Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hmmm...let's see when's Nutty AD then we would know if double standard or cos due to changes in mgt. Can I know as in changes in mgt...does it mean that the hotel was sold over to someone else or wat? Cos I think Mandarin is quite a big org. Or there is just an internal reshuffling of staff...puzzled.

if i remembered correctly, the manager was telling me that Mandarin is bought over by a Indonesian company. As a result, there are some shuffling of internal stuff by the new mgmt. If u notice, they have changed their logo too.

Oh really! I din notice the logo was changed! Only till now that I visit their web again then i note it. Hopefully it would a change for even better lor!

Hi Wong,

I went to Top Of the m in May.Its french fine dinning.Their set dinner cost ard $90+ to 100+.End of the bill still need to top up another $80+.MM champange still in my fridge!! I realli like their service.Although during the dinner we can't have the food,but they'll pack some food in the take-away box for us & it sent to our room.I like their bridal suite alot,I haven't been to such a big hotel room except chalet,haha.

Nutty,

MM will give the voucher on the day tat u check-in.It'll place in ur room.

For those brides-to-be,

dun worry abt their service,it realli very good! i have no regrets for choosing the hotel for my wedding.Even the banquet captains are very helpful.I was served by a malay staff(think it the captain),his service was great.

tots,
my AD is in dec 06.. solemnisation n lunch banquet
now rather cautious with the given perks.
in fact, we have asked for a change of coordinator after receiving turkey treatment from the previous one...

but after hearing so much from u all, Im rather rest assured with their service

ok...tat means nutty haven't AD yet lah. I think the extra things given to Wong YY is not stated in the contract, cos my contract also din write that down. Mine AD will be in Oct.

Nutty, what do you mean by turkey treatment? Who was your previous coordinator?

tots...yup those things i have oso not stated in contract thus when i get it was rather suprise.

Rachel,
so much? i mean top up another $80? I thought they say they have set dinner at $80+ onwards when i called them to make booking.

I oso have them packet for me.....heehee my cake still in my fridge....hahaha

BTB,
I second Rachel. The banquet captain are all very expert and helpful.

I met Malcolm in July '05 to sign the contract for my WD on 25 Feb 06, which was later postponed to May 06 due to family reason. When I emailed Malcolm in March, I was told that Derrick will be taking over. Hence, my time frame and catering managers were pretty much the same as Wong YY, but I didn't get freebies like buffet at last meeting, or tea at club house and cocktail at lounge after check-in leh!! Makes me wonder if there is really a double standard or something??!!

Hi Wong YY,

Saw your postings in the "GI" thread. How coincidental, I have selected both GI and MM just as you did, although I am "half" a GI bride, as I only took their photography package.

As regards the MM package, may I ask how many tables did you have? And did you have 2 nights stay in the bridal suite, or 1 night in bridal suite and 1 night in deluxe room? Many thanks!

Yahoo!!

Hi Rachel,
I went Top of M and is a very nice experience. The ambience is wonderful and the view is terrific and food is nice BUT price is abit pricey....heehee...with the $150 voucher, i top up another $102. However feel is worth it as for me is a one time experience.

I took the $88 set meal, had the cham wine and there is ppl singing a song for me by 3 staff, 1 cello, 2 guitar...they sings "...you are always on my mind, you are always on my mind". Really NICE....

Earl_grey

You also GI...great! have you went for your PS? Me enjoyed my PS and the photo turns out perfect. Love my photo but bcos of budget, HB and I have to take away some photo else we will be buying all from GI. Sigh...I no regrets on taking GI, Judy is nice.

aiyah...your AD not yet what...

the buffet is only when i did the last discussion with Mal for my AD and not when signing contract. Dun mistaken, I dun think MM have double standard cos i did not take their grand ballroom nor paying more, I am just a normal customer like you.

those perks as in freebies comes after you sign into hotel for your AD event. Those are extra from hotel which is not stated in contract except the $50 electronic & $150 Top of M vochur which is reflected in mine.

to ans your question, I had my dinner at Mandrain Court, 37 tables and I took 2 nights stay in bridal suite and is really wonderful. Dun try to change room, is very troublesome and i believe MM also will not ask you to have 1 day Bridal and 1 day delus

Hi Wong YY,

Sorry I didn't make myself clear in the previous post... my AD was on 27 May 06, so I've been married for 2 weeks already... kekeke

Anyway, I agree GI did a good job, but I didn't like Judy that much, 'cos she kept pushing photos to us when we were selecting, and that really put me off. I prefer Alice and Mr. Tan, I found both of them really friendly and professional. Mr. Tan even came to my PS, instructed the MUA (Jacquline) to apply more shadow on my nose to make it longer, and PG (Tiansheng) to take details like close-up of our hands (I did nail art specially for PS). I chose GI mainly because I love the architecture of Stamford House, and GI owns the exclusive right to do PS in there. The whole process turned out fine and I look pretty nice in the photos, so I am quite happy with their service

As for MM, I signed up with Malcolm but did all subsequent discussions with Derrick, and... no free buffet leh!
Also no free tea nor cocktail after check-in for AD event. Not sure if it has anything to do with the number of tables, 'cos I had only 18.

I had the $50 e-voucher, $150 Top of the M voucher, free champagne and cake as well in my contract, but later on I traded the $150 voucher for another night in a deluxe room, hence I had 1 night in the bridal suite and 1 night in the deluxe room. I agree the bridal suite is fabulous, much better than any of the suites my friends got at other hotels. The changing of room was not so bad since the reservation department had already been notified, hence we didn't have to check out first then check in again, and could pay all the bills together when we checked out 2 days after the AD.

For those who are planning to sign up with MM,

I must say I am a very satisfied customer. The entire preparation process was hassle-free, I told Derrick my requests, gave specific instructions on certain aspects, and he carried them out perfectly. The staff for the WD was very friendly, experienced and professional. The flow of the entire dinner was smooth and co-ordinated, every sector worked together beautifully, the lighting, music, service, etc.

Best of all was the food, we had so many guests telling us how excellent the food was that we really regretted not having more ourselves (the food they packed up for us was already cold by the time we settled down to eat), but my hubby did notice that the quality of food was even better than at the trial dinner. The general feedback we received was that it was a well planned and organized event.

earl grey,

apology..my fault. I am stil in the May mood...haha...congrate for your wedding.

I am not too sure of the 18 tables thingy But i am glad you enjoyed the service from MM as much as i do.

I think every coordinator has their own ways of doing things. But Derrick is a great guy...he is a humble, hardworking an most impt careful.

Nice Guy.

wyy and earl grey,

thanks for going through all these nitty gritty things here! i realise my contract never say anything about vouchers at all... but then, i had a small lunch so prob they didn't throw this in for me.

now i can be assuered that MM is excellent in their serivce for AD and put my mind at ease!

earl grey, i just remembered that the tea, ocktail & breakfast is complimentary and is written in the letter given when you check into the bridal suite. Is not given as in vochur.

Was checking through my contract again. Under those fine prints, it did indicate to give $150 meal vouchers at Top of the M and full american breakfast for 2 morning, room service for snacks worth $50 leh....

vnn,
same as you.. the voucher is not thrown in for my lunch oso. think we are in the same boat ;)
I am given 1 nite stay instd of 2.

tots, not so nice to mention the name of 'changed' coordinator over here... probably he has left gd impression with other couples.

its realli nice to hear good comments frm the newly weds (rachel, wong yy & earl_grey)
it sure booast my confidence level with MM

Hi I am due to have my AD on 24th June, at Belvedere.

I have not planned out what to do?

e.g? March in.. when, what time, what to plan, what to happen.

Pls help.

I will be having 2 emcees and a fren to sing 2 songs for us.

I also have not prepared any montage or animations, dun intend to. Pls share, how to include some "itinery" to make the wedding slightly interesting. I am not expecting a huge, bang , memorable one, since tis is so last min.

Christopher is my catering mgr, but i do not know who is my co ordinator or if I have one.

hello Klutz...

for your plan of what to do, think MM did give you a suggested itinery attached at the back of your contract. Have you had your last discussion with your coordinator (which i think is Christopher)?

Have you get your music (march in, first dish, 2nd march in , background) ready? or are you using those provided by MM?

If you intend to use all from MM then all you need to do is just select and tell chris.

Have you got your emcee script ready? if not then i think you need to ask for some sample to amend liao.

Klutz and Wong YY, erm is it normal to get a suggested itinery attached? i dun have it.

same as klutz, i have 2 emcee and 1 friend who's going to sing. for my emcees, the girl is one of my jie meis, and guy is FH's brother.

is it acceptable actually for 2 people who never meet before to be emcees for wedding banquet? suddenly i hear from some friends who have the 'why like that one?' response when i told them abt emcees.

anyway i think there's an emcee script around somewhere in this forum... got it downloaded. let me know if anyone wants.

Hi vvn,

I think it should be norm to get the suggested program and sample of emcee script from MM leh, cos my coordinator sent me that too....

Do you know if we could ask MM to emcee for us?
Was thinking of not to disturb frens enjoying the food, running up & down.

Hi jeanie,

For 2006 package, it's $768+++ (weekends).
Some highlights (where u might need to pay / have restriction for other hotels):
- Free flow of beer.
- Complimentary 1 bottle of wine per confirmed table.
- No corkage for hard liquor and champagne.
- Invitation cards based on 100% of confirmed attendance (including printing costs).
- Complimentary use of video projectors.
- 3 trays of Canapes during pre-dinner corktails.
I dun have details for 2007.

I was just wondering if those who signed up with MM had some clause in the contract that their venue could be changed at the discretion of the hotel... meaning eg. if you sign up for ballroom A, they could give you ballroom B.

Would that really happen for MM? did anyone experienced that?

Oh yes... heard some rave reviews on the service quality of Derrick. Anyone has his contact details like his email or contact number?

I think there is a guy called Thomas dealing with the wedding.

Is Thomas good? Anyone heard of him?

Hi Hamster,

I dun tink the hotels can change the ballroom at their own discretion once you've paid the deposit for that particular ballroom. I have not signed the contract yet so have not seen the details of the contract. But going down this sunday to meet Derrick, maybe I can check with him?

Derrick has been the one liasing with me and my hubby so far and I tink he's nice and friendly. He's the vice-president of catering sales and if I'm not wrong, he does not run the show during the banquet. He will leave it to his banquet manager to do that.

Hi aiyoyo,

do you have Derrick's email address / contact number?

when are you going to hold your actual day wedding?

I dont think i have many tables for my wedding so I guess i will have to settle for a small ballroom .. hehe

How many tables do you have?

hamsters,
I have requested for a change of banquet room in May due to forseen increase of guests. My AD is in Dec 06.
My coordinator actually brought us to view the nxt bigger room before we commit the change. He then followed up with a letter for us to endorse. Nothing is changed from the previous contract except venue.
hope this helps

actually what i heard is that there is some clause in the contract whereby MM can actually change the venue at THEIR discretion.

changing from smaller to bigger room is confirm acceptable.. hehe

The only thing that i am afriad is that MM will change the ballroom from a bigger to a smaller room...........

Any possibility that this may happen? Or is this clause common in all hotels.

Is there anyone that can help to confirm if there is still such an existence of a clause in the MM contract or is this only applicable to those who signed up with them long ago.

coz I have a friend who wanted to sign up with MM but after seeing that clause in the contract and the inflexibility of the coordinator to ammend that clause, he didnt take up MM.

According to him, he said that the coordinator said its not possible to delete the clause as they are adviced by their legal department .. blah blah stuff...

hmmmmmmmm....

anyone who signed up with MM recently can help out by confirming if there is still such an existence of a clause?

Thanks a lot !

just out of curiosity, has anyone heard of Thomas Ng from MM before? by the way, what is the designation of Derrick?

is he the assistant director?

is thomas good? as in is he flexible if we ask for more perks? hehe ^_^

anyone here has any advice on if Thomas or Derrick would be a better choice.

Hi Hamster,

Actually their package is very comprehensive already. Dun tink they can throw in more perks. But u might want to opt to have one night stay instead of 2 to have more savings.

agree with aiyoyo,

hamster the package is very very comprehensive liao i dun think you can ask for any more perks as MM is giving alot alreadi.

Besides the saving from opting one night instead of 2 night stay, i think the most impt is the service of the coordinator.

for me i find Derrick to be very nice guy to work wif and as for thomas maybe others can comment.

Hi hamster,

The email address is correct but I don't think Derrick replies to emails very frequently, so it may be better for you to call his mobile directly: 9791 4479.

As for the venue clause you mentioned, the exact wording is thus: "We may by reason of any circumstance arising from the confirmed or estimated number of guests or for any other cause or reason, change the venue of the function to another within the Hotel's premises". It is true that they will not remove this clause, but you may be able to request for add-in of words like "upon mutual agreement" or the sort somewhere.

Hope these information help!

Henry Chiok is a nice & accomodating person too. I just signed the contract with him yesterday. For couples interested in MM pls take note, understand from Henry that MM is going to revise its perks to change the 2 night stays to 1 night stay hence for those couples interested in signing up MM, the hotel will provide a grace period for the couples to decide & beyond the date the perk be change to 1 night stay. Not sure if there's any change to other perks though. Very nice of him to give us a treat after our meeting. We had our lunch at Chatterbox. Hope this is useful.

We plan to hold our wedding with MM next year & have gone through the feedbacks.Some of them have bad impression of MM but some have wonderful times with them.My co-ordinator is Doreen Lim.Anyone know her? Now i m quite headache whether to choose MM as my wedding venue as some of my relatives said the food ids bad & the price per table is expensive.Can anyone advise?