Marina Mandarin Singapore

linda

I strongly advised that if you have a total of 50 tables (500 pax attending), make a booking for 49+2reserves. That way, you wouldn't be afraid of people not attending and also IN CASE more turn up, you won't have enough seats for them... Anyway you won't have to pay for the reserves.

Yes the tables will be displayed and set up.... mainly at corners of the ballroom....

MM gives very nice ang bao boxes (if you hav 50 tables ask for 2) which will fit into the safe... and a nice guest book. they are all the same design and colour with the ivory wedding cards....At least they are when it is my time... :p

Enjoy....You are in good hands....

BTW, a few tips....
Beer - can ask NOT to serve during reception...cos guests mingle and drink and forget abt the half filled glasses...then they mingle somemore and ask for another glass.... Waste a lot.... I did tt and even then I finished 90L of beer and open an extra half barrel...(which they didn't charge at all!!
How nice right?

Wedding favours - I gave chopsticks...so i requested for them to exchange the chocolates for another 10L of beer
And honestly, there won't be people who will ask you:"eh, how come no chocolates..."

lovelydolphin

Hi MM Brides

like 2 a simple poll as to which printer is more preferable, as per recommended by Marina Mandarin for printing of wedding cards.

- Acepro Creative

OR

-Jasvy Marketing Agency

which one does most of u engages?? how's the charges,printing works,services like?

pls feedback.

ah girl

Hi to All MM Brides,

Can anyone recommends how should one get from the carpark (B1 or B2) to LO at Level 5 without taking any flight of stairs?

Also, the doors to Marina Square at 10.30pm, if the wedding ended at 11pm, how should one walk to the car?

Thanks in advance for all the advise!

taddess

hi all, just had my wedding at mm. Heard from my guests food were great! But because I was so nervous, did not pay much attention to everything else. However must say that their banquet manager, Kelvin was a very nice and helpful guy! In all, the staff there was nice and very helpful!

ah girl

hi taddness,

did u know any of guests complaining about the stairs thingy (above email)?

btw, can you share which dishes you chose?

lings

Hi ...to all MM ex- bride or MM bride to be.

May i noe how is the lighting of MM Ballroom at 5 floor?? is it vey dim ?? bcos i am holding my wedding dinner at this coming Dec 03 and now i m going to choose my evening gown. So any advise for the gown colour???

Or any of MM ex-bride is it convenient for you to show me some of your actualday photo in the ballroom ?

Thank you very much!!!
my email address : [email protected]/sg

jasmine

I'm a soon to be MM bride on 31 Aug. Just coordinating the guest list. Having a big headache. Need some spare cards. Any?

By the way, was considering to get an ice carving? Is it advisable?

mmbride

Had been a long time,ever last frequent this thread!!

any MM brides hving their wedding from end of this mth onwards till yr-end?
any idea how many songs selection can we hv,for walk-in,cake-cutting,champage pouring etc?
any one goes for the food-tasting session? any feedback?

lings

for more pics,think it's better 2 get them frm MM directly.
r u using LO as well?

Jasmine

Congrats! Ur big day approaching soon.

feeling excited???
u can get spare cards from MM,didn't they gave u extra cards during your 1st collection?
btw, who's ur coordinator n mgr in charge?

quite a gd idea 4 ice-craving designs.so u hving it 4 ur reception?

so ladies, wat's the preferred theme for most of u?

chicory

Hi MMbride,

I am using LO too. My dinner is on end of dec. When is yours?

I think the walk-in is very short, probably only 1 song or at most 2 songs. Cake cutting is directly after 1st walk in rite? So maybe 2 songs for the walk in and cake cutting. Then another 2 to 3 songs for 2nd walk in and champagne pouring? I think check with your coordinator on the estimate no. of songs will be safer. Who is your coordinator, by the way?

Are you going for the food tasting? I went to the designer bridal sale the last weekend held at MM, their recent promotion has free food-tasting for 10 persons and free 1 carton of house wines for every 20 tables, free 1 table with every 20 tables, free flow beer and a $500 dining voucher. Very good deal.

I thought their theme now is candlelight. Can we choose other themes?

Hi Jasmine,

Congratulations. How's your preparations? Another 12 days to go...

luzon888

<font color="0077aa">MMBride</font>

You may have different songs for the 2 March-ins, cake cutting and champage pouring. You just need to pass the CDs to the manager and tell him which song is for which.

Since Les Oiseaux has a short march-in (abt 4 - 5 tables length), maybe u can just continue with the cake cutting after your 1st March-in song. For 2nd march-in and champagne pouring, u can choose a longer song.

The reception area is quite cosy during the cocktail but the pixs may turn up to be abit dark cos the surrounding is already quite dim.

luzon888

<font color="0077aa">Hi JenJen</font>

Yes, I received your sms but forgot to reply u... been quite busy few mths back and now I'm very free. Didn't use my other nick cos not registered, luckily, u still can remember this one.
There should be a gathering sometime back and I've forgotten abt it, think Starfruit has also forgotten abt it too... Shall we arrange for another one?

So, when will I see u and starfruit in the Mother-to-be thread?

jenjen

hi luzon, heard abt ur current MTB status... when is EDD? hehe... good good... we not yet lah... like starfruit say her hubby not in sg how to make?? haha... for me... not in plans yet lah... but trying to lead a healthier life first before trying to create one lah...

mmbride

hihi all

chicory

I'm using LO 2,on Sept Rebecca is my coordinator.

wat abt urself?
din go 4 the food tasting,coz it's not included in my package,need 2 fork out additional cost just 4 the food tasting session,so opt it out loh.

think shld't be a problem,rite?

not sure abt other themes leh.piah seh.

chicory

Hi MMbride,

My coordinator is Irene, i have spoken to Rebecca on a few occasions and she is nice too

Me too intend to opt out, have to pay 50% for the food-tasting rite? I read that the general comments on the food is good, so should be safe. Have you decided on the menu yet since your wedding is in Sept? Maybe after your wedding, you can give me some feedbacks on the overall experience...

I think the candle theme is quite nice though... how many tables will you be having? I am afraid that the place will be a bit cramp.

confused_me

just like to check with you all, cos I've been to Les Oiseaux at Marina Mandarin. The room looks so packed with my target of 25 tables.

Don't you feel that the ceiling is too low. When you sit down, you can see a lot of lines running along the ceiling .. very distracting.

There are also good mentioned for its food and great deal now ...... but i'm still undecided.

mmbride

chicory

Yup,hv 2 pay 50% for the food tasting loh,so we decided to opt it out loh.
yup,hv settled on my menu liao.

sure,will share wif u my feedback afer the session.

shld be ard 26-28 tables.

+/- loh. wanna save some $$ 4 honeymoon as well.

yes, the ceilings look rather low, but still better than the other one wif the long staircase up. we dun hv tat many tables 4 the grandballroom, so decided 2 go 4 LO loh.think it's kinda of cosy n gd enuf 4 us liao.

think it shldn't be tat bad,after the decors are up loh.

enya

hi all!!!

me having it at the grand ballroom, big day in dec!!!
yeah yeah ... 3 more months to go ...
me not having food tasting, cos heard rave reviews about the food there before, onie thing ... choosing between mee sua, rice or ee-fu ... and etc etc .. many yummy choices!!! but our friends have been telling us, MUST CHOOSE MANGO icecream!!!!

ceiling low .. yeah i know, tell me about it, i also agree, but heck care, think everyone remembers more about the food, rather than how low the ceiling is neh .... i rather save for the honeymoon!!!

how's the candle theme like huh? u mean candles on every table, and along the stage?

Y

ym

hi MMbride,

can share the menu? having headache as well...heard fav comments on mee sua but my aunt who went for a wedding dinner, says it's not that nice...so would like to hear all your comments...plsss.....

luzon888

<font color="0077aa">confused_me</font>

If u don't exceed 28 tables, it shouldn't be too cramp. Nobody will take note of the ceiling lines after decorations and with their lightings on. It'll definitely looked cosy for the dinner and the main attention should go to the couple instead of the ceiling. We were half-hearted initially but was quite satisfied with the overall atmosphere that nite.

<font color="0077aa">Hi JenJen</font>
My EDD is in Jan'03, before CNY.

chicory

Hi MMbride,

Which style of cooking for chicken did you choose and did you choose the Ee-fu noodles, Mee Sua or the Lotus Leaf Rice?

Oh, Irene told me max is 28 tables for LO and not cramp at all. I also feel that LO is better than Orion, the one on the 2nd flr. I have seen LO with candlelight theme wedding set-up, i think it looks cosy and pretty. Same as you, i also feel that LO is good enuf for us, being a ballroom in a nice hotel with good location

Hi Enya,

Same as you, deciding between the Ee-fu noodles, Mee Sua and Lotus leaf rice. I thought Mee Sua is pretty unique and light after all the heavy dishes. Yes, i will definately choose the Mango ice-cream for dessert, Irene also told me that is their most popular dessert

The candle theme is each table will have the tea-light candle in little glass cup with flowers (pink roses) surrounding the cup as the centrepiece. No candles along the stage, just that the flower stands along the isle also have some big candles. They changed the stage decor too. And they also tie the sashes on the chairs at the VIP tables a little differently. I took some pics when i went there to see the set-up in May, maybe i can post some here when i get home tonight.

Hi Confused_me,

I think most of us using the LO like the cosy feeling of the ballroom, i guess the small ballroom and low ceiling gives a really nice cosy feeling
. Whereas ballroom with high ceiling gives a really grand feel, but won't be so cosy though.

tsp

Hi Chicory,

The album is empty.

I was sourcing out for wedding venues, called Marina to check on availability and book a date to meet them up.

Atlas! when they called me to confirm of the mtg, realised that they reserved teh wrong date! Thank god they called me else it is a wasted trip.. sigh

now looking at Sheraton Tower, Hyatt, Meritus Mandarin and Oriental, any comments on these hotels?

chicory

Hi bride-to-be,

oh, i just realised that i have to set it for public viewing. I have converted it already. Hopefully can view now

I heard that Sheraton's food is nice. Oriental seems very popular too. Meritus Mandarin has the same promotions as MM?

tsp

colleagues n friends been telling me oriental food and svc are both good.

hyatt also good food but the drawback is the pillars which can be very irritating for guests who sits behind them

went to meritus mandarin and their pillars are huge and eye-sore. unless u are using the grand ballroom on 6th flr which the structure is much much better but think that is available for 50 tables n abv dinner only

mmbride

hi hi all

Enya, nice seeing u here again.

chicory

We had mee suan,coz it's something unusual compared to the normal Ee-fu noodles,&amp; Lotus Leaf Rice.

agree, MM is easily accessible,in town 4 our guests loh.

tks 4 the effort! U make a differences!

hurray hurray!cheers 4 chicory..
wanna check wif u,u mean there will be 2 diff types of layouts 4 e 2 VIPs tables? or both 2 VIPs tables share the same design &amp; layout?
the pics u uploaded r 4 the candles theme,izzit?
btw, do u hv any pics of the arch stand for use before walk-ins,placed outside the entrance?

Opsssss..pardon me for the numberous questions. :p

bride-to-be (tsp)
the hotels u hv KIV r rather gd ones.. reasonably alright,maybe u like 2 discuss wif hubby in terms of venues selection 4 ur famiy,friends &amp; guests, budgets, food etc. all this play a part in making ur choice 4 e selected venue.
hapi sourcing.

chicory

Hi Breadtalk,

I guess banquet decors for their ballrooms are all the same

Hi MMbride,

. Nothing really, i gain something in return, now i know how to upload photos using online photo albums... hee hee
. There's only 1 type of layout for the 2 VIP tables with the big flower centrepiece, the smaller flower centrepiece is for the other tables. Yes, the pics are for the candle theme. Oh sorry, i do not have the pic of the arch at the entrance. I also forgot to take a pic of a view of the whole ballroom. Actually, i don't quite like the arch leh

tsp

Hi MMbride,

budget wise, we are comfortable. Cos we are expecting min 40 tables hence sourcing a venue which picks up all the guests are impt. Accessibility is crucial as my big day is a Mon hence the location shd be convenient for the guests..

should be closing the deal by next wkend. =)

iii

Hi bride to be

m also considering oriental..maybe we shd tok under the other thread. Cheers.

mmbride

chicory

same same, i don't really like the arch as well.

wonder can we change it into something else?

bride-to-be (tsp)

haha!!yup yup,if not u might hv 2 arrange transport for ur guests,if it's kinda out of way 4 ur guests loh.

great! hope 2 c u ard in MM thread soon..

chicory

Hi MMbride,

Are the flowers on the arch real or artificial flowers? If real flowers, maybe can request for more flowers stands or flowers on stage? Why don't you check with Rebecca?

enya

i checked out the photos!! not bad, better than the dunno what peach, silver gold theme .. at least the ballroom looks more COSY and ROMANTIC
showed the photos to my bf ... duhz, men dun appreciate such stuff .. he said, wun it be too dark!? duhz .... oh yes, the arch?? i dun think i will go for that .... i rather have floral stands leh ... the arch reminds me of those chinese restaurants ....

chicory

Hi Enya,

I also think it's prettier than the old themes. But i don't quite like the roses centrepiece, once i went there and saw that they used purple orchids, quite nice. But when i asked Irene, she says they only use roses cuz' more romantic... she says people dun like to use orchids for weddings... strange. I feel the same way about the arch too

enya

huhmm ... maybe lilies would look pretty romantic for the centerpiece as well?
i dun think i want the arch ... and no swan ice carvings!!!! duhzzz ..... hey, did the wedding cake change too?? it looks better now!!!

yes, i booked danny too, he is very friendly and professional!!! video services are pretty good

jaswee72

My wedding dinner was just over on sunday(31st aug). i would like to give a thumb up for my event manager(Beng Khoon), banquet manager(Rosli) and the chefs. all my relatives and guests enjoyed the food and they said the ambience in the grand ballroom is fantastic. Very romantic setting. I hope this could help.

seeker

i've got a voucher for complimentary food tasting for 10 persons to give away.

Terms &amp; Conditions:
1. valid for yr 2003 &amp; 2004 wedding banquet only.
2. For couples who confirm banquet with Marina Mandarin.
3. Voucher to be presented before confirmation of package and payment. Advance appt required.
4. Non-accumulative and cannot be combined with other vouchers, offers or promotions.

pls leave your email if you're interested. first come first served.

seeker

hi melken,
i doubt it can be used for confirmed banquets, cos it's stated under terms &amp; conditions that the voucher be presented before confirmation and payment leh.

You might wanna call your coordinator to check if it can be used. Lemme know if you're interested.

jaswee72

Hi melken,

I have the following:-

.Suckling Pig Combi
.Braised Shark Fin Soup
.Smoked Tea Duck
.Steamed Live Garoupa with Soya sauce
.Prawns fried with special sauce
.Braised Abalone
.Broccoli with minced crab meat
.Fried Hokkien Mee-sua
.Ice cream

I would said their food portion is big. I have some tables seated with 11 pple and they can't finished the food. All the food mentioned above are good except the broccoli. I actually asked for sea cucumber &amp; mushroom to replace the boneless chicken with plum sauce but MM said I need to top up $10 for each table. So no choice!

When is your wedding? Which bridal studio did you go?

melken

Hi Jasmine,

Thanks! Will not be going for food tasting, that's why have to ask around.

My wedding 17 Nov and I'm with Sanmike.

Congrats on your wedding!

jaswee72

Hi lovelydolpin,

i have a string quartet for my wedding so I didn't really choose any songs from MM. Except the 1st dish march-in. I didn't order any wines.

Hi Melken,

Well, i would highly advice you to do a food tasting. During the food tasting, i commented on the food and MM improved on it on my wedding day. E.g sharks fin soup too starchy, Steamed Fish too salty.

mookie22

I'm also considering the LO ballroom. As mentioned by others before, drawbacks are that the ceiling is low, the entrance is a glass door and march-in v short. (Anybody asked whether the floral arch can be replaced with floral or candle stands like at the grand ballroom?) However, I agree that the setting &amp; deco is cosy &amp; romantic.

One of my concerns though is that the hotel atrium &amp; foyer at LO is rather dark. Can MM brighten the area? Another (silly) question is whether the soft lighting used to enhance the candlelit ambience lasts for the whole nite? Also worried that it is a little too dark inside.

Hi Seeker, I may be interested in your voucher. You may forward details to [email protected]. Thanks!

Hi Chicory,
fancy seeing you here! Guess you are with MM. When's your wedding?

chicory

Hi Mookie,

Heheh... see you here again...
. Yes, i am with MM using LO ballroom. You saw the photos i have posted? My dinner is on 30 Dec. After hearing Jasmine's advice, not sure if i should go for the food tasting... but it is not free
. sigh.

mookie22

hi chicory, saw your pics before. glad that i dropped in to take a peek yesterday. flowers used in LO were gerberras ... colourful &amp; pretty. will be meeting irene tomorrow &amp; hope i know what to ask &amp; what to do. any comments abt my observations &amp; questions?

Must be nice to have your wedding during Christmas season!