Mandarin Oriental Singapore

twinstarz, yfj n pink
just sent..check your email..
btw the Oreintal hotel is the second dinner venue u see in the pics..
1st one is in JB.

smalllucida
I printed my cards two mths before the dinner.. mine was in march..so I printed in Jan..
I printed mine at a printer in AMK..think my earlier posts in archived got mention..
can't rem off hand of the name..:p

I finished my wedding (yeah)
Happy, Jing Xian.Touching!!!!

Happy thing was, many ppl said that I m very pretty. B4 iwas very worry abt my dress too Exaggeration was not suitable for spore style.
Finally most of people said: super pretty!! In the hotel, other people, (i guess they live in this hotel too) , they came in said: Congratulations to me and asked me to take pictures with them. One India couple, asked me ‘’May I took picture with u, you look like a princess!’’ She said that only royalty can wear such evening gowns because one of my green color gowns has an Indian look. They guessed I was a princess and was holding my wedding here.

My sisters helped me to design and set up the reception table for me. All the people said: It was very nice. The hotel manager said too. My husband’s friends told him it was very nice and asked if it was the hotel who done it up for us.

Jing Xian was.... my wedding gown zipper was broken while I preparing to change and it was time for the first march in and the guests were already all seated in and waiting for me. I was so anxious and worried that i wanted to cry…..However, I called my husband to help, he ran up to our room and brought the hotel manager together with him, the hotel manger immediately took my wedding gown and sent it to the housekeeping department to fix it. I waited anxiously for about 15 minutes and I repeatedly called my husband about 10 times during this time to ask about the gown!!! Finally the gown was fixed and the hotel manager ran up to our room to give it to me. Thanks you so much to the hotel manger.

Touching was… I cant believe my husband made such a nice wedding dinner for me. Before I did not believe him because I was not in Singapore to arrange it myself. All things he did for me. (Make up, photographer, video and meeting with hotel). Before he picked up me, he did sweet and funny things for me. then I cried in front of my hubby!

One thing I want to say that Spore style is totally different in HK. I mean make up!!!!!
In spore the make up artist will only do your makeup for one time at night and leave after that So if you want to change your hairstyle or touch up your makeup, you will have to do it yourself. Even my package was whole day package, just for morning time and night time each one time. When I was doing my make up, I asked my MUA, what is the next style for my next dress? She said: I just make up one time; I was shocked, because I didn’t know this and I didn’t bring some of my make up stuff. How come? And how about my hair do? She said: this is spore style after that I have do by it myself!! Luckily, she set the hair do for me, let me easy to control. In HK, the bridal will wear at least 4 or 5 dress during the dinner and the MUA will change the make up and hairdo everytime. I think this is HK style!!! Anyway, I wish all the girls have wondeful wedding.

PS: Thanks you so much Orientl Hotel gave me excellent services!!!!

tamm
glad u enjoyed your wedding..
yup..singapore style is like that one..if u want the 2nd make up, u have to pay extra..
I did for mine..

hey got any pics to show?
can email me?

coco
mine was the old pricing..if not wrong, the current price is $880+++ for a table on weekends while it's $780+++ on weekdays. think the other gals may help ya better.

Hi Star Star n Tamm,

Can I see your photos please? It must be very pretty...I am having a wedding lunch at garden suite in Dec? Anyone going to have buffet lunch at garden suite recently???

I'm planning for a wedding lunch at garden suite too. But do u gals find the march in too short? Any way to lengthen the march in? Does anyone have the garden suite photos to share? Can email to me [email protected]

kei kei, i think you might want to ask the coordinator on how to lenthen the march in. mine will be at the atrium, so my coor did mention about the march in. L shape march in, or a shorter route if i have too many tables that nite

Dear Ladies,

May i know who are your coordinator?

Mine is michele and i dun really liked her attitude and service. Do you think we can change?=/

pinkie, if u haven't sign the contract u still can change ur coordinator, after u sign the contract, its difficult to change, my coordinator have left Oriental already

hi Pinkie,

Michele is very nice before we sign..after we sign she become "very busy" to attend to our need

But I think most of coordinator like tt one..
But if u really cannot stand her u cld talk to the manager..they definitely change ur coordinator..

Ermm... So far, I've not seen Oriental yet. After so many attempts, I gave up. Quite disappointed with their service.

1stly, it took Michele a bit time to response to my emails.

2ndly, she postponed our appointment because of a bad cough and also didn't get back to me on when is it postponed to.

3rdly, with no response to her, I received an email from another guy whom was quite nice to arrange a site inspection for me but as I was stuck in a very bad jam that day and was going to be late for 30 mins, the meeting was cancelled as he had another appointment at that time. He did say he will call me the next day to arrange another appointment but till now I've not heard from him. That was almost 2 weeks ago.

Even before I signed with them, I'm getting such service, I cannot imagine when and IF I sign with them, what kind of service will i get.

Hi Winnie...guess i got to 'stick' with her then =P

Chummy...i agree with u...guess i got to be less gan jeong and concentrate on other things for now...

hope everything goes well...hee...

Hi pinkie..

U r welcome..

Btw have u sign up with them??

Hi Mage,

If u really like Oriental, dun give up jus becoz of the coordinator.. I got bad experience with Hyatt coor. before..
One thing I learn tt all coordinator are the same.. they very nice when they want u to sign up.. but at the bargaining stage they can be irritating as well.. after signing up.. "computer breakdown" is the most common reason

The funny thing, Michele n my PG like to use tt kinda excuse for replying my email late..

hi all, can share the pics of garden suite with wedding decor, i m most likely going to sign up end of this month too.thanks!!

i've signed up w oriental & my coord is liping. Have also met michele b4. all along i've not been very pleased w their service but it was one of the few places that we liked n that could provide the menu that we were looking for so no choice.

Guess it's a common thing for them to reply email late. I'm always chasing for a reply & sometimes they reply an email but leave out some things unanswered. I don't get follow-up mails after meetings, etc... Have a feeling that it's their culture. I've requested for a change of coord b4 but the DOS said he had only liping & michele so i dun have a choice. Wasn't impressed by him either.

To be very frank, coming from the same industry, I'm rather disasppointed to receive such service. To me, for things like email, even if they dun have the answer immediately, they should still acknowledge receipt of the mail n say when they can revert and really revert by their own deadline (which they dun). Also i find that they r not very forthcoming with info in general.

Despite all these, I've recommended a fren for their Garden Suite but she's not able to view the place as she lives overseas. They didn't respond to her request to send her pics n it came to a pt where they asked her for a decision, despite not having seen the place as there was someone else on the waitlist. Obviously she cancelled her reservation & they lost the biz.

They claim to check the forum regularly. So well, if any of Oriental staff is reading this, I'm sure that you get the message loud and clear that you certainly need to pull up your socks!!!!

Hi Chummy,

I signed with them last year Sept..for my sept wedding this year! =D yourself?

Hi Mage,

Hope they'll get back to u soon...

Hihi de_luxe, i was fr the hospitality line too and can understand their workload and all..But all i can say is that it's really our luck to meet such wedding planners man.

Can i check if anyone went ahead with their wedding without any food tasting? we need to pay 50% for food tasting as we have less then 30 tables...

Hi pinkie... mine is in June :P

My colleague said the food there is good.. but ofcourse everybody has different opinion lah.. I dun think food tasting is tt important..afterall at the AD itself the food might taste different since they will mass cook everything..

hey gals...
just something to share..when u go for food tasting... after the session, the cook n coord will meet wif u... do remind them abt the standard of food on AD...dun becos mass cook, it drop...they'll note it one..cos it seems that for me, the standard of food was as good as my food tasting on my AD..

pinkie
hey..that's the whole essence of food tasting...not only to choose n taste the food also to reinforce your requests... n keke..demands...
the cook will defintely come out n talk to u one... also if any dish u not happy wif one of the ingredient...for me, I changed the grilled eel to prawn instead... also changed another dish. Orignally it's vege wif mushrooms..I changed it to scallops... no additional cost.

we even told the cook not to anyhow cook on our AD..if not, we'll demand for extra discounts from our final bill... keke.. my coord was also ard when we said this..:p haha... they kept assuring us it'll not happen...glad it didn't..

chummy
if u r not satisifed wif the dish...but somehow can't think of what to change into..they will suggest to u..no worries.. cos for one of my dish, we just dun want the eel... but can't think of what to change to..so the cook suggest using prawns as subsitute...

Hi, I'm about to sign on the dotted line with Oriental Hotel. Just wondering if there are anything I should ask on top of the standard package?

waiver of corkage or reduced, also if u have overseas guests coming, u can ask for a reduced rates for them or even a night stay in a room...

Iaske dfor change in some food not becos not nice..keke...just dun like eatin geel...not everyone eats eel lah... so asked for a universal stuffs...

hi bride to be at oriental htl,

i am seriously considering oriental htl for my wedding in 2007. any info to share with me as i am only intending to have a cozy wedding for 100 guests.....

The hotel offers me 25% valet parking.. do u think its advisable to ask for change to Marina Sq basement parking instead? cos the coupon for valet parking cannot be used for Marina Sq basement parking. Can share with me your thots on this?

keikei
for my wedding, guests who parked at marina sq still get to have the free parking using the same coupon..think u ask your coord abt this again... should be able to waive if not wrong..

Starstar,

It is specified in the draft contract that the coupon cannot be used for Marina sq parking.
Do u think i should ask for a change? Cos i think most guests will jus park at the MS carpark instead of using valet parking.

hi all. i've been having some problems with michele like some of you. she's always making empty promises about returning calls and stuff.. before we signed contract she reassured us that she'd be our "alarm clock" and assist us with the hotel and wedding arrangements closer the time...now i find myself chasing her all the time!! she's not once called me about anything. if I hadn't called her to arrange the food tasting and to collect the cards I'm quite sure she would've forgotten.

I'm worried she's going to screw up my big day and was wondering if there's someone else in the Oriental team who is more responsible that I can liase with.. so sad to have to deal with her.. i dread calling her...

Hi booboos,

U may tried to call Sandy. She is not the manager though.. just the coordinator. But usually she get back to you faster.. and more friendly

kei kei
not sure n that leh...think check wif your coord...if can't, inform your guest to valet park then... think valet parking more ex than the normal parking right? For me, I asked my guests to valet park but on that day not enough parking at valet so the hotel allow them to have free parking at marina sq car park... u can ask your coord abt it... My case can't be help cos that day NATAS travel fair also on... keke.. so super crowded n very hard to find parking space...

anyway...my hubby n me planning to go stay in oriental for a nite over the polling day weekend cos we've got an anniversary stay included in our package...
looking forward to it..

star star,

me just sign the contract today.
i stick to the valet parking cos my coordinator told me to inform my guests abt the arrangement. shouldn't be a prob.

Btw, which bridal suite u chose? they only show me the harhour view suite. but i heard that the city view suite is much bigger.

Hi booboos

I've heard that Michele is leaving Oriental. Perhaps the new person will be better?

They also have a new Catering Sales Director called Bobby. Maybe you could try raising ur concerns with him?

My co-ord, Liping, has recently left too (on friday). Have not spoken to the person taking over her so I'm keeping my fingers crossed that she'll be better. It would be difficult to be worst!

alya
food's good...

keikei
for suite...I was told by my coord...harbour view suites got the best view...
in terms of size not sure... I took the harbour view one... didn't really choose cos I told my coord to give me one wif good view...so she told me harbour view one offers best view...:p still I feel the suite is BIG! Love it so much that dun feel like checking out...:p

yup..for me also...told my guests to valet park but bcos my dinner coincides wif NATAS... so u can imagine the crowds... valet also not enough space....:p