Mandarin Orchard Singapore

APR 19.... no worries.... im such a last minute bride that i think i champion liao hhahaha

i had my foodtasting 26 days b4 my big day (31/8)

onli settled the wedding favours/table set ups/ details of AD 3 days ago ( which means 2 wks 2 my wedding ).

Will meet the florist this sat ( 1 wk 2 my wedding)

Aiyoooo, i v last min hor? *heheheh*

Hi Apr19
yr nick is very familiar and closed to me cos it is my date of birth. is it yours too? hehehee

which date is yr wedding in Dec? maybe U can call up the Catering Sales Team and ask who is taking over yr a/c lor. I m helping U to pray hard that it is not the same fellow as ours. If so, then I would strongly urge u to change him w/o even sparing the thoughts of speaking to him..

Food tasting to wat I understood, it is usually 4 to 6 weeks b4 yr actual dinner.

My hubby and I tot that now we are already in mid Aug and since Zainal left, we have not heard a single call from that guy. And we are as kan cheong too, we wanted to know what is the next step we should do? Cos some of our frenz are telling us that we should be selecting our invitation cards and start doing the printing once the 7th lunar month is over.

Dear Seiko
That's why I mentioned tat I envy those of you who got good co-ordinator like Lynn and Henry.

After my devasted encounter with that FRANCIS LIM, I immediately came in to this thread to check on the comments on him. Guessed what, all the comments on him are NEGATIVE!

You can refer to the link below to see: -

http://singaporebrides.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=6&post=275476#POST275476

btw, may I ask wat are U having for wedding favours?

Dear Seiko

CONGRATULATIONS to You and your HUBBY! Wishing both of you a blissful and wonderful marriage!

Do share with us your AD photos, ok?

Hi Sandy, mine is in mid-Nov, so far, I've only been emailed to collect cards "around now" (but I haven't, abit tied up with my gowns rushing for PS).

So yours should be nothing urgent yet, probably why your coordinator boh-chap, but agree no excuse for poor attitude (and the link you attached I agree not very encouraging). Should at least intro himself to you first too and HE should call you back when the date is near, not tell you it's the other way round.

If you want, just pop by T Dragon to see cards lor, I went to browse a month or so back when I was free. No need to ask coordinator.

Hi Sandy

wahhh u n Apr 19 b day falls on same day??? GUESS WAT!! mine's 1 day after yrs!!

Aiyoo, i thot this Francis Lim was gd.,.... okieee, i think u shd call Mandarin n ask 2 speak to Thomas. I think he's their boss in Catering Sales.

I chose the candles as favours cos more unique *heheh* have u seen the candle yet? we rejected the chopsticks cos quite common. Since candle is a new favour, we thot y not...

THANKS SANDY 4 YR WELL-WISHES!

Sandy,
Ask for a change. When we got a call from Francis informing us that he'll be taking over our account from Zainal, my fiance immediately called the director to complain him about our bad experiences with Francis before we got Zainal. So the director change another coordinator for us.

Hi MT
Thanks for sharing with me. The sales manager i/c of yr a/c is Henry?

Hi Seiko
wow.. next yr maybe we can celebrate our bday together liao.. heheheee..

Thanks for your advice.

As of this morning, my a/c has been taken over by Gilbert the Asst Director. Will be meeting up with him this Thurs evening.

wow.. i m thinking of getting the candles too. do they give U the gift tag for the candles or U have to source it yourself?

U r most welcome!

Hi blushblush
Thanks for sharing yr view. May I know who is the new sales manager that has taken yr a/c?

HI Sandy

glad u finally made the switch. DId u call Thomas?? I can't remember if there's a tag *heheeh* but even if it doesnt have 1, i dun think i'll go 4 personalised tag ... cos normally pple will juz throw it away along wif the wrapper

Hi Seiko
Ya lor.. hopefully this switch will 'work well'.

Yesterday Thomas was on leave so didnt manage to speak to him but left voice mail for him. Instead I spoke to Gilbert and I guessed that is how he ended up taking my a/c lor..

I do agree with U that it is norm for pple to throw away the tag with the wrapper.. in a way, it is a saving too.. heheheeee...

so when will U be starting yr leave?

Anyone tried their Lunch Banquet before? How was it? Was the food okie?

Hi Sandy

gd thing u made the call.... at least u can be assured this assistant manager will look after yr a/c

I'll be on leave 3 days b4 wedding.... Phewwww, Boss approved my leave today

Hi Seiko
will see how things goes on this Thurs evening la..
will keep U posted again

aiyo.. yr boss very S-L-O-W leh.. should have approve w/o hesitation.

Hi Seiko,
But everything on schedule right
Can sit back and relax
(pamper your skin

I'm also having my wedding dinner @ Mandarin Singapore.

Just wanna know if we can bring duty-free liquor to the dinner? Or do we have to buy duty-paid liquor?

HI Sandy

do let us know how things went wif yr coordinator ya?

MT
Meeting Dolly this sat FINALLY! will keep u gals posted after that
I hope everything is on schedule cos i still do not know what i left out *heheheh*

Hi Seiko,

Do let us noe how the flowers arrangement r like with dolly...how u find her service etc? any idea whether she got any website?

Ladies
how does the new candle look like? nice?

I am considering Mandarin for next year. May I know how much is a table on average for Sat night dinner? I have about 60-70 tables. How much in advance did you contact the hotel before confirming them? Thanks so much!

Hi dainty, duty-FREE liquor is not allowed by LAW to be served for public consumption eg. banquets in restaurants or hotels

Hi Pumin, the earlier the better so you can compare and shortlist. Better for you to contact them directly because each hotel has different perks that may be significant in your decision-making, rather than just price. You can try your hand in erm, bargaining- can't hurt to ask.

Hi Seiko, ok finally lol, will wait for flower updates!

Hi MT,

ooo but what if the liquor tat we have does not have the duty-free sticker? then can we use that?

cos i tink duty-free has a sticker on the bottle rite?

Hello ladies!

Hi seiko, hope u still remember me, my nick used to be just "Jan"!
u must be excited now that ur wedding in less than 2 weeks eh!! Now u shld just relac and stay pretty!
hehe.. Will wanna hear more abt ur wedding at belvedere coz mine's the same as urs! hehe.. Congrats to u in advance!

hi pumin, each table will prob be abt $800nett for weekends.. if u have a wedding date in mind, u shld call them to fix an appt already and prob make tentative booking first, coz some ppl booked 1.5yrs in advance...

Hi Chinadoll

meeting Dolly tomorrow *hee* wonder wat ideas she'll throw in 4 me cos i dun quite like the stage deco, find it too bare leh....

Oh, i love the candles! its in silver round tin wif a front beige cover of Mandarin's logo with words 'tk u' i think? n there also a red heart stuck onto the tin. Inside the tin, there r 2 hearts ( 1 pink 1 blue overlapping ) wif a white background. Oh the pastel pink n blue hearts r 'slightly raised' ... hope my descriptions r clear *hee*

Hi MT!
haven heard fr u 4 quite sometime now. Will be meeting nick onli next tues 2 view the 1st montage.... wahhh i cant wait 2 see it n hear the songs i chose 2 go along wif it *hee*

Hi JAN!! of cos i rem u! will def ask Nick 2 snap more pix n show u gals the ballrm *hee* my wedding's next sunday! unbelievable! time juz POOFS by ...... haiyoooooo

Seiko...guess u must b veri excited rite now..
hope that dolly will transform the place into ur dream venue

dun forget to show us ur ballroom pixs..

So u ladies r quite happy with their food quality??

Hi dainty, duty-FREE is recognisable by sticker and the SIZE of the bottle. It's different from duty-PAID. If you are concerned abt hard liquor, I think there are some other threads advising how to circumvent by pouring into regular bottles etc (but quite lehchey, must see whether you have so many regular empty bottles? Anyway by rules, hotel only accept sealed bottles, not sure if anyone ever got past that). If concerned about wines, then Carrefour/ other big supermarts have regular sales, if you are not picky, can get $10-12 thereabouts a bottle, and they DELIVER to hotel

Wow Seiko, very busy huh!
I just collected my WG and Cocktail dress (after more alterations, heehee), my mum went with me to SCRUTINISE the fit and then bought some tarts for my BS cos cause them so much trouble (lose weight, alter gown, then like too tight, alter again ahhaahah). Did my nails (DIY, must change polish coat again on Sun lah), threaded my face.

Today my trial at home, hehe, wait for my MU artist to come in afternoon, will probably take whole afternoon to discuss and try everything
Evening must run to my florist to see what kind of flowers I want the next day. Tonight must bleach my teeth (at-home trays).

My EG not ready yet, left only some beading, fits satisfactorily. So poor thing my designer beading herself (I was so surprised), she explained cos she's afraid the beader will misinterprete the kind of style she wants, I told her I collect Sun (I have to run around to my Kua lady 4:30pm, florist 6pm, then my BS 7pm). I fuss-pot didn't like any of my BS's veils, so asked her to cut a new one for me (I want plain not pouffy, not satin-lined). I'm thinking I'd ask for her pouffy satin-lined veil too lah, standby ahhahaa. Then must bleach teeth at night again. So many things to do before Mon's PS.

Hey Chinadoll, you confirmed with Mandarin or still KIV the venue? When's your banquet/ which hall?

Hi Pumin, Mandarin is one of a few that has no corkage, freeflow beer (not sure if applicable on week-END hor), so need to consider those too.

hi seiko!

Yup, can roughly imagine ur candles description! Sounds lovely! Wat are the other new favours they have?

hi Chinadoll, got a friend who attended dinner in Mandarin about 2 months back, she said overall the food is not bad
Which other hotels are u shortlisting?

Yup, MT, mandarin also give free flow beer for weekends..

Hi Chinadoll

ive had my food tasting 1st wk of Aug.... the portions were generous.... n i know its unethically or politically incorrect 2 say this, but the sharksfin was really gd.... generous portions n u can actually see lots of the fin *hee* The duck was surprising tender n gd... for a person who dislikes duck intially, im a convert now *hahah*

Ladies
met up with Dolly today... WOW, the moment i stepped into her shop, i was surprised 2 see her... cos she looked like a model!! So funky wif her hairstyle n looks cool! ahahah cant believe she's a florist. Anyway, she's such a nice lady who has so much suggestions 2 offer....
In the end, I picked champagne roses ( more orangey )for the ballrm deco.... cos think the warm shade wld fit in all rite in Belvedere whose colour scheme is more to the warm-shades....

Guess wat? the horrible us ( me n hubby )went to Say Yes at ROM to order the 2nd AD bouquet ( 1st bouquet provided by Santiago )... Yet after meeting up wif Dolly, i fell in love with her champagne roses! these roses r dif fr the deco 1's... in that Dolly said the colour really resembles the colour of champagne.... hence, she'll deliver this 3rd bouquet to the bridal suite on the day itself so that i cld use it for the dinner.

Hence i'll be using 1st ( light pink ) and 2nd bouquet ( purplish pink ) for day, Dolly's bouquet for nite.

hope my bouquet fr Say Yes turns out all rite..... Ive ordered my ROM + PS bouquet fr Elaine of Say Yes, so she immediately knew i was there 2 order AD bouquet when she saw me *hahah*.
She said my choice of Lydia Rose ( Holland Rose )was unique in a sense that she has never had customers order it b4... she has seen the rose n said its real pretty .... ok lah, hope she's rite bt it

Gd Luck 4 yr PS on MON MT!! It'll def be a lovely day! Oiii, muz share a few preview pix 1st hor *heheheh* Dolly is 1 funky lady whom i felt so comfortable with.... we had a very short meeting n settled everything rite away! HMmmm, fits my chope chope personality hahahahh!

hi jan
Mandarin has pralines, fruitcakes, chopsticks and candles as favours for the time being...... hope they bring in more favours by the time of yr wedding

Seiko >> went down to see lynn..turn out we realise u r the one havin ur weddin next sun..at benedverle..cos i wanna to view the setup again mah
heehee so mayb if i go down.i can take a peek at u :P

MT >> long time no see
well rite now i waiting for my fil to confirm a date...shd b in oct / nov next yr...i spoken to lynn after zainal left...hmm i shortlisted mandarin and another hotel..but so far mandarin 1st choice...tink i shd b usin the mandarin court

Hi Chinadoll
Oh, u met up with Lynn already? pretty gal hor *hehehe* n nice 1 too
My weddings this coming sunday not next sunday leh :P
Hey, come down lah 2 take a look at the deco ( n Me hahahah )
ard 7pm wld be gd cos everything wld have been set up already

I have faith in Dolly so u know wat 2 expect when its yr turn next yr

Hi seiko

Yup i meet up with lynn...heehee u r rite..she pretty
when she mentioned abt the wedding tis sun..and mentioned emily..so i recall it must b u lor ..heehee i hope i can make it..cos i will b makin mooncakes tis sun..

heehee hope u wun mind if i drop by around 7pm to take a look hor.haha of cos at u too...

Chinadoll
Mine is Mandarin Court too
Hmmn, so exciting... this Sunday Seiko's wedding liao! :D I can't drop by supposed to find air tix to Shanghai, argh all fully-booked I am in shit!

Hi Chinadoll, mine in mid-Nov this yr
I have raves for the service from Henry- I wanted to have PS in bridal suite, he explained full occupancy but I could have a quick 20mins shoot if I call and let him know, so I popped by, he opened the suite, pointed out which ideal locations to my Photog, suggested the coffee lounge, the pool, found out how long timeframe for the kah lui bang.

Hey Seiko, I won't be around to drop by (am *finally* going to Shanghai- bringing my EG & WG with me, a tripod, my camera... tomorrow!)

Have a good wedding! :D

Oops must be confusing Seiko, the Japan one in Oct- that's the one I'd bring my kua

HB's colleagues probably find me somewhat balmy.

Hi Seiko,

Congratulations to you on your wedding this Saturday!

I have made arrangement to meet up w Henry to discuss certain details @ 2pm. Guess will not be able to meet u then. Enjoy your day.

Hi jojok, 2 thumbs up for Henry's service so far, he's been especially accomodating from discussing my package (I'm insistent so he had to ask his director for certain requests I made, better than straight away tell me they don't have this practice and so on), to reminders, to arranging for suite to be available for my PS, to finding out the kah lui bang for me!

baRmy me

HI chinadoll

OKieeee, but how will i recog u? *hee*

HI MT
wahhhh going 2 2 places for PS?? so envious!!

Hi JOjok
I booked a rm for Gel, Jan and Audrey on my AD.... so these 3 will be having a fun time there i suppose, already talking bt going swimming hahahah tks 4 yr well-wishes

Am so glad i have so many frds 2 help me out.... they really made my preps stress-free

Hope Dolly gives me a 'surprise' this Sunday *ehehh*

hihi ladies

Seiko...heehee easier for me to recognise u :P heehee...i still not sure whether i can make it anot..cos i got tons of mooncakes to make..hahaha...

MT...ur ps must b veri fun..so many places...

Dear Seiko

Are you counting down to your BIG day? Should be on leave liao, pampering yourself to be the most 'mei mei' bride on Sun 31 Aug 03...

Once again, wishing you and your hubby a blissful and wonderful marriage! God bless!

hihi seiko
how ur wedding?? sori i was bz doin mooncakes so i cant make it down..

possible to email me ur actual day banquet setup???thanks

hihi seiko!

Hope u had a wonderful time yesterday!! U must still be in the hotel ya...
Hope i could view some of ur ballroom pics too! hehe..

Not sure whether anyone interested in a voucher by Marine Mandarin. Free food tasting upon confirmation of banquet valid till Dec 03. I have no use of this voucher at all and would like to give it away. ANyone interested, pls click on my username to email me. Thank you!

HI LADIES!!!!
im back after a 2 nites stay at Mandarin....

I love the bridal suite so much! tucked away at the corner of each floor somemore....

LYNN my coordinator was FANTASTIX! she was prompt in all the meails n calls i made 2 her.... n even when shes off work, she ans my calls ( i called her on her hp leh so paiseh ) promptly n follows up with emails ( for confirmations ).... Service was excellent!

On 31/8, she had 2 clients at 2 dif towers, n she was reeally dashing fr 1 place 2 another 2 oversee things,..,.

She saved my day cos when my MC forgot 2 intro the video montage, Lynn came 2 my rescue by being the part time MC! hahahaah so sporting leh.
Really appreciate it.

N She managed 2 get hold of 3 rms for my guests on the same floow at the last minute... i everything oso last min.... phewww she was able 2 carry out all the instructions effectively....

I felt so at home at Mandarin that im def coming back 4 stays in future...

Food serving portions were huge!!

All my frds commented that they were so full by the duck dish, that they hardly touched the food that folllowed.... but Mandarin doesnt allow pple 2 tabao.... cos i think due 2 sars, they dun wan risk their reputation lor.

Mandarin's captain LIZA was amazing too! cos my MC was kind of informed last min, he wasnt too sure bt the procedings..... Liza n Lynn guided him thru ... really stress free weddding man....

GLAD i pickwed Mandarin as my choice.....

Dolly was FANTASTIX too! the bouquet she did 4 me , specially for dinner was so classic.... n the deco was better than i expected... So glad we took time off 2 meet up with her in person....
really a creative lady....

Hey hey Seiko!!!

Congrats!! Glad u enjoyed ur day sooo much!!

Oh, the bridal suite is great?! Sounds like it's very big??hehe.. Never seen it yet!

Did ur guests comment whether the food is good and oh yes, did anyone say anything abt the pillars?? hehehe.... that's my main concern for now..
Frankly speaking, was a bit shaken when i heard abt Pan pac's ballroom promotion package which is very good deal.. hehe.. but of coz wont change lah! haha

I'm quite excited abt the decor part! Btw, did u top up extra for decor and did u pay for extra seat sashes??

Lynn sounds like she's very good and professional! Well, hope my coord will be good too...

Hi Seiko,

Glad u enjoyed your wedding. Hey, Dolly asked me to go down & have a look at the deco on both level 4 ballrooms. Saw your deco & liked it. Well, Dolly tried to arrange for a meeting during weekday after office hours but I usually work late so will not be able to meet up. Thus, decided to ask Dolly to go along w your deco set up. A few couples were also there looking at the deco setup. Just choosen my colour theme & also met up w Henry (banquet mgr) to go thru' some details like choosing the table linen colours etc...

I saw your hubby quite busy walking here & there but didn't see any other familiar face. Should have approached him then can ask which room u were so can say hello but he really look v stressed up so gave it a miss.

Hi Jan

the bridal suite is quite large n comfy most importantly... felt so comfy that i din wan 2 come home ahhahah

Oh, i rec lots of compliments on the food.... some pple even complained that the serving portions were so huge that there were so much left over!! all agreed Mandarin was generous n the food tasted better than my food tasting! Esp the fish this time round was done 2 perfection... during my food tasting, it was overcooked.... Guests loved the candles too n i had a few who lit them on the spot *hehehh* The Pillars were a prob, but i think of it as 'part of deco' lor ahhahah it din bother me much, cos im enjoying the moment at that time :P

I din top up anything 4 deco... except i paid Dolly for an extra hand bouquet.... i used 2 bouquets during the day.... n Dolly's at nite... cos i figured for nite, its better 2 use a more subdued colour

Hi Jojok

Really enjoyed my wedding ... everything whizzed past so quickly but glad ive got the memories stored in grey matter form, in pix form, in video form *heheeh*

My hubby was really fustrated b4 the dinner started cos he realised his dad missed out completely 1 table, n so the whole table was empty! But luckily, since nobody sat there, we din have 2 pay for the cost... we had 34 tables n the recept was pushed out onto the corridors instead.

So farnie 2 have so many pple looking at my deco initially *heheh* cos Dolly told me the next day that Ive started the trend liao... n even Mandarin's side was seeing Shang's deco for the 1st time at their very own hotel *hehehe*
Dolly herself had not expected any1 2 ask 4 sth dif, guess i juz too fussy lor ahahaah

Actually when i saw Dolly's portfolio, i din expect her 2 agree 2 my request leh.... but she was so nice, cos she said hubby n I were so sincere in coming down 2 her shop 2 c her personally, so she did me this favour.... so thankful 4 her help

i was on the 15th floor, we had asked for 3 extra rms... 2 for my SIL, and 1 for AnnGel, Janet n Audrey.... these 4 ( including Rosalind ) were such angels... without them, i cldnt have had a memorable wedding.... jan burnt cd-s for me ( i chose the songs, she compiled them ), jan n Gel were chauffeuring my jiemeis 2 my house n for outdoor shoot.... Audrey was my recept....Ros was my bridesmaid for the day. Poor Ros had 2 follow me everywhere, adjust my gown 4 phototaking....
and all 4 had 2 be porters too.... after i left my house for hubby's, they packed all my stuff, albums, portraits, barangbarang into the car, n checked in b4 we arrived.... they also did the set up of the recpt counter! i din have 2 worry bt a single thing..... after wedding, we gathered in the bridal suite 2 view my ROM, PS and Morning HIghlights montage... it feels so good 2 share my biggest day yet with my close frds.... i felt really blessed 2 have them with me since P1.

The ballrm deco i chose for stage belonged to Shang actually.... when i saw Dolly's portfolio ( she does Shang, hyatt, royal park i think? ).... i fell in love with Shang's Pillar drapes theme... cos it looks grand n def way better than the original topiary offered to Mandarin's ballrm.
Placing the cake in the middle really made us the centre of attention man *hahahh* with the pillars as backdrop, the stage doesnt look bare, as compared 2 their original stage deco.

THANKS LYNN AND DOLLY for being angels

hi seiko!

Aiya... i shld have just gone down to take a look at ur ballroom decor!! hahaha!! Shang decor, so i believe should be quite good eh!
hehe..

Ok, at least now i'm wont have to worry abt the food, hopefully they'll keep up their standard!

THANKS to my Lovely helpers AnnGel, Janet, Audrey and Ros for the stress-free wedding too

THANKS to all the gals here at Singaporebrides for yr friendship

Hi Jan

Shang's stage is much bigger so cld take 5 pillars arranged in semi circle... btu Belvedere's stage is smaller... so Dolly used 3 onli... placed horizontally

Actually the pillar drapes is nothing that fantastic juz that i prefer it to the original deco *HEHEHEHE* oso its bigger n taller....

glad 2 hear +ve feedback bt the food... Phewwwwww
hearing bt the big portions n gd food, im really glad i chose mandarin... but my mom said oso depends on luck... there was 3 weddings going on that nite... so i was really really 2 get such service ... really thankful