Mandarin Oriental Singapore

hi jolene,

Yah, wanted to start early because the dates we want are all in Q4 2008 and usually many people get married around that time... got to fight for space mah... haha....

Plus if we can secure a venue at this point then we can slowly look for suitable bridal packages without worrying about the wedding venue... work already busy and stressful so don't need additional.... Although coming out with a few thousand dollars as deposit so early (about 1.5 years before the wedding) a bit heart pain... keep inside bank earn a few dollars interest also good mah...

Any good bridal package to recommend? So far those I have seen all at least $2688... so ex...

Hi Angela,

Did they revise the contract after you sign it? That's not very nice of them, they should honor whatever has been agreed on and signed off.

strongyetweak - i spoke with citibank the other day and they checked the system while i was on the phone and said a temp credit limit increase to xx amount (a few times my usual credit limit) wasn't a problem. She mentioned it also depends if you have a good credit history, make payments promptly etc.

thanks brokenbudgie.... was just wondering how many times the usual credit limit the banks can increase for those who earn just enough to apply for credit cards (2.5k) and already has outstanding balance on the credit card... the new 50%/100% pre-payment requirement will be more difficult for these group of people lor...

Hi gals wasn't around the past week so didn't visit this thread.

Oh kentia, I was there at 6pm then I went to garden suite to look at the XI theme. Not nice to put in the oriental ballroom..... Think by the time you arrived I had aready left...

strongetweak

From what I know, when you need the temp increase in your credit limit for your wedding, just take a letter from the hotel and the bank will call your coordinator to comfirm your booking. And yes there are couples who default on payment of their banquets so now a lot of hotels practice collecting payment first.....

I_C_E

I'm very happy for that finally you get your si dian jin

Hi chuchulet,

The dream theme is more greyish than black due to the organza layer on top of the black tablecloth. Its nice if you are holding your wedding in the oriental ballroom cos it looks quite grand unlike normal wedding banquets. The yam roses looks good as well.

I am keen to sign up wif Oriental for the garden suite package.Can anyone share their package details wif me and what kind of additional perks is being offered?

Dear Oriental Brides, I'm interested in Oriental but I only have 30 tables. Can I still take the Grand Ballroom? if not what are my alternatives?

Hey Oriental Brides.... My coordinator passed this information to me. If you gals are interested, can pop by for a peep =o)

Saturday, 28 April 2007:
Oriental Ballroom – Love Theme
Atrium Suite – Dream Theme

Tuesday, 01 May 2007: Oriental Ballroom – Love Theme

Hven't been here for quite a while, hope everyone's good with their wedding preparation

Kentia if you are still looking for your VG and PG, I had just booked forrest productions for my VG and confirmed this PG called Lam who came very highly recommended by my friends. Both are very reasonable, just 1k each. Let me know if you are interested

Hi all Oriental Brides,

FH here, just went to the Showcase on sunday, 2008 pkage not out yet. the price will increase for 2nd half of yr 2008, by 09 it will reach around 1K/table. My brochure still 07 price. cuz of the GST hike

Xiaolubao, I ask the staff, they do accomodate, as long as you are willing to pay for the extra table charges.

Just some info for you gals here.

Going to change location liao

Hi dark wing,

I went to the Oriental Wedding Show on Sunday too... The 2008 package is out, according to the coordinator i spoke to, Sep 08 onwards, for weekend package, per table is $1088++!! $200 increment from current $888+++.

scary man... got to strike Oriental off my list...

wah!! that price hike is quite a big jump... can you sign up now and get the 888+++ pricing instead???

i was at the showcase on sunday too.. hmmm, am thinking which theme i want to have... i can only confirm that i dont want the garden theme, cos dont suit the ballroom... what are all of your views on the different themes??

Hi all, i popped by Oriental to have a look too. However, the fan-shaped ballroom seems a little odd. DOes anyone know where the march-in will be from? If it's from the side, doesn't it mean that guests from the other side won't be able to witness the march-in clearly?

hi jolene,

according to the coordinator, $888+++ is for Jan 08 - Aug 08 weddings, $1088++ is for Sep 08 - Dec 08 weddings...

have you met up with anyone? double check with them lor..

I actually prefer the garden theme bcos i've always wanted an outdoor garden sort of wedding.. so i was thinking of taking the garden theme and have the entire wedding like an outdoor one (but with air-con), i.e., live band, dance floor, buffet..., and the guests to come in sundresses, khaki pants, short sleeve shirts etc, anything to fit in the garden theme actually...

hi racherly,

i think there are 2 types of march-in, 1 is from one end to the other (where the stage is and you will walk pass all the tables beside you), so it's a long march-in..

the other one will be from one end, u walk walk walk somewhere to the middle then turn left, where the stage is....so you will not walk past the second half of the tables...

I also visit the show. But I am disappointed that this time they dont give harhbour view at all. They are giving city view only. If we want to upgrade to a much better view which will cost us $799+++ per night. That is too much

Yah only ask basis loh. then After 08, the price will go higher.

I was rather disappointed with the room. Not that posh afterall.. Compared to other hotels in the area.

I ask the lady who show ask around on the outdoor solemnisation stuff.. she pointed to the far side of the pool, but no tentage going to be set up. max 100pax. Very disappointed by that too.

Oh, well have to see other hotels in the area. Heard Pan Pac was not that nice too.

See how.. Half sianz already, thot they can provide better

Hi Dark Wing,

I strongly agree with you regarding the rooms. I think they should let us stay in the sea view not the city view. Very disappoint.

Hi Dark Wing,

I attended my colleague's wedding at Oriental poolside, even thou there's no tentages, the overall ambience was very nice. But really have to see your luck on how's the weather going to be like. The weather was fantastic on that night.

The city view suit's view is not really fantastic but its supposedly bigger than the habour view which was why they decided to just use that room for bridal suites cos couples can actually do tea ceremony in the room if they need *shrugs*

Thanks Cheryl! I think I saw forrest production before, looks nice
I've booked mine as well. Just went for my gown trying last Sat, can't wait to see how my gowns will turn out!

Hi Kentia,

Which BS did you take? Forrest production is good if you like a humorous approach to your wedding highlights. I had a good impression of the VG tha's why I took him.

I just went in to book my wedding package in JB. Also went in to choose my photoshoot gowns
should be taking my phots in aug.

Snow,

Perhaps you can discuss with your coordinator regarding the change of room to harbour view. It also depends on your amt of tables. You have more bargaining power if you have a big wedding......

Cheryl, I'm using Mr & Miss Wedding Club. Read some bad reviews about it but when I went down for my first session, it went quite alright. Can't wait to see how the results look like *cross fingers*. My photoshoot will be in Jul! Your PS will be in JB as well?

Kentia: Yah really have to depend on weather for the outdoor.. But they did say will provide alternative pending on the no of pax you have. Sighz. abit disappointed liao.. since mine is around 08 - 09.

The price is really a big turn off.. so it the fan ball room. I really like the set up.. Love theme esp.

Simple and grand look. White and Gold.

Think they will usu reserve a function room for you and if it rains and you have to utilise the room then they charge you for that.

Price wise, all hotels will generally increase their price every year.. just a matter of how much they increase..

Well,

what do to... sianz.. have to wait and see loh. can just keep increasing my budget.

nver ending liao. already shifting my budget bar up another 5 to 10K liao.

Haiz

Hi Cheryl_c,

My FH and I have been bargain with them inculding their director Bobby for the harbour view. They die die want us to top up $790+++ per night. That is too much. For a normal walk-in customer at city view cost us $680+++ and harbour view will be $880+++. I just dont understand y do I need to Top up so much for a harbour view. And I am having 35 tables not 15 tables....
And I have downgrade my 2 night city view to exchange for 1 night at harbour view also cannot.. All they just want us to top up the $$$ then they allow us to get harbour view... Will you top up that much to get a harbour view?
Sianzz....

Snow,

Is it so?? Seem to remember that for my contract, they gave me 2 night's stay at habour view suite i think. Maybe it is due to the fact that i sign up during the bridal show......

If you really can, then bargain on something else like another night's stay for the helper's room or what
for the amt of tables you have, they should be able to give you something......

Kentia,

Yup will split my PS into 2 days to shoot bith garden and beach in JB cos I have too many gown change. In the end they gave me 8 gowns change

Hi Cheryl_c,

actualy they do give me Day helper room. But I really dont what else can I bargain somemore. Which month bridal show do you sign up?
Can I know what offer do they give u so that I can bargain for it too.
Btw, when is your actualy day?

Snow,

My AD is 04jan08. I had the same amt of tables as you. I asked them to convert my day helper's room to a overnight stay room if I increase my tables to 38. I went for the Jan bridal show.

My contract includes free corkage waiver of wines and liquor, 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table, free flow of beer, 2 nights stay at suite, $600 spa voucher, free use of projectors, $80 room service dining voucher, free use of function room for solominzation.... That's all I rem for now.

Hope it helps....

Hi Cheryl_c,
Who do you liase with at Oriental? I was trying to negotiate with mine for 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table but they would only allow it if I exchanged the other perks for it. They were quite inflexible about it. Do you really have 2 nites' stay at harbour view suite? I tried to ask for that too actually.

Hi poppy,
My coordinator is yiwen. I had all this perks because of the brdal show in Jan. I had 2 nights stay but I can't remember if it's city view or habour view.

Sometimes it could be due to the amount of tables you booked. the bigger the wedding the more perks you have.......

Hi all Oriental BTB,

I am interested to hold my banquet in Oriental.

I went down to Oriental yesterday to take a look at the ballroom and also met up with Mark. I realise the ballroom is not those normal rectangular shape, is a fan shape, this is not so bad.

But the stage is in the middle of the ballroom and was plainly decorated.

Any idea how improved on that??

xinyi, your appointment at 1pm? Hubby and I met Mark at 12noon to sort of finalize some details of our banquet next month.

Saw the ballroom and atrium suite,I still find them "china" as I didn't see any wine glasses!

Xinyi, about the plain deco, you can have flowers to beautify it.

For those who worry about the credit card limit, I've checked with Mark, he said is okay to pay by credit card 50% and cash 50%.

Luckily we have only 12 tables,no need to increase hubby's credit card limit.I thought is quite easy to just call to increase credit limit just for special day eg:wedding? Mark also told us that you girls can just call the bank and inform them is your special day and they will allow increasing of credit limit, but must inform the date you are going to sign the card.

Basically hubby and I are very happy with their arrangement and they are quite helpful and accomodative.

we've got
-free wine per confirmed table(we didn't bargain, just asked and req granted)
-free LCD usage(most hotel charge u for this)
-2 nights at Harbour view Suite(those who sign now are not allow to use HV Suite, unless top up 600++ and for those who sign only 12tables, only 1 night is free)Mark actually extended late check out for us
-Wedding favours can be mix
-I req to have cupcakes stand for my cupcakes and was granted too! extra cakes for platting w/o any charge
-They will even prepare teapot and red dates tea for our tea ceremony
-I have req deco for actual tables for our wishing card and place cards was granted too.

I req to have a room for day use,approval pending.

Hi BenDi,

I'm havent met up with Mark yet but sent him an email negotiating for perks. The perks Mark gave you sound great! Better than a lot of other hotels
Anyone sign up recently? Were the same perks given for recent sign ups? My wedding's on 14 Sept.

lubao,
I don't think is the same anymore. We are so glad that we signed up early, sept 06 and we were told that we were the most easy-going couple. we actually signed a $2k cheque on our second meeting. Most of the things Oriental provide us are after we've signed the contract. We didn't bargain, actually didn't even know what to ask from them as whatever things we req, answer is 90% YES.

We had only one thing to neg and was turned down, THE FOOD TASTING.

As I've mentioned,
-Suite given are diff, they won't give harbour view anymore unless u are willing to top up.
-They don't give 2 nights stay for 12 tables or below 12 tables.
-Free wine per table only for those who sign up during their wedding show
-Free flow of beer? I think this one you girls can bargain, my guests don't take much so we are okay to be charge $9+++ per glass
-Free LCD should be okay, you can req for this
-We've got free corkages for all wine and hard liqour that bring in but must be duty paid. This one we didn't bargain also =)

For those we've got Mark as your co-ordinator, rest assures you are def in good hand! This is the first time my hubby and I feel that we've made the right choice and we are looking forward our wedding on 26th May 07 at garden suite.

Feel free to drop by to take a look, we've got few things that are diff from many weddings in Sg and those who love victoria style like me, don't miss it!

Hi Cheryl_c,

You had a better offer than mine. I will be holding on the March 08. I dont have free wine per table, they only give me $60 for the dinne in.

Which function room you are getting? The 1st floor or the 5th floor?

Hi Bendi,

Our appt with mark was at 4pm. I agree that they offer quite a good deal. Mark have not confrim with me whether my date is avaliable.

This is what he offer to us:
- Free flow of beer
- No corkage charge for wines and liquor (We think this is good enough, as compare to other hotels. Although, give 1 bottle for each table plus corkage charge. Wavied off even better. :P)
- Free 2 LCD usage.
- Additional 5% more on car park coupons.

Others are pretty standard, like 2 nites stay and so on.. I also asked for a helpers room. Still waiting for him to reply.

As for 50%, I know can increase credit limit. Mark said will try to delay the payment. Like maybe 2-3 weeks before big day instead of 1 month. So that by the time we receive the CC bills, we got angbao money to pay back. Heh~

What bothers me is the deco and the stage location. Any ex oriental brides have advise on this??

Hi snow

I'm holding my wedding in the first level ballroom. When did you sign up with them??

Who is your coordinator?? Had you decided on your theme??

Its quite hard for you to negiotiate for extra perks when the contract is already signed cos everything is not in black and white.......

Hi Cheryl_c,

I am with Sandy. Who is your coordinator? I like either the xi or love. FH like dream. MIL like xi.
Which do you like?

Hi Snow,
I know your pain. My wedding's in March 08 too, and it's on a weekend and 35 tables. When is yours? I just wish they were more flexible. I didn't get the harbour suite too....I just feel that more can be done, but they are not willing to be flexible. Its frustrating cos already signed, so can't do much.. Maybe we should speak to them together...Hmm...

Hi snow,

My coordinator is yiwen, she is very easy going and I actually didn't need to negiotiate cos she gave me everything already.....

I will be taking the Dream theme.... heard from the banquet manager that it looks the best in the oriental ballroom...

Xinyi_reiko,

I will put my stage in the middle so my march in will be L shaped...

Poopy,

You can always try to negiotiate but chances are not high.... I didn't sign the contract till all terms are clearly stated inside. Verbal agreement is just not as good...... Good luck......