands with lots of ivy leaves. Initially I thought that kinda look was quite 'dated' until I saw my friend's wedding video with the similiar theme(although her wedding was not in s'pore). Had also thought it's gonna cost me a bomb...but I managed to get someone professional...yet reasonable! wat a relief!!
I'm thinking of a medievial looking gown....i wonder whether it matches my theme?? Do you guys think it would look too 'English'?? No idea abt the gown design at all cos my design session is due in July..sigh!sigh!

angie

Hi gyspygal,

We share similar ideas. I want a garden theme too. Was thinking of more fresh flowers too. Will have to brainstorm with my friends and see what we can come up with.

By the way, received my contract. Phew! Within a week as promised.

Anyway, I think a medieval gown is great. Had thot of that but I have not decided if I want to get a MTM gown so that will be later.

When's your wedding?

linda

Hi gaspygal,

How much does it cost to have your garden theme done up? I am thinking of doing somehting too... I am going to take a look at MM next wed....hopefully it is as good as it is stated here.......

blue

Hi Angie,

R you refering to the Gold, Silver & Peach theme?
If so, I've seen all three.

Personally I prefers the Gold theme as it is more outstanding than the other two settings (I was thinking of having a silver or blue theme previously before booking at MM.)

The silver setting by MM is too dull/white for my liking while the peach setting, although very sweet...is a bit too plain for me. :p

But it is up to individual lah...what I like may not be your cup of tea, right?

If you are unsure of which theme to choose from, contact an MM banquet co-ordinator to let you view a actual wedding dinner ballroom before the dinner starts (says about 5-6 p.m.) I hope this helps.

angie

Thanks, blue. I was thinking of either the silver or peach theme but seems like there are more favourable comments on the gold theme.

sunny

Hi Blue,
i have the same thoughts as u too. i was thinking of either the silver/blue theme. but seems that the Gold theme receives the most compliment. guess like what u said, better to view the actual decor then decide.

linda

Hi Hi

I was told MM will change their themes for next year weddings and we can choose from there too. but if we still prefer our gold theme, they can still do it for us. personally I hope they will have those deco themes like candellight, garden, and bubble theme....hmm.....Hoping and praying......

bb

Actually I already booked my banquet at MM. I like their gold theme among the 3, cos it more classy!! As 4 the Peach theme, it sweet loh, but it like those traditional wedding loh!! hehe... I dun like the silver theme cos it looks very dull!! The MM banquet's crew actually suggested to us 2 like going down on Sat 2 looks at the theme, cos that when ppls r holding their wedding!! Give it a try!!

blue

Glad to know we all like the same theme! (Great minds think alike hor!! hehehee)

I was abit worried that ppl might think GOLD is old-fashioned & silver is IN thing.

Linda,
Is it really true that MM is changing their themes for next year? Where did you hear it from? If MM is changing their themes, shouldn't they inform us 1st? Anyway, more choices also good lah...hehee..

angie

Hi Blue,

I've checked with MM. Currently, no change in the colour themes yet. Feel quite paisah calling MM coz my wedding still far away...:p

I too thot Gold may be too gaudy but looks like I may be wrong.

sunny

seems that the Gold theme is really the most "popular". i'm also worried that Gold may be too gaudy. will take a look at the three themes n update u girls if possible. when are ur weddings ?
mine is sept this year.....counting down.

blue

Thanks Angie, for calling MM on our behalf.

I am also very paiseh to call my event manager lah..cos...I clearly forgotten his name!

Sunny, my wedding is Mar, next year. It's on a weekday as my hubby & I ROMed on that particular day last year. Just checking, have you gone for the food-tasting? If you have, how are dishes? Good or bad? I am using this food-tasting as a "meet-the-parents" session & both set of parents are very particular abt FOOD. If the food is so-so only, I might forego the food-tasting & use this $$$ & go for a restuarant (known for good food) instead. Pls do share!

sunny

HI Blue,
i have not gone for the food tasting yet. will do so probably only nearer to the wedding date, maybe sometime in late July or August. my folks also very particular abt the food, so they def will want to go for the food tasting.

i am not sure whether the wedding cards are the same for 2001 n 2002. i know that it is diff from last year and i prefer last year's cards. just want u girls' opinion, which one do u think is nicer, the red (with a gold "xi" character infront) or the off-white one (with the word "Wedding") ? pls advise.

linda

Hi Blue

Pauline was the events manager who served me and she did tell me that for next year's packages, they will be doing changes to their theme deco... I am just hoping and praying that they will have what Pan Pac has. Those romantic candle and garden theme.......

It'll be good to go for food tasting cos then you can let the Chef know what you like and don't like. Or what dishes to or not to order. I am using it as 'Meet the In-laws session" too!

Hi Angie

Gold is nice from the pictures that I saw. It's not gaudy....in fact, I thot it looked quite class.

blue

Sunny,

I think the cards for 2001 & 2002 r the same. My event manager says can choose both. So I will be using the red ones for parents'guests & relatives & the off-white ones for friends & colleagues!

Linda,

If the food-tasting no good...my parents & in-laws will nag 1!

Anyway, the event manager who serve me is a guy. (must go back & dig up his namecard!)

angie

Hi Sunny,

Both designs are quite nice as compared to the designs of some other hotels. Simple but at least presentable. Like you, I'll be taking both

Hi Linda,

I will go and see the different themes first. Thanks

Hi Blue,

Is your Events Manager Beng Khoon?

blue

Hi Angie,
Yes! Yes! His name is Beng Khoon!!

Thanks for the reminder. Is he your event manager too?

angie

Hi Blue,

Yes!
I'm very satisfied with his service. So far, he has been flexible. And he always call me when I email him, like the change of themes. Very friendly guy.

linda

Hi blue,

I reckon it will be nice. I mean, they also want to impress you right? What if you decided after the food tasting seesion that you didn't want to hodl your dinner there? Right?

Hi Angie,

Yap! Best thing to do is to look at it on the actual day.....

BTW, have you girls booked your bridal package already?

dada

I am interested in the pool garden package at MM. I was told it will be only buffet package & will have shelter. Anyone attended any wedding there. Pls give me some comment as I am seriously considering to take up garden package.

thanks a lot

blue

Hi Angie,

Good point but I don't think MM would mind if I cancel my booking due to food. The contract states that we would still need to pay them some percentage of tables booked if we cancel the booking. Furthermore, it would be harder for us to find any restaurants/hotel ballrooms at such short notice.

Anyway, I wouldn't cancel my booking lah...even if they feel the food is no good! Just that I wanted them to concentrate on discussing the wedding preparations than talking about how bad the food is! :p Better let them eat good food...then they have good mood, right?

As for the bridal package, mine was Santiago. Yours Thomson, right? Saw your other threads...hehee...

angie

Hi Blue,

hee, i think you meant to address the above msg to Linda rite?

Hi Linda,

Yup, I will be going down end of this month to take a look at 2 weddings.

blue

Opps...sorrie Angie! The msg is meant for Linda! :p

Angie, if you are going to see the wedding settings...don't go too early. The previous time I went to take a look (appt with Beng Khoon), the place was only partialy ready. The decorators just started decorating. Better go between 5-6p.m.

wm

anyone attended the wedding at MM? how's the food? precious comments appreciated

pgy

Hi WM,

We held our wedding dinner at MM in March and the comments from our guests were, I would say 90% very good. Maybe it was becoz we invited a family friend who is also a Minister of State and he got superb service from valvet parking to a malay waiter (as that table was a halal table) to serve the table. The serving for this table was expecially huge and the prawns were very large and fresh.

My hubby and I only had the first 2 dishes but our guests said the servings were huge. But you have to remind them not to overcook the fish. We feedback to MM regarding the overcooking of the fish but on the actual day, the fish was overcooked again. The other dishes are fine.

kiroro

Hi WM,

I attended one last year and the food was so-so and the ambience as well. Overall, it did not leave a lasting good impression that myself and my friends can remember of .. the overall impression is so-so .