Mandarin Orchard Singapore

mt

Checked on the floral decorations:
* 4 on stage, 2 at entrance- silk flower stands in CREAM roses (the rose size is large)
* 6- fresh flower stands
I noticed THAT NIGHT, the silk didn't match the fresh flower stands because the fresh were a different COLOUR and the roses were very much smaller... the floral lady assured if I choose cream roses, it would match (I doubt they will provide huge fresh blooms, size might still be much smaller than the silk flowers).

Anyone getting MORE fresh flower stands? The 6 stands provided that day looked sparse on the aisle (plus, since Mandarin doesn't have red carpet, the "aisle" is already not well defined enough). I'm additionally thinking of behind the reception counter, below stage and so on.

Is anyone getting such additional decorations (or additional sashes, VIP centrepieces etc)?

seiko

Hi MT
Im the Seiko wif Capital 'S' not 2 b confused wif the other seiko in the Hotel Continental thread

Im a Mandarin bride on 31Aug, booked Belvedere Rm.
Wow, u have already spoken to the 'floral lady'?
I cant remember if theres a red carpet cos its been some mths since i viewed the ballrm, but i will enquire bt the additional flower stands or add'l deco when i meet up wif Zainal my coordinator. Wonder how much extra they'll charge hor? Dun think he'll call so early

mt

Hi Seiko! Henry couldn't tahan my flower questions so asked me to call her directly. I don't want to sign anything til everything confirmed (and bargained for).

She's going to send me a quote for sashes... I didn't ask about flower stands yet cos I wanted to ask other Mandarin brides whether they were satisfied with their given quantity. Like my gf said in answer to my sashes and more flowers... "no one will notice lah. Just give angbao and eat only". *Sigh*

I'm using Mandarin Court, no red carpet that night I viewed. I guess it's Mandarin's decision- they did away with personalised name backdrop, ice carving, red carpet... (not sure whether there's still dry ice, anyone knows?) I don't care for the names or dry ice (all that fogging can't show my gown details lah ahahaha).

Anyone got EXTRA perks, other than the usual drill on their brochure and web?

lynn

MT

Let us know of the quote that the florist send to you. My FH finds the stage a bit plain too but he's not willing to top up, finds that it shld have been inclusive in the package. Like u, we wont sign anything on dotted line unless we have confirmed the details, in this case, the deco. As for the remaining items of the package we are fine abt it.

How hah? Shld we compromise on the deco or go to another hotel, with not much perks, but nice deco?

mt

Hi Lynn, which hotel you were thinking of, I did abit of research on Concorde, Otani and River View only- they had ALL the perks Mandarin offers, except cheap stuff like extra champagne (how much does that cost? under $100 value), dinner for 2 (again, under $100 value). Great price difference of package cos not apples to apples comparison lah, I don't know how many stars Concorde et al have.

The stage seems to be abit "confused"- it's got swaths of grey and blue and pink. The whole Mandarin Court is... I see blue (ceiling), white (seats), gold, abit of pink, cream (marble walls), modern ceiling yet traditional chinese paintings. And that half "beam" ornate thing that looks like it came from a temple, except it's sticking out of the wall. BUT, the older generation is VERY fond of Mandarin name lah- I think no one else will really notice the confused decor.

If your FH not willing to top up..., suggestion:
* Place FOUR round tables on stage- one for cake cutter and a plate, one for the model cake, one for the champagne fountain, one for the champagne bottle in ice bucket. Including the rostrum, your stage will be "filled up"... ask what FOC flower arrangements they can place towards the front of the round tables.
* Alternatively heehee, instead of the placing the cake cutter and plate, champagne bottle in bucket... negotiate for 2 more VIP centrepieces to place on it. One round table with centrepiece can flank your cake model on the left, the other round table with centrepiece can flank your champagne fountain on the right.
=> I only saw the set-up once, cannot confirm if all silk flower stands plus the extra tables on the stage is overkill... I try to ask for more, excess can move to reception and other areas. It's when there's not enough that there's a problem! :D

I asked for extra flower arrangements AND extra sashes :p but got referred to the floral lady (Mandarin's contractor) for quotes :/ SMSed for her to revert on quote.

mt

Quotes for sashes: $2.50 each (very standard, no concessions bah!)
Quotes for flower stands: $50 each (this I don't know the market price).

The lady is more difficult to handle than Henry, so I'm asking Henry to liaise with her... as FH put it, should be TOTAL service. (Not that I mean Henry shunted me to her, he probably got confused by my flower requirements and thought it best I check directly with the relevant expert... but now it's price negotiation, I prefer to just deal with Henry).

lynn

MT

I have been to a few hotels, for the approximate same price range as Mandarin, u can consider Merchant Court and Intercon. Both hotels have good decoration.

Anyway i roughly have some idea how i want the stage to be, just going to ask Henry whether the hotel can absorp any additional cost as a result. Also not sure whether it will turn out nice as i can picture in my mind. so when's ur big day?

mt

*Deep sigh of exasperation*

Firstly, ALL the perks I mentioned in my posts- I DID NOT SAY I GOT THEM. The extra champagne, dinner for 2, flower stands... ARE ALL WRITTEN in the hotel's brochure and web page. They give the perks according to whether yours is weekday or weekend, AS WRITTEN in the brochure and web page.

Perhaps I was misunderstood when I said Mandarin had MORE perks than some hotels ref. to the extra champagne and dinner for 2. That's because the hotels I researched did not even have those even for weekend bookings! I didn't mean EVERYONE IN MANDARIN will definitely have them!

I suggested ASKING if the hotel will allow more VIP centrepieces... I didn't say I or anyone else got them! I stated CLEARLY that the sashes and additional flower stands were at ADDITIONAL QUOTE, not free!

Whether YOU managed to get all those perks were based on:
* is your package is weekDAY or weekEND,
* how many tables,
* did you UPGRADE (PAY MORE $$$) the menu.
* GAVE UP some perks for others?
Also whether you booked it in a boom economy, or the current uncertain bad times. EVEN IF some other bride got whatever perks you didn't, SHE might have gotten the perks based on her own negotiation skills. Pls use YOUR OWN efforts to secure that, rather than spoiling it for others since YOU can't have it. What a petulant spoilt brat response to topple the whole boat for everyone else.

I would have thought SOMEONE who could afford to be a Mandarin bride would have abit better conduct/ E.Q./ intelligence, than to whine to Mandarin saying (WITHOUT basis since it's her OWN MISINTERPRETATION) that:
* another bride got so-and-so perks, and THAT BRIDE had gone ONLINE to a forum to TELL EVERYONE SHE GOT those perks! (WHAT???!!!)

I came online to ask other Mandarin brides for tips on negotiation, what I could TRY asking for. To share suggestions on how to make the space nicer. I don't go to Mandarin and say, so-and-so got this and she told everyone on online forum, how come "I don't get to enjoy". That's not the right way!

Seriously, read my postings properly, you are mistaken- I never said I got ALL those perks. The perks ARE ALREADY LISTED in the brochure, if you had read the brochure that is.

- directed at SOMEONE, you know who you are, I haven't a clue. Believe me, I was livid when asked if I had spread rumours that I got so-and-so perks. I explained I didn't and what I did do is sing Henry's praises, AS HAVE MANY OF YOU! So, WTF was that SOMEONE trying to do???!!!

mt

Ok, calmed down liao. But, really "yuan wang" feeling, sour taste in the mouth. :/

Can I check any NOV brides? Maybe can "share" stuff... eg. wine (no need to move there and back if someone else will "takeover"), flowers (can last 2 nights what).

lynn

MT

cool down.. I'm sure it could been due to the fact u have highlighted some areas to be improved upon and suddenly henry and friends got so much emails on those enquiries. At least i admitted i did sent a follow-up email to further discuss with henry abt changing the decoration of the ballroom, in particular the bottom area, after taking your suggestions into consideration. Earlier emails, both Henry's and my suggestions didn't solve the issue of 'emptiness'. I have to thank you for your pointers cos without your input i had no idea of wat to do and might just give mandarin a miss as a result. A big thank you *hugs*

For getting more perks, let's be fair and negotiate on your own. Forum topic here is really idea sharing so dun quote abt someone getting perks unless u really really know that particular couple. It will be sad if as a result, noone dare to share his/her experience.

MT, next time i chat with henry and if he were to ask abt this incident, i'll clear this misunderstanding ok? now u concentrate on being a pretty bride, shld be taking your pic soon right? must maintain looks. Too bad mine is next yr, can't share flowers nor wine with u. cheer up

mt

True :D Anyway got good news from FH today, maybe no need to bargain so hard heeheehee :D (nothing to do with Mandarin lah)
You be a happy bride too! :D

lena

Hihi..

Just would like to get feedback on Mandarin...any brides who held it there before? or anyone planning to hold it?

mt

Hi, any brides want to brainstorm/ share if they've already decided- what colour themes? I postponed my gown appt (oh no!) because I hope the gown colours will coordinate (I don't mean blend in with carpet or backdrop).

From my now-hazy memory, I remember:
* GREY-BLUE stage curtains,
* BABY-BLUE ceiling,
* WHITE chairs,
* GOLD somewhere I can't quite recall exactly,
* CREAM and GREEN silk flower stands

Any input on the floor carpet? VIP table clothing (the ones I saw were OFF-WHITE/ WHITE LACE table-top with GOLD chair sashes).

seiko

hi Lena

im holding my banquet in Aug
so far, my coordinator hasnt called me 2 liase, so dun noe any details yet

mt

Finally signed the contract. Finally had a face-to-face chat with Henry (we've been corresponding via phone and email, I'm more an email person... more convenient for me- *thumbs up* for his prompt replies). I complimented him on his service and speed- he explained it's cos he's considered a "newer" coordinator and other reasons... humble guy. His background experience is also reassuring for the actual coordinating on the banquet night.

Viewed the Mandarin Court and also the Ballroom... I like the ballroom! Crystal chandeliers! Pity I don't have enough tables to use it
will be using Mandarin Court instead on 171103. BTW what's the min. tables for the ballroom? I was told but I keep forgetting.

Can finally focus on other neglected parts of the "wedding schedule".

mt

Thanks sandgirl, yup I upgraded/ topped up price for suckling pig eeeps! Everyone's (particularly mum and PIL) happy with the venue and menu choice, phew

Envy you having the ballroom, really nice!

floral

Hi MT

forget about the unhappiness, i'm sure you'll only want to remember the happy things for your wedding rite...
...just concentrate on your BIG day...and of cos, on being a pretty bride. wahh suckling pigs....oink! oink!

lynn

MT

Tt's gd to hear u have managed to liase and sign the contract.
I'm still in the mist of discussion with Henry. Thumbs up for him, i have been to quite a few hotels, he's one of the co-ordinators which FH and I like. Somehow, u just got this feeling he will ensure smooth running of the whole wedding event. I like suckling pig also, come to think hor, hardly have such dishes now in those wedding dinners i attended.

As for myself, still deciding whether we can take the stage decorations. Bitz bare, look no theme to us. FH has other little concerns lah, but to me, the stage decoration is the main issue. Just stuck between having a nice decoration (other hotels) or more perks n bigger bridal suite with 2 nite stays (aka mandarin)
Anyway we still have a bit of time to consider before the tong shu for 2004 is out and going to ROM next month. Think better settle one thing at a time. :p

MT u have lots of things to do, ur house will take up time. advise u to spread cleaning and moving over 3 months period. my friends gave themselves 1 mth renovation and 1 mth moving. They just got back from honeymoon and still in mist of moving and buying utensils.

seiko

HI ladies
welcome 2 the Mandarin Club *HEHEH*

Errrr.... i got a qn leh.... my wedding is on aug 31st.... but my coordinator hasnt called me yet leh??? am i supposed 2 call or its his job 2 call?

as 4 suckling pig, i thot its the 1st dish in the menu for this yr? huh, muz top up $ 1?

sandgirl72

Seiko.. i think it is best tat U give yr co-ordinator a call..

for ours, we r replacing the chicken dish with 1 whole suckling pig.

floral

Seiko
yar, think better call ur co-ordinator liao...

sandgirl
have to top up $ to replace the chicken with the piggy right?

dolpine

seiko,

who's ur co-ordinator? better give him a call... which ballrm r u hving ur wedding?

seiko

Hi Sandgirl72, Floral n Dolphine

Tks gals
i'll call Zainal today.... wah, v worried ... cos my frd told me she had 2 give her coordinator a 'gentle reminder' ( her wedding is at another hotel ) .... I was assigned Joe Lee initally, but he left on a sudden notice, so Zainal had 2 take over.

mt

Hi girls, thanks for the welcome

Their weekend menu has some pig slices in the first dish I *think* (and abalone slices, again, I *think*), but quite alot more EX than weekday of course. I didn't really study cos I'm not taking weekend.

Mine is the weekday menu, none of the abalone, none of the pig slices lah. But topping up as Sandgirl mentioned for the WHOLE suckling pig (my mum's request... and happens my MIL is for it too!) *Oink Oink too*

Yup, Lynn, I found Henry's response time better than other hotel coordinators.

Yup me stocking up for the home (Great Singapore Sale!) even though we've only just signed the loan (will take another 3 mths for transaction)... don't know if I can make it in time! *ARGGH* If cannot, so be it lah, I tried my best heh, can't blame me!

seiko

managed 2 call Zainal yest... he was quite surprised i 'beat' him 2 it cos he said he was bt 2 call me on Mon ( 3 mths b4 my wedding )... so Gals, Mandarin Coordinators will onli call u 3 mths b4 yr wedding n not earlier than that...
He sent me 2 contacts for the florist n cards via email. T Dragon is Mandarins printer while Green acres is Mandarins assigned florist. We're supposed 2 do our own liasing, then if u feel u need 2 meet up wif yr coorinator 2 touch base b4 the food tasting, it'll be a gd idea too.

Happy ( oh n not forgetting 'stree-free') preparations to all
*hee*

dae

Anyone heard of Act1 in Mandarin? I'm just wondering if it's in Meritus Mandarin or Marina Mandarin.. so confusing..

Saw from that thread the function room can take up 18 tables.. anyone been to a wedding there?

lena

I am considerin on holdin my banquet there...any feedback or comments?

Tink the person i spoke to is Zainal,how is he like???

What about the decor?

pink_piggy

hi dae,

we r hving our wedding @ act1 @ yr end, love the place except the ceiling... 18 tables is bit tight... but we intend to hv small dinner so no problem...

hi lena,

zainal, nice guy, chatty, so far so good...

dogs_lover

Hi Lena,

Our experience so far with zainal was not too bad but he promise to send us the floor plan, table and flower arrangment but till now (a few mths) not recived. It is not urgent therefore didnt follow up for now.

And he is kind of slow via email.

seiko

Hi Lena

im the impatient type, so i called Zainal directly. even though he wasnt in the office at that time, he promptly returned my call. He sounds v enthusiastic, bustling wif ideas. Maybe he's a young chap? *heheh* i haven met up wif him yet, but fr the few conversations we had, i felt at ease wif him.

Hi Dogs lover

Zainal did say that he'll call onli 3 mths b4 the wedding 2 give the contacts 4 the florist n wedding cards. I guess for the deco, its better 2 speak to the Green Acres lady directly as she'll then show u pix of the settings. Dunno how many dif styles she has though.... will update u gals once i make a trip down .....

lena

I had spoken to Zainal before..he quite friendly..

But i more concerned abt the decor..how u ladies find it? and aso for green arces..any comments? heehee i quite fussy on the decor

seiko

HI Lena

i've seen pix of the deco when Joe Lee was still ard. At that time ( nov 2002 ), mandarin still engaged 2 florist... so there were pix 2 compare... but in general, i do find the flowers deco quite gd. Of cos, if u were 2 add more details, it wld b out of yr own poocket. I'll be liasing wif Green Acres soon, will keep u gals updated then

lynn

Just to keep u update, i think there is a new design for the stage instead of the flower stands: an arch-like structure, made of cloth and silk flowers and some candles, which i can guess from the pic. mayhaps u gals want to check it out with your co-ordinators? Not so sure whether it has been finalised between Mandarin and the florist yet though.

lena

Hi Jan..

When r u holdin it next yr??? Who ur co-ordinator? How did u find the decor??

Hi Seiko..

Hv u seen the cards?? i toyin with the idea of makin our cards..cos so far all the hotels i went to..their cards are lousy..

seiko

HI Lena

I almost fainted when T dragon showed me the cards given by Mandarin. theres onli a total of TWO cards by Mandarin ( meaning Mandarin's logo printed behind card ). 1 red 1 ivory card. Design so Obiang!! in the end, i din like what T dragon offered too.... so i customised my own cards instead. Cost me 3+ per card

seiko

HI Lynn
tks 4 the update. Haven got ard 2 calling Dolly fr Green Acres yet though....

ANY MANDARIN BRIDES WHO TOPPED UP EXTRA $ ON DECO?

sandgirl72

Hi Seiko
just curious.. do U know wat is Mandarin giving out as wedding favours for yr wedding??

since U customized yr own invitation cards, do U still give T Dragon to do the printing? or other printers?

dae

Anyone has Doreen Lim as their sales manager? How's her services? She seems quite inflexible over the phone and has a tight schedule, and when trying to send mails to her, she seems to be always on leave...

advise pls!

seiko

Hi sandgirl

i think for favours, u can either choose choco pralines or fruit cake .... unless you're planning 2 give yr own favours ( at own cost ).
Dunno which 1 2 choose, cos old folks prefer cake, younger folks prefer chocs...

I engaged T dragon 2 do the job .... i din even source for other printers.... was thinking i like wat they suggested... n Connie the lady's service was gd... besides its near 2 hubby's workplace, so convenient for him 2 pick up the cards or go down 4 discussion

heard there r many printers that r pretty gd... like Hi Tech, Ace Pro, Tecman.....

when u planning 2 print yr cards? yr weddings soon?

mt

Sigh, I can't afford to spend more on the banquet itself, incl. cards, I'll probably take whatever they give.

Just found out it seems 2 other relatives also having marriages, one other relative passed away... so now my mum having problems filling up tables. Hmm. And my MIL is thinking of inviting really far off relatives. Luckily I didn't try to reach for the ballroom (even though I like the chandeliers).

sandgirl72

Hi Seiko
thanks for sharing the info...

i'm not too sure yet cos my wedding is in Dec. will probably wait till Zainal to contact us la..

seiko

HI MT
no worries, cos u still can choose fr wat Tdragon has 2 offer at no extra cost. When hubby n I went thru the whole file n found nothing we liked, Connie then brought out another 1-2 designs which was more acceptable. But she claimed that these cards r VERY common.... hubby panick when he heard that. He then decided he wanted 2 personalise the card. The reason y we din wan Tdragons cards r cos ive seen some of them ( when frds gave me their invitation cards ).
really quite common in a sense. Now ive got a prob wif the tables. We booked 30 tables, so half half for each side. Initially FIL said their side not much relatives so prob wun need that much. Aiyo, when hubby told me that yest his dad told him his ROUGH est... i almost fainted... FIl already had 14 n half table filled!!!! wah piangzzzz... now depends on my side liao.... cos i muz make allowance 4 him 2 ask 4 1-2 tables more.... SIannzzz.... OR we muz add tables....
But CHARM liao, cos Belvedere cant take more than 35 ( really pushing things abit ).

Hi Sandgirl72, Zainal will onli contact brides 3 mths b4 the wedding. Im meeting Dolly fr Green Acres 1st wk of July (about 2 mths b4 wedding ). Actually now that i think of it, quite early. 1 of my frd actually chose her deco 2 wks b4 her wedding!