you can call this/ email to him

His Name: Malcolm Hew
Position: Asst Director of Catering
Tel: 6831 6076

He is a very cute and nice guy....poshbb & I love him....heehee

Hi Dice
in addition, the above photo provided by poshbb is Mandarin Court (the one w/o column). The place accom more than 40 tables if I am not wrong.

Joanne: the suite i gotten has is ok. Big? cant compare to Westin's President Suite for the bridal couple. Spacious? yes indeed! bedroom and the Living is separated, well you can say its a two room connecting by the entrance.
Biug enough for a pte party for 20 after dinner.. ekkeke.. we had a pte party of 18 with lots of wine n snacks the nite after...

i do not have link to Mandarin Court, i was using the Grand ballroom. but i think Malcolm or the catering dept will be able to provide you the link.

Dice: Grand Ballroom is Grand Ballroom. There are number of ballrooms there. Namely, Grand Ballroom, Mandarin Court, Belverde, Act 1 and a reception Hall.
hope this info helps.

Grand Ballroom, does not have any columns, but min tables abt 55 (not sure if the numbers have changed). Mandarin Court if u are having abt 30-40 tables, columnless too, but if you have abt 40 and above.. likely 2 columns or more.

poshbb....
sorri lah....seems like all the ballroom looks the same meh.....but confirm is not the one with column....heehee

hi wong, thks.. good good, if the suite is spacious enough then i can do my soleminisation in the suite..

didnt get to see westin bridal suite, though i have seen their ballrooms..

Wong: isit some big columns? tts belverde. rather small with 2 huge columns! but once i was there to take a peep.. they did it up real nice.

the Westin suite is scary BIG! whole group of 30 pax inside.. and still go plc to sit down play Big 2. lol

the suite in MM is good enough. i dun fancy too big, cos we will not have much time to enjoy it.
more like a hiding plc to stay away before the banquet, but... if all relatives start coming... aiyo... fish market!

poshbb....

i think there are 4 columns right? I almost took that room but luckily Malcolm came to the rescue....He helped me chk for the Mandarin Court avaliability on 25 Mar06 & I got it...

Thanks Malcolm...my hero...heehee

For the suite, which floor did he provide for you? Hope is not on those lower floor else too many ppl will be moving in and out of the room...(ppl = relatives & friends)

Wong: i think Mandarin court do have columns. but if u have 30-40 tables, i am sure u cant see them

as for the suite, if i am not wrong, all the levels will have a suite of the same size. i think i was given flr 21 or 23. cant recall. :P only friends were in my room, :P cos they need a plc to shower n change n rest too... cos its a weekday and some needed to help me to do reception, so all inside my room
thank god i dun have relatives of family members into my room cos i had a dress for cocktail and i went down abt 6.30 to help my girls in the reception too.. and mistaken by Malcolm's colleague ... she thought i was the Emcee.. kekek so funny. I had a wonderful cocktail and a team of nice Banquet staff to make my banquet a wonderful event. All thanks to Malcolm. Credit all goes to him for all his hardwork. if u need an emcee.. let me know.
wink wink...

hi poshbb

u mean that it will be columnless for Mandarin Court if we have only around 35 tables?
coz i always thot that they will open up the ballroom to show at least the 4 columns for any table sizes

sweet: nope. they usually wont open up if not if only 35 tables and open up all, the ballroom looks far too big and too much space. they will partition it in such a way tt the Cocktail can be hold infront of the ballroom.

hey poshbb

i do need emcee leh...care to help??

Mandarin court is the one at the 4th floor the bigger room....u mean have column...

well if there is then the ppl there are so good in hiding it. so....the partition will be there after all....hmmm....have to contact Mal to see see look look the arrangement....

BTW as my wed is in March06 so when is the best time to go food tasting? When is the best time to go collect cards from T.drangon? How's their printing quality? As I may need my church bulletin to be printed, what is their cost like?

can any of the brides here kindly offer me some advice?

I am considering a weekend wedding with MM in 2006 and the price is 719+++. I have 35 tables and hence, it is in mandarin court.

1. What are some of the other things that I can bargain for in the package?
2. Most importantly how is the food? Is it good?

please let me know gals, thanks!!

Wong: kekkee.. u getting very Kanchiong.. kekekee...

Food tasting - at least one mth before the AD, Feb 06. But dun forget CNY in End Jan hor..

Cards - 2 mths before, so you can send one first batch once its ready, and the second batch one mth before. so u have some more time at hand to play with to invite some last min guest (2 weeks) before.
T-dragon is my printer oso. Prompt service! they will give good advice. Cost.. i am not sure, as there are too many designs to choose.

Viewing of Ballroom - arrange with Malcolm and check with him any possible dates where MC has a wedding which belongs to his acct. Never give a surprise pop in to view, some acct. managers dun like it.
The partition is set up infront of MC to enclose a space for the cocktail. the space will have some tall tables for gueest to place their drinks. Indeed MC have columns, you will see it as columnless as long as u take less than 40 tables.

Joanne: 35 Tables likely to be a MC, MM's package is really comprehensive which many hotels cant offer. as for the bargaining of more things? I doubt u can get much more from MM (Sorry a frank opinion). As for the food, i asked ard for comments, all thumbs up. nice nice...

poshbb

thanks, i shall try my luck in getting them to increase the waiter table ratio....

oh ya, frm ur experience, if i arrange 35 tables in Mandarin court, will any of the ppl be blocked by pillars?

My FH is saying to arrange them along the aisle....but i dunno if some unfortunate souls who happen to sit at other end of table will kena the pillars...

sweet: pls dun mention.

Joanne: wats the ratio u looking at.. std ratio is 1 server to 3 tables, U will have to pay for extra if u require 1:1. Main tables will each have a server. There will be no Blockage from the columns with 35 Tables. 35 tables in MC still columnless.

hey poshbb, thks for sharing the suite..

guess tis thread will hve 2 Joanne(s)..hehehe so i better make myself known as JoJo

will be going down to see the ballrooms today..

i also need emcee..can email me [email protected]

hihhi jojo,

hows the decision making coming along...i realised u also considering RTP!!! same s me!!! same name, same taste,..lol..

i haven had a chance to see the RTP bridal suite and the MM bridal suite....i heard the RTP one is stunning.

now i am crossroads, my FH prefers MM while I prefer RTP. price wise not much diff also. let me know your thots on the MM ball room ok? heehee...

Joanne: package for RTP i think its on the higher side... cos my gf had her wedding there and lost 30k. no joke. we knew we bao enough, but her best friend came calling me and tell me abt her losses and expecting us to chip in for her honeymoon cos they lost so much.
Next question is... urs gng to be weekend or weekday? Chance weekday will make, while weekend break even or slight chance to make too..
How many tables are u looking at? if u have a msn. u can add me... [email protected]
Joanne, make sure u do ur numbers right.. i know RTP isnt that cheap. so extreme careful.

hihi joanne...heheh..feels abit funny calling myself...yup actually consider RTP first cos their location is very good and their ballrooms really looks grand but we are worried abt their food... cos my FH keeps hearing their food so-so and they do not hve their own chinese restaurant.. so we are really not sure abt it..tat is why we look at MM... cos afterall my company always use MM as our caterer for our major function..so i trust their food is good..as for ballrooms, as long as their ceiling is not very low and dun give a very cramp feel, we are ok with it.. this is my personal opinion..

i hvent seen the bridal suite for RTP, but i guess u same as me heard alot abt their nice suite..as for MM seen it yesterday find tat is enough for us..

as for price based on weekday rates cos mine is weekday so i only look into weekdays... RTP is confirm higher and i tink poshbb is right..u really got to do ur figures right..

discussed with gals at the RTP thread is really depend on which is important to you.. grand ballroom or good food..

joanne225: MM's is a reputable hotel with own Chinese Resturant with excellent cook. but of cos, wat u tasted during food tasting STD 20% discount on the AD. Thanks to Kitchen of MM who made my Banquet a good one.. and majority were given thumbs up for the food MM served. I have the worse fear for the food being served, as i had invited a Minister, to my surprise.... MM did an excellent job. you are very assured tt MM's food is of a good quality, as many Ministers' function are held there, frankly both RTP n Shang's food only so so.
I was at a wedding dinner at Shang in June 05, and guess what, the sound system is horrible, the wedding montage which was played with very very soft volume. disappointment.
RTP has a high ceiling which means it looks grand. MM has a lower ceiling which makes the plc more cosy. to each its own, and likings too.

let me attach a link of my whole wedding pics n the banquet pic for the fellow BTB here

http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/carole75/my_photos

jojo, poshbb

yea....i m looking at 06 weekend wedding..MM cost 836 while RTP is higher side, costing 881 per table, both r net prices. yea, in terms of $$, RTP is higher price, but RTP is international 5 star hotel...so compared to others in its league, they r quite value for money.

as for MM, they are also value for $$ in their way, i mean, they really put in alot of perks, so really no complains there....

we r ok with anything between 850 to 880 per table and thats why MM and RTP are the final 2 in the match...haha. FH likes MM for its price, I like RTP for its bridal suite and service. i m not too impressed wif RTP ballroom shape, althought i must agree that their themes are beautiful. They offered me the canning room as i had only 35 tables. I find it odd shape and as my gown gg to have long train, its hard to make a turn with the L shape march in.....

but i think we will reach some common ground soon cos i will b gg overseas soon and i might leave the final call to FH. Basically, i m also quite ok with MM. My gd fren had a wedding there last year and honestly, i thot the food was good.

hey jojo, did u also say the price for MM going to increase by $100? thats quite alot isnt it....if so better book fast loh..

hey poshbb,

thanks for sharing your wedding pics! they are very well taken. oh you preggie already? A big congrats to you and your hubby!! when are u due?

Joanne225: yes yes.. preggie with a girl, Clarisse, who is gng to due really near my 1st wedding anniversary in Oct.
so next time celebrate wedding anniversary got no peace.. whahaha..... as for the pics taken.. i took a value for money package.. $1400 for both video n photography.. most of my gfs took this photograpgher package.

yes poshbb...

seen some of your photo NICE leh....

BTW can enlighten me : what is RTP?

Oso, have emailed my contact....

hey joanne, tis is wat i heard from my colleague who works quite closely with MM and the coordinator at RTP (Raffles the Plaza) also told us that if u book this year will be tis yr price but next yr book then next price.. as i understand tat hotels usually increase price every yr..experiences from those who do seminar frequently with hotels.

hihi poshbb (mayng), congrats on ur baby gal... btw can also email ([email protected]) me ur contact for both video n photography?? thks thks...

joanne225: Simon - 67779002, must ask him to put his name down for taking your video.. kekke if not tell him dun wan.. keke.. he is good n fun. tks tks.. my girl super super noti... kekkee

Wong: RTP = Raffles the Plaza - former Westin

jojo: Simon - 67779002 - Simon video
got its own site too.. check it out..

jojo,

any thots after ur visit to MM? reached a decision? think i mostlikely gg with them. I still waiting for them to get back to me on some queries i have asked.

hey actually such a coincidence that we have same name and planning for 06 wedding, and we have quite similar tastes for venues!

poshbb,

thanks for the contact. oh yes, by the way, those sports cars that are lined up together in some of your photos r cool....and look expensive!!

hi poshbb, thks for the url..

hey joanne, i tink most likely i'm going with them.. arranged to meet them on next wednesday. hehe.. i agreed on the similar tastes..but i am doing my dinner tis yr.. on dec 5.. so i actually got not much time left..hehe..btw can share some of the queries you hve in mind?cos really duno wat to look out for..can email me [email protected]

hmmm....poshbb do you think is a bit too early to disturb him?? I am wondering if he can help me get the songs that MM is providing.

If he songs fit my bill then i need not source songs....

so u think i can call him??

wong: wat songs you are looking at? u can email him to ask if his colleagues (sound tech) has a list of songs for you to go through. Cos even u call him, he will still have to get back to you later as i doubt he has the list in his mind.

Wong: can u check Malcolm's biz card and give me his email again? i keep having email bounce back when i email him..
tks babe.

jojo,

yes i am gg with mandarin meritus too. most likely gg down to sign contract with them tmr....my coordinator is evelyn, and i think she gave me quite a good deal.

as for the queries i had in mind, these are the following:

1. wanted to increase cards
2. wanted to increase car parks
3. tried to get discount

1 and 2 can; 3 unfortunately, cannot