Mandarin Orchard Singapore

hi seiko, thanks for the info, i search for it tonite.

hi jan, i think guest will not look at the ceiling too... cant make up my mind... but i love the rm...

hi lena, never mind, hotel oso not bad...

Hi Lena,

Yes, i wld say Mandarin is very flexible in their terms and everything, easy to negotiate.. whereas for those so called more ex hotels, they're rather rigid, everything go by the book..
Nope i'm not getting real cake, i'll just take watever it's given in the package...

Hi Tulip, i guess if ur no of guests is small, mandarin will be a good choice, considering their very attractive package, otherwise, other hotels perhaps with better decor and maybe ambience are very ex, like Hyatt, four seasons etc... But if u really love the room, i think u shld just go for it!!

HI Jan , Lena , Tulip

Wahhh, thoroughly enjoyed my PS. I had 7 outfit changes n 7 dif hairdos, so can imagine how much time it took .... i left the studio for Sentosa at 530... onli reached back at 745. Tiring but was a fun session 4 both hubby n I. Can tell he's so tired ( fr all that smiling that his smile canna the freeze smile type after sometime
) Huh, u mean there's no real cake in the deal? i thot the bottom layer is real? aiyo....

Trixie hi
errr, i thot Mandarin renovated some yrs back? u mean they're renovating (again? )

Hi seiko, great that u enjoyed ur PS!!

Yesterday's weather was good too!
Wow, u actually woke up so early for PS, 7 outfits and 7 hairstyles, must be really tiring!! haha!
Btw, which bridal are u with?

Hi Trixie, i think for the main tower, it has already been renovated, think they'll renovate the south tower (ie where the Grand ballroom is) i think, not too sure...

Morn Jan

woke up at 7+ yest, cos simply can't zzzz.
Was really thristy throughout cos i din dare 2 drink.. cld onli take 1 - 2 sips... when i came home, i downed 2 glasses of ice water leh *Heheh*
Im with Santiago... was quite sure they wun deliver initally, but was plesantly surprised that my makeovers turned out well... now onli hoping pix turn out well too

i went to sentosa n fullerton ( 4 night shots )...
had a memorable time

u signed up wif any bridal ?

Hi seiko!!

Looks like taking PS is very very tiring!!

Is Santiago located at Bugis? If u dun mind cld u share hoe much is their MTM package?

I'm still looking ard, taking my time, havent sign up any yet!

Hi Jan

there are 2 bridal studios in bugis, 1 called bridal concept, 1's santiago. If u take the side escalator up 2nd level, u can c it. Its beside jean yip salon. They dun have the wow wow gowns, but sometimes you'll be surprised. I will eye their fashion show gowns, n insist on trying those. I paid 3188 for my package but did top 288 ( i think ) for hubby's jacket. There's a comprehensive writeup by fellow santiago brides at the thread if u'd llike an opinion.

i cld choose mtm WG n EG in my package, but i was lucky that i found both otr.... cos i heard sometimes mtm may not be that nice afterall, sometimes depends alot on luck too.... so i din wan 2 risk it ( errr, also quite bo chup too
) Santiago offers v comprehensive ( bah kah liao ) package.. n is 'kind' 2 our budget. So i dun have 2 go ard sourcing 4 mens suit, or car etc...

take yr time n compare, most impt muz try the gowns of various studios b4 u commit... Gd luck in yr serach

Woah 7 changes! *Envy*
* My photo studio Utopia put a 4 gown limit
Not that I have any more gowns to change into...
All the OTR clothing I've tried just doesn't fit or suit me well

* Actual day photography will be Nick Goh like Seiko

* rental MTM WG & EG, OTR suit, purchase MTM cocktail dress from Marina Sq. Bridal Art. So far rather pleased with their service. Quite excited cos I designed the WG myself, and the EG is their design based on one of their WG but in different colour- so should be quite grand too.
* 2 OTR Kuas different piece for Photoshoot and Actual day from House of Ettiquette.
* Car, decorations etc separate.

I did a schedule of gown changes for actual night- realised each of the 4 pieces only get <FONT COLOR="red">45 mins</FONT> exposure throughout the cocktail and dinner stretch
Very ex! So trying to gain more mileage for some of them- have own photoshoots with friends and family portraits that sort of thing lined up. My boutique not that particular about lending me for those occasions. But in the end after estimating all the hours the clothing is worn for the various photoshoots, the actual day and night wedding- still works out a hefty $100 per hour. I'm abit weird lah, do this kind of calculation :P

Back to Mandarin, the real cake I thought normally would the top tier (cos that's the smallest tier- cheaper for them). But in Mandarin's case I'm not sure, I have the impression the ENTIRE cake is dummy and any real cake (for the weekenders) is separately given to you in your room.

Hi MT,

So ur package is from Bridal Art right? May i know what's ur package price like?
Oh btw, when's ur big day?

Oh yes, the top tier will usually be real.. i think, cant really remember, and i think they may send another cake to ur room at night..

hihi..

Yup they r renovatin their ballroom..tat wat i understand from zainal..

heehee they more flexible in their packages than sum hotels etc..so i quite alright with the package so far...just that i hv not realli like a hotel..u get wat i mean?? there is notin to take my breath away..though so far i still prefer mandarin..

MT...wow ps so tiring..cant imagine for mine..heehee i will be taking photos in bintan..it a package which i had signed up for...

Hi Jan, my bridal package price is not "standard" cos my WG abit picky with lace and long train, my EG is actually a WG design so more expensive than usual EG... alot of fluttering "leaves" handsewn onto it. My cocktail dress they charged me for workmanship- I bought my own (expensive) beaded lace material from Arab St.

Cannot use my package for comparison at all, plus I didn't want to include the makeup, hair, flowers, car and choosing my own for those. More expensive to ala carte but can control preferences. I'm rather *ahem* ngeow.

Hi MT,
Thanks, know wat u meant, yeah, customise will be more ex usually, but i guess u'll be happier with the end result!

Hi Lena,
Well, I think i know howu feel too, there're actually some hotel decor which is very nice, but too bad, they're usually more ex!! Like for eg Conrad, ShangriLa..
Yes, really agree that mandarin is very flexible, that was one of the reason that i signed up with them too!

HI MT
Wow, yr WG n EG sounds very grand leh

after yr PS or fitting can show us pix? take a small peek onli
Santiago onli has a pathetic 2 kuas ... so dunno how leh... wonder if they separate kuas 4 PS fr actual day 1's. Actually Santiago onli got 6 outfit changes, but cos i wore my CS fr Amor Meus for PS, so tog 7.. i think they wun mind, cos that wld imply im ordering more pix 4 them hor? how many gowns u wearing on yr actual day? i think most pple wld be shocked by my choice of colour for EG, cos its a shade darker than pastel yellow! wah,
then no 1 can mistake me 4 a guest liao hor.... Wow, U engaged Utopia? thats ex rite? house of etiquette kua not cheap too....

Jan
u mean there's another cake included in our package? dun thinki have leh?

as 4 the cake, if its top tier, its so tiny, how 2 serve pple wif that?

Lena
Ubin is a gd location 4 PS cos not many pple had gone there for PS, so got that fresh feeling...... cos hubby n I r the type who perspire like mad... so we decided 2 chope chope finish the outdoor shoot nearby....

Hi Seiko, will post pics when ready, my gowns very last-minute am abit worried. I didn't take my boutique's kua cos it, unluckily, didn't fit me well. House of Ettiquette kuas are not cheap, the 2 kuas cost more than my WG and EG... *gulp* But then also cos I got expensive taste (and no money! Haha everything I also want, in the end must DIY to stretchhhhhh). Will be waiting to see your pics too, :P Yours way faster than mine!

Talking about unusual colours... my cocktail dress is solely black lace on white lining, my WG has black lace applique... :P I've been specially buying foreign magazine, not to can1-kao3 but to let my MIL see... foreign magazines have alot of black, more than my gown, can prepare her better (she knows there's "some" black already just haven't seen the actual gown either). So far she's more receptive than my HB who predicts the elders will have a fit. That's why must slowly prepare them...

Weekenders only have 1 cake I think, weekdayers don't have- only dummy cake. Usually real cake compliments of hotel is less than 0.5kg... :P Western Tradition is you are supposed to keep one year for anniversary... but err, wait food poisoning eh, traditional must have been different climate, different type of cake!

MT
oh, i din know that they onli offer the cake on wkend... how come so ngiam siap>? cake doesnt cost much ( 2 them oso wat )

oh, gals, if you're interested, i can send u a preview pix of my WG taken by hubby during the PS.
he took the pix using his hp, so resolution quite bad... do leave yr email n i'll get back 2 u asap

Cheerios!

Hihi ladies

Seiko...can u email me at [email protected] like to take a look at ur gown

heeheee for my ps...which i hv not fixed the time yet...still quite early...my bridal suggestin that i wear a bikini..since i takin photos in bintan...shd b niwara gardens

Jan/ MT / Seiko >> mind sharin with ur package details? so that i can bargain better when i do sign up with mandarin...

haiz...since i had customised everytin for my rom 2 mths back..for my rom, i gv a bouquet of lollipops as my favours, venue decor at amara hotel etc.....so i tink for my weddin will b customisd too..such as wedding favours ...decor etc...so more headaches for me..no ideas on wat to do at tis moment...

Morn Lena

already sent the pix .... wahhh weee! bikini? this idea is refreshing man.... sure will add some 'fire' 2 yr album.. hot babe
u have 2 ourdoor location rite? wats the other 1 u have u mind?

i had my ROM last yr on boxing day dec 26... so i got my frds tins of Olio Dome cookies... cost 8 bucks per tin i think? onli invited close frds, so i bought 10 tins... then wrapped wif those pink chiffon like wrapper, secured wif ribbons...
wahhh, dun think i;ll do sth so taxing on wedding day ... too time consuming

wow, u did the decor?

Hihi..

Seiko
my ps will be entirely at bintan in the nirawa gardens..so that depends on where the photographer wan to take..at the beach..the pool etc..heehee the bintan trip will b a mini break for us

Heee...for the rom..i went down to tellthe florist wat excatly i wan for the venue ..like the flowers..went to make 2 cushions that hv our names for our couple chair ...heehee i do tink that my rom was lovely..the hand bouquet matches my gown..the favors too...heehee if ever we meet up..i will show u the ablums..

HI Lena

going 2 bintan is a great idea cos can kill 2 birds wif 1 stone ya?

wow, u had so many personalised items? did u top up alot? wld love 2 c yr album too

Hihi Seiko

heehee tat rite..then we can hv a break..cos the bridal package consist a 2 days 1 nite stay..so we just extend one more day...heehee

yup...cos i felt that the solemnistion is the most impt in the weddin ... well for the venue decor..in the package it was supposed to b fake flowers..but i bargain with the hotel to throw in fresh flowers..so in the end i din top for flowers..

my favors cost me about $2.50 per set..hand bouquet i just told the hotel florist..that i dun wan any flowers which i received before such as roses etc and it must b naturual and petite size..so she designed sumtin for me lor..since i told her my gown is light blue..she match the ribbions to my gown...for my gown..it a package which i signed up with empire..so i get to select the color..design etc lor...

Heeehee no problem..we can always meet up to tok abt our weddings :P

For my ROM, i got my bouquet fr SAY YES... pretty gd service n nice designs.... i took pink/peach roses 2 match my pinkish gown ..... my PS bouquet i chose tulips ( 2 tone ) as it cld match 2 of my EG's... kill 2 birds with 1 stone hor ? *HEheh*

wow, how many favours did u give away? if the quantity is large, then quite a hefty sum ya?

hihi seiko

hmm i tink i ordered abt 45 sets..but everyone love the favor..esp the kids :P and the chupa lollipops are my fav :P heehee went down to a weddin fair at fort canning on sat..then realised that our favor been used by my vendor as a new addition in their showcase

rite now i still sourcin for places...but the tin is notin i like so far..haiz..wat other places u went to???

What happen to mt???she no longer in the thread

Hiya Lena

wah 45 sets? u had so many guests for yr ROM?
yr idea muz have been refreshing thats y the owner had decided 2 adopt it

I onli visited Orchade Parade Hotel, but found the rm too small 2 cater 2 my 30-33 tables.... Had Oriental in mind too, but cos they were booked on my date, so *heheh* hop over 2 MM lor.

Yalor, where's she?

i had about 35 guests or more..cant realli rem..but i gv a couple to my hotel caterin mgr and service staff..and florist aso..they been of great help and service

How do u find orchard parade??? i i hv not been there yet...but for oriental..i dun realli like it..i prefer mm to it..

Lena

OPC is way too cramped 2 fit 30 tables even... it sits 26 comfortably ( if i rem correctly ). So having 28 - 30 is pushing luck quite abit.
the ceilings very low, MM is higher, but still not as high as some places like orchard hotel, shang etc. The aisle is very short n when i went down 2 view the whole set up, the particular couple had bt 28 or was it 30 tables, n the place was really too overcrowded.

I love the food by Club Chinois as ive been there twice... thats y i short listed OPH, but if the ballrm were 2 b a lil bigger, i think i wld have went along wif my choice. Oh, its cheaper than MM too.

hello gals!

Lena, if ur budget permits, why not try Marriot, sheraton...

Hey, wondering hv u gals visited the bridal suite at Mandarin b4? I havent yet, and wondering how is it? Big? hehe..

oh yes seiko, are u doing anything special for March in for Belvedere that we are having, coz the entrance to the stage isnt really directly straight rite, wat do u think of it? We got to do sort of an L shaped walk in huh?

Hi Jan, haha I haven't seen the suite yet- always been rushing when we went there cos HB haven't eat dinner etc.

Hi Lena, I disappear cos I never gave ROM favours hehe. I *think* 60% of my photos done already... crawling up to Page 10 (see lah, merrily ask HB to get more film in the end I scan and edit lehhh, hahaha). More better than too little lah. http://community.webshots.com/user/mel171103kev

Working BLIND- LCD screen is hell on the eyes for editing. When I switch over to normal monitor- can see so many little things I overlooked and had to redo.

Hey Seiko, I passed by Santiago over weekend to window-view the clothing (and also Ted Collection hehe). Very *greedy* I'm sort of still wanting a cheongsam haha, then now also wanting overseas shoot on top of the local one (supposed to go Japan cos HB got clients... then... then... the clients DON'T want to see him cos they say STILL SARS, argh!) *Bang bang head in utter misery* Japan photoshoot would have been so cool (been there twice- once free-easy so quite comfortable).

Meeting Nick Goh Wednesday! My Cocktail dress this Sat! Everything else still some way (dying of anticipation/ anxiety over my unseen gowns). Cocktail dress material is lace beaded originally- I want to add more beading, my designer think I siao. Of course not I bead... mummy dearest ahahaha!

Like I said, I save abit here abit there on my packages, DIY editing and stuff... but blow still more money on other frills. Hard to resist leh :P

Eh I have wild idea... anyone getting live music... and I don't mean the $2000and above. I see alot of not-too-bad buskers around leh. On 2nd thoughts, maybe bad idea huh :/ Only thinking...

HI Jan

aiyo, i 4got bt the 'not so straight' aisle leh!
its been like months since i visited Belvedere that i totally 4got how the rm looked....

Hmmm, will request 2 view the rm again 4 an idea of the march in, n 2 c how the deco wld fit the rm
tks 4 the reminder... yah, i guess we have 2 do a L shape walk in... pretty weird leh, like marching *hahahah*

Hi MT
wah sei! how many dressed u having? cos yr WG alone sounds impressive liao leh! where u getting yr WG n EG? or Cocktail dress? cos i rem u telling us u getting kua fr HOE rite? Hey, their stuff not cheep leh, wif all the elaborate embroidery? Jap sounds fun... cos many pple going 2 Aus, Europe, so Jap sure sounds refreshing!

Hihi ladies

Great to see everyone back in the thread

Hmm...i nvr get to see orchard parade yet..mayb will take a look..haha cos i wan to cut down on the no of tables..no point havin it too big..i prefer cosy and initmate gatherin for the wedding...

I din get to see the bridal suite too..cos when i went down...zainal was occupied with a weddin that nite...

Well i tink a l shaped march in not bad mah..like this more ppl get to see u man
haha the oni time u doin the march in..might as well do a longer one...rite?

MT >> i quite like nick..but i found him expensive...haiz...so rite now i lookin at bery happy..and yew kwang..any comments?

Hey..wat abt goodwood park??? is the ballroom nice??? the commerical which michelle chia did..the ballroom is at goodwood park?? or which ballroom is that? i realli like that...

Are u ladies doing a cheongsam?? me wan to do aso..but any good one to recommend?? heehee maybe we shd all go to the same one and get a better deal as a result :P

Hi Lena

i shortlisted greymatter n nick onli when i was looking 4 photographer last 4 ROM. but onli managed 2 meet up wif nick n confirmed him on the spot... cos he's really gd at artwork ( which hubby thinks he's really gd ) Hubby was so impressed after viewing his works, that he confirmed him for our ROM ( n Actual day! ). ok lah, he paying, so i no say lor *hehe*

gdwood park seems nice, but i saw pix of the ballrm, quite dark n sombre like that leh... while Belvedere is bright n cheery ( looks 2 me ).

Oh, i mtmt a CS fr Amor Meus at Esplanade.... Francis the designer is gd!

Hi Lena,

I have engaged Yew Kwang for my actual day photography. His artwork are reasonably good &amp; he has digital package too.

Hi Lena &amp; Seiko

Nick's cheapest basic package is 8 rolls, about $700 thereabouts- I'm taking that cos I DIY photo-editing mah. I actually prefer Bery's style but trying to rein in budget- as long as I get a reliable photo for my AD ie. don't miss important shots, good lighting control... the rest I will tweak on my computer (like cropping at an angle for more dynamic feel, fading backdrop etc).

ROM already saved a sum by getting a friend to take- some of the lighting not "professional standard" (cos my friend not pro what), but can correct to certain extent on my computer. Good enough for ROM (and best of all, freeeee leh). He didn't miss certain shots even though I was being difficult earlier that day (can see beginning mostly swing my hair to cover my face haha)... just take it as "building up" anticipation before you really see a clear shot of the bride's face (oh later part of ROM I was in better spirits so I started to smile more and show face haha- my mood swings abit extreme lah haha).

BTW I learnt that from a rather famous and expensive photog- while flipping thru that photog's album, HB was saying... flip so many pages still don't see bride's face, like whetting curiosity. Self consolation haha!

Mum said Kua is chinese enough and traditional, plus workmanship is good (I don't deny but, aiyah, kua cutting is different from CS... I want BOTH haha). HB still jumping over the price of the silver Kua- the most expensive piece full relief silver embroidery... $888 just for ONE time rental ie. no photoshoot. I rented a second red-gold kua for only photoshoot. 2nd Kua is different colour and design, abit cheaper lah... but for photoshoot I added the rental of chinese headgear heehee :P

For photoshoot means 4 total no. of gowns (Kua, Cocktail dress, WG, EG), which is the LIMIT that Utopia imposed anyway- planning to do indoor studio &amp; hotel suite, outdoor Orchard Rd.

I have other photoshoots at my mum's condo swimming pool, reservoir, City Hall vicinity (wait let me think got anymore places I can add ahhahaa- I like places we FREQUENT for memory keepsake :P). These will be by friends (some amateur some pro)... my Bridal shop is very nice on lending me for so long/ so often but problem with the Kua time-limit.

Japan trip likely gone case
Australia next best cos other exotic places (eg. I want India Taj Mahal! Spain!) HB thinks dangerous for tourists like me to be jumping around in expensive gowns.

Actual Wedding day schedule:
WG 1.5hr from mum's to PIL's (late breakfast) to new home.
Silver Kua 1.5hr from new home to mum's (lunch) to new home to hotel (book-in &amp; rest).
Cocktail dress 4hr until about 8pm (1 dance with HB need to refresh our Salsa heehee).
WG again for 45 mins (march-in; cake-cutting; posed table photos).
Silver Kua again for 45 mins (Tea ceremony on stage; champagne pour &amp; toast; mingling table photos).
EG for 45 mins (2nd march-in, thank-yous to spouse, parents &amp; guests; mingling table photos, handshake line).

Don't intend to sit down to eat, will circulate constantly whole night- I want the formal posed table photos as well as informal mingling photos. If I can add a CS (hehehe), just cut the other gowns down to 30mins each :P How much was your CS, Seiko, can describe design also?

BTW you ladies thought about wine yet? My per table costs already very high cos of the suckling pig each, the cocktail choc wafers, the chocolate favours (still using Mandarin's whatever non-edible favours), DIY venue flowers and the real wedding cake. I heard alot of "info." that my HB's relatives are very likely to give $40 or less pax. But I don't want to compromise on my expectations of ambience, making sure guests have enough to eat (and less to complain!)

Found my hard liquor list (from mum's cupboard hah- dutypaid) :D I'd have a helper "jaga" that none are brought into kitchen (as have heard cases elsewhere!)
1. VSOP Courvoisier 0.7cl
2. Remy Martin XO Special 0.7cl
3. XO Hennessy 0.7cl
4. (Black) Cognac Otard Extra 0.7cl
5. (Jade) Cognac Otard Napoleon 0.35cl
6. Cognac Bisquit VSOP 0.35cl
Intend to put the hard liquor bottles nicely in a group and put some flowers, as a "display" on the side "bar counter" (the ones serving counter lah). Too much hard liquor but still must spend $ to buy crates of wine urgh. If only can "convert" into angbaos for helpers haha.

hi MT

my CS is a 2 piece .... inside bustier shantung silk, outer piece ( with collar ) sheer look.
Juz these alone is 800, but hubby said top up wif swarovski crystals look more glam wor, so topped up 400... Collar has embroidery too....

I juz raided my dad's so called wine cupboard,... wah lau, some hard liquor older than me leh i think? btw me 28 liao lah *heheh* okieee, i know nuts bt wine.. how bt i go check wats the brand then let u gals know, cos i dun even know if they're still edible anot!

hey MT

paiseh, me gettin quite senile liao, u with which BS? Cos they shd have kua rite?? wahhhh 888 so ex 4 1 time rental??? u rented 2 so Woahhh! ex leh!
But i can imagine the kua wif the headpiece, you'll look stunning!!! a v dif look !!

hihi ladies

Wow...can really feel ur excitement leh :P heehee make me more anxious to hold my weddin fast fast too...

Hmmm spendin so much on CS worth it anot? i dun tink i will wear it again..unless i do it beforehand..and take photos with it..then i can use it for PS and Tea dress...

Wah MT :P u realli hv to do a lot of fashion show changin on ur wedding..but that nice...so many changes..for me i still tinkin on it...still far..cos i hv not even cfm my venue..though manadarin still top choice..

Tink the idea of mingling around is great...that make it more personalised..anyway dun tink the couple get to eat anyway..plus we can always order food service later :P

HI Lena

all these preparations sure keeps my adrenalin going .... wonder wat i'll do after wedding... think i'll be experiencing sth like the 'empty nest' syndrome! hahaaah too eng....

Im gonna recycle the CS, for eg, the innner bustier piece, can add a shawl for a modern EG look.... the outer piece more dif lor... cos really covered wif crystals.. ( so muz really glam up enuf enuf once in a lifetime ) *HEE*

I juz hope i get enuf time bathe at least 3xs for my wedding day.... cant stand the sticky feeling esp we have 2 run ard on that day....

Hi Seiko, my BS is Bridal Art Marina Sq., yup their kua available (has relief dragon-phoenix embroidery) only $120 thereabouts for both Photoshoot and actual day. But I don't fit in small size, and look hideously short and fat in whatever size it was I tried.

HOE's kuas are different- fits better, looks-new condition and the workmanship cannot be beat. At a *cough-cough* high price lah. The silver $888 piece entirely embroidered really really really very nice I'm dying to pop by to try again heehee. http://community.webshots.com/sym/image6/5/62/13/78056213ytdkQY_fs.jpg

The red-gold piece more conventional but sweeter than most kuas (scalloped blouse hem and sequined flowers), I also fancied it very much. http://community.webshots.com/sym/image6/5/72/71/78057271zlpynQ_fs.jpg

Then again I also quite liked the other flower kua in the shop :P And would like a lace and fully beaded high-collar CS too lehhhh.

Hi Lena, aiyah! You also said fashion show
HB complained precisely that. How? Really think a CS would make everything complete...

Mingling cos the clothing so expensive- sit down is such a waste... need to EXPOSE to close scrutiny by being in CLOSE CONTACT with guests... circulate, circulate and disturb my guests' dinner haha, I mean snap more pics haha. I told my mum I want her to bring tiffin container I of course still want to eat leh!

Hi Seiko, bathe morning before WG, afternoon after check-in, night before zzzzing... count as 3 times? LOL! :P

it's been a while since i last step here.. wow it's getting busier.
I'm busy with my ROM this fri.

anyway, have yet confirmed on venue cos waiting for tong shu. Seem like i'm the only one here so far who have seen the bridal suite. One word, very impressive. Spacious enough to hold a mini tea ceromony if u want. It's actually 2 room combined into one.

HI MT

wahhh, really think u have done yr research n planning v well leh !
Pei fu Pei fu

i 'll onli be wearing 3 outfits for night....
WG 4 cocktail n 1st march in, EG ( wif tiara n can can ) for 2nd march in, n CS for handshakes ( esp reserve CS 4 last, cos when sending guests, they can see my embroidery n crystals up close n personal mah ) HAHAhhahahah really buey tahan myself :P

I can picture you'll look fantastic in the lovely kuas

Oii, show us a pix when u try it on the next time lah

Yahor, the more times i bathe the merrier, cos my pastime is bathing mah.... relaxes me wahhahhaah

Hi Lynn
i have zilch idea of how the bridal suite looks... wif yr reassurance, i can now tell my jiemei's if they wan 'chiong' my bridal suite when im doing makeup, there's plenty of space 2 do so *HEHEH*

Hihi ladies

MT >>> haha i tink our weddin is the oni time were realli can hv a fashion show :P i realli tempted to make a CS...but the tin is that i find it a bit wasted ..cos after the weddin..dun noe wat to do with it.... mayb i wun spend so much on the CS..then top up on my weddin favors..

Seiko >>> yup i tink after the weddin we find ourself veri eng...haiz...no more rushin..no more plannin..no more anticipation...

Hv u ladies decided on ur makeup and hairsytle??? Hey..i wanna to wear my WG with hand gloves..make it more traditional..me aimin for a victorican look..u get wat i mean?

Hi Lynn...we are in the same boat..hv not book any venue yet..2 reasons : no fixed date yet..the other is that i hv not found a place that i realli love..though rite now mandarin my top choice
...any other places u hv in mind?

The bridal suite is great ah??? that b so cool..i dun realli like the suite i saw at oriental... abit old...

Hi MT ..so when are u loadin up ur PS photos????

Lynn

Good news, thanks! Sigh, my HB won't be impressed though, cos his friend who held at another (more ex) hotel had PRESIDENTIAL suite wahhh.
Will call Henry my coordinator when I can schedule my PIL and HB to go down- PIL haven't really had a tour of the Mandarin Court and since we chose this partly because of the old folks, good to bring them and build up their excitement level
I haven't seen their non-edible favours or the VIP table clothing options. Then we can view the bridal suite too.

Seiko

Haha I also thought of wearing the Kua for send-off, but I need to schedule my Tea Ceremony during the dinner.

Cos daytime they'd have to take leave not so good, call them to come earlier for dinner they sure late and hold up everything... so Tea Ceremony on stage will throw some limelight on those relatives lah, plus everyone else can carry on eating. We're lining up 6 chairs on the stage and the relatives will play "musical chairs" ie. finish their turn can vacate seat for next person while we chop-chop serve tea along the "assembly line". Think can finish 30 relatives in 30mins max.
Good photo opportunity in my kua. Problem is cannot schedule tea ceremony so late... need to be after my WG leh. So had to abandon idea of wearing kua for send-off.

Lena

Can wear CS for wedding dinner- that's the excuse all brides who want to MTM a CS claim
I also used that excuse, HB said later when AFTER wedding I want to make CS then talk. Aaack! Of course make in time for wedding right? Aaack!

I play Devil's Advocate to seduce you all into more changes, let's say,
<U>Actual Wedding day schedule:</U>
WG 1.5hr from mum's to PIL's (late breakfast) to new home.
Silver Kua 1.5hr from new home to mum's (lunch) to new home to hotel (book-in &amp; rest).
Cocktail dress 4hr until about 8pm (1 dance with HB).
WG again for 30 mins (march-in; cake-cutting; posed table photos).
Silver Kua again for 30 mins (Tea ceremony on stage; mingling table photos).
EG for 30 mins (2nd march-in, champagne pour and toast, mingling table photos)
CS for 30mins (thank-yous to spouse, parents &amp; guests; mingling table photos, handshake line).
Including 10 mins each gown change, will end 10:40pm. Admit very rushed lah... but tempting.

Lena,
ya lor, hard to make decision when you have yet confirmed the date. Mandarin is a gd choice, location and the overall package, only thing i have to admit is the decoration is lagging behind some other hotels, within the same price range. In my consideration, i have merchant court, which has a gd deco theme. Only thing is they charge corkage for wine, 1 night stay in bridal suite (only confirm 2nd night nearer to the date) and the suite is real small compared to Mandarin, and no free flow beer. Still pondering, but will make a decision soon, when tong shu is out.U know when and where we can get? when's ur expected actual day?

MT and Seiko
Wow, can see that 2 of u in full momentum for the wedding. Gee.. Lots of things to consider hor. The suite is gd lah, tot not as big as presidental one but still very spacious. They have another washroom so that your guest wont need to use the one in your bedroom. One of the better one i have seen so far.

MT, normal for bride to mingle with early guest during cocktail reception? I always tot bride will stay upstair and do mei mei make-up? tt's gd idea leh. If not, very sian leh, i can't talk to friends at all for the wedding. But dun think i will have so many changes of evening wear. Likely the standard 2 set, i.e. WG and EG. Maybe change into my teadress for the corktail reception if time permits.. I can't imagine rush up and down to change. Me very lazy bride-to-be...

Hi Lynn,
How far is the suite to say, the 4th floor Mandarin Court? Cos if too far, wonder if they have a closer deluxe room to rent either day-use or night (for my PIL or mum). Then I don't have to travel so far just to change.

When I started this bridal stuff I had wanted only a WG, no EG, nothing else. *cover face* Now I've gone the other extreme!
At first realised no EG is only $200, $300 rebate so decided to have EG.
Then made my EG more expensive than my WG.
Mum came along with her Kua ideals, chose a silver kua more expensive than my EG.
Along the way got cheap workmanship so bought expensive material to make a cocktail dress (easier to move around in than my WG &amp; EG).
Now still dreaming of a Cheongsam. Quite funny.

I scheduled the makeup sessions... I will have my makeup earlier so that I'd be there during cocktail (then my MIL who complained put makeup too early will melt, can have HERS finished just before the banquet ends). I only have 1 makeup artist to handle my own and the 2 mothers sigh, so I schedule my mum's first (cos she won't complain), mine next and my MIL last (cos she complained so let hers be the FRESHEST lah).

MT
I can't remember which level the suite is, but definately above 10 flr, it's the same lift used for mandarin court. Prehaps u can check with Henry whether there's any room nearby to be a temporary changing room.