Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Hi Jann

For us, we are not so particular about the logo, after all, we feel that not many pple will keep the card as souvenir after the wedding. so we try not to waste too much $$ on it lor..

u can start preparing yr guest lists, helpers list etc...

wedding favours, we have yet to choose cos we last heard tat their favours changes quite often, so we will get to choose ours maybe 1 month b4 our wedding...

yeah, our wedding is on 21 Dec 03 to be precise.. hehehee...

Hi Sandy

Wooooww!! so qiao!! *heheh* hubby wanted 2 c his gadgets at funan lor, n try out the hot spot for wireless surfing at funan, thats y we dropped by there.... we parked at Peninsular cos funan's parking was full, n hubby was having a fun time ogling at the large no of shops at Peninsular selling gadgets.... *hehehe* did want 2 drop by 2 say hi to Connie, but cos we were pressed for time, thats y we din eventually

using 2 coloured invites for frds/ relatives is a great idea cos relatives tend 2 favour the traditional red, while frds being our generation wld sure appreciate ivory
Tks 4 yr compliments *hee*

Hi Jan
aiyo, i din get 2 eat sushi don leh, cos hubby said 2 save stomach 4 Marriots dinner buffet *heheh* anyway, i SARP all the salmon sushi while i was there ( well, almost lor *hhehe* )

Gals, hubby n i love MM so much that we returned yest for a nite's stay *heheeh*..... we simply am impressed by the hospitality we rec'd by MM staff during our 2 wedding nites stay, that we decided 2 drop Marriot, n return 2 MM ... ( also 4 old times sake hahahah ).

MM was so sweet, cos during my wedding, we booked 3 rms.... n 1 of the rms ( under our names ) had 1 additional bed added 2 the rm.... but when we settled the bill, they decided not 2 charge us, saying that it was like a small token in celebration of our wedding! Aiyooo, how not 2 go back 2 them rite? *heheheh*

Oh Gals, if u do drop by their counter, grab an application form of MM Privilege Club... its totally free and you're entitled to 20 % off dining at their restaurants!

Wkend rates for Singaporeans are 138+++ at the South Tower, but we took the rm at the grand tower ( newer block, so muz add another 30 )... we had stayed at both towers b4..... so this is how we compare: At the newer Grand Tower, room is smaller but newer..... at the South Tower, rm is not as new ( but still classy by standards ) and bigger!

Quite a refreshing experience 2 return 2 the hotel as married couple, cos ive so far stayed there on 3 occasions.... b4 marriage, wedding day, after marriage..... will def return cos its centrally located 2 SC lor *heheheh*

Hey seiko, can tell u reallllyy like MM alot eh! hehehe.. Stay there few weeks after ur wedding! hehe.. Oh the priviledge card is free.. Tot must pay a kinda subscription for any hotels' card.. hehe.. will go and take the form when i'm there then!

hi sandy, yeah, for me, i also dun intend to spend extra for cards, so hopefully their FOC cards are good! hehe..

Hi Jan

i would loveeee tooo... *heheeheh* They wrote there application is free leh.... but not too sure if muz be substantiated by a nights stay at any Meritus hotel anot .... Temp card discount is 15%... Perm card is 20%

HI Mandy.... a day room for helpers is not FOC.... think the rates r approx 100??? better check with yr coordinator

Hi Seiko, day room use is not free? I was under the impression they were- I don't have it in my contract but... need day room ah! Or else everyone congregate in the bridal suite I will faint.

I know doublebed room for 1 night stay if booked under your coordinator is about $100.
But day room should be day use, before banquet, not overnight stay?

hmm..oh no.. is the room for day use only??? I tot is overnite.. need to check with lynn liao.

By the way, girls, i'm going for my food tasting tomorrow... wish me luck!

Hi Mandy, Yah, i think the day room is perhaps until 8pm only.. But i didnt ask for that so not sure whether can they throw in or not.

hi cath, good luck to ur food tasting, hope u can come in here to update us abt the food after that! hehe..

HI Ladies

aiyo, i din bt day rooms leh.... cos my kakis wanted 2 stay overnite, so i booked 3 rooms under Lynn lor.... do speak 2 yr coordinators.... they shd be able 2 give u a gd rate *winkwink* Shhhhhhhh *heheheeheh*

Hi Cath
dun worry bt the food tasting.... turns out that my AD dinner food was more yummy than my food tasting leh! Ironic hor *heheheh*

thanks. i will check with my coordinator and yes i only want it before the dinner starts so they wouldn't all crowd inside the bridal suite, although it's quite big.... but with relatives also....

Anyway, my dinner is on 17th Sept and that's only like a day...... getting very nervous and excited...

Hi Seiko
should have say "hi" to both of you that day but I wasn't so sure that it was U.. kekekee

must have enjoyed yr stay in MM during the weekend.. btw, how was their bridal suite like?

Hi Jann
as long as we don't need to spend too much on the printing, we feel that it is ok lor.

Hi Cath
U will definitely enjoy yr food tasting tonight! Are U having it @ Pine Court? I'm looking forward to our food tasting in Oct..

Hi Mandy
Wow.. CONGRATULATIONS in advance to you.. Wishing you & yr hubby a Blissful & Wonderful Marriage! Sleep early tonight to be the MOST beautiful bride tomorrow!

Hi Mandy, mine is exactly 1 mth after yours!

Oo- Cathy pls update us on food-tasting, that's one aspect I'm certainly looking forward to! *drool* (legitimate excuse to bust diet hehehe)

Hi Jann, I calculated $1.75 each invit set lor.

Abit on high side to me but cos I had the additional picture postcard (abt $1.05 each). Gold stamping direct on my FOC red invits is only abt 70 cents each. Costs varies according to no. of invits, start-up etc, hor, so don't be surprised if yours is slightly different.

I just showed my MIL the FOC red invit selected- I thought it simple... she thought it nice enough to have warranted top-up, don't think she believed me when I said no top-up *shrug* (cos she probably suspects we omit reporting to her all costs- even though my HB paying for it. And her idea of wedding costs abit outdated and she doesn't quite get my ala-carte wedding style instead of usual standard package). Point is, don't be too critical on the FOC cards, turn out the old folks will say "so nice" (?? hahaha)

Spoken to my banquet mgr, Henry, he kindly gave me 1 FOC room fm 12pm to 8pm for my jie mei & xiong di who will be helping out that day.

Hi Sandy

once u open the door 2 the bridal suite, turn left is the dining area + sofa + TV... turn left is the bed area ... i lourve the rooms.... think its actually their regent room??? cos hor, on my anniversary, im thinking of booking into their bridal suite again *heheheeh* THINKING lah hahahah

Hi Jojok
wow, so nice of Henry! will Dawn be attending yr wedding? Well, she couldnt make it to mine ( and her other 2 frds as well ) due to some unforseen reasons.

Hi Mandy
wow CONGRATS!!! you'll def enjoy yr BIG day.... i still miss my wedding day BIG time ahahahah

Hi MTMTMT!!!

*hehhe* so excited.... Nick sent me the link 2 my AD pix..... wahhhhhh, ive logged on since 7 pm n not stopped viewing k ! ahhaahah..... turns out got so many raw pix.... n need 2 chop chop chop many... headache.... Hubby wanted 2 help, i said choosing of pix i BAO, cos im the more critical 1 hahahaah.

I was worried sick bt my dinner hairdo, turns out still ok hahahah.

will share some pix wif u gals once ive done the final elimination

JOJOK
CONGRATS ON YR FORTH COMING WEDDING !

HERE'S WISHING U A BLISSFUL MARRIAGE!

hihi!

Hey seiko! Believe u didnt sleep the whole nite eh.. enjoying looking at ur pics!! hehheheheee...
The way u describe the bridal suite, sounds really big!! But wat u mean by saying it's a Regent room?

Hi Jojok, that's nice of ur coord to give u day room, maybe i'll try asking for that too.. hehhee..

Hi MT! Hmm.. $1.75 per card, think i'll stick to the FOC range... Maybe i'll do extra for decors.. see how.. BTW, u gals know how much do they charge per extra chair sash? Tot it'll be nicer with alternate seat sashes.

Hi Seiko,

Thanks for the blessing. I just can't seem to be as excited as u r... sign... Only looking forward to our honeymoon.

Yes, Dawn will be playing the organ for my church & she is my jie mei. Ya, heard she wanted to attend your wedding but couldn't make it due to unforeseen circumstances.

Show us your pixs once ready.

Hi Jan, I have also stick to the FOC range, chose the maroon colour which is nicer. Anyway, most guest does not keep the card. I rather spend more on my honeymoon, which I intended to.

Hi Jojok
i think you're too stressed bt the wedding... delegate... you'll enjoy the wedding more in this way.....

LADIES YO!!!
*heheheh*

I have posted some of my AD pix... 22 to be exact at this link over at FBO .... will delete it tomorrow
For a Limited Time Onli hor :p

Nick took about 700 raw shots.... i posted a few cos im waiting for my 25 pc of Artwork ( mroe selection )... shd be done end of this wk

So my 2 albums shd have: 25pc of artwork, the other has close to 300 4R pix.

http://www.femalebridesonline.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4573&perpage=15&pagenumber=12

Oh In case you're wondering, Im using another nick over there.... cos i did register Seiko, later 4got my password *Hehheeh*

Sotong Seiko

Hi JOJOK

dun sound so down.... i know how preps can be so fustrating... thats y the wk leading to my wedding, i kept going for dinners with janet, gel and audrey they all.... chit chat, 2 get my mind off the nerve shaking event *heheheh* Muz say they made my preps stress-free too.... really dunno wat i'll do without them.... having them ard for my wedding makes it more memorable.... Frds since P1.... Oh and ROS too!

trust me, you'll enjoy your wedding tremendously!
you're juz stressed out.... go for massages like me *heheeh*

3 days b4 my AD... i went for 2 hr massage... 2 days b4 went for facial.... 1 day b4, spent a few hrs doing spa mani/pedi/ nail art *heheheh*

sure took my mind off the wedding loh

hey seiko!!!

saw ur pics, really nice!! U look good!! u have 700 pics, gosh, must be see until blur huh! hehehee...

Hey, like the candles, very cute!!! and i think the recep area is wonderful even on pics!!

The display of portrait is looks nice! What did mandarin give for the signature book for guests to sign on? Coz last time they told me, they may have it in a poster form in future....

oh no, now cant wait for my turn after seeing ur pics! hehehhee..

Hi Seiko, yup am curious about the signature book... suddenly I have this chinois phase ;\ the TD ones are looking good, but I thought maybe MM's would have some chinois flavour too, I hope?

I'll be confirming the package with Henry soon.

Just wanna find out do we need to confirm the type of deco that we want? If we wan Shang deco, will there be extra charges?

Anyone managed to get Mandarin to throw in an extra room besides the bridal suite?

Hi Seiko,
ya.. perhaps too stressed up. Came up w my day program & duties for all my helpers. Oh, Dawn & Susan were great help too. We went out & they assisted me in my draft.
I have also booked facial, massage, body scrub & mani/pedicure for next week.. Taking 1.5days leave just b4 wedding to relax first.

I m also curious about MM signature book, is it a book or poster form?

Hi bebe_chris, you will need to confirm the deco w Dolly. Could try asking Henry for the day room, he is very accommodating.

wow.. seiko... you look fabulous.. so nice.. do let us know when u have more picts to show us

ok girls, i went for my food tasting last tues. well, it seems like my in-laws are very particular abt food.. for an instance, they commented that they couldnt find shark fins but instead, there are a lot of 'fish skin'.. then hor, i also chose the wrong menu.. one of the dishes is abalone and mushroom but i chose abalone mushroom instead... thus when the dish came, though it looks like abalone, but it is not lor. :o

HI Gals
tks for the compliments *hehehe*

Mandarin's guest bk is small... ivory... with some beadings/ornaments on the cover.... but i bought another 1 fr Hallmark... think its 40???
so 1 for my side... 1 for hubby's side

The Shang Deco is at no extra costs, so dun worry... i guess its gd 2 double check wif yr coordinator too

Will def share my Artwork with u gals
already peeped at a few... quite excited liao *hee*

hihi gals

seiko >> ur pixs nice nice..but do show us more...heeheee i m excited to see the stage setup..not too obvious fm ur few pixs leh..

oh ya u gals managed to book the rooms under co-ordinator name??? if yes...wat the cost? i got a few rooms to book leh...

another tin..anyone of u went for their bridal show previously?? wat kind of perks do they normally throw in???

will post the artwork ( finally rec the pix fr Nick ) *heheheh* tonight at the thread.... will post the link here then

Hi seiko!

Thanks, i saw ur artwork! It's very well done!!

Btw, how much is nick charging for AD?? He uses digital?

Hi Jan

im taking this pkg ( 1888-pkg + 288 for video montage ) the 1888 pkg includes 1 actual day wedding highlights video montage too

he uses tradional film

HI Chinadoll

I deleted them already.... but how bt i post again when im home??? cos the files r saved on home comp

Shd have posted the pix by 8 pm

I'll be holding my wedding at Mandarin next yr too. Just wondering, how many "types" of decor do they have? I havent seen the banquet decor yet, and my coordinator (Henry) didnt tell me anything abt different types of decor.

Pls advise!

hihi gals!!

hi seiko
, think 1888 too ex for me already... Btw, do u know what's a norm rate for videographer?

hi jellie!

Which ballroom will u be using? Actually i'm not too sure how many decor they have, i'm using belvedere and i've only seen the goldish theme there...

Hi Jellie

Normally Dolly ( Green Acre's person in charge )has a particular deco for the particular ballrm.... but of cos u've got 2 view her pix 2 get an idea of wat u like. Perhaps Henry think its too early 4 u 2 liase with Dolly? I only met up with Dolly 1 wk b4 my weddinG!!! *Heheeh* but no worries. She delivers

Hi Jan
Nick's basic pkg without artwork starts fr 650 i think? But his artworks r the enticing part of the pkg....

hihi ladies..

seiko >> thanks a lot..i realli wan to see ur ballroom deco
and of cos ur lovely gowns..

Jellie >> tink there are a few decos..just go and talk to dolly when ur date nearer
..btw when is ur weddin next year?

I got a qns for u gals..what should i look out when signin the contract?? i finalising my contract with them..

another thing..u gals got any special rates for the hotel rooms?

anyone been to mandarin bridal show before?? normally wat r the perks??

Hi Seiko
Thanks for sharing yr photos with us. You looked so radiant and happy throughtout the whole event.

I'll be going for food tasting next Wed. Hopefully this time after we had changed the menu, my MIL will be more pleased than the 1st time food tasting where we paid 50% for it, and b4 we confirm to take the package with Meritus Mandarin..

Hi Chinadoll:0 Im trying 2 post my pix onto a perm link .... shd be up by tomorrow....

Hi Sandy
Ur welcome, glad 2 share with fellow MM brides

this time round the food tasting shd be free rite?
The actual day food turned out better than the food tasting, Ironic rite? *hee* The steamed fish was very well cooked n so fresh.... compared 2 food tasting where the meat was hard.

The dinner itself happened so fast, the walk-ins... the changing of gowns.... aiyooo, din have time 2 savour it all! But i guess wat i love most was the 'aftermath' *HEHE* after retiring 2 the bridal suite, the stay for 2 nites....meals at chatterbox hahahha. Girls, savour every special moment at MM
Sure din regret holding my wedding there..... in fact, now MM is more like a 'home' already, since we do return 4 stays *HEE*

hi Seiko,

I'm new to this tread and would like to view your wedding setup. Please e-mail me at [email protected]

Anyone has a package for 2004 wedding to share with me for my reference?

I'm a bit lost here, who is Dolly? Seems like she is a wedding decor designer? Do we need to pay extra for her service?

Hi NgLC

have u signed up with Mandarin?

My link shd be up by tomorrow... cos some pix still in hubby's comp ( at his place).

Dolly is the lady we liase fr Green Acres ( Mandarin's Florist ). If couples wld like 2 meet up with her 2 discuss the deco,they can... if not they juz go thru their hotel coordinator n settle thru them

Thanks for e advice. So I'll have to coord with e florist regarding e the wedding themes, and not with Henry?

I've just placed a tentative booking for Oct 24, 2004, my bday
. Only got e date after someone gave up their booking. I'll be using Mandarin Court, cos I might have anything between 28-34 tables, so scared if really go up to 34, Belvedere will be too small... But Mandarin Court might look empty with so few tables hor
But better empty n spacious than cramped la hehe.

I've seen Mandarin court n belvedere, but have not seen any wedding setups

hi Jellie,

Regards the decor, think no need to check with florist so early, i believe these floral arrangements will be always changing, well, that's what i was told!! haha!

so nice to have wedding on ur bday, can have double celebration!! hehehe..

Hey, i think u can go and view during weekends, believe they will be weddings going on these days, coz usually lunar 8th month and towards end of the year, lots of weddings will be on... So u can just go and take a peep at the set up!

Dun think it'll look too empty, yes, better than too cramp... Then u'll have more room to play around with..

HI Jellie

I had 34 tables at Belvedere
... initially targetted 30 tables onli... who knows, ballooned till 34 *heheeh*

I liked Belvedere's contemporary feel n ceilings... though the pillars r really in the way... i din mind lor

U cld let henry know yr preference for the set up.... if not c Dolly personally if u have some requests

Jeilie >> heehee ur day so near mine...mine is 13 nov
heehee..seen the wedding setup before..not bad..quite nice..tink all this can be discussed

Seiko >> cant wait for ur pixs

Hi Jan,

Haha dats wat I thot too. But FH will save $$$ lor, cos can combine bday n anniversary present. No way ah!
Told him he must still buy two presents..

Henry asked us to go down this Saturday. But have appt with Beetles@Work leh. Maybe next wk. Actually Mandarin was the only hotel I went to. Cos after doing research, felt that it fits our budget perfectly and yet has enuff class. Henry is also very 'on' and accommodating. The others, like Conrad and Four Seasons, are too exp.

Hi Seiko,

Actually I like Belvedere too. It's more contemporary and cozy. But really afraid that it'll b v cramped with 34 tables. How was yours?

hey Jellie!!

Think the only prob with belvedere for me is the pillars!! but got to accept it somehow lah! hahah!
Yea, to many elders, mandarin is a high class hotel huh! And yup, package and prices wise is very attractive, that's why i chose there too! hehe..

Beetle@work is not bad, saw their pic on the web... are u sourcing for actual day?

Hi Jan,

How many table are u having? Think if less than 30, shud be ok leh. Me just kiasu hehehe Anyway Henry said if we can have min 30 tables, he'll let us have mandarin court. E belvedere ceiling flower quite cute hor

Ya lor, when they hear Mandarin, straight away they say "So exp ah!" when e fact is, mandarin is cheaper than hotels like hilton and hyatt

I'm interested in Beetles' studio/outdoor package. Cos its cheaper than if I take up my bridal shop's photogs (Divine). So just wanna take a look at their portfolio to see if their quality is comparable to Studio D'fia (prefer Studio D'fia, compared to e other photogs working with Divine).

Not goin for actual day leh. Cos FH v insistent, wan his coll to help us take :p If e photos turn out badly .... i'll KILL him