Margaret Brides

Anybody signed up with margaret brides recently say 2-3 months ago?

i'm quite interested. wld like to hear more.

hi chrisnchris,

i signed up with mb in dec. so far, i've gone for my first fitting. what is it in particular that u will like to know?

hi, ok, just a few questions at the moment.

1. is urs a MTM or OTR package?
2. do u know whether MB rents OTR WG?
3. are the OTR WG presentable?
4. did u go for appointments on weekdays or weekends?
5. is it usually crowded?
6. what makes u choose MB among the rest?

1-3. mine is a mtm package. if i'm not wrong, all her 3 packages r mtm. she deducts $250 or so off the package price for every gown that's otr. n her otr gowns r all in v. good condition.

4. b4 i booked, i visited her twice on both wkends n wkday.

5. it's not "crowded", cos she goes by appt mostly. but her schedule is pretty packed. it seems like every time i visit her, she has an appt both b4 n after mine. i recommend making an appt b4 u go, then u get her undivided attention.
we walked in without appt the 1st time, n we found her busy fitting a gown for another bride. she was v. friendly n showed us this book with all the package details inside. even came round to chat with us every few minutes n ask if we had any questions. but i felt v. paiseh, cos there is another bride fitting her gown.

6. i luv her gowns n her designs.
simple n yet elegant. i feel very comfortable chatting with her. i can be honest abt what i like n what i dun, yet she doesn't take offense. i trust her opinions n her designs.

looking back, i dun regret my decision in any way. so far, i've found her helpful n honest without being blunt. during my 1st design appt, she made me try more than 10 gowns for me to see their effects. she gave lots of feedback, pointing out what works n what doesn't. if i hv any whim or fancy, she probed till she knows exactly what i mean n make me try on a gown with the whims n fancies i was fantasizing abt.

i had 2 design appts altogether. she came up with 3 wg designs n 4 eg designs, all with distinctly different looks n v. unique. at the 2nd design appt, she even urged me to try on some gowns to remind myself how the necklines n cut will look on me b4 i make my decision. it's thru these little touches that i think she's v. helpful n friendly.

even tho i'm rather plump, she doesn't make rude remarks. she keeps reminding me that i should first worry abt whether i am comfortable in my gowns. after every appt with her, i'm on cloud nine.
during the 1st appt (which was only 4 days after measurement), she already made the wedding gown lining n the entire evening gown.
i was v. impressed with her speediness, the progress now exceeds all my expectations.

oops, din realise the posting is so long.
choosing a bridal shops is a v. personal. visit her shop n see if u like her gowns n can click with her.

I went down alone to see Margaret last month, my girlfriend was not in town, so I was doing all the asking before she comes back and this will also save the hassel of her going around. Margaret did a very good job in explaining some of her packages, find her very detailed and she is very particular about the small little details, that's what I like a designer to be..

My girlfriend was very comfortable with her during the first visit, although Margaret did not go into designing part, but she gave some very good advices when my girlfriend tried on some of her designs. We of course decided to go with her because we just love her designs and the personally touch that she gave..

We've just finished our third visit with her - discussing designs and my girlfriend could not decide which one she wants for her wedding gown. Margaret is very patient with her and advise her that if she is still not sure, she can always come back to try on her gowns again to make sure that she is sure and comfortable..

We are very thankful of what she has suggested and feel abit bad because she need to spend more time with us and thank god, we know we have chosen the right person to handle our wedding and we are very confident Margaret can do a fantastic job so what we need to give Margaret in return is to show her the confidence that we have for her

Hi Emmanuel, how many bridal shops you've been around to before coming to this decision? Can share with me about your package? Do you know if they've any promotion going on? So, have your girlfriend decided on the gown?

Hi AA,

You may like to know that SingaporeBrides card holders get 5% discount off the wedding packages.

To find out more about the card, you can click on the card section on the navigation.

I got married abt a month ago n I m glad that I chose Magaret Brides. She is indeed someone whom u can trust your gowns with. She is even more particular than me

No regrets.

hi, I was wondering if anyone is currently wif MB? i m wif her n hope to communicate with other MB brides.

Hi och,

my wedding in dec so not much done yet. scheduled photo shoot on 30 aug even though its the seventh mth cos difficult to apply leave. mind me asking who's your photographer n make-up artist?

margaret assigned justina to me n i was wondering how's she. she'll b doing my trial on 22 aug n i am afraid if i dont like her, will i hv enough time to do another trial with other make-up artist before my shoot. was your trial n studio so near?

did u discuss with margaret the details on your gown or did you leave it to her totally? i am curious if it is necessary to sit down and go through with her what she'll be sewing on my gown.

i m not exactly sure what's procedure, could you share your experience?

hi ling,

sure! i am always glad to share my experiences.
r ur gowns all made already? can share what ur gowns r like?

i signed up with serangoon broadway initially, but their gowns n makeup dun suit me well, so i switched the bridal package to margaret. the photography part is still with serangoon. i incurred a budget deficit but i dun regret my switch at all.
who's ur photographer?

margaret assigned sharon to me cos i dun normally wear makeup. sharon's makeup is natural, so i dun feel like a totally different person.
if u r worried, what abt asking for an earlier trial? tell margaret honestly that makeup is important to u n if it's possible, u will like to set ur mind at ease with an earlier trial. she's quite understanding abt brides' concerns n she will oblige if she can. since trials r only 1 hr or so, i think it's easy to set another trial. but u will need to check if the makeup artiste is also free on the shoot n actual day.

if u hv any needs/preferences, remember to discuss with justina during ur trial. after the makeup was done, i grumbled abt my big head. u see, my head is a lot bigger than my hubby's n it doesn't help that he has a baby face. if my hair is not set right, we look weird in photos. sharon did a mockup (using her hands, no pins) to show me how i will look n margaret also contributed her 2 cents worth.

as for details, it was a pretty informal discussion we had on the 2nd fitting. we din sit down to discuss. i used the collection of gowns she had there to point out what i like n dun. i dun like lace, dun mind embroidery but i like crystals. i like flowers n leave shaped stuff but not straight lines. stuff like that. margaret prompted by showing me gowns with v. different details n asking for my comments.
i also told her that while i hv seen many details i like in her gowns, i din think they will suit my gowns if they were transferred wholesale over. the final design, i left to margaret n auntie.

if i had a specific design i wanted v. much, i would hv told margaret. that was what a friend of mine did. she pointed to a gown n said "i like that v. much, can i hv the same details on my eg?". since the details design suits her eg, that was what she got.

r u taking photos in other costumes? kwa, cheong sum, or the kebaya? i chose the red kwa with silver threads for my photoshoot. it looks v. gd, please my mum a lot.
i contemplated borrowing a cheong sum too, but after chatting with margaret, decided against it. with my big head, french twist n hubby's baby face, i will look way too old. cannot look old for my wedding.

hi och,

thanks so much for sharing.

me too told margaret my likes and donts and am being paranoid tat she didnt hv it recorded. anyway, i guess i m just being gan cheong.

my wg is a bustier n eg asymetrical. i took up the very basic package(MTM) which excludes the photography cos i got the previous photographer who took my solemnisation to do my photo shoot. am keeping my fingers crossed. hope the photos will turn out well. heard that one should get a make-artist who has worked with the photographer before so that the make up will turn out good in the pics.

how's ur preparation? excited? 1 more month to go! i planned my solemnisation 3 yrs ago single handedly and i honestly didnt expect this customary to be so much work. it is really killing me, so much traditions to follow. i am a cantonese and my mum is very particular abt traditions. 4-months to go for me and sad to say, i can't wait for it to be over cos its very tiring.

hi ling,

no problem. think u need not worry too much abt the effects of makeup, cos my makeup artiste never worked with my photographer b4, but the makeup still looked v. natural n fresh.

my wg is a bustier too! it has an asymmetric organza overlay n crystals all round the rim of the train. what colours is ur eg? mine's silver with a lilac organza corti. hv u decided where to go for ur outdoor shot? i went to sentosa, specifically beaufort, central beach, tanjung beach. the scenery turned out v. well in photos, but i stained my wg with grease stains while walking on the beach.

i'm excited abt the honeymoon.
think i will feel more excited abt the wedding if wedding preps weren't so tiring.
it wasn't much sweat until recently. we had our guo da li last wk n r now working on the guest list. the guest list is such a killer, nobody can agree on where to seat their guests.
i'm preparing a video montage over the next few weeks. think i will feel more excited when i get the chance to sort thru all the photos n choose our songs.

Hi och, remember me asking you about your masionette previously? Didn't realise you'd signed up with Margaret Brides too! Me signed up with her after visiting her and Flamingo each three times.... difficult decision.

Had my 2nd fitting and trial makeup with Justina yesterday.... quite satisfied.

hi jul, of course i remembered u.
surprised to see u here. this thread is so quiet, i wasn't sure if any of the regulars signed up with margaret. how r ur wedding preps? when's ur wedding n photoshoot? my photoshoot is over, collected my photos already n i'm meeting margaret soon for fittings b4 the actual day. hope i hv not put on weight.
sorry for being kpo, but can describe ur gowns or not?

so which area's apt did u buy in the end?

hi och,

I agree this is a quiet thread. I bought a Bukit Batok unit eventually. Should we communicate by email?

This is to inform everyone that Margaret Brides is having a sale on all off-the-rack gowns from 2nd September till 15th September 2002. Please call Margaret Brides at 6774-2522 to make an appointment for viewing. Margaret Brides address is,

Ginza Plaza
154 West Coast Road #B1-17
Singapore 127371

or you can visit www.margaretbrides.com for more info.

Just a reminder that Margaret Brides sale will end on this Sunday (15 Sept). The entire range of off-the-rack gowns is available for selection. Please call 6774-2522 to make an appointment for viewing.

Hi, calling all Magaret's brides...

What are the photographers MB is tied with?

hi aa,

fr what i can remember, mb is tied with kim fr studio d'fia, benny ang n andrew tay fr the edge. she ties up with quite a long list of photographers, but i cannot remember them all. sorry.

Hi AA,

Margaret ties up with Benny Ang ($1300),Edge($1200), Picturebox, Studio D'fia...

I'm quite keen to sign up with MB because her price is quite within my budget.

Can anyone advise if we want the MTM men's suit, who does she tie with?
And for the photographers that works with her, do they give back all the exposures and the negatives?

And is there anyone who signed up with MB and willing to share her photos with me?
Pls email me at [email protected]

Sorry for so many questions.
Thank you very very much!

Hi autumnheart

I jus signed up with Margaret in Dec 02. Just to let u know that Margaret is tied up with Oxford tailors. she works with Benny Ang, the edge etc. But i don't think they will return u the negatives

She is very detailed & friendly. U'll find her nice to work with.

hi Ann, thanks for the reply.

I am very keen to sign up with her and most prob will.
went down to her place twice and I find that she can understand what I want, accept my requirements, talk in the same frequency etc which I think is very impt when I want MTM WG and EG.

Is Benny from The Edge? I need to research on that. Will visit his studio after signing up with MB to finalise the details/requirements.

No negatives is ok because they'll return you the prints, right?
I hope they will not be like those studio where they stamp "copy" on each piece of photo.

btw, when's your wedding?

That's true. U should be able to communicate with the designer. Personally i am ok with her.
Nope. Benny Ang isn't from The Edge. Andrew Tay is from The Edge.
My wedding is in Sept =)

HI,

For those who were ex-MB brides, how did u find the make-ups from Sam & Sharon?

I'll be engaging Sharon as my make-up artist.

Hi AutumnHeart,

Oxford tailor is very good! they provide great services & they r responsive!

My hubby made extra jackets as his business suits on top of his wedding one...

Ann, mine will be in October.

Any idea if there's any url where I can see Benny's photos/work?

Cream roses, I have sign up yet, so I have not decided on the makeup artist. Is there any particular reason that you chose Sharon?

Joy, are the materials used good? As in, since it's part of a package, would they used less quality material?

Autumheart,

I didn't choose Sharon..it was assigned by Margaret..

Can anyone advise which makeup artist is better? Sam or Sharon?

hi cream roses,

which makeup artiste is "better" will depend on the makeup style that u like. i was assigned sharon too, but i din mind, cos i heard that her makeup style is v. natural which was what i wanted since i seldom wear makeup.

Hi Och,

what's difference between Sam & Sharon style of makeup?

hi cream roses,

i think another mb (decgal) had trial makeup sessions with both sam n sharon. she mentioned that sam ong's style is natural n refreshing, while sharon's style is sweeter n younger. it's the first post in the archive to nov 10 2001 of this thread.

Hi Och,

I feel Sharon is not creative enough for hairstyle..for make up,i think she's okie..I think I need to search around to show her what kinda hair style I want...Will u be engaging Sam or Sharon?

hi cream roses,

my wedding was in sept 02.
sharon was my makeup artiste. ok lah, i din think she was too bad. margaret told her what looks will suit me best. i had a french twist in the morning n i let my hair down at nite. margaret cut some organza flowers to pin onto my hair. i thot the effect was quite nice.

Hi Och,

thanks for the advices...Now I feel more relieve..Margaret gave u some organza flowers? So in this case,I don't have to prepare fresh flowers for my hairdo oredi...did u take up the flower package? If yes, the fresh flowers for hairdo should be inclusive right?

hi cream_roses,

we took margaret's flower package n we had fresh flowers for the hairdo during studio n at tea ceremony. we could request for fresh flowers for the evening banquet too, but we found that rather cumbersome. we didn't want to worry abt the flowers while lugging the gowns n associated stuff to the hotel on the same day. the problem is that there aren't that many flowers that can take sg's heat well n i didn't want some half-dead flowers flopping on my head at nite.
so we requested for organza flowers.

if u hv pretty much decided on using margaret's makeup artiste but r still concerned, it's good to run through the styles u want at the makeup trial when both the makeup artiste n margaret r present. that was what i did n i'm glad i did that, cos margaret helped to convey what i wanted to sharon. sharon did a quick mock-up of the hairdo for me. hairdos r not included as part of the trial, so i didn't get the full hairdo. the mockup itself was done in 5-10 min. it did not involve hairspray n many hairpins, so it wasn't v. neat, but at least i could imagine how i would look on the actual day. the session sort of set my mind at ease. just a suggestion.

HI Och,

May I know what fresh flowers did u use? If u don't mind,can I take a peep at ur wedding photo?
my email add is : [email protected]

Ya,I have gone thru the trial make up as well. Sharon is friendly & warm...Margaret didn't ask me what kinda hairstyle & make up i want..she just assigned sharon to me

hi cream_roses,

i cannot remember what were the fresh flowers anymore.
probably cos i did not specify the flowers i want, only the colours. i like bouquets with mixed flowers n i seem to recall some freesia. sharon or margaret may remember it. for the photo shoot, i asked for a bouquet that has bright yellow flowers mixed with white flowers. i like the effect of bright yellow in studio photos. i always felt that yellow makes the photos cheery n happy.
on the actual day, i asked for a bouquet of a mixture of cream coloured flowers.

i assume u wanted to look at the photos of the flowers only? cos i sent u 4 of my actual day photos. there's 1 of the flowers in my hair during the day, the hand bouquet, n 2 of the organza flowers at nite. i sent the photos, then i realise that u may be referring to all the wedding photos....

is sharon's makeup what u wanted? i hope u r not feeling frustrated over the makeup business. margaret assigned sharon to me too, n i'm was actually quite ok. i told margaret b4 that i wanted to look natural n she din want me to look too mature, so i was quite reassured that she will get me a makeup artiste that suited me. after the trial, i was quite happy.

HI Och,

U look lovely!! very sweet leh!! I see some tiny flowers,guess these are freesia surrounded the veil that Sharon putting up for u..those flowers are sweet..

Could you show me more photo? I can't see the how ur whole gown looks like leh...Ur husband looks very honest leh...I also can't see ur EG..

No lah..not feeling frustrated..just was a bit worried at the first place..now I have some faith in Sharon after seeing ur photo,thanks,pal!

Ya,u r sweet looking,so not very nice to make u look too mature..Margaret is experience..

I like the cream roses..which florist shop is that? how long u have been married?

hi cream_roses,

thanks for ur compliments. i'm glad ur worries r alleviated. i sent u more photos. i hv been happily married for 4 months. when's ur wedding? i got the flowers fr margaret, think she ties up with green point.

Hi Och!

I'm a margaret bride too!
would you mind sharing your pics with me?
i would love to see the make up and flowers

It would help reassure me too!

pls email me at