Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi, I just attended the 7th Oct Oriental wedding showcase. Anyone here signed on the spot? What are the perks given? Is there free flow beer & corkage waiver etc as mentioned in this Forum?

I read the FAQs given by Oriental & it states strictly only 20% car passes, no more. Addtional charged at $4 per piece. I wonder if still bargainable?

hi alexis21 and wen,
so sorry that i didn't get back to both of you soon as i received the invite pretty late. sorry for that.

I went today and personally, the food are not that tasty and nice. i prefer their buffet desserts! Their cakes and pasties are just amazing pretty and delicious. Quite disappointing on their main dish though...
i left right after the 4th dish immediately.

2dae i oso went to the oriental hotel wedding show, it really great esp the dessert buffet, and the four themes, the dream theme ( blank n red) is great.

hi all! I went for the wedding show too! i love the cod fish! ^^ and i signed up on the spot. the perks is like mentioned... one free table off and all corkage wavier. and a set of teapot set for the couple!

The hard boiled chicken with shark fins totally replaced the traditional shark fins soup it was so impressive & creative. I will definitely choose that dish..

morning gals..

Anne & nehoc, I love both of the dishes and also the fried bun.. hehe.. I personally love to eat fried bun. :P

My sis personally love eating cod fish.. so that dish suit her very much..

I am lucky to won the $200 dining voucher... :D

oh xinyi! u r the only girl who went up is it?hehe congrats! i am carrying a panda bag. think can be easily recognise. haaa!

Xinyi,
You wearing blue jeans right like Anne said you are the only girl go up the stage..back to topic do you think is possible to request more buns? seems not enough.

Ohh.. am I the only gal? haha.. I din realised.. I know like alot of guys went up.. hehe.. I came with my sis mah.. Bo bian i go up lor.. haha..

I wore red strip top and jeans..

I not sure about asking more buns.. Because I don't know how much they actually give. But again, this dish is to replace noodle or rice.. by that time everyone will be quite full??

Just in case our guests asking for more mah..Oriental is giving our guests alot of surprise for the dish imagine everyone is waiting for the noodles to be serve but it turn out to be buns with chilli crab sauce..

maybe my tastebud are quite picky. all the 4 dishes are not to my liking except the jellyfish that is quite thai style. the soup wise chicken is not tender enough if it is double-boiled. should be those "nua nua" mashy type in my opinion if it is double boiled. maybe some scallops thrown in will be good. just feel something is missing from the soup.hahaha...

my card no. is not 53. how's the lucky draw prizes?? my partner keep pestering me to leave soon but i make him stay back from the chilli bun.

The perks will be like above mentioned, free corkage, free 1 table. and can enter the exclusive draw of those signed up yesterday. 1st prize is a 50% off your total banquet cost. but my partner is fast in calculation, saying is only 30%+ off after adding up taxes.. but is still better than nothing. i didn't signed up. still considering.

For all those who love the chilli crab, they give 2 buns per guest. Its quite spicy, not very suitable for kids.

Remember to ask the chef to put the shelled crab claws around the sauce instead of shelled crabmeat in the sauce (can't see so ppl might not know all the meat are below).

Cheryl
Good idea...

Hey i am curious which theme are the most popular

Happiness

Dream
1 Nehoc

Garden

Love

Thanks Cheryl for sharing..

Aiyo.. I like both dream and love theme leh.. But dream theme i like no use, will invite unwanted comment from relatives and elders..

so which one should i put my name.. hahaha..

I've signed up with Oriental in Feb this yr. My advice is that you try to check out the actual wedding theme set up at Oriental, best if it's before you sign up with them. I liked their dream and happiness theme vry much when i first saw them at the wedding show but found them not up to the expectation at actual weddings.

We booked the grand ballroom for a weekday banquet & got the usual package deals of free bottle of wine per table, 2 nights' stay in bridal suite, free flow beer, cockage waiver, use of 2xLCD projector & up to 20% complimentry carpark. With 35 tables & abv, we get 45mins of live piano music, one night stay for wedding entourage and spa for couple.

Hi, I recently held my wedding banquet in Sep and I must give a thumbs up to the banquet staff as they are truly experienced and professional!
I was soo nervous before my 1st march in, but the banquet manager did his best to calm me down! Thank goodness the walk in was steady cuz I was so worried i would trip on my dress!

My wedding went very smoothly and was a great success; everyone gave excellent reviews on the food (even my parents' vegeterian friends loved their vegeterian menu!) ...

What we got from our deal ....
1. 2 nights' stay in bridal suite
2. Spa package for my hubby and me
3. Free flow beer
4. 24 bottles of complimentary wine
4. Waiver of corkage
5. Free use of 2 LCD projectors
6. 25% carpark passes (which we had lots leftover! Alot of our guests winded choosing to valet park, cuz the carpark was full as our wedding was held on a Saturday. So don't worry if you don't have enough passes!)
7. Piano playing during cocktail
8. One night's stay for my jie-meis

Inititally they didn't give us complimentary wine at all, but my husband negotiated with our 1st coordinator before we signed the contract. They offered us 24 complimentary bottles, so we took it up. Since they also waived corkage fee, we brought another 24 bottles of wine via our own wine contact. In total, we opened 42 bottles of wine, so within the 48 bottles we had.

hi Skittles,

u held ur dinner at oriental, hw many tables u have, coz i onli hav 30 tables duno whether they will give me complimentary wine , free use of 2 LCD projectors, and piano playing during cocktail.

Nehoc,thanks for your info.

But me and htb looking at around 30 tables, preferably on weekends. Hasnt had the time to check the time due to our busy work schedules. Any idea whats the pkg price now?