Mandarin Oriental Singapore

Hi Compassrose,

I think I have the pics of cupid
If I have time I will upload them tonite..coz it is in my other comp at home.
I choose the cupid coz I never seen them from other hotel and it match my color theme :D

I think it is easy for them to waive the corkage. Just ask from them. Btw I think they reduce the price for wine, if I'mnot wrong during my time, I need to pay 45++ per bottle if I exceed the wine they provide for us.

Yup.. FS is very stingy abt freebies. Some of the coor quite stuck up too although they are professional on what they r doing. I guess they have to maintain their image :P

The only reason I choose another hotel is the becoz of the food. The serving is quite little. It happens that I attended wedding dinner there 1 wk before I supposely sign the contract. My table go home hungry :P So I decided to change my venue. After FS I went to Hyatt. Almost sign with them too :P

Hmm.. I think some of the coordinator are quite unhappy with me to withdraw last min.

Hi Bendi,

What is oversea fruit? Is it the passion fruit?
U mean u choose from the wedding menu rite?

Hi Chummy,

It's very normal, until the every last min, we can stil change our mind. It's alot of $$$ involved.
Think we did the same thing, after FS, i went to hyatt as well. The camelia room at hyatt is very small tho the package is comphrehensive. Oriental food menu (and about the same price with FS)seems more interesting than FS. At least they serve suckling pig slice.. I love them.. Too bad, Oriental dun provide free food tasting session for tables under 30.

Well, guess i will make a appt with oriental to discuss further on their package. Btw, it's Yiwen who send me the packages. Is she good? and easy with free perks? hee..

If you can, upload the pics for us.. Many Thanks!

Mine will be a weekend wedding dinner.

Very suaku, is actually in the menu, Sweet The Bliss (Seasonal Fruit Salad in Spiced Syrup and Coconut Sherbert)for the guest and
Everlasting Cheng Tng Jelly with Biscotti will serve to the family members

Hi Compassrose

My coordinator is Yiwen. She's quite pleasent to talk to. Not sure if she's easy on perks. Cos when I asked her to waive corkage, she said cannot. Only cn reduce price. Whereas BenDi had hers waived by Mark. Other than tht.. she kept saying cn be discussed in later parts. I presume she cn be quite flexible if pushed.

Hi Compassrose,

Yup Oriental menu is better than FS.

I was very tempted with Hyatt initially. It is so much cheaper. $828 per table oready inclusive the wine, beer, food tasting n deluxe room for helper. But my hubby insist to go Oriental coz he likes the garden suites better than Camilia.
We had quite ding donk here n there cos I insist on Hyatt n he insist on Oriental. :D I scared I will make too much loss if I go for Oriental n not enuf fund to go honeymoon :D

My coordinator are no longer there..the coordinators in Oriental r the new batch. Have no experience with any of them.

Yup yup.. I will upload the pic as soon as i can.
Try to find time tonite.

If u really dun wanna pay for food tasting u can change ur 1 nite stay at the suite into food tasting or wine or beer. Try to negotiate with them lor.. cos $700 is quite a lot of money for food tasting..

i def want a 2 night stays as our wedding is so much diff from ordinary one,We'll be checking in a day before, rest well and the next day morning(not 7am) MUA can do makeup and photographer will be there to take pic from the moment i start make up, suite, hotel area and he will then drive us around Sg to take some photos. At 1-2pm, resting in the hotel and enjoy our english tea, photographer will need to do some montage for photos taken during the day and combine with the one we are going to do in Sydney. At 5pm, photo taking starts again for tea ceremony(must show respect) and proceed to the wedding dinner. We need a bigger room for tea ceremony and everyone enjoys in the suite with wine before the dinner starts.Glad that they allow us to take the cityview suite as it is really big. We don't mind the view as PS is to be done in the day and the view are not very fantastic(day time) when the construction going on(can see from the window), if really need to have the view(at night) then we will consider getting extra room (harbour room) at special rate, $300++.

hubby is happy that we are away from chinese traditional wedding except i insist on the GDL, cos I think is fun.

We decided to get wine on ourselves(wolfblass)not expensive la, less than $20/bottle and our guests(more than 50%) don't drink wine, another 50% are my colleagues(doc), oversea guests(angmo),hubby's old friends(1 table), his current colleagues non-alchoholic, my fellow colleague(nurses).

Food tasting costs $300+. Maybe I'll ask for 6 pax then hopefully can be waived.

This is te pics of the cupid

388629.jpg

Chummy,
I saw that too but was told that it may not be this one in 2007. Anyway, we got free wine/ table and the food tasting is not $300 plus but is 40% off = $600 plus.

So far, these are what we got
-free corkage for hard liquor
-free projector usage
-free wine per confirmed table/waived corkage fee if self purchase
-2 nights stay in Cityview Suite(highest floor), allow checking one day early
-more candles for decorations

Hi BenDi,

I think ur package quite a good deal. At least u manage to get the free wine :D

Frankly I do not find their favour fantastic. The choice r really limited. So I just try to pick the best from wat is available.
Good if they can bring more variety for 07.

So u confirm go with Oriental now?

Btw I just attend the FS dinner at Crescent Ballroom. The ambience is really nice.
I would say in terms of the room itself Crescent is much nicer than Oriental Garden Suite.

Hmm.. they have totally different feeling though.. Oriental being the modern n chic type n FS being the elegant n romantic with those chandelier They have better layout too. None of the table have blocked view. :D

Just my opinion..

What u you mean? Meaning the perks quoted by Oriental is not confirmed?

Is this another case of empty promises?

To be honest, their sales presentation is one of the best around. The things that they show us is very detailed.

Haiz, i m back to 50/50 again.

It really depends, think have to give and take, for us, we choose this hotel as we really like it. We asked for some other things and willing to let go some items in our package. They are very accomodative la. Service is good so far, only the response is a bit slower and no as "on" as Regent but we will definately go for Oriental as this is our only choice.

Both me and hubby already know this is the one we wanted and regardless the perks, we will still go for it, asking perks are mainly trying out our luck.

We are making it simple and easy now, don't wish to spend more than expected as (kiv) migrating to Syd next year. =)

Chummy, is true that no table will be blocked but then the feeling is diff when entering FS and Oriental, FS very angmo feeling but if look carefully, is really that type of typical aged ballroom and the coordinator is really stingy for perks.

People like my hubby(he very suaku) doesn't even know FS is a 5* hotel and he wonder why choose such a hotel. I believe many will "wah" when entering Oriental Hotel and may even feel paiseh to have place $50/$60 in the angpow.

(hopefully these ppl will put few more 10dollas in the toilet, hahahaha)

Hi Bendi,

Haha as I said.. it is a matter of preference..

Some ppl prefer FS cos of their ballroom feeling n some ppl r simply love oriental coz of their chic ballroom..

I did have some 50/60 angpaos for my dinner :D
Depends on ur guest lah.. but most ppl dun really care where is the dinner and they will still put the same amount of money..
It happens to most of my frens wedding too..regardless where u have it u cant avoid $50 angpao. Some even get less

That good if u have decided on ur venue.. now u can move on on other things

ya. I've actually make it very clear how much per person for the dinner.hahaa..
Thank god i don't have stingy relatives and my hubby's friends are generous. Anyway, we prepare about $5k for the banquet. How much did u lose for your dinner?

hi ladies...

me like most of you, am a great fan of oriental and am seriously considering it for my AD as well!
However, if not wrong, their package does not include any free beer right? can anyone share if they had any beer thrown in? Thanks!

Thanks Bendi!! :p

we actually going to have at least 40 tables or more..so will try to "fight" for free beer!! at least a 20/30litres barrel..heehee..

Hi Bendi,

Mine was quite mess up.. I dun really know hoe much we gain or loss from the dinner only. coz we mix the angpao from church n dinner together. But I think in average ppl give abt 80. Some ppl give 50 but there ppl that give above 100. I'm not including family here.

But if u prepared to loss 5k for dinner is definitely ok. Let say u take full capacity of 15 tables, per person will give u $70 per person (which usually ppl give more) and u incurred loss 5K.
Err.. but I dun count the wine here though..

I just signed up with oriental with Mark. really a fantastic guy who goes all out to accomdate us and our budget.

I am glad to read that if I am prepared to lose 5k then that's fine. cause oriental for me is way over my budget but my husband loves it there. so the 5k deposit paid is as good as gone. Now i only hope that we make enough to cover the rest of the cost.

like someone mentioned wine is not free and therefore the cost of wine is extra burden...

Hi Gemshin,

That's great! We had a great experience with Mark as well. He know his stuff well, importantly is to have the perks document in the contract.

At least they waive off the corkage, which will save heaps of $$$. U can source for cheaper and nice alternatives.

I am going to see the venue again before we finalise our decision.

Hi Diana,

For ballroom, it's a min of 30 - 35 tables. Guess it also depends if it's the peak or non - peak month.

Hope the infors helps!

Hi All Oriental Lovers,

The more I see the forum, the more I 'drool' about Oriental. But the price is really over my budget and as much as I like Oriental, i may need to give up for my next fav Sheraton..

I think they r pretty sticky on beer/wine portion but tat is really one big hidden cost if we do nt get a favorable gain on that.. hmmmm...

Hi BenDi,

The packages are pretty similar in terms of perks but prices differ by quite a fair bit (couple of $k) so thats why my bf is wondering if its worth it.. Some differences:-
1) Sheraton is L shape ballrm (high ceiling plus lower ceiling) whereas Oriental is fan shape with average height throughout
2) Sheraton food by Li Bai restaurant & oriental is banquet team.
3) Oriental has got 25% free valvet parking whereas Sheraton no free valvet
... so really depends on what u r looking out for

Sspl
u can get see the pics for the harbour terrace ones if u have the latest Style wedding mag... Go to the real wedding section..feature a couple having their wedding at harbour terrace.

Don't mean to dampen your spirits if you have set your mind on the hotel.

No doubt about their sales talk, it's impressive. Truly disappointed with their follow up skills. Maybe just with a senior person we have been liaising. A simple tentative booking can be mishandled.. How about the big day?

Dear BTB,

If you are really interested in the place. Please be real careful and have everything in writing and request for a confirmation email from them and not based on verbal trust. If needed, cc a higher authority at director level to ensure no hiccups.

Hi BenDi,

We have elevate the matter to a higher authority and waiting for a response. To be fair, think i should give them some time to resolve the conflict before i share with you guys.

Anyways, congrats! one thing off your mind i supposed. To be objective, the packages the hotel offered is not too bad. Unfortunately, this incident happened on us. I am unhappy on how this senior person handle our incident.

Please ensure all the perks are in the letter of agreement before you sign ya. Even the smallest things like carpark coupons.

Hi to all, we went to Oriental today and finally signed on the dotted line. We have to say that the perks we got are really good and they are very accomodative.

So far everything goes smooth for us.
Banquet Venue-Settled
Air Ticket-bought
Photographer-booked for pre-wedding and AD
Bridal Shoes-bought

Now waiting to go for first fitting of my gown.

compassrose, how r they going to settle yr problem? they mishandled my tentative booking, too. so though i was the 1st called up and talk about it for garden suits booking on my date, while i waited for the sales gal's reply on some of my package questions, my function room was taken out by some other event without informing me! very disappointed...

BenDi, you are right. they the perks they offered are really good though i only have 12 tables. However, now, i lost my function room. =(

consider to change date? just wonder. Feel free to go my blog and see the atrium suite, is quite nice too. maybe they can compensate you with the suite at no additional cost (min 15 tables for atrium suite). very cozy and private too with 12 tables, they will use big tables then the room doesn't look empty. or maybe you can do it outdoor, level 5, I've seen the set up for 15 tables and it looks great too. I actually forgot to include some of my fellow colleagues(doctors), i am a nurse. so if my no. goes up i will go for the outdoor.

BenDi, thanks for the photoes. is it because of the color or what, i find the Atrium Suit is a bit plain. Too less flowers. Is that so?
my coordinator is trying to make up something for me. But no guarentee, only will know it on thur. =( will PM you once i got this is resolved. but u no worry, mistakes are still minority cases. Dont let it spoil yr dream =)
btw, really like yr shoes. where did you get it? any other good designs?

Hi BenDi,

Congrats on choosing Oriental..

Just being Kaypoh here.. do u mind sharing wats additional perks u got from Oriental??