Marina Mandarin Singapore

~sblbee~

colt 26,
yah lor....i was really disappted cos i did request for tis service b4 my AD but it was not delivered at d end....i wld really hope to eat d banquet food in our suite after my banquet ended....
d rm service food cannot b compared to d banquet food
den d nxt morning when i went for my brekkie, they said brekkie not included n have to chk....i was like....it's a bridal suite but luckily wendy was there to settle it for me

shir,
thanks for ur well wishes! no prob, i was surprised too....i wonder where did d rest of d food go to cos i remember i sit 10 pax at dat table n ordered an additional muslim pax for a muslim but they feedbacked to me dat they r still v hungry n look forward to d noodle dish...when usually ppl will feel v full b4 dat dish
tot dat d portion is at least able to feed 11 or 12 pax?
wendy was there during d beginning until i march in n i didnt notice her towards d end cos too busy entertaining le :p

~sblbee~

im juz worried dat my guests think im short-changing them by cutting down d food portion when in fact i did up d food portion....sigh

colt_26

Hi meiling,

its really weird. cos initially i didnt know that i can request for the banquet food. all the while, i tot i have to order for rm svc after my banquet.but the banquet mgr asked us if we like them to keep the banquet food for us. of cos we want. just like you, i think we want to eat the banquet food more than any other things.

I didnt encounter any feedback regarding insufficient portion of food and did not have pblm when we went for breakfaz.

But all these are just small hiccups and the impt thing is you did indeed have a wonderful wedding.

Wendy was with me from beginning till 1st march in. Did not see her when we had our 2nd march in. But at least she was there before 1st march in to brief us, which is the more nervous period. 2nd march in was much easier since we already gotten into the mood.

dancewei

I'm signing up with MM this evening. Any tips? Is there anything I need to look out/ask for? Seems to me like the package is quite ok already.

cho

i oso requested to have e banquet food served up to our room.. but wendy mentioned that it's not so nice, after all e food's already cold and not so fresh.. wouldnt it be better to order room service??

hmm.. mayb i shld suggest to her to let me hav both choices.. (banquet food served up and also ltr to order room service if e banquet food is too cold/ stale)

anyone managed to keep a copy of ur wedding menu? i'm afraid i'll forget so i intend to ask wendy to keep 1 copy for me then i collect fr her aft wedding..

baylee

Hey Girls

Like to check you use Bubble or dry ice for the walk in? I am still not sure which one to use. My co-ordinator suggested dry ice..

Do you think your walk in was too short? My family was like 'Wow..what a short aisle' i hear already sianz half

cho

dry ice for me.. bubble a bit "itchy" and "sticky" once they burst and land on ur skin..

yeah, e march in is short.. but too bad lo.. it's a small ballroom ma.. march slowly lo.. hahaha

baylee

Heh i see....

Do you know if flower petals or poppers will be provided by the hotel or we will need to bring ours along?

kazooie

cho
Both bubble and dry ice are nice although not many wedding venues provide bubble effect so it's a bit more unique. If your party has a lot of kids, they will love that. But the bubble machine is only located outside the door (this is for Vanda Ballroom), so it won't travel very far. But the dry ice buckets are placed along the aisle so you will get the nice cloudy effect all the way to the stage.

baylee
<font color="119911">Flower petals</font> - 2 small bags of fresh flower petals (colour depends on your theme colour) will be provided. If you need more, you can request for more but they will charge, forgot the price, think it's $8/pc.

<font color="119911">Poppers</font> - Nope, they do not provide those, although they are cheap to buy from the provisional shops. They come in packs of 28pcs. Each pc cost $2.50.

<font color="119911">Short Aisle in Vanda</font>
It's not that bad, to be quite honest. It is a small, cosy ballroom, more european feel about it. If you coordinate your music and your walk in well, it will be "long" enough, i.e. walk slowly, choose a slower music, etc.

Booy
Here are some pics for your reference. Best to go there and take a look yourself to get a feel of the space, etc. That was what I did before my wedding.

807513.jpg
807514.jpg
807515.jpg
807516.jpg
807517.jpg
807518.jpg
807519.jpg
807520.jpg

dancewei

Hi, talking about the bubble thingy. May I know if they provide those bottled bubble for our friends to blow while we walk down the aisle?

honeybunny

Hi Meiling.. sorry for my late blessings. CONGRATS on your marriage &amp; am glad that all went well for your big day. =)

Hi Kazooie, can I check with you how many table you have at the Vanda Room? my wedding is next dec 09 at Vanda, wondering if it is too tight for max of 28 Dec

kazooie

Jiaple
I had 27+2 reserved tables so total 29 tables. There's not a lot of space between tables but still okay. Vanda is really just ideal for 30 tables max, but you can squeeze up to 32 if you really have to. But do note 2 pillars near the front for each side which will block some view of the stage. Stage is small but adequate if you want to invite a large group up for yum seng. I only invited my family and bros and jiemeis up but still plenty of space.

For those who already have 30 tables, best to consider a bigger room as usually your guestlist will increase. I originally only planned to have 22 tables max! I nearly booked Goodwood Park Tudor and I would have trouble to seat all my additional guests if I did!

Joanna
No bubble bottles provided. Some of my guests brought their own for their kids to play with.

happy106

Thanks Kazooie. I will definitely go and have a look for myself.. Just wanna a feel of the ballroom.. Planning for early 2010 now.. =)

~sblbee~

colt_26,
yah wendy was really nice as she followed up wif me after i have given her d feedback but i guz we r not after these things so i didnt take up d offer :p
have a wonderful honeymoon trip ok?

bay,
no worries abt d short march-in, juz enjoy ur special moment
i've got both effects for my march-ins
they do provide rose petals for ur march in

jiaple,
thanks for ur well wishes!
hope u'll b a happy bride too....

winniethepooh07

hmmm in my opinion, if u squeeze 30tables in vanda ballroom is not advisable. Mine 22 tables already, almost half of my tables contain 11pax. My guest already complaining v squeezy among the tables

kazooie

Booy, Baylee
You're welcome.

If you put 11 pax on a table, it'll be squeezy if it's all adults and if it's mainly male guests. If it's mostly women, 11 pax is okay as well as considering food portions. 11 pax is more for 10 adults + 1 kid.

I had the bubble effect on on 1st March in and dry ice on 2nd. Both were nice. I thought the dry ice was better as they put a lot for us and even on the table for cake cutting.

micmattina

I had my food tasting yesterday and most of the dishes are alright except for the fish...It tasted pretty bad...It was either not fresh or it was over cooked....A bit disappointed... Plus the proportion of it was quite small... Did any of you encounter this during food tasting?

ryanon123

today i attended a wedding dinner at marina mandarin. quite disappointed with a few issues.

1. drinks was not top up automatically.. i had to ask the service staffs myself for 4 times throughout the dinner, and my glass is already 3/4 empty. fortunately, they top up quite immediately after i asked for.

2. there were long wait between dishes. maybe because quite a lot of tables about 42. however it is not nice when after waiting so long, they serve the dish, then clear it like 3 mins later and transferred to a smaller plate. We were quite stunned, still quite a lot of food on the main plate and it haven't even went through the table one round yet. They seemed eagered to clear it away, and takes ages to bring out the next dish. I thought they need space to bring out the next dish but apparently, the next dish didn't come out until 15 mins later... so why clear to the small plate so fast? and the service staffs clear to the small plate and stack up duck meat like a ICE KACHANG on the small plate.

3. I ask the service staff where the gents are ... the person ask me what is a gents.. ha ha.. but that's not the point. I clarified and say toilet.. then he told me he don't know where is the toilet... gosh..

Other than that, no issues.

At $1038/ table, i thought it should b e better...

Food - just acceptable, not fantastic or delicious. i like the roasted chicken though

First dish presentation, not bad with the dance

stage - quite big can hold quite a lot of people

kazooie

Hmm, so sad to hear some of you had not so great experience at MM.

I can honestly still say, I had no complaints to share for my own wedding day there. I thought my wedding coordinator and the banquet management were very experienced and the whole event which included ROM/ Tea Ceremony in the function room and the banquet in Vanda Ballroom went without a hitch. I didn't receive any bad comments from my guests either. I guess everyone (including guests) have different expectations be it service or food, like Ryan's unlucky experience so it's hard to comment further. But for future brides-to-be at MM, if you want something done according to your expectation, do say it out clearly to your coordinator and follow up. Don't assume it will be done as every couple wants something different for their own wedding. I had a whole checklist for my coordinator, sisters/ brothers and corresponded over emails and meet ups as and when to double and cross-check on things right up to the day so to eliminate miscommunication or any unnecessary unhappiness. I had a lot of special requests made before the event but on the day, I didn't even have to stress one bit as I knew everyone has been well informed and they were all done exactly to what I wanted.

For those of us who have completed our wedding day, just be happy all the hard work for the event is finally over and look forward to building your nest!
Good Luck.

baylee

Hmmm why do i only have 1 walk in effect??????? So....duhz....feel alittle short changed

Mich..yes agree fish meat is Tough..dun like it

micmattina

Bay,

So are you planning to change the fish? Or hoping that the hotel/ chef will do something abt it? Sigh...I am at loss regarding what to do...My coordinator should be calling me today to get feedback for the food tasting session...

winniethepooh07

my guest also complain that the waiter/waitress's service not so good cos they dont top up water so efficiently.

other than this, the rest is ok..alot like the abalone and roasted chicken =)

taichan

Hi, sorry if this sounds like a silly question...but does anyone know if we put 11 pax at a table, do we have to pay extra for the additional person? Thanks.

baylee

Mich..mine is also Steamed Live Garoupa with Soya Sauce..i am hoping..crossing my finger that the chef will do some miracle on my wedding day and hopefully the fish will taste OK hee..initially wanted to change to Red Garoupa..but its MOre expensive and its not Live..

Taichan..depends..if u want to serve 11 pax then yes u have to pay 11pax price but if u want them to just serve 10pax food then no need to top up..of cos u will need to take note if there are many guys or not..cos paiseh if not enuff food served yah..

I will ask my co-ordinator tmr on my walk in again..hopefully she will be nice enuff to add an additional effect for my 2nd walk in..hmm

winniethepooh07

hi tai chan,
i confirm that if u put 11pax, u need to pay additional 1pax cost.

They dont allow u to "pay 10 pax cost with 11 pax on table"

Imagine your dish have only 10 big prawns. but you have 11 pax there?

or imagine your dish comes with 10 big abalone, but you have 11 pax there.

Hence, its a must to pay extra $ for the additional 1 pax.

This is a headache loh, cos eg. if u tell the coordinator that u have 11 pax on that table. On that actual day, 1 didnt turn up. You still must pay the extra $ for the additional pax.

taichan

Thanks bay and BigPooh for the replies.

I was a little confused as my co-ordinator didn't mention about the additional charges when she told me I could have 11 at a table.

I'll check with her again on this, especially if the 11th person is a child.

Ladies, in your opinion which theme is nicer for vanda ballroom?

belinda26

whoami_ting

I just had my wedding on 4th oct @ marina mandrian vanda ballroom and I must say the coordinator and the banquet staff who attended to us that day are fabulous! Alot of frens and relatives commented that the staff are very efficient. The service is no where near "no good". I hope this can help to ease your worries. In addition, you might like to know, my coordinator is Wendy Lou. She is good! =)

baylee

whoami_ting

I think MM service has been pretty good till date..the co-ordinator have been pretty obliging and nice...Not to worry

~sblbee~

hi whoami ting,
dun worry....so far d feedback was rather positive for MM services....d staff is professional, perhaps u can communicate ur uncertainties to them, im sure they'll try their best to meet ur expectations
my coordinator is wendy lou too, she's gd

taichan

Hi MM brides who are using/had used vanda ballroom, what do you think of the two themes? Gold seems classy but appears a little dull on photos. The red one seems more vibrant but the vip table seems very chinese new year like.... very difficult to make a decision.

kazooie

Hi taichan
For Vanda, as the carpet and seat covers are lilac, it matches the gold VIP theme. But as all the guest tables are ivory, gold will not stand out as much so I opt for the red VIP tables instead. It looked fine on the actual day, not tacky at all.

winniethepooh07

my coordinator is Wendy Lou also. She is good! I can say that she is v committed to her work and will help u all the way. I have last minute changes to my guest list. Its like 2hours before the wedding starts. She still allow me to shuffle my table and help me print out my guest list.

Hmm..i think red vip table is v nice. Its more nicer than what u expected.

whoami_ting

i have called up MM, my date is taken.. sigh.. i should not hesitate.. how was the room like? spacious? i think i gotta pick another date..

kazooie

whoami_ting
Oh, that's too bad. This is a popular hotel for it's location, good food and comprehensive package/value. How many tables do you require? Quickly call up other hotels/venues that you have shortlisted to make a tentative booking first if the date is important to you.

ryanon123

Belinda,

how many tables did you have? I think the service standard falters badly once you have more tables. They couldn't manage in the kitchen i think... the one i attended had over 40 tables.

Hi whoami_ting,

I juz had my wedding at MM 2 mths ago and Kaylynn was my coordinator... Dont worry, she's very professional and patient... thankful to her that my wedding went on very smoothly and had heard alot of positive comments from my guests...

winniethepooh07

ya i like MM because of its good location and its comprehensive table package.

whoami_ting,
i guess all the coordinators there are good, so dont have to worry

~sblbee~

ryan,
i can understand cos i had 49 tables n i suspect d service staff is not enuff cos d serving speed differs frm table to table but everything was 4given cos d food was really yummy.....more than 90% of my guests stayed until d end

whoami_ting,
so sad to hear dat ur date is taken, yup it's a popular hotel cos d package was rather comprehensive n d location is centralised considering d price, most of my guests tot dat d tables cost more than $1.2K-$1.4K....d services were rather gd as compared to some hotels i enquired ard d vicinity :p

sleepydopeey

wanna check with those brides that have hold their wedding at mm, wmost of my friends are chinese and i only inivte two muslim friends, how will the mm charge and they can still seat with the remaining chinese guest rite?

kazooie

taichan
For my case, there was no extra charge for the 11th pax on a table, unless you request for 11 pax food portion. But as mentioned before, if it's mainly adults, male guests or big eaters, try not to have 11 adults on a 10 pax meal portion as there may not be enough food. 11 pax tables are more for those tables with kids, ladies or family accompanying maid.

sleepdopeey
If you add 2 muslim friends (this goes for vegetarians as well), just add 2 extra meal price according to your package. You can seat them at tables of 9 pax, 9 + 2 muslim guests or split them up to tables of 10 + 1 muslim guest. Of course, it'll be better to arrange to the 10 + 1 muslim guest so you don't "waste" one seat as in the case of the 9 + 2 pax.

iciclediamond

hi girls..
i am rather new to this thread!!
my ad on 28 dec.. now starting to panic banquet stuff!!
ccan anyone enlighten me on the following:
1. where do u all print your inserts?
2. how long before ur ad u have to coordinate all the things with the coordinator? so far i have only collected my invitation card and done nothing else!! a bit worried and not sure where to start..