Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hi seiko!

Hmm.. guess i'll be fussy abt my decor too! But Belvedere's stage is not that small actually, when compared to some ballrooms that i've seen, but of coz not that big, it's medium sized.. Initially when i saw the decor previously, tot the stage was quite bare, but now reading ur description, think i dun have to worry too much lah!

Yes, think the food depends on luck! Sometimes may be good and sometimes not! But so far, got another friend who attended wedding there, also said food not too bad...

Are u going for honeymoon yet?

hi Mandarin brides/bride-to-be...

do u gals happen to hear of or see Act1? its another function room on the 32th level...

i have went down once b4 to see the function room but that time was empty and lights were dim...so doesnt seem that nice and abit old..but the concept is pretty unique as its kinda garden style...

Hi gerlynn,

yea, i happen to see it before, agree that it's quite unique, it's either u like it or hate i guess.. Yes, it's garden theme.. Perhaps u shld go down this Sat, heard there's a wedding there... go take a look again!

how many tables are u looking at? Coz i think max is 18...

hi jan..

yeah im only hafing ard 15-18 tables..really difficulty in finding a hotel!!!haiz..

guess i will go tk a look again with the actual wedding...a really busy sat leh..coz im oso gng to c traders and regent...think this sat a good day for marriage coz so many weddings!!!heeee

Hi Jan

most of the comments i heard bt Mandarins food, b4 i signed up was pretty gd.... thats y we went ahead

The 3 pillars ( instead of the usual 5 at Shang ) did fill up the stage, so there wasnt any need for flowers of plants as backdrops.... flowers may create a more romantic feel, but i think the 3 pillars alone is enuf, dun wan the stage 2 be too cluttered lor

can onli go HM at yr end leh... meanwhile sourcing 4 pkgs *hee*

Hi gerlynn

Act 1 is juz opp Pine Court where i had my food tasting... i managed 2 c the ballrm cos its was lit when i was there.... hey, i like the terraced steps... so it resembles more like an amphitheatre... guests view not at all obstructed ...

Besides it requires onli minimal flower deco.... its garden theme had already been established

Hi Gerlynn,

we love the ACT1 room, it has a garden theme. u shld take a look at it when there is a banquet. its very unique. check with the banquet manager to see when will there be a wedding there.

hihi ladies

For ACT1..how many tables can we hold there??

Seiko
paiseh..i was too bz makin mooncakes..that y din go now..u can email me ur pixs???

Glad to hear that the food is good

hi seiko,

i believe there's a lot of holiday packages promo now... u can take a look first! hehe.. Seiko, do u mind sending me ur ballroom pics if u have it too? hehe...

Hi Chinadoll, max for Act 1 is 18 tables, but they would recommend 15 actually... very unique lay out indeed!

Hi Seiko
Welcome back! Congrats on having a successful and stress-free wedding!

Look forward to seeing your photos when it is up.

BTW, we had a change of manager this time. We're now having Malcolm liao..

Hi gals..

I went to see Act 1 today...its pretty nice except the ceiling which is really old n run-down...my FH says the ceiling looks worse than a office ceiling..hee...

But i feel the concept is quite cool...

Btw, we oso went to see Grand Hyatt and Rasa Sentosa..(V rush rite!!! hee hee...)...any polling between these 2???

Hi Jan

no prob, will email u the link of all my AD pix once its ready

Now waiting 4 NATAS fair.... but 1 frd told me that fair not worth going, cos its like leftover fr wat pple had booked b4hand.... huh how like this???

Hi Sandy

Tks
I actually Saw Malcolm ( Lynn pointed out 2 me ) during my dinner rehearsal.... he was attending 2 potential customers n showing them round at Belvedere.... so funny, there hubby n I was doing the mock march in, there Malcolm was, explaining 2 the couple the set up n all *heheh*
He's quite the yan dao kia rite?? hahaahah

Hi seiko!

Or u look thru newspaper, the rates are pretty cheap now leh.. where do u intend to go? somewhere near or far?

Hi gerlynn,
Yup, Act 1 concept is pretty interesting rite! Well, as for Grand Hyatt, it's not bad too, i know their decor is nice..
As for Sentosa, will think it's pretty inconvenient for guests altho there's MRT but still, to me, i dun think i'd wanna travel all the way there...

HI Jan

i think the most impt thing is 2 decide on destination.... cos time is not a prob 4 me... its whether hubby can get like 12-14 days of leave at 1 go.... so if he can, most likely we can make it for Europe tour.... if really going 2 Europe, then i'll choose Chan Bros, cos i had a few frds who took up Chan Bros's pkg n were relatively satisfied by their tour

NZ is a backup in case we can onli afford time 4 somewhere near *hehehe*

How bt yrself?? yr weddings in 04 rite?? have u decided on where 2 HM?

Hi Seiko
Ya lor, Malcolm is quite 'yan dao' one.. both my hubby & I find that the team of catering sales manager we ever came across are all 'yan dao' guys lor..

last evening suppose to go drop by to see the decor of the ballroom cos Malcolm had 3 wedding dinners going on last nite, but we didn't go lor cos we dont want to interrupt his already busy n tight schedule..

most probably will go down 16 to view another decor also under Malcolm's a/c.

so yr honeymoon destination not firm yet?

HI Sandy

yalor, haven confirm... got lots of time on hand 2 compare materials n do research *heheh*

This mth Sept, i guess every wkend shd have weddings being held at Mandarin.... its okie 2 pop by without informing the coordinator ... i shd know cos hubby n i did juz that *heheh*

hi seiko!

Yeah, my wedding's next yr.. so still long time.. havent really decided where to go for honeymoon!! haha..

hi sandy, yeah, think for these few weekends, there'll be weddings going on... so u can go on down to peep at the decor!

Morning Jan

the time will come b4 u even knew it... i still cant believe the 8mths after my ROM whizzed past juz like this... im still in denial ahhahah

Hi Seiko & Jan
Thanks for yr advice. Will probably we will do that when we are more free the following week..

Seiko, can I ask if you got yr invites from T-dragon? If so, who was yr co-ordinator? We are thinking of going down to their branch @ Excelsoir Hotel but not sure who to look for... Many thanks.

Hi Catherine

I used Dream A Little Dream ( French Version ) for 1st walk in..... We did a proper n serious march in wif my arm slinged on hubby's....

For 2nd March in, we juz held hands n walked in in a relaxed mode wif Harry Connick Jr's It Had To Be You ( the big band version ) playing in the background

U having yr banquet at MM too?? When's yr big day?

HI SANDY

Yup i printed my card at Tdragon. Do Look For CONNIE as she provides excellent service

In fact u can ask her 2 show u my photocard when you're there
she has many clients, maybe u can mention Belvedere, 31/8, used ROM pix as cover etc... she ought 2 remember *hee*

Hi Seiko
Thanks for yr recommendation of CONNIE @ T-dragon. We will give her a call to make appt b4 we go down and we will definitely must see yr photocard...

must be beautifully done up.. got any pic to show? can share share here or not?? kekekeee

gtg liao.. tomorrow having indoor PS and need to have my beauty sleep..

nite nite...

Hi Seiko,
Yap, having my big day in MM on 12 Oct, will be using the main ballroom.

Saw tat yr wedding was a success, congrats. Now, I'm worried abt mine.. Hope I can learn from your experience... hehe

Hi Cat

wow, yr big day's approachinG!!! how's the final preps?? which favour did u choose?? u met up with Dynamic Dolly already? *hee* she's such a nice person
CONGRATS ON YR UPCOMING WEDDING!

really worth going 2 her shop 2 meet up with her

I am interest in the Act1 function room after hearing your comments. Esp the garden theme.
Does anyone have the pictures of the room.
Am planning to hold either pan pac or mandarin. Still deciding.

Hi Seiko
will be choosing the candles as wedding favours. Havent met up with Dolly. Will this be only a one time meet up or do we need to meet 2times to finalize everything?

As for wedding prep, i guess all is on planned but still quite worried if i've missed out anything..

Hi Catherine

The candles r Mandarin's newest offerings, so quite a nice change fr the usual chocs n cakes... I had lil kids who lit them during the dinner when the lights were dim... kinda romantic *heheeh*

I onli met up wif Dolly once and it was a wk b4 my wedding... not 2 worry, cos shes full of ideas, n she'll give u recommendations
Trust her taste

I love the night bouquet which she did for me....
Was flipping thru her portfolio when i came across some champagne roses... when i asked wat flowers r going in the bouquet, n how does it look, she asked me 2 trust her... which i did, n no qns asked afterthat... she sure din disappoint

hihi!!

Seiko, was wondering whether was it a prob for the march in, coz the entrance is like in a corner of the room rite? Was it weird? hehehe..

Wow.. candles as favour sounds good... wat are their other new favours they have?

I'm hoping they'll have nicer cards, tho i havent seen theirs yet..

Hi Jan,
they also have chopsticks.

Seiko,
Do you have red carpet during march in? Also, do we need to have bouquet at nite too? Is that a must?

Hi Catherine,

Hmm.. chopsticks, nice too! But guess chopsticks is pretty common already rite.. Good to hear that they have new favours!! hehe..

Jan

The entrance wasnt a prob even though we had 2 to an L-shaped walk *heheh* Oh, when i went for the rehearsal, i saw the red carpet n almost fainted! i think red carpets r quite passe ( Dolly absolutely hates it )... so i made them remove it... Errrr, dunno if they did, cos when i walked down the aisle, i was paying more attention of not falling flat on my face *hahahah*

I do like their chopsticks favour, but since the candles r quite refreshing, we decided 2 opt for that

Its not a must 2 have a bouquet at nite, juz that
since i already have 2 bouquets in the day, i thot, y not have 1 at nite *heheh*, my mom says i HIAO lor :P

My day bouquets r light pink and dark pink ... so for night i wanted a colour thats subdued.... cos with a striking colour, attention tends 2 be on the flowers n not the bride... so hor, i muz make sure that doesnt happen *heheh* Thats where Dolly's bouquet comes in

hihi ladies

Seiko >> hv u got ur pix liao??? cant wait to see them...

Does dolly hv a website to take a look at???

I went down to T-dragon the other day..happen to hv appt nearby so just drop by...seen the standard mandarin cards...tink the maroon is nicer than the white one...

Hi ChinaDoll

Nick hasnt emailed me the link yet... he did say he'll take approx 2 wks...

Dolly doesnt have a website... n its almost impossible 2 call her at her office, thats y i always call her on her mobile.... its useless leaving yr no with her employees, cos they hardly get 2 c her too.... they dun know anything bt the hotel deco... Dolly is like a 1-leg-kick person *hehehe*

I din really like both cards that Mandarin had to offer... think the maroon is much better than the ivory 1 in everyway.... Thats y hubby wanted 2 personalise our invites

Etelle
the best way wld be to call their banquet coordinator... U can try calling LYNN at this no: 68316030

Hi ladies!

seiko, ya, think i'll panic too when i do the march in!! hahaha...
Yea, i'll do without the red carpet too, dun really like it...

Oh, so the cards arent very nice huh, but is it much more ex to purchase the nicer cards?? How much more roughly do we have to pay extra?
Btw, where's T dragon located?

Hi Jan

The red carpet is really dated 2 us ( n Dolly esp *hehehe* )... thats y we had it removed.

I really din like the 2 cards Mandarin had 2 offer but was willing 2 compromise when hubby gave the green light 2 customise cards.

Tdragon is located at level 3 of Excelsior shopping centre ( cannot access thru Excelsior hotel )... The shopping centre is juz beside the hotel. Look For CONNIE. MT did her card there too n was also served by CONNIE, who's more efficient than any other staff there :P

After deducting out the budget Mandarin set aside for cards for Tdragon, Connie charged me 3 bucks each for my colour pix card+ pink inserts+ pink envelopes. I underestimated the no of cards in the 1st round, n had 2 reorder.... but i was charged another 50 bucks of start up fee ... cos colour print mould is more costly

Hubby n I normally park at Funan ( his excuse 2 c more gadgets lah *heheh* ) then walk a lil 2 Excelsior Shopping Centre...

Oh, i love 2 go down 2 Tdragon, cos after that got excuse 2 pop by SUSHI DON! ahhaahah they've got v fresh salmon sushi which i absolutely crave! *HEHEHEH*

hello seiko!

Oh 3 bucks is quite ex huh... dun think we'll spend extra money on it, will prob stick to mandarin cards then... hopefully they can have nicer cards!!

Hey, i like sushi don too! heheh.. U can try the Aijisen (specialising in ramen) at Funan, they have a branch there now.. it's quite good! hehe.. Provided if u still go down to funan lah! hehe..

Oh yes, just wondering whether ur guests had problems with parking at mandarin and also was traffic a problem?

And was there another wedding at Mandarin court on the same day as yours? Was it confusing and messy for ur guests to identify where to go? Not sure whether has anyone booked that mandarin court on my day or not...

Hi Jan

Parking was quite a prob cos there were 3 weddings ( including mine ) on my AD! some guests KS,came early n managed 2 secure a lot at Mandarin... the rest parked at Taka, Metro Paragon, Cineleisure etc... we had leftover parking coupons...

There were signage of the couples names at the carpark levels... also when guests arrive at level 4, there were also direction boards... Onli i had 1 guest fr the Opp ballrm, who addressed by my name and shook my hand, n later when he mentioned the hubby's name i was like, Errrr, sorry, but i think u shd belong 2 the opp ballrm ! HAhahahah

Y not check with yr coordinator if the opp ballrm is taken?? but seriously, its not a prob, cos theres adequate signs ard

Aiyoooo, i think SUSHI DON has the best variety... n the Bosss's Peacock hairdo?? So Funky! hahahah Love the Salmon sashimi there... so fresh n best part they have my fave Belly part too :P

Akashi at CitylInk is also 1 of my fave place... u muz try their Salmon belly bbq.... everyday onli serve like a few portions... n its cooked 2 perfection! Yum Yum!

If u do not wan Mandarin's cards, can always choose fr Tdragons 100 or so cards FOC too!

hi there seiko!

Oh, then i better tell my guests to come early inorder to get free parking lots!! hahaha.. good excuse for them to come early, but i'm pretty sure, there will be some who will take their own sweet time!

Oh gosh, the guy must be quite embarressed huh, went to wrong ballroom!! hahahhaa!

yup, will check with my coord see the room opp taken or not, but guess still early for me to check...

yes yes, the 2 bosses at sushi don very funky man!! I like ur description, the peacock hairdo!!?!?! hahahahaaa! But actually i dun really take raw food, so quite a waste for me to eat jap food hor! hahaha!
talking abt food makes me hungry now! hehe!

Oh, but are the other cards nice or not? It's just that there wont be any mandarin logo rite? Tot it's better and nicer to have the hotel's logo is it? Do u think it matters?

Tdragon's own designed cards have their logo printed on it.... im not too bothered bt the Mandarin Logo, cos inside the invite got state the venue *heheh*

Yalor those 2 bosses so hiao.... 1 youung, 1 older.... sorry to say, the older 1 quite lao beng *hahaha* cos he unbuttons his shirt quite low rite??? n his hairstyle like slanted to 1 side?? looked like some hurricane juz came by his shop *hahah*

I used 2 hate raw food, but now am addicted 2 raw salmon..... now i cannot stand cooked salmon *heheh* but of cos the fish muz be fresh... n oh, love the belly part most, cos got Omega 3 at the fats mah :P

Jan,

Let you have a clearer idea (I hope) of costs depending on options you choose,
* <u>Invit cards</u>
I took TD's invit cards (same price range as MM's so no top-up for the cards). Mine are traditional red invit. cards with READY shiny gold-stamped Xi cover.
Note you can use MM's invit cards (w/ MM logo printed at the BACK of the card) or TD's SAME PRICE-RANGE invit cards (w/ TD logo printed at the BACK of the card). Or top-up for their ready-made more expensive range. Or fully customise like Seiko's.
Seiko's are white invit cards with glossy 4-tone pic on cover. This should be the bulk of her costs.

* <u>Hotstamped logos</u>
You can still opt to have MM's logo INSIDE the card if you choose hotstamp printing (ie. instead of the words "Meritus Mandarin" for the venue, just use the logo- I'm doing that, no extra charge for using the logo mould).
TD has other cute moulds of cartoons, if you choose those, pay additional $20-50 (I forget exact) and can be stamped anywhere you like
Seiko's has a cute one in her inserts and the Xi logo at the back of card should have cost her addition.

* <u>Invit Wordings</u>
My invit wordings are shiny goldstamped printing in English and Mandarin directly inside the invit cards.
Seiko's are shiny or matte gold invit wordings, can't recall exact.
Hers have additional names goldstamped on the cover (very nice effect)
so should be extra for that.
Note that matte gold more expensive than shiny gold. Even cheaper would be normal printing (no need to make a mould unlike hotstamping).

* <u>Inserts</u>
You can have invit wordings directly on the card (if using normal printing your card colour must not too dark, if using goldstamping the card must not be too light) or on paper inserts (more costs plus need gold string costs).
My invit wordings were directly goldstamped on red invit card but I added cream postcard inserts. These inserts- one side with glossy 4-tone pic (names are added in normal printing method not goldstamped so definitely will not be as nice effect as Seiko's goldstamped names on her pic), the other side with grey words (normal printing) of Program/ Menu. This is the bulk of my costs.
Seiko's invit wordings were goldstamped on light pink inserts w/ additional gold string to hold- you can buy yourself and tie, or pay more for them to do it for you.

* <u>Envelopes</u>
I chose cream envelopes (no top-up, included with that "free" range of invits) to match my cream postcard inserts.
(Seiko chose light pink to match her light pink inserts).
Note you can upgrade the paper quality of the envelopes with a top-up, or do fancy printing of whatever. Hmm, wonder how much to hotstamp MM logo and Xi logo on the envelope (can one look see it's a red bomb ahaha).

Final note about hotstamping- they MAKE a metal mould of the words (which you can keep), if you do NAMES eg. "Seiko &amp; Seiko's HB" you can reuse this mould to stamp anything (my gf used hers to stamp angbaos so she can give on her AD and CNY too). My heart itching to do that too cos the names on my pic won't stand out without hotstamping... but extra costs leh.

I'm so far very satisfied with the level of service from TD, their prices I heard are NOT the lowest in town, but for the service and experience (Seiko and I used CONNIE from TD- I really think she's the best there).

I haven't seen Belvedere's layout but Seiko and Dolly is certainly right- sometimes red carpet is overkill and dated (just like ice carving, personalised name backdrops). In my case, I'd still have ice carving (sentimental reasons- I liked it as a child hehe) and red carpet (I find the Mandarin Court march-in "lane" needs more definition, or else it's right next to rows of tables. Also, I like over-the-top glam hehe).

Thanks MT!!

Very clear explanation!

Yea, i dun really like ice carving, think i may just do away with that and see if i hv budget to do addl decor!! hehe.. Well, esp the pillars at belvedere, it really bothers me sometimes!

Wooww MT

you really pay lots of attention 2 details

i din even know the coloured pix has 4 tone sth *hehehe* cos i onli told Connie 2 do a coloured pix n when she showed me the sample card, hubby n i din qn n simply said okie proceed *heheh*

alamak, we quite the ignorant :p

Hi Jan, actually Belvedere was once a restaurant according to Lynn... think MM is thinking of converting it back as a rest.... dunno true or not... but seriously, dun let the pillars bother u.... cos they r lighted ( fr within ) so it creates a rather nice effect, alongside the red flower ceiling

Aiyoh Seiko, yours is now the star product- yesterday there was another couple who was asking about pics and she immediately showed your card. Needless to say, they were sold.

Yo MTMTMT ( wahh change nick? *heheh* )

when we flipped thru Connie's personalised cards album, we were captivated by another couple's ( think fr Mauritius or sth )card... i think the bride n groom took the pix outdoors in their WG n suit.... but too bad i hadnt taken my PS then.... so bo bian, told Connie i was gonna use my ROM pix by Nick.... how i wish i cld use a pix fr my PS lor.... a lil regrets here...

Hi Seiko
Thank U for sharing yr pics and your wedding invite too...

Guess wat, I think I saw yr hubby &amp; U at Peninsular Plaza this afternoon say around 3 plus. But I couldn't confirm if it is U until I came home to re-visit your link to affirm it.

You look very sweet in this dress u wore this afternoon.

We have met up with Connie this afternoon and have chose the invites under the FOC range w/o Meritus Mandarin's logo.

We're doing insert printing. The design we chose is actually a 3-fold card with "Xi" in the middle and we chose 2 different colors - red (relatives) and cream (friends).

Connie just called to tell me by coming Thurs 18 Sept, they'll fax the artwork for our checking.

hi Sandy!

Just wondering are the cards by T dragon under the FOC range all better than mandarin's cards?

Oh seiko, so did u go sushi don again since u were at peninsula plaza? hehehehe..

Hi Jann

I would say those FOC range are better than the 2 cards with Mandarin's logo.

But Connie will add on the Mandarin's logo onto our insert w/o extra charges.

BTW, when is yr wedding day?

hi Sandy

Oh, that's good if she adds the logo inside! hehe.. then i wont have to worry much abt the cards then! hehe..

Oh my wedding's next July.. still long way to go, but have to do some homework first eh! hehehee.. But still hope mandarin will do something to improve the cards by next year. And as for favours, have u choosen urs? Ur wedding's this year end rite?