Marina Mandarin Singapore

~sblbee~

de princess,
i'll discuss wif my fh n our families to decide on d dishes....wah, so nice, at least u managed to settle most of d banquet stuff alrdy, have fun, enjoy n congrats!

hi stir,
thanks for sharing wif us, my coordinator is wendy too....i hope to rcv my invitation card designs soon too cos my wedding is in mid-oct....hopefully can get them by d end of tis mth so i can start to print my inserts :p

menthola

hmm... Meiling,

a experience to share with you,
My sis who got married recently uses Focal Ad for printing but they advise they they check the information 4 times be4 they got it right

somemore i heard china ppl doing the job...

~sblbee~

kiang,
hmmmm...thanks for sharing ur sis's experience...strange...cos a few of my BS brides who used them gave me gd feedback...i'll chk them out 1st b4 i decide :p thanks again

~sblbee~

kiang, thanks for d info! hehehe, really have to scrutinise d whole thing during vetting b4 we give d OK signal cos it's really v terrible to have d names all wrong :p

de_princess

Meiling,

I decided to use Axxa instead of Focal ad coz focal ad was charging me around $400 for my church invitations (single colour only!). But I agree their inserts printing quite reasonable. Anyway I spoke to the china lady over phone few times also quite pek chek - so liase with Stephen is better ba.

menthola

Meiling,

yup yup ...
My sister told me they email here & there.
reject again & again til its done properly...

lucky... no need go down & check personally ...
imgaine my sis live woodlands to Ubi *faint*

mary_poppins

Any BTB's AD in Nov? Not sure when to meet up with Wendy to confirm decide on the wedding cards, favours and stuff. Ideally in Aug but it's lunar 7th mth... Hope Sept is just nice..

sleepydopeey

hi..
was reading the posts and abit blur..can i check with you gals what is the inserts thing about?..tot the printing of the cards all that will be done by the hotel?..=)

~sblbee~

de princess,
how much did ur printer charge for printing insert? do give me ur feedback after ur AD ok? im still scouting ard for reasonable n reliable printer for my inserts

kiang,
so sorry to hear dat ur sis's bad experience....guz things get more complicated n frustrated when it goes back n forth esp closer to d date of d weding, dat's y i wana settle my inserts fast :p

mary poppins,
my AD is in oct....guz wendy will contact u ard2-3 mths b4 ur AD
dun worry :p

sleepydopeey,
MM does not provide printing of inserts foc :p only provide cards :p

de_princess

Hi Kiang & Meiling,
I was quoted $90 by Focal Ad and $100 by Axxa for printing of inserts. Even tho more than $10 but they charge for my colour printing of church invites so much cheaper. Think def have to check before printing - its thru email so quite convenient. If u are just printing inserts think u can go Focal Ad should be reliable. Will let u know how's the quality after i collect cards. *prays*

cho

hi all, anyone can comment on themes/ wedding favors for MM?

anyone AD on 01/11/08?

also, m tinking of not having wedding favor but instead hav a 2 tiered real wedding cake so that we can cut and serve to all guests as dessert.. has anyone done this b4?

necrosis

hi cho,

am having a real cake too.

got mine fr pine garden....yummy stuff.

i'm not sure if you can change favors for a real cake, check w your coordinator would be the best.

happy_ting

hi cho

i attended a wedding before that serves wedding cake as dessert and most of the guest didnt eat the cake. maybe they are too full by then.

u can try wedding cake from pine garden. my gf got her wedding cake from there, i think they got nice flavours like lycee martini hee hee

cho

hi all, thanks for e advise!
i spoken to my coordinator, wendy, there is no extra charges for bringing in my own cake (from outside supplier)

however it's v limited items on what i can change my wedding favours to.. either 6-7 bottles of house wine or cocktail drinks served during reception..

has anyone seen any unique/ cute wedding favors lately by MM? so far, feedback i received from my frens regarding wedding favors is tat they usually get dumped.. so i was tinking of changing to something more practical..

Meiting: oh ya! u remined me.. they'll be too full to eat.. hmm.. probably let them take home a small piece?

according to wendy, a cake from their hotel is approx $55++ per kg and min 10kg cake.. i'll be at vanda ballroom so only ard 200 guests..

to answer ll, according to wendy, usually it's nicer to do a 3 tiered cake.. even for vanda ballroom, 2 tier is too small.. wun look nice.. so if u're taking e bigger ballroom might need to consider 4-5 tiers..

went to tis bakery at Paragon basement, Canole (cant remember spelling), asked them abt e wedding cake is a few thousands (if i nv remember wrongly)! but it looks v nice..

nec: how long in advance muz u book ur cake? besides e flavours (lychee martini from Pine is lovely!) any additional charges on designs? i'm looking for those like below (with a "stand" supporting each layer instead of all 3 lumped together)
___
|___|
_|_|_
|_____|
___|_|___
|_________|

kekeke..

karenchansecret

To me wedding cards and favours is not important leh. The card will be thrown after that day and favours will be eatten or put aside after the dinner. So to me anything will do and i saw favour from MM is good enough le ba.

momoe000

so long since i come to this thread been very bz wif work ... just have my food tasting on monday .. find that the lotus rice is too dry n plan to change to fried hokkien mee suan anyone try tat before?

~sblbee~

peach,
i tried hokkien mee suan...it's ok to me but i plan to have eefu noodles cos i feel d mee suan more like beehoon :p i tried dat during their wedding show last yr :p

momoe000

if the taste is ok then i think i will take the mee suan cos even my father in law (he a easy going person) comment the rice is very dry.
as for the eefu noodles like very common to me ;p i prefer something diff

mrs_tan

Hi Peach,

I also had my food tasting on mon..i tried the mee suan,yup it did taste like bee hoon but is not oily and theres lots of prawns inside..so overall still not bad

colt_26

i tried the mee suan at food tasting and family commented it taste like fried bee hoon. nothing special. eventually we change to eefu noodles for our AD. The feedback from guests are that the eefu noodles are very good. We are glad that we choose eefu noodles.

~sblbee~

colt 26,
same here....dat's wat my fh n i tot oso abt d hokkien mee suan dat's y after tasting d eefu noodles at my fren's wedding last yr, we decided to change to dat dish cos it's oso easier for d older folks n kids to eat :p not too dry

de_princess

My food tasting was the lotus rice and I didnt find it dry leh. Anyway will still keep that dish coz prefer that to noodles
I am still thinking should I change the prawns to oriental sauce so easier for guests to eat?

My march in also thinking of changing to bubble effect instead of dry ice.. altho I am going to have bubbles during my church march in. Sigh so many last min indecisiveness...

momoe000

umm... now i am confuse wat to choose ;p have to confirm most of the things wif fiona tomo .. think later ask my hubby again ..

I try the pan fry oriental prawn for my food tasting also .. not bad .. but still have to peel the prawn lucky they will prepare the wet tissue for us

colt_26

hi Jolene,

Its not as short as you think. Take a slow march, enjoy the moment and you will realise the walk is just nice.

wouldnt be nice to have a long aisle and the guests get tired of clapping ya.

colt_26

hi jolene,

i enter from the centre door. it takes about 15 to 20 secs i think. definitely less than 30 secs .but personally i feel its enuf and just nice. i ever see those with long march in and the guests got bored and clapping sound die down even before the couple reach the stage.

didnt add anthing special. just the usual march in but we did it slowly, smiling to guests etc.... just enjoy the slow, short yet memorable walk.

happy_ting

any march in songs to recommend for short march in? the song that i have intitally wanted to use for my march in at the grand ballroom, i think maybe i might reach the stage when the song only just begin....

hi colt,

did u chose the bubble effect or the dry ice effect? can we chose different effect for the 1st and 2nd march in?

~sblbee~

meiting,
i think they only give 1 effect for d march-in, if u want 2 may have to top up....which i feel it's not necessary esp for d 2nd march-in :p

blessed1

does anyone know if Marina Mandarin has only two wedding themes? Has anyone managed to do anything different for their themes?

Hi Meiting, I read from your earlier post that you have pictures of the themes, could u please share them with me at [email protected] ? Thanks very much, appreciate it lots!

mushroom_ger

Went for food tasting the other day, food was nice, hope MM can keep the same standards on the actual day. =)

Anyone had the Suckling Pig cold dish over the lobster cold dish? How does the deco looks like? Was thinking if wanna change to the Suckling Pig cold dish since got prawns already... am afraid will be boring, coz go lobster & got prawns... hmmmm...

I'm going to meetup with my coordinator soon to finalise everything before my wedding... any idea what are the points i should look out for and highlight during the discussion?

starzy

Hi, i have booked my wedding with marina mand for 2009 just last mth, but realise no free wine per table for me. anyone has idea is the free wine for promotion only? understand they have a new theme next, any idea?

starzy

Hi honeybunny, thanks 4 reply, i signed in june with them. but the thing is i started speaking to them in apr even b4 the bridal show and they didnt even mention abt this wine. quite disappointed but no choice

lovie_dovie

Im thinking of holding my wedding within the period of January to March '09. But, MM don't have the dates that i wanted. If you girls happen to know someone who's willing to let go of the Grand Ballroom during this period, please kindly PM me. Appreciate you girls' help!!!

janetlok

Hi Starzy,

I thought the package comes with the free wine? How much did you pay for your table?

For mine, i didn't have thefree wine too cos i signed up some time back and i dunno if my price is same as yours a not........

honeybunny

Hi Starzy, ic. For me I started talking to them in mid May. Their promotion is on valid for contract sign by 31 May, hence I made a quick decision to enjoy the perks. I have asked the hotel is they can extend it, but it was a firm no.

My fren who held her wedding there previously was given an option of 1 btl of wine per table or free corkage. Think that should be the usual arrangement.

~sblbee~

i signed up my package wif MM last jul for my fri banquet tis oct n i got to enjoy 1 bottle of red wine per table as well as free corkage off duty-paid wine....

starzy

thanks girls...i gues 4get ab the wine..just enjoy my wedding...i love the yellow ribbon tied to each chair ..tot of having this for alternate chair..anyone is thinking of this? Anyone has idea how decorate the stage? coz i tot the stage v plain