Mandarin Orchard Singapore

lazy: serve food piping hot seems very unlikely. cos by the time the chef reaches the last dish from the wok, the front already not VERY HOT. compromise alittle i would suggest. as long as the kitchen dun compromise the Quality n Quantity, we should be thanking God.
I have no Complaints so far till today, and all love MM's food even when i expected they would surely compromise cos my AD got 4 weddings. so i did not expect alot. But i told Malcolm tt more impt is my VVIP table, tt he must get a experience service staff to attend to.
and they DID an Excellent Job. And of cos.. i love the Red Bean soup, which i preferred Or Ni, cos i am a typical Teochew.

i will be doing my food tasting on nov 8..guess i hve to take note of wat u gals mentioned here...
but so far MM did alot of catering food for my company and the food is always quite good...

ninkumput: i was briefed by christopher that they will have a food tasting panel form for you to grade their foods and you can feel free to comment every single food about it and he told me that after the food tasting,usually he will meet up with their executive chef and discuss about how to improve it.

Further i believe all foods will have to depend on individual preferred of the tasting also.everyone will have different tasting buds to judge their taste.so not too worry so much about the food tasting. The more you worry the worst you will imagine..hehe..

mei mei,

Thks. Yes, want to check out at the forum 1st before neg with him again. Cos dunno wat the other co-ordinator is offering to other couples. They usually bend a bit. By how much is dependent on the coordinator.

Anyone has other nos. by your coordinator on Mandarin Court? Pls help. Thks.

My AD is in late dec at mandarin court. I have booked my food tasting for next month. my wedding coordinator ask us to give her the menu list for the food tasing, i am at a loss right now. what's nice on the menu?
where did you order your wine from?

hi kenbel

u can try to neg. i had 32 tables at mandarin court, somemore on a sat
but i booked 16mths in advance lah.. that's why got more bargaining power

hi loulou

the duck is great! my personal favourite... hehe.. cold dish also not bad.. didnt quite like the fish though...

i ordered my wines from winebos..

Hi Kenbel,

Who did you meet up with? i believe you can neg with wedding planner for some things. But from my understanding.. there is something that they really cant provide as i had try getting the costs invitation cards to be provide before but.. they cant do it.. as so i asked for more cards lor!!

loulou: Yam paste will be very nice although i have not tried it but i already knew..becos it my favourite ..hehehe.

The wines you can get from NTUC or Carfu... at suntec.. i believe there is alot of choices!!

Hi Sweet and Mei mei,

Thanks! My FIL already asked for yam paste cos he is Teochew mah

Sweet,
How much did you pay for your wine from winebos?

Hi Chaiyo,

sorry for the much delayed reply. just back from HM in greece =)

anyway, not sure what u mean by pre dinner and post dinner service. just have to say that the coordinators from the hotel were really helpful for making sure everything went smoothly. they were also zi dong enough to put aside food from the banquet for us to eat after the dinner ended. so nice right =) we didnt even have to ask.

actually found the food at MM quite mediocre. if i have one negative comment to make, it would be abt the food lor. everything else...the service, ballroom deco, package, bridal suite, even the service on checking in and out.. all thumbs up!! figured it doesnt matter... i didn get to eat much food anyway =) heehee..

Hi Jules,
Thanks for ur reply. Guess u must hav enjoyed urself very much at Greece ... Haiz .. Holiday mood again ...

Well, u mentioned "predinner and post dinner service by hotel staff" in ur prev post mah so I also use the same phase lor. Jus wanna noe they got serve us the banquet food anot. Hehehe. Greedy mah ... My package details got mention light snack so I wonder wat will tat be lor ...

Ya .. I tink so far MM is the best hotel I have encountered. At least in terms of service lah. Thats y i sign up wif them mah. They actually served 'canapes' b4 the dinner leh while most hotel serve peanuts only right?

Hi Jules,

Can please share with me your package at MM? My email address at [email protected]

They seemed to have change the package from 1 October this year and are quite sticky on perks.

Did you manage to get a day room for your helpers?

Also, I heard that parking is a big problem at mandarin?

Thanks for advice!

Hi Chaiyo,

oops... left that msg so long ago i forgot what words i use liao =-) i think the canapes is actualy something u bargain in...not necessarily part of the package leh unless u ask for it. they just put aside some food from the banquet for u.. not everything lah. but it's enough. after everything u will b too tired to eat anyway lah. =) the light snack is actually $50 room service credit (nett). can actually use it anytime during the stay at MM. room service breakfast was also very nice=) overall enjoyed my 3 days stay at MM very much. very very spoiled heh heh.

Hi Yahoo,

can't remember if i have the package in my email.. will try to mail u once i find out everything k? i managed to get a day room for my helpers. it was in the package for me. didn;t have to bargain. i had no problem with parking... or rather.. i was blissfully unaware of any problems even if there was heehee. had extra parking coupons at the end too.

hi JY,

there is no complimentary wine leh!! where u hear from? there is free flow beer though...

Hi Joanne,

I'm doing my food tasting on 8 nov too. Heehee..might be able to see you then.

By the way, what time does the food tasting start?

hi ninkumput, my hb going overseas on nov 7 til 12 so we changed it to nov 16...
btw which ballroom u using?? when is ur AD??

I have already book MM for my wedding banquet and my AD is on 24 Jun 06.

Can I check with you ( who had done food tasting etc ), has the food standard drop???? My in laws and guests are particular about food.

Hi Ginger Cat,

I am also thinking of booking my wedding there near end of next year. Can I check if you manage to get a day room for your helpers? Does your package have complimentary wine?

Hi Jules,

Thanks for your response. Appreciate your help.

Yahoo

Am interested to hold my wedding at MM. Would appreciate if someone could email me a copy of the weekend wedding package at [email protected].

Also, I'm looking at around 19 to 22 tables. I wonder if MM has a function room that caters to this number of tables....

Yahoo > I have a day room for my helpers. My package does not come with complimentary bottles of wine. My hubby's auntie will be indenting in red wines from Australia directly for us.

Thanks GingerCAt.

I am frustrated coz the wedding coordinator refuse to give me the day room though I have requested for it twice!

They said it's a management's decision!

I will need it coz i've got quite a handfull of helpers!

See what I can do again.

They have increased the banquet price by quite a bit for bookings after 1 october 2005. Unlucky me :-(

Have fun planning for your BIG day!

yahoo

so far the packages offered by MM has not come with complimentary wines. could there be some miscommunications etc? Pls check with MM if they are offering, if not i would suggest not to carry on the topic of complimentary wines as it gng to mislead others into believing MM gng to give wines for packages.

yahoo: bother to share when is ur wedding date? cos Monday-Friday the occupancy rate for MM is almost 90% and they might not be able to give u a DAY ROOM due to the shortage of rooms, which also peak period during Year End.

hi yahoo, understand ur frustration cos i face the same problem..but then their management just changed recently tat's why is also hard for the co-ordinators to ask from the management.

Hi yahoo,

How much are they charging for weekday & weekends after booking on 1 Oct? With 1 complimenary wine per confirmed table on top of the free flow of beer?

yahoo: ur wedding date play an impt role in whether to have a spare day room or not. i know their occupancy rates are super high and they might not able to let u hv the day room for this reason, which ur coordinator has failed to advice u on the reason.

hi yahoo,

so there is complimentary wines?? i think tt will help to ease the pocket abit...coz wines not cheap and difficult to control how much your guests drink lor...

I spoke with MM on Sat, had a view of the BallRoom (Mandarin Ballroom, Mandarin Court and Belvedere) and took a sneak peek at the Suite as well hehe.

For 2006 package, there's complimentary wine per table. If you want free flow of wine, it'll be $30+++ per table.

hi yahoo & Neo,

thanks for the clarification. i think MM is one of the few hotels offering complimentary wine...

Hi Joanne,

Sorry for the late reply. Haven't have the time to come in recently.

My AD is on 27 Nov and we will be using Mandarin Ballroom. Same as poshbb.

So when is your AD?

wah wif complimentary wine, not bad leh.. mine dun hve..
my AD is dec 8 2005..

but wat is the price for 2006?? per table?

yahoo.. u got mail!

hi to all MM brides

just wanna say a big THANK YOU to my coordinator Henry, bqt captains Wilson & Ben & MM for making our wedding last Sat a truly memorable and good one..the food was good and in generous portions, the decor was great and the service from the staff were EXCELLENT!

All of them were very attentive to our needs and one staff even gave my hubby hot tea after he got high from all the tekaning by the brothers/colleagues and we didn't even ask for it!..shows us how initiative they are and also responsive to our feedback coz the food was much much better than food tasting and everyone sang praises of the food so we are very happy that we have chose MM for our wedding...no regrets at all!

Hi jy,

Thanks for the email. It seems like the wedding package is very attractive. Will keep it in my selection list

So which hotel you are looking at now since the date is already booked in MM?