Maldives

Hi Wu

Wonder if you still remember me. We did communicated several times thru email.

Btw, do you know wats the weather like in Maldives in May, my hubby and me would like to try out Deep sea fishing. Wondering if May is suitable.

I have tried calling Mihiri and Hilton, both are fully booked on the dates that i intend to go. Now trying to source for other resorts and wonder if Anantara is a good choice.

Perhaps anyone can advise me.

Yo Lynette,

YEs.. off course I still remember you.

Ya..Hilton is definitely fully booked for sure but for June there's probably still some place, maybe u can check on line, choosing the smoking rooms instead.
However, if u still want to go during May, ya lar, try other resort, but it can be tough to find a room in such a short time loh, probably the travel agent still have them, and not direct booking.
Weather wise shouldn't be that bad lah, but it's better to stay more days to spread the risk of sudden down pour.
Anantara can ask bvbride and Mish, and fanfan!!!Paging paging!!!

Hi Wu

Is so funny leh.. i called up Mihiri and they said is fully booked during the period i wanna go. Now i email Anthony and he said is available.. WATER VILLA somemore.. wow...

If Mihiri is available then guess i might as well go ahead since it has received so many good feedback from u all. Making me so excited.

yo yo! Mr Fan here

I would say Anatara is not a bad choice..but i feel it's more family friendly.

I went during the inital opening period (Nov 06), so cant really comment on the service. sometimes it's good, sometimes it's rather slow (for example, night time turn down service came at around 9pm..i'm already falling asleep)
also experienced 2 major power failure..but indeed an experience..hahaha

but overall it's still a nice place with nice sea (but no reefs as it's in a lagoon).

if you're going there, remember to book your spa sessions on Day 1...all the slots are easily taken up...so book way in advance (even before u go if possible)

Wu

i agreed with you...who need a pool and bathtub when you have such a beautiful sea at your back/front yard :p

As mentioned this is our hm so we dun really want to chiong dives aka lob. prefer to do a full lob on the next trip there :p

lynette who is anthony? can to share ?

Yo Zeny,

Hahah.... ya ya...but if got pool/bathtub at that rates hor, i'm ok too! kekeke.....
Ya ya....go Maldives suppose to be relax lah....LOB siong leh!:P

Antony is the reservation Manager from Mirihi. He did a great job in helping me to secure booking during my last year trip there!

Write to him at:- [email protected]
His full name is Antony John.

Yo Lynette,

Go go go.....secure and book now since Antony say so...He's the Manager there...shld be accurate lah!

Bvbride
dun worry lar...sure result will turn out okie lar..

Wu
remember to ask Joy's frend for their itinerary...really keen on what they had planned

actually we want to LOB then to resort but unfortunately the lob there are either 7days or 14 days ...the only 3 or 4 day LOB available is Four seas island explorer... my goodness that is one luxurious boat at US$1500 per day!!!

thanks i will check with Adam from Mirihi who has been liaising with me 1st :p if still cannot then go to Anthony :p

Wu

Thanks so much for your info on Maldives. Greatly appreciate your help.

Yes, i have managed to redeem my tickets to Male and Antony has came back to me regarding the water villa.

Just wanna check with you, upon arrival in Male airport, we have to spend the night at the airport hotel right? He has quoted me USD188 for the airport hotel.

And also for the half board to full board at Mirihi, which would u suggest?

Hi Zhuzhu and all,
Who wants the iternary for the 18days Japan trip, Will email u the stuff, anw, very basic one only hor, just from why to where, and which hotel to stay. SHould be the budget accom and JR Pass that is saving them lots of money. Cheers!

Yo Zeny,

The 4season explorer is a "5star" floating resort loh! For USD1500, I would rather NUA in Mirihi instead! :P
Adam? not sure who but if u plan to go later, then there shld be rooms lah.

Hi Lynette,

No problem at all....so far so good eh! anw, u're going in May right? Oh, yes better reserve ur Mirihi water villa first jus in case no promise from them. Once reserve shld be safe.

If you don't mind the hassle of taking a dhoni to and fro Male island from the airport island, you shld be able to get a cheaper hotel on Male, at around USD80 per room, i.e relax inn.
However if u don't mind paying the USD188, then it'll save you the hassle of taking the dhoni back the next day for seaplane transfer.

I wouldn't suggest u take the full board. I believe that u can upgrade to full board when u're there, if u see the buffet suit ur taste or u feel like eating more.
For me, I would choose breakfast only, and order ala-carte, saving me money and I also don't eat that much.
however, just be aware that the ala-carte menu varieties is not that many as compare to bigger resort such as Hilton, but they do have pretty nice food there.... Probably only 10 main course, 6-7 appetizers, a few soups, a couple of desert menu per restaurant. So there's 2 restaurant and 1 bar, I reckon it should be oki lah.
Breakfast is not really fantastic...almost the same everyday, and we get bored on the 2nd or 3rd day, but hey so what.... even in hilton, we get board soon with such a wide range of food. That's because there's no Wan tan mee or Char Quay Tiao there...all continental, american breakfast.
Please ask Antony to mail u the lastest restaurant menu, so you have a feel before chosing half board or even full board.
Okie?

Hi Wu

Yes, Antony has sent me the proforma invoice but i do have some queries and shall wait for his reply. I called up him personally n he ensured that he has already blocked the water villa for me.

Oh ok, i was thinking if it is okay for me to decide when i am there to see if i am go ala carte or go half board. So they do have a specific restaurant for u to go to during lunch or dinner n bfast?

Hi Lynette,

Haiz..... I also envy you too....kekeke... really feel like going back again.
Once he block I think shld be confirm liao.
Ya ya...better see see for the 1st night hows the buffet half board meal looks like. In most cases, it shld be good, but at that price, probably Ala-carte can save more, if u doesn't eat much.
Breakfast and lunch only at the main restaurant. Dinner can either go the overwater restaurant or the main restaurant. As for the bar, finger food throughout the day, probably from 11am till late nite.
In villa dinner can be arrange too, sometimes if u find that you're too lazy to walk.

Lastly, please try to stay along the smaller room no. water villa, i.e. 7 ~ 20. The bigger no. are further away and some actually do hit by bigger waves during July period(I'm not sure about May though).

Stronger waves means less or no house reefs there, and thus not good for snorkelling.

Yo Midas & Fanfan
....will do that ASAP.
Simple iternary on location only hor....nothing much, just a guide

Fanfan ,Wu

Hmm actually no need to envy me cos u both have been there b4. I am a first timer in Maldives, and i really looking forward to it.

Just received the confirmation from Antony. So happy.

Hmm now thinking what do i hv to bring along? Do they sell titbits there.. wondering if can try to sneak some in? Haha

lynette

so good you have got your confirmation. I am still waiting for their reply *sob*

WU, I'm actually planning for May too...now shortlisting all the resorts :p

Yo Lynette,

Becos Maldives is such a nice place, thus I think we're happy for u....thus envy as well....cos it's so NICE over there!!! :P
So which room you got? try to ask him first, see if u can change if u don't like it. AS I've told u earlier, and lower no. water villa can see both sunrise and sunset, thus best choice!

Buy all ur titbits here and pack in ur luggage or a carton box. My 1st trip there I brought a large carton box, full of maggie mee noodles, biscuits, 3in1 coffee, milo, can food etcc.... u name it! I can start a small MaMa shop there...

Just don't bring any liquor or pork or any stuff prohibitted by Muslim country and you'll be ok.

Once again...congrats on ur upcoming trip!!!

Yo ladies.... I've already sent out the iternary to u Midas, Zhuzhu and Fanfan.
Anyone wants it just let me know.

Yo Zeny,

May is near...Mai Tu liao...most would have been either block book or left no many rooms left.
Mirihi, Banyan and Angsana are all good choices, especially for divers like u.

Must be quick...!!!

Wu,

Received your email. Thanks.

Lynette,
Wu is correct! Maldives is really a paradise man.
Bring along all the tibits u can.
Not sure about water as I'm not sure is it free flow of water at Mirihi == Wu, u want to advise?
That time mine was not free flow. only 4 x 500ml per day so i brought 2 big bottles of water along as well

Hi all howz your day? now raining and i really want to go home and zzz lor..

Wu: haiz hor me hor i think i will just "an fen shou zi" and stay put for now. hopefully next year got abit of extra $ then maybe go Redang or something.
perhaps i will chk into somewhere nice in Sentosa for a 1 or 2 nights plus a couple spa? dunno hw expansive also. very different now siah got alot to consider

Fanfan:I think if i dun remember wrongly i asked for additional water at Anantara. i discovered this cupboard right outside our villa (not locked somemore) where they used to store some extra bottles of water and toiletries there - so i just helped myself lor...hahaha :D

Wow u both really making me excited leh.... wow good leh, since can bring titbits along. Cos can snack abit mah.. i think i better start to plan what to bring there, this n that...

Zeny, which date are you looking at? I know Mirihi is fully booked till 21st May, u can check it out in their website. but for me, guess i am lucky cos i tried calling them and was advised that they were full. I also dun know why the sudden i will go n email them, so happen that got 1 cancellation on the dates i am gg.

Hee.. didnt manage to ask Antony abt the room. Perhaps can say reccomended by Wu to get lower number rooms.. haha.... i only asked him "i need a king size bed".. so shiok.. i wish may is near.

Lynette, we are looking at 2nd or 3rd week of may.. full *sob* guess we have to try other resorts...anyway i will see what their reply is :p

Wu, i noe may is near... am rushing to research and making decision soon... if worst case scenario.. mirihi is full then we go banyan or angsana or island hop :p ... wish me luck in getting a water villa there with good house reef :p

Zeny

Did u try to email Mirihi? They are vv fast n prompt with their replies. I think there might still be rooms available leh..3rd week may. Try it out.....

Lynette

I did emailed them last night but no reply from them *sob*

in the mean time i will shortlist other resorts just in case

btw when you going ? 1st week of may ?

Yo Fanfan, Lynette

I think Mirihi only 2X 500ml water daily in the room. So must keep the un-use water, so that they'll replenish! :P
Aiya, anyway, try to drink more during the breakfast loh!...kekeke.... they got freshly squeeze juices...

Sure need to buy water lah...especially in the afternoon right after sun-tan at the beach... 2 cans of 300ml coke is a must, but at a premiun loh, around USD3 per can, but it's worth it!!! Maldives leh! :P

Yo Zeny,

Maybe Adam is slow right? Antony normally will mail back in a few mins or few hours within the same day.
Check out with him!!

Wu, the email address you gave above, is extactly where i emailed too. I have just sent a reminder to both adam and anthony, hopefully they will reply. but based on what i see on their reservation website...they are full for the period i wanted

guess i have to approach other resort and try mirihi some other time.
hopefully banyan or angsana still have rooms

Wu
got ur email...the accomdation seems okie..dun look very budget to me

Bvbride
good choice to go sentosa..nearer also..

Zeny

How about Anantara? I tried calling up Holiday Tours that day and they replied that they are available. Water bungalow leh... super nice.

I was about to reply to Holiday Tours and confirmed it . So happened saw Antony email that they have rooms available. So i decided to go for Mirihi since so many of you have good reviews about it. Most ppl rated it a 5 in the trip advisor web.

Yes, i am going 2nd week may.

Bvbride,
You winner leh...can get water FOC..i didnt realise that they "store" water outside leh..
anw, i'd enuff water as i brought 2 x 1.5l of water there...

Zeny,
Don't be sad. Can always try other resorts which i believe are all equally nice. If u staying at Ananatar, even number water villas will let u see sunset. Odd number ones will see sunrise.

Lynette,
Lucky you. Do share pics with us okay

congrats to those gog in May07! i jealous already kekeke...

Master Wu and Zhuzhu - just went to recki the prices for Sentosa hotels and the Spa Botanica - super duper expansive lor...sea also not nice pay so much for dunno what...kekkee....soooo may go for R and R in BKK - hopefully our dear frens who spk Thai and are v familiar with BKK will agree to go w us! super budget flight + budget hotel - will just roam around whole day...cannot wait to go - hopefully this time can succeed in gog somewhere la...i need a getaway before the big day man...
So whatever trip will be done in 2008/09 if i still got $$ after that la...haizzzzzz

Zhuzhu: Shortlisted your contractor liao?

Hi again,

I was just wondering what is the full name of the "Holiday Tours" that many of you book with?

The agent I booked with quoted me very high for the Airport Hotel.

I have already emailed Relax Inn to ask for their rates. Any other hotels worth checking out for just one night of stay?

hi wu,

received ur itinerary liao...quite well planned out leh. thks manz.

oh, hw come u din buy the cokes at Male b4 ur seaplane transfer? cost USD0.60cents only...the price u paid at the resort can buy 5 cans liao hehe.

hi Pinkez

i stayed in Relax Inn for one night - its convenient and easy to find (altho its kinda dark in Male town when u arrive late at night)
I booked it thru Holiday Tours cos my coordinator helped me to book them by emailing them on my behalf. I dunno HT full company name - i think it is part of Jetabout tours? No worries
used them twice and they are so far so good

Airport Hotel is v expansive in comparision

lynette, hubby not keen in anantara. anyway we are checking some other resorts now

FanFan, am working hard to find resort now..cos we want to be there in the 2nd week like lynette too... ( after 2 week, the monsoon will start blowing so..trying to go before it start :p )

Any one any other recommendation ? We wanted water villa?

Wu/anyone have you tried 4season resort at Kuda? they are having promotion now :p

Hi bvbride,

Hmmm.... I think better not go to BKK now... Not really stable leh. Warning of curfew again in last night news. Or just check in to a local hotel for the fun of it lah? Ritz, Conrad?

Hi pinkiez,

bvbride is right, relax inn is easy to located and near to the jetty. If not, get the Nasandhura palace hotel, just beside the jetty, or Kam hotel or mookai hotel which is near to Relax inn.

http://www.nasandhurapalace.com/default.asp
http://www.mookai.com.mv/home.htm
http://www.relaxmaldives.com/hotelrelaxinn/index.htm

Yo Midas,

Drinking a USD3 is diff as compare to a USD0.60 one...kekke.... we really treasure each sip of the USD3 coke!
kekeke.... very funny feeling also lah! hahaha.....

Yo Zeny,

If u don't mind the Ex factor, go to One and only Reethi Rah.
http://www.oneandonlyresorts.com/flash.html

4 season is a very good choice as well, don't think anyone of us went there b4.

Or Huvafenfushi:-
http://www.huvafenfushi.com

Nut I'm not sure about the house reef's condition there, last heard huvafen is same condition as Hilton, not much reefs..... not sure about others.
But according to review, service wise...O&O is the best!!

bvbride,

I've just rec'd the price for relax inn (USD69 Room Only).

I think I'll settle for that. Unfortunately, I did not book my tours thru Holiday Tours. So I don't think I can book relax inn thru them.

Should I book the room with breakfast? Or should I just venture out to Male town to grab some necessities and breakfast. Have any of you tried authentic maldivian food? Does it suit the Singaporean pallet?

hihi Pinkez

i booked the Relax Inn w breakfast cos its more convenient - wake up can eat liao
but dun expect a hotel spread hor - more like home spread ie only < 5 items to choose from but its qt economical la..they served (at that time)
toast, hotdogs, grilled mushrooms (can ones),milk tea and coffee...qt basic but filling. i was ok w that - the breakkie place is upstairs so just take a lift up. Nice view there. Can gaze out into the blue blue water~

Relax inn is kinda budget-ish so cannot expect full hotel amenities but u are just spending the night there mah...next morning go 5* resort liao lor..kekeke

If u are brave and adventurous hor (like hubby and i) can walk around Relax Inn. u will notice that all the shops are tiny and not more then 2stories, pple there sort of leave u alone. there is a slightly bigger more modern looking minimart approx 10mins walk from Relax inn. I bot my cheap cheap coke, fruit juice and Pringles from there - very cheap.
the so called authentic Maldivien "kopi-tiam" they hv looked abit dingy - so didnt dare go in lor...moreover the other time we walked around when it was drizzling...

as u can see i cannot get enough of Maldives...hahahah :D

just keep your eyes open and dun wonder into dark alleys in Male town - dun look too "rich" also :P

O&amp;O of course the best...the price also one of the best :D it is more exp than 4season
anyway am checking to see other resorts

Also need to thank you for the hotel line, need to check ourselve into the hotel before transferring to resort next morning :p this save me alot of trouble surfing :p

Hi Zeny,

Can look at vilu reef and filitheyo too...seaplane flight and rather decent water villa...and most impt of all, reasonable rates.
That'll be my 2 choices in my next trip!!

bvbride,

Thanks for so much info! I'll book it with breakfast then. Will check out the bigger minimart to get my supplies. I need plenty of water. Haha.

Once again, T H A N K S !

Hey pinkiez...

which resort you heading too...
too many posts lost track already :p

Wu, i will check out the 2 resorts you recommend later :p actually we more or less know which resort we going already :p now we are fine tuning the details. Guess my diving there got to postpoine to next trip cos the review i found on the net abt the diving near the resort sucks

Yo Zeny,

So which resort u're most likely to go? 4 seasons right? :P

Yo bvbride,

U are very bad!!! ..... tempting a person who don't have the money to go this year will make him/her an angry person! :P
I really missed that place so much!!!

bvbride you been to all those resorts :o rich sia :o

wu... hehehe most likely :p
am trying to see where else i can get cheaper price :p if still cant find then go holiday tours to book already :p

Yo Zeny,

4seasons water not cheap as well isn't it? Why don't u try out the other new 4 season resort,, Landaa? maybe got better reefs and dive sites?
Agree....4season only got lagoon.. That area maybe not much dive site, or rather been affected greatly during the Tsunami as they are hit directly.

So bad of BV bride to post those photos.. though my trip is in May, i am gg crazy now. I keep looking at photos posted by Wu and others.. and really cant believe that i am going there..

Making me so excited.. i even plan what i wan do there, wat titbits to buy.. haha... mad right??

I really feel so lucky that i managed to grab a room so last min...

I even showed to my boss which resort i am going ,the info that i got ... he said to me "go n make a copy for me"... haha.. he is mad abt maldives now.

wu

i have got a few price list from holiday tours and after comparing the price of the similar class resort and surfing net for info on those resorts, 4season is not really that exp :p

Landaa one...is much more exp and quite limited information on this resort so we give it a miss :p maybe next time :p

well, after spending so much on the resort, dun think i want to do much diving..beside as mentioned, the review on the diving at that area is really bad... bleaching of corals very bad there ......

Hi Lynette,

Hahahah.....true.... not alot of ppl think highly of it until they friends or relatives who have been there... the picture will speak for itself!!

Oh yeah...your are really lucky, it's last min kind of thingy.

Hi Zeny,

Is that so? I always think 4 season is ex... at least the price of Hilton. But I do know it's not as ex as Soneva, O&amp;O and Huvanfen lah....
You are a diver!!! you shld do diving there lah!! kekeke.....
Is that really that bad, the bleaching? So I guess u are not bringing ur gears there lah....
Aiya.... nvm lah...just relax and go there to enjoy ur deserved break lah!!!

Hmmm..... Now we got so many different new resort that the folks are going, Banyan and Four season..
Maybe we should also form a new website, perhaps a new Multiply Maldives group photo page, and put all different resort pics inside the web? Just like the one sent by bvbride....

Anyone interested???