Maldives

read in papers that W retreat is actually designed by a Singapore ID firm...cool right?

Rinnie
I stayed at the resort for 5nights. we'd lotsa day activities. we went snorkelling n kayaking on our own. Also went on a 1 full day trip island hopping. We also joined the night fishing trip which lasted abt 2-3 hrs. Also did spa there

There's also dolphin trips which we skipped (as we're not really avid lovers of dolphins)

If you plan 1 activity per day, it should fill up your day quite well.

For the spa, try to make appointment in advance if possible as the spas there seem popular (don't ask me y)

hey everyone,
happy labour day!=P me not feeling well today. think i caught the flu bug from hubby and was having a bad sore throat n slight cold yesterday. should have just took mc and stayed home yesterday. went to work still and came home feeling terrible. gona be resting home today..=(

hi fanfan,
how come you working today? am feeling much better now,thanks!think all i needed was food (kekek..) felt so faint coz i had not eaten since yesterday lunch time..

Burgundy,

Sorry, have been really busy with work to surf the forums. I signed up with Fascinating Holidays. If you like, I could email you my package. I signed up during the NATAS fair tho so i'm not sure if the prices are valid now.

I'm having a little problems booking Relax Inn. Can anyone help by telling me who the contact person is for Relax Inn? I keep getting a attachment of tariffs in response to all my emails. Are there any agents in Singapore that allow me to book Relax Inn thru them?

Zeny,

Yup i liaise with them direct. I previously rec'd a list of their tariffs and sent them an email informing them of the date I would like to stay. But I'm not sure if they understand me becoz they sent me another copy of the tariffs again.

I'll try to make an online reservation. Thanks for the link!

pinkiez

good luck with the reservation and better expedite on it cos i already have to change my pre-resort accomodation cos the one i wanted is full during the period i'm traveling

hi pinkiez,
i remember that it took them some time to reply to my emails when i was trying to make a reservation too. maybe you can try to email them again?

hi pinkiez
i remember haru had some problems with relax inn..so when I was there..sorta remind them to contact haru again..the lady was like blur blur kind...

Yo Folks!

How are you folks doing? wahaha..... looks like it's baby boom!! Congrats to T&P also!

All mummy please take care, and ask hubby to be extra caution and be more hardworking on the house work!! Wahaha...

And for those going to Maldives soon.... really envy... but still, wish you folks have a wonderful time there in Maldives!!

Agreed... Relax inn all people there blur blur one... except for the porter! :P

Byez....

Hi WU & all

I will be going for my Maldives holidays next week. Really looking forward to it ... haha.. next week @ this time, i will be in Maldives...

Somehow those ppl around me are more excited abt my trip than me. Keep asking me to show them photos this n that.. hee...

hi Lynette

lucky u! do report back here when u are back ok!
enjoy yourself - take loads of pics and snorkel all u can
kekeke...
which resort wil u be gog to? sorry forgot liao

Mr WU - u are still reading this thread yeah...
drop in more often la...chat w us here

Haru: hv u shifted office liao?/ feeling better? take care!

Hi there. I'm thinking of going for a short holiday with Hubby to Maldives this early Jun. As it's at rather short notice, hope to get some advice from all the Maldives experts here ... won't have much time to surf around on my own

My plan is for a 3N/4N stay at a reasonably good hotel. My budget is about $3K. Is it too unrealistic? Need some recommendations on the hotels please. Will it be much cheaper if we book ourselves or through tour agencies? If you know of any promotions would be great!

Can I also know what activities are there? I can't dive, not too sure about snorkelling as I'm pregnant ;-p

Hi BvBride, so glad to see you here too! I'm peapod hehee, I use a different nick at S'pore Brides
When did you get married? We actually wanted to save money for the baby so planned on not travelling this year. But couldn't help ourselves after considering the fact that we probably can't travel for at least 2 years after baby comes. So ended up a last minute decision to go somewhere just the 2 of us before Sep

bring me too..if i squeeze myself in..haha..

tks wu,
everyone's having a babe these days..when's ur turn?? ;-) My ah lao has been very hardworking, i don't have to do any housework at all..haha

bvbride,
yup, have moved in new office for about 2 months now.=>

lynette,
you are not excited now but will be when you arrive!!

hi tougei,
june is just a month away, so you dun have much time left.most impt to book your flight and confirm your accomodation asap. 3K might be a lil tight. but perhaps you can check out packages from travel agencies. might be easier too as they can confirm everything for you. congrats!! i would encourage for you to check w your gynae if its advisable for u to travel as most accomodation requires transfer via sea boat or air plane which quite be quite a rough ride at times.

ok, I am now working out my expenditure there, so need some advices from those who been there before

how much money did you spend on food alone ? my package only provide breakfast *sob*

and how much money did you spend on other activities (excluding spa) ?

btw Tou2 your budget of $3K is for one pax or 2 ? and does it include meal expenditures ?

heres me giving my two cents worth again :P
zeny: u can refer to the info i posted earlier for burgundy regarding food/meals
activity wise really depends on what u do there. snorkeling trip and nite time fishing usually cost around US30-45 per pax. some resorts provide complimentary use of snorkeling gear and kayaks so u can just grab these and do your own snorkeling/kayaking...join the snorkeling trip if u want to explore outside the resort or if your resort doesnt come w house reef.
expansive stuff would be things like full day island excursions, big game fishing etc
get your resort to email u their latest activities !

zeny
bvbride was rite..get them to send u the activities price list..food price list & spa price list...dat wat I asked from Hilton the last time...If KS abit..sometimes u can booked the activities even b4 u depart from SNG

Hey bvbride
ur scan today okie?

helloo Peapod

U can explore the following link lovingly complied by our resident advisor Mr Wu..kekeke...
its a list of all the resorts we hv tried before
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/4/465440.html?1173436860

my 2cents worth again la...think better reserve Maldives for later after u give birth. i dun think u will feel very comfortable snorkeling cos u will be worried abt the safety of your bb. u can always go next year for a little romantic getaway w hubby and get your sitter to look after your BB for just a couple of days!
i intend to do that if i got extra dough by then :p. already spend almost $500 on parentcraft,scanning plus FBI membership today..sob sob..am broke...

hihihi!!! zhuzhu u are here..so happy

i dun icq cos im usually too lazy or tired to come online when im home....plus home pc speed cannot make it one
Scan was ok thank god! the sonographer said bb growing fine, active. just that one side of my bloodflow towards bb was abit not so "smooth"
not sure what that means exactly but she said no need to be too alarmed...so relieved!
now pocket afew hundred $ lighter liao..

decided to go for the antenatal class in June plus signed up for First Born incentive cos i KS - want to get discount for scan and the classes. my TMC 4bedder ward got $60 discount w the membership too. u took up the FBI? think one bedder got $100 off le...
got goody bag w some milk powder samples, small bb rattle, soothing bb music CD the usual stuff

bvbride
good dat everything was okie...me never sign up for the FBI card..cos i find that the discount not really attractive for me..

Oophs, $3K too little hur? It's for two but doesn't include air tickets, just for the resort stay
So what is a good estimate for accomodation, plus food?

Hi BvBride, yep i know that it may not be the best time to visit Maldives. But we dont know where else we can go in such short notice with minimum planning. Want this trip to be special so didn't want to go Bintan etc ;-p Doc says ok to snorkel but no dangerous water sports lar. Fishing should be ok

thanks bvbride.

I noted that you opt for B&B + room service + snack you bought. maybe i should do the same :p
btw did you guys really asked the resort to email you the food menu :o

as for activities wise my resort provide non- motorized activities FOC only but since i already noe what activities i will be doing so that portion of the cost is taken care of.

it is the food wise that i'm afraid of

By the way, I don't see Mihiri resorts in holidaytour website. I checked its official website and its charges is about US$600 plus for a water villa :-o Is that the right price? I read in the earlier posting that can get for about US$368 or something leh

Holiday tours no longer do mirihi resort

as for the price, email them directly they will give you the price list, and it is not really that exp ;) if not wrong for the month of june only US$320 but do remember that you need to take seaplane for this resort so taht will add your cost

if it wasnt that they are full during the period i'm going, i would have gone there already *sob*

hihi peapod

maybe your $3K for both can still make it if u stay 4N and thats excluding price of airtix.
if u are gog in June its off peak period so cheaper generally. but its like next mth only so prob the resort is fully booked. Mirihi is qt popular cos its good value for $ plus it has a good house reef.
email them for a quote and chk w them their availability as well.

if we assue Water Villa as US320/night plus seaplane transfer which is around US250 per pax return
(320x4N) + 250x2pax = USD1780 = approx SGD2795
food and activity wise all depends on how often u eat at the restaurants and what activites
i would standby another SGD700 min for food and activities for the 4N there.
oh must add another US80-90 for 1N stay at Male town if u opt to chk in the following day. SQ only lands in Maldives around midnight so if u chk into resort that night itself its kinda wasted.
so overall still sort of do-able la...

Hi Zeny and bvbride, oh yar, it's US$320. Me blur ;-p

Is 3N stay (plus 1 night at Male) too short? We probably won't do very much water sports, just snorkeling and fishing I think
Err.. what other activities do you recommend?

Sorry, it's obvious that I havent been doing much research. Only decided today to go and gotto quickly book the limited air tickets if we want to redeem our flyer miles ;-p We will be grateful for any advice we can get

Hi Zeny, so far I dont have history of seasickness
Err...will pregnancy cause seasickness?

Hi peapod

Generally speaking if u are not doing much activities then 3N at resort + 1N Male is ok
for me and husb not enough cos the place is so beautiful and peaceful.
June is off peak cos there is supposedly more rainfall during this time of the year. more days spent there means u can spread the risk of rain (touchwood**)

other activities would be spa and gog for island discovery trips that the resorts organises. not sure if Mirihi has this but island discovery is usually for half or full day... they will bring u out on a boat to another "deserted" island and leave u alone for a romantic picnic there! they will prepare the food of cos - nice huuhh...
better email mirihi soon!
another useful website is www.tripadvisor.com
alot of good reviews on resorts

bvbride

SGD 700 food and activities :o
enuff? think i set too much for food... i guessimate around US$800 for food alone for both of us for one week :p think i can reduce somemore :p i have set US$30 per pax per meal...is it too much ?

Tougei, i have no experience with pregnancy cos just got married only :p
the reason why i ask is becos, from may onward it is their monsoon season so water is expected to be choppy and even normal pple can get seasickness during this period of time so i 'm wondering you being pregnant wont it be more serious for you only :p

hihi zeny

you certainly got the budget! keke..US800 for food alone is qt generous - thnk enough for u to eat all meals at the restaurants there plus alcoholic drinks somemore.
USD800 can include food and activities for one week if u dun eat at restaurants everyday and substitute w own food or room service

all depends on individual if u feel like indulging yourselves then just go ahead

(last time i went i go the el cheapo way u see..kekeke)

btw Peapod this maldives thread got a total of 4 MTB this year le!!!

No no..dun get me wrong..our package there has burnt a big hole in our package so i'm trying to anticipate and control/budget the food now cos we only on B&B package.

I was surfing Tripadvisor and alot of people say each meal is estimated at US$30 that is why all the +/- it become US$800.
think my husband going to faint if i tell him that :p

i think i will follow you and others, bring some food there... i rather spend the money to do more activities + spa :p

Finally got my reservation confirmed. Hmm think its a language barrier thing. Abit fustrating but as long as its settled, yayyyy ...

Thanks people for the tips. kakaka so cute ... blur blur staff.

Ya ya, u all are making me excited now. 4 more days to go before i arrive in the Lovely Maldives.. hee.....

Just cant believe that is so near now cos that time when i did the booking in end Mar, i was still saying wow thats so far away. Hee...

Hmm... i trying to make a list of things which i should bring... any suggestions from u all??

hi Lynette,

bring your sunblock! it's a must. One tends to get burnt quite easily cos the sun's really strong.
U can bring some mags/books so u can chill by the pool, bring ur ipod if u like music by the pool. or ur own cds if ur resort provides CD player.
Bring ur own snacks if love to snack cos they may not have what you crave for. and yes, shades! but dun put it on when sunbathing..wait like panda..hee..most importantly, ur camera! u wldn't want to leave paradise without taking a few shots to bring home. =)

bvbride,

the worse thing is cannot throw up but feel like something is stuck most of the time. Sigh..this morning wake up so giddy some more. I can't believe I still have another mth to go before i go into my 2nd trimester! argh........

Hi all. I have emailed holidaytours for quotation. If you don't mind, can you please help me see if it's reasonable pricing? Thanks!

Hilton Maldive
Check in: 3rd June- 7th June ( 4N )
1 Beach Villa
$1978 x 2 = $3956
1 night extensions $550 x 2A= $1100
Airport Tax ( subject to changes ) $225 x 2 = $450
(Airline Fuel Surcharge $182/Singapore Tax $21/ Maldive Tax $22 )
Total $5506
Less Airfares : $550 x 2 = $1100
Total $4406

Inclusions:
- One night pre-accomodation at Hulhule Airport Island Hotel in Male Airport
- Return seaplane transfer between Male Airport & Resort
- 3 nights accomodation at Hilton Maldive Resort & Spa
- Daily Breakfast

Angsana ( Velavaru ) ( with Breakfast )
** Stay 4N pay 3N **
Check in:3rd June - Check out: 7th June ( 4N )
Beachfront Villa $2258 x 2 = $4516
1Night Extensions $450 x 2 = $900
** Compulsary Breakfast for Free night $50 x 2 = $100
Total $5966
Less Airfares $1100
Total $4966

Inclusions:
- Return Airport Transfer by Seaplane
- 1 night pre accomodation with breakfast at Hulhule Airport Hotel
- 3 night accomodation at Angsana with breakfast

Bodu Huraa ( Limited Special Offer )
Check in: 3rd June - 7th June
Water bungalow
$1598 x 2 =$3196
Extension 1 night $240 x 2 = $480
Total $4126
Less Airfares $1100
Total $3126

Inclusions:
- Return Airport transfer by Speedboat
- 3 nights accomodation with daily breakfast

** Additional benefits** Pax are able to enjoy the facilities at Anantara Maldive ( 5Star Resort ), which is within walking distance.

Hi Folks...TGIF!!! this thread is really alive again...wahaha...

Yo bvbride, me busy with work lah... no time to come here...but sometimes I just read the post, really too busy to talk with u folks, all the mummy here

Anyway, all are expert liao.. I got nothing to add as well :P

Lynette!... congrats! going to Mirihi har? .... Enjoy and take more photos oki!

Hi Tougei,

The Hilton one is too ex... extension nite for BV is $1.1K?? That's around USD720 per nite.. IIRC, it should be only USD334 per nite nett.
Even their basic package is ex, after I minus off seaplane charges of USD570~600 for 2 pax.

Anyway, for June period, if u book direct, dun think there's any room left. But if u go thru them.... you're paying a premium rates, rates that's about the rates for deluxe BV and the entry water villa.

Angsana Velavaru rates is about there. However, I would rather recommend u to choose the Angsana Ihuru... better coral reefs over there. The accom in Velavaru(Angsana bought over Velavaru resort) is the same as b4 but added some Angsana touch to it... my opinion... dun think the price is worth it. I rather choose Velavaru's neigbour, Vilu reef.. I think that rates you can stay in Vilu's water villa!

Wu you can get it cheaper... :o
i must be a carrot to some resorts. tried to diy and book directly but the price added up to be mroe exp :s

hi all maldives experts,

need help in selecting the hotel in maldives for our honeymoon. like the hilton underwater restaurant but find the it's a bit too ee..any recommendation? Is Oct a good time to travel, cos my wedding is end sep. thks ya! =)

me back from Melbourne!!
I'll load the pics when I'm free.
sigh..getting forgetful these days... keep forgetting things... :p

hi all MTBs,
how's everything? t&p, first tri is like that one...always tired.
second tri will be better.

hi starstar,

show me the pics when they r ready!
I think the weight gain is also quite upsetting. I noe i m being silly cos pregnant sure will put on weight, but still...sigh...

t&p
sure..I'll let ya know when I've done up the pics..anyway not alot cos I didn't bring my lap top there (trying to reduce my baggage cos hubby not ard to lug the heavy stuffs mah...;p) so depended on the one n only memory stick I have.

btw the maternity wear range in Melbourne is simply awesome n so much cheaper than in singapore!!

look on the bright side...your bb's growing well...
so as long it's within the normal range of gain should be fine...
dun think too much ...