Mandarin Oriental Singapore

oh. i am worried that guests percieve that Oriental is less known?? is it? do you ladies find the ceiling of the garden suite too low?

I'm holding a wedding lunch at garden suite and holding my tea ceremony before the lunch. Has anyone done that before? Can give some advice on the wording on the cards?

Anyone use the hotel invitation cards? Did u print on inserts or directly on the cards? Normal printing or hotstamping? Appreciate if someone can give some advice. Totally lost.

Keikei,

Yhe city suites is much bigger.. but like star star said the harbour veiw has nicer view..so depends on wat u need. If you have tea ceremony in the room, I guess it is better to take city suites. More spacious.
Btw mine is at Garden suites too
but for dinner.

Hi de_luxe,
Michele is leaving?? But nobody inform me leh..she is my coordinator now. Do I need to call them??

Hi alya,

Hmm.. agree with you.. most ppl still know Oriental as a hotel before they do reno... they do not know tt Oriental price has increased so much n can match with Four season's price.

Haha.. just dun hope for too much ang pao

The ceiling doesnt concern me actually, I'm more concern abt the odd shape..

Hi chummy

I heard abt it through the industry's grapevine. Think u dun need to panic. I suppose she would call u just b4 her last day to inform u & also to tell u who's taking over. At least that was what Liping did. She called me on Monday to tell me that Friday will be her last day and the person taking over is Sun Sun. So probably Michele will do the same in a couple of weeks. They might also be in the midst of looking for a replacement.

Thanks for the info Star!

Oh michele is leaving? I wonder if the new person will be better then her?

My wedding is in 4mths time yet no one contacted me with regards to the wedding invites/ballroom decor and food tasting yet...Usually how soon should they cntct us?

*pray hard*

pinkie
they usus contact u abt 3mths bef or for ard 2 mtnhs bef... if u wanna settle ASAP, u can call them to arrange a meeting ard 3 mths bef your AD.. should be no prob..

hi , i just sign up with oriental last week. my co-ordinator is mark chan who took over from michelle.
hi pinkie, heard from mark that they will call u three mth b4 ur weddin so don worry.

hi all oriental brides...

i saw that channel u show that featured oriental....love the suite and the view from oriental...

may i know wat is the price range now for oriental banquet for wkends? many thanks!

i've went down to view the poolside last week and i fall in love with the ambiance at the poolside but i find the place is too dim to hav dinner there. any bride having their wedding at the poolside? an comment and feedback tat u can share?

after my visit i tried to call the wedding planner to fix an appointment however, seem that the wedding planner is soooo busy to entertain me and have to fix an appointment the nxt following week..... so disappointed.

Is there any other wedding planner tat i can meet up with?

Oh! I dunno if my advice is useful but I just did a company function there last month. The event was successful but we had tons of problems with the hotel. I basically was sold on the idea of an outdoor event concept and that was how I eventually ended up with the place. HOWEVER, it rained in the afternoon and suddenly, the staff told us that we are not allowed to use the place as their management's decision is that once the area is wet, it would be hazardous to the guests. That almost gave me a heart attack and this was not made known before I signed on the contract!

There were also other problems that I faced with the hotel - lack of response (an email reply would take on the average 3 to 5 days) and I had to even call up the hotel to chase for my contract when the event was only 2 weeks away. So, I am not sure if they are short handed or something since you seem to be experiencing the same thing. Sigh... I just wrote a letter of complaint to the management on these 'cos it was indeed a disappointment in the lack of professionalism and urgency.

But if you were to ask about the lighting, yes, it was a tad too dim. If you want them to put up more lights, I was given an additional cost for that. An advice is that f you are having buffet style, it may not be too good an idea. Some of our guests gave feedback on the cold and soggy food. All in all, my experience with them has been quite terrible. :o(

I just happened to leave a posting in a different thread. If you like an outdoor concept, you may wanna consider The Jewel Box, a newly refurbished Mount Faber. I was invited there for a launch party and I was quite astonished with the changes; I was not even aware that they rebuilt the place. :p I am actually planning for another company function there end May and so far, the response and attention has been fantastic. Just a tot. If you are keen, you can visit www.mountfaber.com.sg

april
think it's becos there's a change in the pax in charge... so it's the 'transitional' period...
guess u can try calling them up again to book an appt... think now it's in charge by Mark.

well.just came back from Oriental...stayed a nite over the weekend as we had a annivesary stay given to us last year when we had our dinner.
enjoyed the stay n the standard of service rendered by the staffs during our stay was 'thumbs up'... we stayed at Ritz Carlton bef too... overall feel in terms of service, we felt Oriental fares better...

For those who's having wedding recep in the garden suite...
not to worry, when we were there over the weekend, there's a wedding dinner at ballroom n some function at the garden suite... took a peek at both places..looks good...
garden suite is very cosy... think there's a company dinner there...the decor wise makes the whole place rather comfy n nice..

Hi April

I'm using harbour terrace. In my contract, there's a back-up room & the cut-off time is 3pm to move the entire function to the back-up room.

U can call Sandy the co-ordinator to try and get an appointment.

I'm not to sure abt the lighting. My photographer wanted to check it out sometime next month. I think it's kinda dim but the x co-ordinator dun seem to realise my concerns & just said that they will put more candles. I think they need to be pushed quite a bit. But so far the new co-ordinator is much better & i hope all things go well.

Buffy,
i agree that they shld have told u abt the hazardous bit prior to the signing. However, i think it's also a fair decision on the management's part cuz slippery floor is truly a hazard. My exp w them so far is that they r generally not forth coming w all the necessary info & if u dun remember to ask, they wouldn't tell u which i find really unfair.

Hi Deluxe,

Yah, it was unfair because they did not inform us in advance and if they have mentioned this to us, we may have taken this into consideration. FYI, it was a drizzle which stopped before 6pm. I definitely agree with the hazardous part because it would be truly terrible if a guest were to be injured. But what happened was they told us if we really want to have the event outdoor, they can do it but they need to mop up the area and believe it or not, the bill was 4-figure. And it was not just one grand. Sigh... Left in that situation, we had no choice because of the fact that it was a company function, all our equipment and stuff were already placed at the terrace and if we were to shift them downstairs, it would be too late. So, the takeaway for you could be you may need to check this out and see what can be done in your contract, that they do not charge you as much as they did for us for the mopping up. :o) Good luck!

hi starstar...
thanks for your comment... i have made an appointment with their wedding planner... i'm looking forward to see what they are offering.

one of my girl friend who recently confirm her wedding in oriental is getting a very attractive pkg.... i think her pkg is $700 plus with free flow of beer.... and she manage to get corkage waiver.

hi deluxe...
are u having a buffet dnr for your wedding a the harbour terrace? and how many persons are u having? my concern is on the lighting there too... find the place is too dim...

hi buffy...
can i knw how $ did they quoted u for more lighting for ur event there?

Hi Buffy

Thanks for the tip. My agreement with them is that the cut-off time is 3.30pm. So if it's raining then or looks like rain, we have to use the back-up venue. This applies even if the rain stops at say 6.30pm cuz of the time & labour required to set-up the place. We have a no. of kids so would rather they dun hurt themselves. Or what if i slipped on the march in n land in the pool, ma loo man... :p

of cuz my pref is for the terrace but if man proposes, god disposes then what to do??? At most try to plant some garlic and chilli to appease the rain god or whoever who controls the skies.

Hi April,

I'm doing a set dinner w dessert buffet. Definately didn't get the kind of deal ur fren did. Need to consider the no. of pax & day for her. HT can have max 200 pax, which is much lesser than the grand ballroom.

My guaranteed attendance is 120pax, max i will have is 150pax.

I share ur concerns abt the lighting but i guess we can improvise somehow. Will only know how bad it is after my photographer recee it in June

Hi April,

I just checked through my email and the price that I was quoted was $4000 + 1% + 5% for the stringing up of lanterns 'cos it is fairly labour intensive. We did not go ahead with it as it was very expensive.

De_luxe: Ha ha ha ha... Yah man, if slipped inside would be very malu! But after they mopped the place for us, it was OK, quite dry I would say. Did not have much of a puddle... :o)

oh, can anyone share with me the oriental buffet dinner package? Our date will be next year hot date (if my father is well) wanna know roughly how much per pax, same like deluxe, I have approx 120, a few 10 relatives from overseas cannot confirm yet.

hi deluxe,
i've ever ask the wedding planner whether i can a chinese dinner at the poolside and they told me that they can't do any sit down dinner... only buffet dinner that they can arrange.... so strange... i have to re-conrfirm with them again as i dun feel like having a buffet as it sound cheap (for the older generation thinking).

hi buffy

thanks for ya info... i feel that it's very expensive... i rather spend that $$$ on my honeymoon. May need to explore on the lighting if i'm going for oriental...

hi chummy

i'm quite sure that my gal friend getting 700 pkg. Her wedding is this year. I think she is having abt 30 plus tables.... that is the reason why she get such a attractive pkg....

hi bendi

yes. the weekend pkg is 880 but i think is subject to gst. when add up is abt 1000 plus..

perhaps u might want to call them and double check on the pricing.

when is yr wedding?

april
hmm..dun think u can have a sit down dinner at pool side cos the pool's abit the short..only abt 25m in length.... beside the pool is the dolce vita restaurant... only have abt 7 tables alfresco.... quite small area... so to have a sit down dinner there not feasible... u can opt to use the suites... they have garden suite... a n few others... big anough to have a sit down dinner yet cosy... nice for a few tables...

hmmm....most prob your friend's dinner on a weekday... the price for weekday n weekend the coord can't change one...it's fixed... but becos your friend have alot of tables.. the free corkage is thrown in for her...
this is one of the things u can ask for if u have alot of tables..
more bargain power..

someone took the date I wanted. =(
Many places are taken on that day so I changed our to 26th May 07.

Yaya, I am Diana..ehhee..AYOon is always my nick

hi april

i'm not having Chinese, i'm doing western. sorry for the confusion. Yes, what they said abt the kitchen not being able to manage Chinese dinner is true.

You can have a max of 20 tables of 10 pax sit down. Even for buffet as the buffet is set up to the side. Btw the area is not so near Dolce Vita. It's actually towards the back near the greenery. If u walk there, u will see a small fence in front of the harbour. That's where the stage will be & all the tables in the space in front of it. Think it's usually blocked off by potted plants so u dun really see it at 1st glance. Cuz of the location, it's also quite private.

I think u just choose what u wanna have, why bother so much abt the older generation? It's YOUR big day anyway. As long as the pple whose opinions matter to u (e.g. parents) are ok, then just go for it. Believe me, the more u try to please the world, the more unhappy & stressed u will be.

Maybe ur fren got a gd pkage cuz last min booking & maybe it's not a popular date. There are reasons why some pple get good bargains.

BTW, buffets are not necessarily "cheap". It really depends on how it's set-up and the type of food items on it. So far, Oriental does well in both areas.

hi deluxe
thanks for all yr feedbacks. i think u r right.... it's very difficult t please everybody.. i'll need discuss wif my husband.

my appointment with the wedding planner at oriental is a totally a disappointment... i hv fix a date with the planner and on the day itself, i have received a called from one of the girl to cxl the apt. i was so mad as i have applied a day leave from work and they give me the reason that there is a mistake in the apt. what is this!!!!!!

with this kind of treatment before i even confirm my wdg with them, i think this planner and hotel is not up to my standard and i dun think they can meet up to my expectation...

have any of the brides here encounter this before or am i the unlucky one ....

anyway, as i planning to hv my wedding outdoor, my friend has recommanded me the fort canning... perhap i will go down and view the venue. hopefully i will meet a better planner this time round...

april
gee... what a horrid planner...hmmm.. think the planner u liase wif is it Mark? think he's new... last time it was rather smooth one leh...

u holding your wedding outdoor? fort canning is nice..btw u consider the Legends? Attended a friend's wedding over there in Legends... nice ambience...

Mark is new in Oriental but he has been in this line for a long time, bigger hotels even in the past. And I've always read good comments about him on those other threads. Screw ups in appointments can happen in any hotel, if you are really keen, ask to have another coordinator work with you. Personally I've met up with Mark and he's one of the most responsive coordinator I've seen after visiting so many hotels.

Hi! I'm having my wedding at the Oriental at the end of the year and I must say that Mark is a very good planner, much better than the previous planners at the Oriental. From what I understand, they are severely short-handed as the previous planners have all left. So, do cut him some slack. It's not easy juggling everything together all by himself.

how many songs do u select for ur march in? like for first,2nd march in, cutting cake and champagin pouring? how long do u think the song should be long enough?still can't decide what songs. can u share with me what songs u choose? [email protected]

april
hmmm..seems like Mark's really busy...maybe u give him more time n another chance? well, if u really keen in having your wedding at Oriental...

smalllucida
sent u a mail.

Hi April Tan, I am about to sign on the dotted line for Oriental, just wonder if the 700 package is for this year or for some special promotion?

Anyone with any ideas on what things I should ask for? I have only a 30l barrel of beer. Everything else the same.

Hi Eu Jin
My gal friend weddin is for this yr... not sure that pkg will extend for next yr wedding anot...

anyway u can try to ask for the beer no harm...

my gal friend pkg comes with beeer n wine for every table but i think she ex change the wine with corkage charge waiver...

I am intending to hold my wedding for this year. I still have not signed yet. Not sure if its possible to get from them the beer and wine?

Anyway, my choices of hotel are only down to Intercon and Oriental.

Eu JIn
how many tables u planning to have? usu the more tables u have, the more bargain power u have...
if u have alot of tables, do nego for free beer n also wine corkage...

Sigh..that's the prob. I am only going for the minimum number of tables of 25. Even so, I think I might be having difficulties to hit 25. 20 would be more comfortable for me.

Do you think they can let me upgrade the menu or maybe even keep the remaining tables for use on other occasions?

Eu jin
maybe u can speak to your coord n ask abt the future use for the tables... menu wise u can upgrade but not sure if u'll need to top up or not... still u can always negotiate bef u sign the contract... much better than after signing then negotiate...

starstar
I will be negotiating with them within the next few days. Crossing my fingers that they will let me "keep" the tables for future uses!