Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi Xinyi,
Most probably I will place at middle. But FH dont like L-shape March leh. Headache... What about u?

Poopy,
Mine will be on the 16th March 08. When is ur AD?
I really like the Hrabour view but the price is too expensive. My MIL feel that if i spent $$ on Harbour view is a very waste of $$$... Sianz... what to do? I already sign with them. They are really not very flexible on this.

Cheryl_c,

Wow... cool man.. The dream theme. Not everyone can accpet this theme especialy the older people.
Dream theme is quite nice and special. But my MIL say no no no....

Wonder this is my wedding or her wedding...hee...

Snow,

if you don't mind shorter march in then you can open the middle door and march in straight....

Actually the dream theme is more greyish than black... Anyway you don't have to decide so early so mayb you still have a chance to persuade your MIL

Hi Cheryl_c & snow,

Maybe I will place it right at the end of the ballroom. Table arrangment to be smiliar with Chjimes, just 2 rows down the whole ballroom.

Hi cheryl_c,

My MIL is a sturrbon person. When no means no. Does your parents or In Law say no to your dream theme? I want a long March...hee..

Xinyi,
Will it be a long march if i place at the end of the ballroom? How will their LCD to be place if the layout is that?
Which theme you are getting it?

snow, it will be a long long march in.. i think lcd to be placed at the sides of the stage??

i haven decided with mark yet.. now he tentively booked the ballroom.

Hi xinyi_reiko,

if you place your stage at the end of the ballroom, you can put a max of 38 tables i think. think you must check with your coordinator.

Snow,

I dun have any in laws and my parents are fine with the colour so its up to me to decide

if you put the stage at the end, it would be a very long march in but the people sitting at the end would be very bored cos can't really see the couple and there's only 1 lcd screen at the back versus 2 screens if the stage is in the middle. That's why I choose the L shaped march in.... To prolong the time, just walk slower and choose a really slow song

Hi cheryl_c,

Hee.. slow march with slow song. Good idea. So far I have seen how the ballroom will look like when it is set up.

Xinyi_reiko,

How many table are you having? When is your actual day?

cheryl c,

but if place the stage in the middle, only half of the ppl near the side of the main door be able to see the couple march in, the other half of the ppl won't be able to see it right??

snow,

I will be having 30 tables. My AD is on 12 jun 08.

Today verbally confirm with mark to hold my banquet at oriental. Will be meeting him on 19th. Will take a look at the ballroom again. Hopefully can take some pictures and do a walk around.. :P

cheryl c & snow, when is your AD??

Xinyi_reiko,

Yup that's the bad part but I've spoken to the banquet manager and he said so far the best position to out the stage is in the middle cos throughout the whole dinner all the table are able to see the stage just the initial march in some tables would not be able to see that's all.....

Snow,

Ask your cooridinator for the dates of the ballroom in different setups, makes your decision easier.....

My AD is 04jan'08, both you gals don't have to decide on your setups till 3 months before your AD. Mine will be the dream theme if you can't decide by then and wana take a look how the actual setup looks like

ya gers... i also realised that the L-shaped ballroom most of the corners can't really see the stage well as the stage is quite small...

hi all, i'm btb in nov at oriental

hi cheryl, thanks

xinyi.. i also dunno what can be done.. i just realised it from feedback from a fren who just attended a dinner there..

anyone has any idea how long before the coordinator will start contacting us again? :P

me kan cheong spider

Hi xinyi_reiko,

My AD is 16th March 08. I am thinking to take some photo at Oriental too. BTW, I have not started looking for VG and PG.

Hi cheryl_c,
I think dream theme will be quiet nice.

Lyn,

Is the stage really small?

hmm.. i will ask my coordinator when i meet him on the 19th and ask abt the stage and the march in. I wonder can make the stage bigger or not. Since the stage is mobile type.

Hi hi snow.. i'm not too sure about the stage as it was a feedback to me by a friend.. but if i'm not wrong, because the ballroom is in a fan shaped, the corners of the ballroom cannot really see face-to-face the people on the stage.. i'm not too sure..was thinking of going to oriental this weekend to have a look again

xinyi.. ya.. i was thinking of checking with my coordinator too.. hopefully there is a way... but i think will need $$.. sigh

lyn, the ball room is in fan shape. till now, i still feel alittle weird of such a shape as a all room.

maybe you should make a trip down. at least if you want to do anything can plan early ya. =)

i think the best setup is having march in right at the middle of the ballroom. But that will result a short march-in. =/

Ya lor.. i was also thinking of the march in the middle of the ballroom.. so now, the only way is to find a short nice march in song to compensate the short march in..

But anyway, i think on the AD i would be very nervous, short walk-in may be better... haha..

Hi Xinyi_reiko and lyn,

Your coordinator will start contacting you 3 months before your AD to finalise your theme, food tasting and your wedding cards. If you want an always contact them earlier......

As for the march in its really up to you. Don't forget when you are nervous, you always walk really really fast so the short march in may be a problem.... cheers gals....

Hi Lyn,

You are right. My FH also say that the ballroom look so odd in fan shape.

When will be the next wedding coming? What is the theme? Cos I reaaly how it looks like.

hi xinyi.. morning :p

I decided for oriental as I liked their way of service and their personal feel..
Feedback on the food is also not too bad..
Ballroom, I quite like the cosy feel and ceiling is not too low.. overall quite satisfied...

xinyi... have you gone to look at the other hotels? What are your feels about it..
And does Oriental give you the perks and flexibility over things or do they give you what you require and need..
dun be too stressed..

lyn, 1 only shortlist 3 hotels, hyatt, inter-con and oriental.

inter-con, very grand ballroom. one of the best ballroom i seen so far. but unfortunately, my AD date fall on their auspicious date. $888++ per table, instead of $788++. Perks wise, not very attractive also. Only given 1 night free. They don't seems to be willing to throw in another nite stay. Free 1 bottle of wine per table. corkage charge is not wavied. Food selection pretty common. Decided to drop this mainly because of the price per table and the perks.

Hyatt, attend a wedding there before. food is good, setup is nice. although slightly expensive. i believe it worth it. but problem is i having difficulty to meet up with them. they only work at office hours, no weekends. Even after work, also cannot arrange appt. So I guess will be difficult for me, since usually we will be free on weekends.

So end up with oriental lor.. :P attractive perks, nice themes, interesting food selection, so far service also not bad. Just the ballroom...

I guess nothing is perfect eh.. =/

hi xinyi...

ya... lolz.. i guess all the hotels will have their goods and bads.. but i guess, once set on 1, we gotta just make the best of it :p

so, i think i can play around with oriental's set up lar.. heehee

maybe oriental brides, we can maybe find some ideas to share?

Anyone seen the LOVE theme yet? have they decided to make it not entirely white?

i seen both love and dream theme..

love theme got fairy feel.. still quite white.. i have intention to get that, i thinking if can have mix colours of flowers will be nicer... white and pinkish.. hehe

Anyone of you got Mark as coordinator? Me and FH are a bit pissed we him..cant ever seem to contact him about the draft wedding contract. We asked for some stuff beginning of last week and until now he hasnt gotten back to us. We want to seal the deal for our wedding banquet on 14 Sept 2008 but it doesnt seem that he's that eager to. Anyone got same experiece as me? wanna change a wedding coordinator..someone who has more time to discuss things with me
Do you think its possible?

Anyone seen 2008 packages? The weekend packages is a bit expensive though the perks are very attractive and contained most of the basic requirements.

Nvrtheless to pay $1088+++ for a table...Hmmmm.....

I am in love with their current theme. Anyone to intro who to alise with besides Mark just in case cant get him? We can request to get him is it?? Is he flexible?? can negotiate??? haa..

If you want to change your coordinator, yiwen is my cooridinator and she did a fantastic job in her service and even after I signed the contract, she accomodate my several requests including wine and mocktails during my foodtasting. Thumbs up for her

cheryl n xinyi
I've put mine in the middle n had the L shape march in... my guests were able to see the march in... if u wanna be KS abit, u can request them to be seated instead of standing. Got 36 tables during my dinner.

Xiaolubao

I had signed with Oriental for 23.03.08 and our coordinator is Mark.
I can fully understand how you felt because me and my FH experienced the same thing. Can't contact him and he also forget to send us the contract.
No doubt, it is very frustrating. But on the other hand, he is very easy to work with, and till now, he has not given me a negative answer for whatever i asked from him. Give him the benefit of doubt, he's probably very busy. And by the way, once you have confirmed the date with him, he will definitely keep the date for you

Yoko

Thank lavender for your feedback. Think most likely will have the same amt of tables as you

mrs yap,

Yup yiwen is still there. She is very easy to work with and so far she had given me almost anything I want......

I was quiet busy these few days. I am back.
Actualy that time my coordinator is Mark. But he is really hard to get through. In the end, is Sandy service us.

Overall still ok.

xinyi
u dun have to worry much abt the food. Thumbs up from guests. Even relatives commented the food was good n the helpings were generous.
u can be assured the food won't be bad.

How abt Bethany? Is she good to work with?

Oriental price quite expensive too. Me thinking of having AD there but after calculating the cost, decide to meet up and view the ballroom first before proceeding.