Maldives

Wu - so glad u are back to take on your resident consultant job again! haha - no excess cash to do impulsive trip now le..
u think BKK is safe to go now? anyone?

Starstar: i emailed to your medgor addy liao u no response le...aiyoh

cheers!!

isnt there some news abt thailand yesterday?
something about attacks and increased security.
pray hard everything will be ok by august.

t&p
haha...
u'll know in due course... ;p

sianz...kena a bad flu.... medicine all finish still not recover.... sigh... think going see doc again later liao...

bvbride
sorry my dear... been down wif flu lah... so no mood to go on net... I'll let ya know again can? sorry...:p

LPH
sigh...think everywhere is chaos... politically, weather wise... what ever... thailand so far think it's still not too bad yet. cos hubby flew on official trip to thailand last week and said all looked normal.

Starstar: oic - take care yeah
i also in the same boat - just cannot get rid of my cough and running nose for good
sometimes i cannot sleep properly cos i always wake up coughing or sneezing
since u are at home - dun do anything just rest yeah

wondering where's Haru's Japan report. keke

starstar,
take good care okay...think i agar agar know what u all talking about

sigh...really miss the beach....hope i can go for a break soon..

can you pls share what is the best place to stay for 5 or 6 nights with $8k budget inc. airfare, food,hotel stay & expenses? Is a combination of beach & water villa good idea to defray the cost?

Hi Wu,

I'm interested in going to the maldives as well. Is it possible to stay @ only the hilton for abt 5 days with a budget of abt 7k?

I wonder if the NATAS Fair 07 will have any promos on maldives?

hi AL

Welcome - below are my own estimations and 2cents worth - your budget of $8k sounds do-able la
but are u gog during off peak season ie june - july? if so u can stretch your dollar even further

I always rec Mirihi although i hvnt tried it yet. It value for $ + has fantastic sea life cos the housereef is just at its doorstep ie no need to spend $ to take boat out for snorkelling!

Hilton and Mirihi's price is not as steep as u think, based on the quality of the accomodation and resort.
From Wu's info provided earlier, Beach Villa is approx US338 per room per night, Water villa USD368 nett per nite per room.
Seaplane transfer US250 each
Airtix approx SGD1800 for two
so total for flight and accomodation (5N water villa) will be approx S$5544. THis is excluding the 1N stay at Male town (if u dun want to chk into Mirihi straightaway at night) + food and activities expenses + tips for resort staff

hope u find the info helpful

cheers!!

Hi bvbride!!

Hahaha..... u are absolutely spot on!!
Go to Mirihi lah, then you'll know what's it like!

U itchy liao is it? Haiz... I feel like going back also, wrote to them to enquire about it and they even want to give me free full board if I order half board. The recept kept trying to psycho me to go back, but really cannot afford liao lah..... not until I ganna another toto or big sweep.
This year my luck not here yet leh....hmmmm....

Hi Pinkiez,

When are u planning to go?
It's possible to stay in Hilton beach villa for 5 days with just 7K, and really depends on when u go loh. Right now, Hilton beach villa is more or less fully booked till mid July 07, June there's still vacancy with price discount up to USD40 per nite(but it's prepaid scheme though).

1)SQ flight for 2 = S$1648 nett
2)Hilton beach villa 5 nites = USD250 X 5 ~ S$2k
3)Seaplane for 2 = USD270 X 2 ~ S$850
4)1 nite Male stay = USD80 ~ S$125
Total ~ S$4623 for 5 nites, and u still got another S$2.4K for expenses which is more than enough!!

I've just check on HIlton's webby, some june day still got vacancy, but May and July, all gone. Mid July onwards price will go up by at least 1.5X. Not until Oct then the rates will drop slightly.
Another place worth considering is what Bvbride said, Mirihi!!

https://secure.hilton.com/en/hi/res/choose_dates.jhtml?hotel=MLEHITW&adId=hiltonworldresorts.com,MLEHITW,21

sorry for e long silence. i have been back from japan for about 2 weeks. been really busy catching up with work and moving office. japan was FANTASTIC. it was soooo much fun planning the trip ourselves and going on our own w/o a tour grp. got to say that its recommended only to do that if you can speak some nihongo coz some places' locals know absolutely nutz about english. but the trip was awesome and snowboardin was super fun!! if you like to view e photos (quite a lot of photos...if you have time), just leave your email addy and i can send you e album.

so who's going to maldives soon? anyone who went before going again anytime soon?? kekeke...

Thanks Wu!

I'm thinking of going on the first week of October 07 (right after my AD).

Do you think the S$2.4K will be sufficient for us to stay in the water villa for 5 nites?

pinkiez
think u misunderstood what Wu wrote... or u mean u plan to stay there for 10 nites? Cos Wu mentioned the S$2.4k is your OTHER expenditures.... not your accomodation. He calculated that U'll need about S$4623 for 5 nites in beach villa not water villa.

Haru
u got pics of your Jap trip?

Hi Haru,

I wanna to see.... please invite me!

Hi pinkiez,

Don't think so leh... Hilton's water villa rates for Oct 07 is USD760++ per nite(cheapest prepaid rates). That's almost S$1.2k++ per nite.
I also missed out some infor during my earlier email. The USD250 do not include taxes. So the nett value to beach villa during low season is another 10% + USD8 per pax bed tax = USD291 nett.

Probably beach villa also barely enough based on ur budget of S$7K.
For Hilton beach villa rates in early Oct, cheapest prepaid rate is USD470++ = USD533 nett = S$820 nett per nite.

OCt 07
1)5 nites beach villa = S$4100 nett
2)SQ return for 2 = S$1648 nett
3)Seaplane transfer = S$850 nett
4)1 nite Male ~ S$150.

Total is about S$6750 liao.... so quite tough even for the beach villa.

U need us to recommend another resort to you? Seems like you have the preference of water villa right?

Yo Starstar,

Hahaha..... no lah, I think maybe Pinkiez means with the extra 2.4K, can she upgrade to water villa. How's ur flu/cough? okie liao? Drink more water....now weather quite bad and got some haze also.

yup sorry i missed out the "extra" before my 2.4k.

For those that have stayed in the beach villa @ hilton b4, can I ask if the villas are nestled close together? When you go to the beach @ ur doorstep, can you see your neighbours?

Yeah lor Wu, I sorta prefer privacy. Any other resorts which are quite nice & its water villa kind?

of coz with my limited budget ...

keke

pinkiez
keke... mirihi or taj coral? keke...

Wu
thanks...
still got mild cough...sigh..ya lor..stupid haze is back!!!! ARRGHHH!

Ho pinkiez,

Beach villa in Hilton is really a villa loh....although side by side but still u feel it's on it's own due to the high walls, and the space is very generous at 150sqm big.
The open bath area got high walls, with open shower and bath tub, basically will be naked in the "open" during bath time lah.
The terrace(got high walls too) and open but surround by plantation, leading to the beach area.

In Hilton, not neccessary that a water villa enjoy more privacy than the beach villa, especially the deluxe beach villa, you are in your own world! But still Total privacy = money, so unless are willing to folk out much more money just for privacy, which most of us cannot afford that, what a shame...

If you're really tight on budget, there's other resort you can choose from....you can choose those resort near to Male to avoid payment for the seaplane(but I think u shld do it once in your life time).
You can check on the info, pics on www.mal-dives.com to find out more of each individual resort. Check on the price, accom etc and let us know which one u fancy.
There's a couple of pretty good resort(water villa) u can take a look, within or close to ur budget.
1)Mirihi >seaplane
2)Taj Coral >speedboat
3)Filitheyo >seaplane
4)Vilu Reef >seaplane
5)Olhuveli (Vilu reef's sister resort, diff Atoll)> seaplane or speedboat
6)Veligandu >seaplane
7)Clubmed >speedboat

I've went to Mirihi and reckon that it do match your requirements, i.e. water villa + seaplane adn only 36 rooms on island.... We even tan naked at the sun-deck due to the villa's unique layout, whereby only 3 areas can see you..... 1)those on the airplane/seaplane flying pass u or 2)those who climb up the stairs from the open sea or
3)those neigbour who purposely lean over from a barrier.......very unlikely loh!

For Taj Coral, u can ask Starstar(Lavender lover), and clubmed u can page for LPH. As for other resort that the other folks went,it's ex during Oct 07, like Anantara and Taj Exotica etc...

Have u seen our photo album by the folks heres? Talk a look and have the feel of it
For Hilton, there's a couple of us having the pics, such as Zhuzhu, Mira, me, Haru....check out our pics. For Mirihi, so far only me..... bvbride coming soon... hahaha...

wa thanks Wu & lavender lover!

Will check out the other resorts.

I've actually browsed thru some of the pics that some of you have put up. Really nice. But ultimately still very impressed with Hilton.

I'll check out the rest first in the meantime.

Thanks ya!

Hi pinkiez,

Hilton is really nice but ex during the peak and shoulder period. That's why all of us went there during the low season...kekekeke....However ur AD is during Oct, thus cannot match.
If u need more info on Mirihi, just let me know or drop me a mail. Anyway, Mirihi's water villa's rates is USD464 nett during the Oct period.

Do let us know if u need more help...

Haru!!

Me! Me! [email protected]

Wu,
I cld have gone to Maldives again in late Feb..hubby told me on the plane to Bali that if I had failed to book acoomodation in our desired resort in Bali, he would have gone to Maldives instead. Imagine my reaction on the plane...sigh..darn..i shldn't have tried so hard urging the agency to confirm my booking.

Starstar,

Take care ya...sorry my pics are still stuck in the camera. Too busy with work since my return..

Yo T&P,

Aiya....wasted!! Go Bali might as well go Maldives isn't it?
but one thing hor, Feb period very ex lah!
Where did u intend to go, which resort? Back to Taj Exotica ah, somewhere more fancy?

Hahaha...u still press ur agency to confirm booking ah..I think fated lah. Then b4 end of the yr go Maldives again lah, Bali consider small trip right, then Maldives the big one for u this yr?

Yo yo...share ur Bali pics with me also leh..... [email protected]

Haru & T&P, can I see the pics also?
[email protected].

i've a colleague looking for honeymoon destination. im trying to physco him to go maldives
really miss maldives esp now itching to go for relaxation trip.

Wu...

Exactly my thoughts...so i was screaming all the way on the plane! Hahaha..
but not fancy fancy one lah...more the mid range kind, like mirihi or maybe angsana for the reefs or one of those ulu ulu ones which are not popular with locals. Don't think can take long holiday this year liao..cos hubby gg to start doing a part time course and I'll prob sign up for one too..so can't afford any more days off...have to reserve for exams preparation.
But i am keeping my fingers crossed for a long haul trip for business..kekeke..

Once the pics are out, I'll share with u folks! =) Sorry LPH, wait a while more..i see if can do it over the weekend.

Haru - welcome back! all waiting for your Japan report siah...so u had a great time - fantastic!
bot any cute cute stuff or makeup or Fancl?
my email:[email protected]

Wu: u can read my mind le...i want to go but definately wont be gog anytime soon - so no surprise "live report" from Mirihi from me :P
got something on now so $$ is "tied up"
thank god didnt spend too much at Anantara!haha

T and P - u already gone Bali and had a good time there liao! nevermind - the low season coming - time to plan for Maldives !!! ur taste more upmarket - but if u dun mind not so 5* u can go check out Mirihi on my behalf !!kekeeke...
Maldives holiday only 5-7nights not that long la - sure can find time one
btw Angsana is fantastic! loads of fishes to see from their house reef!but price abt steep considering their relatively small beach villa

Nice to see Maldives hvg repeated visitors from here
Anyone else?

Yo T&P,

I wouldn't be as generous and forgiving like u. I would have thrown ur Ah lau out of the airplane! Wahahaha.........
U and ur hubby still continue study ah? Wah say.....really good leh. Now u ask me just to attend 1 day course I can fall asleep liao....Haizzz.

Yo bvbride,

I'm still here in office, don't think u r in office liao right?
Hmmmm....$$$ "tied-up" and not going anytime soon? Sounds familiar leh..... Hmmm...
Anyway, my wife reckon that she agar agar also knows what you're "up to" recently....kekekeke...
Haizz.. this year most likely I can only update u folks from Redang or even maybe Tioman liao, not even Bali. :P
$$ tied up also....

Talking about Angsana.... the new Angsana Velavaru in Maldives really ex man! Crazy... new opening also so ex. :P Might as well go back to the original Angsana.

Yo zhuzhu,

Not me lah....my wife guess one...is it is it??
kekekeke.......
Eh... How's everything at yourside? Ready and prepared?

Wu,

U noe the Alila resorts? They have 2 new ones coming up in maldvies and they sure look nice..u can see the artworks on their webby.
If dun study now will be too old to study in a few yrs time..so might as well do it now when we have no kids.

Bvbride,
No lah..not upmarket..i think if i go Maldives again, wun go to the 5 stars one again, unless i strike TOTO..haha..Mirihi looks good but the waves abit scary from Wu's pics..Angsana has excellent reefs so very attractive too. But both me and hb likes to check out ulu resorts, not popular with singaporeans...which is good cos then we can give reports when back.

Eh my $ also tied up...and dun seem to be looking too good at the moment..haiz...

Midas,
Hi hi...see u pop in here too. Will share with u when they are ready..sorry i am so...slow...
just a word of warning..they are not as nice as the ones taken in maldives ok..

Yo T&P,

Will check out Alila..... 1 in Maldives and 1 in Phuket right?
Ya lah...young must study lah..preferably sponsor even better!

Have u look at the W-Hotel Maldives web? If got money must go for sure....very unique designing and concept, 2 storey beach villa with groud floor design a bit like the Banyan tree style.
Anyway hor, difficult to find Singaporean in Maldives lah, not even Hilton, but probably Banyan tree lah. U saw Singaporeans there in Taj exotica also?

Haiz....anyway, this year really sianx...don't know where to go with limited $$$. Just keep buying toto loh...this coming one 1.5mil right!!

t&p
go taj coral lor... I dun even see a single singaporean there...haha... it's either italians, US or Japs. :p

t&p
me too... send to [email protected]

Wu
u $$ tied up too???? u same 'problem' as bvbride isit?

Wu
**zipped my mouth**

My side here ah..getting ready for the big day lor..can't wait..its getting more n more uncomfy...hubby said i walk like a pengiun now..tsk tsk..

T&P,

i know i know...i've been to both places lah. i know Maldives is hard to beat one hehe.

err...tat time i stayed at Kurumba Maldives also no sg pple. got some koreans, japs, china uncles, a lot of germans n russians n some indians too.

got reply from that chinese booking site
www.my-tour.com.cn
said, no web booking will accept from out side of china however, they do accept bookings from singapore by direct calling or fax /email

the direct contact information as follow

call +86-21-54892208
fax +86-21-54892206

best of the best ,they have real time MSN support by adding [email protected]

Yo starstar,

Hahaha...... my problem diff from bvbride lah! :P
My problem is not enough $$$$
kekeke.....
Spent too much on my camera accessories liao and still haven recover from last year Syndey trip, and this year CNY. Haizzz... Neber mind, aim for a bigger one next year loh.... NZ hopped to Bora Bora??

Yo Zhuzhu,

ZIPPED too.

Hahahah....so funny!!! So is it King Penguin or the smaller ones? Happy feet is it?
Eh... did u ever mention it is a boy or girl or twins har?

Hi Mango,

Are u the representative from Mango? since ur name is same as the travel agent. Hmmmmm.......
Anyway, the rates is really cheaper then booking direct...so my question is how will the resort such as Hilton or W hotel react, when they found out their's are not guaranteed rates anymore?

Yo Fanfan!

Hmmm...that's a tricky question loh. You set them pigeon once leh... maybe they'll downgrade and not upgrade for u. :P kekkee...
Kidding lah. I really don't know leh, unless I can secure distribution rights with them lah, then I give free upgrade to you from my pocket!

anw, I don't like full board loh....even for half board, I'm as if being force to eat the dinner no matter I like it or not! Anyway, if I got the chance to revisit Mirihi, I will go will BB again, cos I know what I want to eat there....

Yo..U wanna to go again ah? U just came back not long ago leh... if wanna to go it's my turn lah! kekeke....

Wu
I think i am "mumble"..
I had a toy Mumble at home..next time can show my bb how to dance...
Its a boy..wah..i cannot imagine if I have twins...sure no need to walk liao..

Hey ppl
Me just got a resale flat..so if you had any contractors or ID which you think is cheap & good, pls PM me... now must go for cost effective..

Wu,

Need some advice on camera here. My ang moh friend from US wanna buy her camera today.

1. Casio Exlim EX-21000
2. Casio Exlim EX5770
3. Sony DSC-T50

Do you know the prices for the above and if they are good?
If no good what's better at comparable rates?
Her budget should be not more than S$500.

Alila is coming up with 2 resorts in the maldives, not 1. Both look very yummy. Check them out! I saw W....darn nice...if budget allows, I dun mind checking it out manz..
Sigh..it's bad lah..both me and hubby have decided if we want a R&R holiday in future, no 2nd tots, it'll be Maldives again. GG to bali, we cldn't nua like what we did in Taj cos u feel obligated to go out and check out the sights.
HB seems to miss Kuredu...he prefers bigger island but i like tiny ones like Taj Exotica.
See how lah..when the time comes then I'll seek suggestions from u guys.

Midas..

Yap..Maldives is paradise on earth..no place can beat that. =)

Yo T&P,

Casio Exlim EX-Z1000 - SRP $799
Sony T50 - SRP $799
Not sure about S770, I think shld be around $599.
But most likely the price of the camera if bought from Alan photo,MS color or parasilk, it'll be around 15% off the listed price in Best Denki.
If her budget is not more than $500, looks like Casio EX-S770 would be a good choice. Older model such as Z70 also selling cheap.
Bring ur friend to the shop and test out lah.... can try different model and different function of the cam, see which one she likes.
Ya...agree, the Nua in Maldives is very different as compare to Nuaing in other places.... its' really like dead corpse kind of Nua!!Kekekeke....

Then got Hilton and hopped to Mirihi lah...best suit both ur preference. Hilton big enough to run about and Mirihi just nice for u! Hahah.... U want small har, W-hotel really small. U saw the pics? but I reckon if fully occupy, it'll be very crowded. I think it's only 1/2 the size of Mirihi.

hihi peeps

Wu/Starstar/Zhuzhu - whao your comments made me laugh and laugh le..very funni le...kekeke...
So Wu- u sure ur $$ not "tied up" for future expanses like some of us here? dun bluff u know we all very curious to find out one hor..hahaha.

Will update soon la when there are things to update hor..HA! :p
Zhuzhu - will email u tmr cos these two days on leave cos i turned one year older arr...kekeke so just to take it easy and nua at home lor
actually not exactly nua la cos i got a mountain of clothes to iron and sort keke...

Wu: i got this collegue planning to go Redang in May and i recommended him the Berjaya one that u went. Practically "begged" him to chk out Redang for me cos really feel like gog mah..suits my budget and not that far away. THen again i dunno if i can tahan the long long bus journey le..
flying there is abit out of the question la cos its too expansive
if not i may just head down to some Bintan resort w nice beach lor..not Nirwana la...maybe Angsana Bintan?? so ironic hor cannot afford Maldives Angsana then go to the BIntan one lor...heheheh
Eh u not bad le...this year cut down next year can aim for Bora Bora liao ah??? u where got $$ tight le??? :P

T and P : think there are still too few Singaporeans in Maldives for u to bump into them la. But i unintentionally bumped into Fanfan in Anantara le..hehehe...that one is one exception la. :p

Haru: where is your office shifting to? must be bz no sound from u

Wu,

thanks for the tips! Where's Alan? Is it the one in Sim Lim #01?

Oh...i noe what u guys meant by $ tie up liao..my kind of tie up...mine's different...keke

bvbride,
erm..actually i dun mind singaporeans lah..actually i meant not much pple! haha....i very anti social lah...will be nice to have as few pple sharing the island with me as possible. =) easier to tan nude too..hahaha

Yo bvbride,

My tide up in $$$ also very different from u, starstar and zhuzhu...

I never been to Bejaya Redang leh. It's Laguna Redang, but both are the best on Redang lah. I think Bejaya is more ex.
I don't think the long bus trip is suitable 4 u lah...especially now u are...ehem...

Flying is ex but it's really saving time loh, and fly straight out from Singapore Seletar Airport. Can think about it!
Forget about Bintan lah, unless it's Angsana or Banyan. But Redang would be a better choice in terms of sand and water quality. Bintan got Sandfly, worse than sharks ah! :P
No lah, if I plan for NZ, then fly and hopped to Bora Bora would be as ex as just going staight mah, and probably just 3 nites stay there...maybe...
Haizz.... last nite I stay up to calculate the money I've spent for this 2 yrs, really scary sia..all my saving gone in just this 2 yrs of travel and purchases. Now 4 me it's save save save.
no more travel. :P

Yo T&P,

Alan photo is in SLS.. yes.. that 1st floor one. But be prepare to bargain lah, especially ur friends is AngMo.

hey!

zhuzhu - so coincidental siah
my bday 21/3/19** hahha...so your ah lau and i both Arians. so just spending alone time w him issit?yday went to walk around town cos want to eat steak for bday lunch (by dinner time i prob want to zzzzz liao) so we parked at Taka, walked to Far East Shopping Centre for steak at Shaslik (very oldschool 1980s style restaurant) and then walked back to Taka for the u know what fair...
bot the thing that i needed and zipped from there straight home - tired siah!!!!!!!
my ah lau as predicted even more tired then me lor...but appreciated him coming along la so much more fun to hv him for company

Wu: i very keen on Redang but the $ spent on the flight is qt ridiculous le.. $300+ each right if i dun recall wrongly..might as well spend it on more nights at Angsana - i feel la..
dunno Angsana got sandflies or not hor..keke
nothing to see when snorkelling also hor...hmmm

Wu,

Noted!

Bvbrides,

Happy Birthday! =)
I was at Angsana a few yrs back. it was quite alright. The resort provides anit sand-flies lotion and i escaped without a single bite and i didn't even use the lotion.

Bvbride
happy belated bday!!!
oh yeah..i went to shaslik b4..very very very old restaurant liao..even those waiteress & waiters all old liao..

So u got the things I mentioned to u lar..

i went angsana bintan a few yrs back. no sandflies n very quiet resort compared to nirwana n bintan lagoon. basically theres nothin to do there, just eat and tan. i think i didnt even see 1 fish in the sea.

Yo folks,

Then my wife very sua liao....ganna serious sandfly bites and eggs even grow inside her legs. :P anwyay it's not Angsana lah, but the stretch of beach along Nirwana Bintan. Worse trip we ever had!! expensive food and lousy food(except the lasi lemak) in USD...really hate it! Maybe Angsana and Banyan should have much better standard! Anyway no Bintan for me, period! :p

Yo bvbride,

Happy belated B'Day!!!
Hahaha...then the question is back to u wanna to see corals and fishes?? Redang got some, but not those Maldives standard lah. In front of Laguna redang and Redang reef resort, there's a house reef there.. lots of fishes(tiger stripe ones, parrot fish and white Promphet, yummy!!). Then walk to the extreme ends, there's a turtle bay and baby shark bay. U can see turtles there as well as small little baby sharks(they'll swim away when u approach them).
The beach in front of Laguna use to be the quality of Maldivian beach, white and powdery. Now it's slightly worse due to more ppl, still I think it's better than Bintan's one.

Bejaya is another good choice but more pricey, but it got it's own stretch of beaches, don't have to share with the other resort. Same white sand and clear blue water!! This will be a quieter resort compare to LAguna(the other resort beside it sometimes have disco party!)

If u don't want to travel by Berjaya air, you can try my method lah, Airasia transit KLIA one nite(maybe airport hotel will do), then next day fly to terenganu again on Airasia. U can find tickets only slightly more ex than the super coach. JB~KL can be as low as RM19.99 and KL to Terenganu ~ RM9.99

Or u wanna to try the tioman resort, got 1 I think recommended by someone here, maybe Starstar or Haru?. Quite exclusive, got standard and not much travelling needed.... see in below links!
I might go there this year...

http://www.japamalaresorts.com/

I have a tight budget ($5K) but would still like to go Maldives for my honeymoon, can anyone advise if Properties like Full Moon & Laguna worth a visit? I like to book through a travel agency, let me know which is reccommended? Thanks!