Maldives

Hi Nicxl,

If I can remember correct, only one of us has been to Laguna, her nick is bluegin, probably u can pm her?
Ur S$5K budget is a bit tight if you wanna to stay for longer period. However, You still can check out the package by Holiday tours(S), they are the most competitive priced agent around in Singpore. Most of their package is 5D3N, u'll reach there at night and it consider 1N, followed by another 2 full nites. Please take note that the rates quote by them do not include airport tax.
Bandos island have a pretty new beach villa, and rates is reasonable as well, and it's a 2 storey beach villa, and I reckon that it's really spacious for that price.
U can do some reasearch on the price in the website here:- www.mal-dives.com

BTW, when will be ur honeymoon?

Wu n bvbride
haha... u guys really fuuny... all trying to guess guess.... haha..

bvbride
happi belated birthday!!
btw Wu's $$ tied up not the same lah....keke...

yeah... if u think redang too far... can try tioman. Thin tioman is much better than bintan. Least can see some fishes though not as many as in maldives... not sure on redang though cos not been there bef.
Can take either a speedboat like those u go bintan/batam in... or can take plane.
Berjaya tioman is not too bad. Rustic n PEACEFUL....

hi nicxl,

r u refering to the Laguna Maldives n Full Moon Maldives from Universal resort chain?

http://www.unisurf.com/

if u r, i hv the contact of their local rep...they hv a small office in orchard. their prices r slightly better than www.mal-dives.com

do PM me if u r interested

oh, by the way...Laguna's accom some does not hv TVs...if tats impt to u, then i recommend Full Moon for u.

Wu,
I didnt fly Mirhi's pigeon lah...they like confirm and no confirm mah...heehee...but i'm kinda set of going to Mirhi if I go to Maldives next time....abit gian to go leh...really miss the beautiful sea and idyllic life there...

me oso bio the Japa Mala for some time liao..hahaha..looks like people who go Maldives always bio beach resorts

Bvbride
Happy Belated Birthday

Go Taka no chio me...i work @ Taka there only..hahaha...the steak u went is at where? recommend to me leh..

the bus ride to trengganu is okay leh..just sleep lor...for me, though i didnt fall asleep, i find it okay... i went like 4 yrs ago...so given the "higher standard" of the coaches now, the ride should be more comfy?

Zhuzhu,
I'll PM you my ID i'd used for my new flat yeterday...quite a young chap with new designs i think...prices rather afforable

sigh....having some hiccups wif my trip planning...
now it seems the tasmania trip wif hubby has to be cancelled.. cos he can't confirm his leave yet..so many uncertainties. Anyway I'm going ahead wif my melbourne trip wif frens.. visiting another fren there. Tot can hop over to Tas after meeting hubby in melbourne..think it's not possible now. sigh... so now he plans to go in May where the chances are higher of him going on leave and heading to NZ.

how har? one part of me wanted to go to maldives...the other part wans to go NZ too cos never been there bef. Anyway hubby can claim one free tic to either places. HELP HELP... bvbride n Wu, if i go Maldives, u think it's gonna be wasted? cos u guys know lah... *wink*... can't do alot of activities right? hmmm....

anyone been to NZ? where's that Lord of the ring place har? Any recommendations of where to stay? Headache....

pardon my grumbles...:p

fanfan
bvbride scare the bus ride can cause her to be car sick..cos er... it's some reasons lah... :p *wink*

bvbride
hmmm...u not planning to tell the rest since u now in safe zone liao...

anyone going to natas fair to check out maldives deals ?

diners club travel is having promo to angsana maldives...not sure is it worth going

hi WU

dont worry about HILTON and W 's lowest rate garutee,,,both consumer and agent will be safe as long as no offical receipt has been issued by agency. and HILTON /W wont oganize email confirmation as proof of rate. so we both happy ~

Yo folks!!

YEs Yes.....tioman!! Who wants to go? Maybe can get group rates? kekeke.....
Tioman use to be a diver's heaven. I used to see schools of Giant Napolean fish during snorkelling trips, and healthy corals too. Now, most are dead corals. That's about 3-4yrs back though.....not sure hows the corals now. Redang is probably the situation of Tioman now....getting more n more crowded. Really sianz...
However, it seems like JapaMala seems to be pretty quiet though...

Yo Fanfan,

I think Antony from Mirihi will remember u lah...kekeke....He called you Mr. Fan. :P
I also feel like going back to Mirihi but it'll really drained my bank lah..... I reckon Japa Mala might be as quiet as Mirihi...thus my top choice. I cannot tahan those resort with lots tourist from S'pore, Malaysia and China etc... something like Lagana Redang. Probably Berjaya Redang still not too bad.
Which resort u went to har, in Redang?

Yo starstar,

I think u better stay home and rest lah....kekekek....no travelling 4 u. :P
Better not go Maldives, bumpy speedboat or seaplane ride...
U still going Melbourne har?...haiz...I shld have drive there during my last trip...the great ocean road thingy!

Hi Zeny,

Don't think Natas will have much focus on Maldives. However, agent like Holiday tours might be there, can check out with them.
Even with discount, don't think Angsana will be cheap also lah...probably still in the range of USD500 per night.
How much is the diner's club travel rates for Angsana?

Hi Mango,

We'll definitely appreciate you're more competitive rates as compare to most of the agent in Maldives as well as Singapore.
That's pretty interesting. So basically you're station in China with a Canadian registered company right? Are ur agency being allocated with rooms, especially during peak whereby it's difficult to get rooms.
How's the payment like if we're getting the package from you, credit card or direct bank transfer? Any further group(more people) discount...

wah! how come everybody also got that secret?

star,
the LOTR place is smwhere near queenstown
that time i went to queenstown, there's lotsa tours bring people to LOTR sites

Wu,
Yes. Mr Fan is me....hahaha...me also stayed at Laguna Redang..that time i go, it's not fully operational yet..the swimming pool was empty!

Wu/T and P/Starstar/Zhuzhu: thx for the bday wishes.
now im really into the next decade liao
super the old man

Thx for your wonder suggestions on Tioman Japamala - actually name sounds qt the funni hor.
now im qt gian man but got to take speedboat transfer and im abit scared la...ermmm hw hw?

Master WU- u think there is a house reef at Japamala? im trying to minimise speedboat rides as they can be bumpy :p
i think i take coach there - dunno how long is the journey hor
btw why dun u join the few of us here? save $$ for future?? u know u know ;p start "working hard"
both u and joy

Starstar: ermmm im waiting for another "outcome" so wil definately fill u guys in sooonnnnn

Fanfan: go Mirihi go go GO!!! newly married pple must enjoyyyyyyyyyy their couplehood
book soon
low season coming

Yo Mr Fan!!
Hahaha..... 1st time I went to Redang, it's a empty plot of land on Laguna's site, the second time there, they're building Laguna, and 3rd time there, we stay there....really there's a different in the sand quality there, and Coral reefs started to die loh....so sad.
Oh..that means u stay there earlier than me, I was there around Aug 2004.
Still I reckon it's better than Bintan.... :P

Yo bvbride,

I'm reaching the next decade liao loh...so scared...now almost half liao....time really flies nowsaday. How come study time and army time pass so slow har?

For Tioman resort, there's a few way u can go. They got a ferry(stable but the low frequency will make u feel sick), middle speed cruiser and smaller speed boat. I think u can choose the bigger ferry and they'll drop u at Japamala. I'll try to find out more info...

Should need around 2 hrs bah the ferry ride....really forgotten liao. My last trip there is like 9 yrs back. As for the coach thingy, really forgotten liao, IIRC shld be around 3-4hrs. Drive there lah!!

Hmmm..... really don't want to work hard loh, my 2 doggies already too much for us to handle liao. My mum also kept nagging until Joy also scared. Haiz....see how lah, maybe not time yet and not fated yet.

Wu n bvbride
haha...me also into the next decade soon...so sad... no more in my twenties....
haha..ya man..time flies now... last time study also not so long...time machiam on stand still one....keke...

bvbride
??another outcome? hmmmm....

Wu
HEY!!! what stay at home...by then, me should be safe enough lah... :p yeah..me also wanna go to the ocean road drive.
looking forward to it.

yo...there'll never be the right time for such tings...keke... so since there's never a right time, why wait? keke... join us lah... come over to the 'dark' side. whaha...

fanfan
thanks!! I'll love to see the sites...
which hotel u stayed?

Hello again!

Just some rates @ NATAS Fair 2007 if any of you are interested :

Banyan Tree
6D4N (its actually 3 nights + 1 complimentary night) for 1/5/07 - 30/9/07 is S$2718 (beachfront villa) while 1/10/07 - 15/10/07 is S$2938. Full Board. 1 "1-for-1" 90 mins spa massage. Honeymooners receive Partner Massage Lesson, special turn down and complementary bottle of wine & fruit basket on arrival day. Romantic Villa Dining (Vabbin Grill) for bride & groom prepared & served on the villa terrace by a private chef & butler.

I settled for this package. hehe ... exceeded our budget but ... oh well ... total we spent abt $3900 per pax for 6D5N (we extended our stay). Is that still okie?

Other promos i saw were :

Hilton
5D3N
Beach Villa
(1/4/07 - 4/5/07) & (17/7/07 - 31/10/07) S$2398/pax (extra night $475)
(5/5/07 - 16/5/07) S$2038/pax (extra night $280)

Deluxe Beach Villa & Water Villa
1/4/07 - 4/5/07) & (17/7/07 - 31/10/07) S$2938/pax (extra night $745)
(5/5/07 - 16/5/07) S$2488/pax (extra night $505)

Superior Water Villa
1/4/07 - 4/5/07) & (17/7/07 - 31/10/07) S$3288/pax (extra night $920)
(5/5/07 - 16/5/07) S$2828/pax (extra night $505)

But after calculating Hilton, I realized that if I took the Water Villa @ Hilton, it would come up to about 10k total.

So glad that we settled our honeymoon arrangements!

Thanks to everyone for the info on maldives! It really helped alot.

thanks fanfan
got ur PM..

I went tioman a few yrs back also..remember taking this super long direct ferry..think abt 4hrs???

if i rem correctly, the drive from sin to msia, where u take the speed boat is abt 2hrs, speedboat abt 45mins -1 hr. Ferry is abt 4hrs cos my bro took that but ride was quite bad, the children got very seasick.
I'll take the speedboat anytime..

if i take berjaya air to redang, it'll land on the island, so no need to take ferry?
besides berjaya resort, any other recommended place?
basically, the activities at redang is similar to maldives? juz swim, sun tan n eat whole day?
im thinking of gg to natas to book a redang trip.

bvbride
i wish i can go Mirhi...we just went Great World and blew near $1k on 2 chairs =( spent money again..so sad..

Wu,
I went to Laguna Redang a mth earlier..hahaha...
the water was quite nice (at least for a 1st timer like me). but my sis always complain that after the Mo-mo Tea movie when everyone flock to Redang (including me), the reefs there are badly damaged.

star,
I stayed at Copthorne. Was on business trip. So not much of a choice. I extended 1 day by myself and went to Milford Sound. Also took a 1/2 day tour to see the Bungy Jump place, Arrowtown, etc. Tried the shootover jet in the downtown too.
there are some motels/apartments facing the lake which i find them quite nice
you can try them

zhuzhu
no probs

hey guys thanks for the tips

Wu_ when u got more info u let me know
if confirm will take some VIP coach to Mersing and then the speedboat lor.
Hopefully wont be too bumpy - and my mother prob will make noise abt me travelling at these times
who knows she might stop me from gog altogether??!!! yikes~
well if fate has it there is nothing that can stop the storks from visiting u
whatever it is all the best yeah..

Starstar: well the outcome wil be out by end of next week so hoping for the best - fingers and toes crossed! btw im ordering my little dreamers stuff next week cos one of the stuff running out liao - email me if u stil want to consolidate any orders

Pinkez! congrats man - Banyan Tree is not so new but still very beautiful
can chk out Angsana their sister resort too cos they hv a ferry gog thru and fro every half hour or so.
Do chk out their house reefs there but careful dun get cut hor...u can throw bread from the jetty there - loads of fishes will come up and eat !!!
there is stingray feeding every evening at Banyan so u can get up close w those majestic creatures! Glenn ONg went to Banyan for his Honeymoon too
u will hv a GREAT Time!!!

bvbride,

oh I can go angsana? icic ... erm stupid question but do i bring bread there? or do they sell daily necessities there? btw, I was wondering if I could bring a few bottles of wine there for my own consumption in the villa. I think its real nice if we could have our favourite wine @ nite in the villa.

anyway, will definitely check out angsana. =) thanks for the tips!

Hi Pinkiez,

Which tour agent did u get from package from, GSA travel? ur Banyan Tree package is almost USd700 per nite. Is it full board and does it includes the airport tax liao?
The Hilton package is definitely more ex than booking on our own, unless it includes airport tax. Their per night charge during July period is almost USD432, whereas booking direct is only USD293.
Anyway, don't think u can bring wine or liquor to MAldives, as it's a Muslim country. You can buy ur wine there at the resort, but at a premium. Get the bread from ur breakfast to feed the fishes....we always do that.

Yo Bvbride...

Getting there to Japamala info is all here in their link below:-
http://www.japamalaresorts.com/getThereCar.htm (By Car or coach)
http://www.japamalaresorts.com/getThere.htm
(By Air)

I think Singapore do have ferry service direct to Tioman right? hmmm....will check out later...
Anyway, if u travel by Berjaya air to tioman, you'll still need to transfer by speed boat, since the resort is at the southern end of the island.

Hi Pinkiez,

u r not allowed to bring in alcohol to Maldives...u gotta surrender them at the custom n claim back when u leave. if u ever attempt to pour the wine into another container n get caught, u'll be punished by law. but hor, the prices r exorbitant lor if u r buying from the resort...n also neccesities sold there is like daylight robbery kinda prices lor.

as for bread, we 'cope' them from the buffet BF hehehe..nobody stopped us

Wu,

$3900 is inclusive of airport tax and its on a full board basis.

midas,

hehe ... okie in that case i better don't bring wine there. If not, kenna jailed during honeymoon.

okay now i know how to get bread to feed the fishes. ('',)

hi Pinkez

yep just grab some extra bread during the breakfast buffet discreetly... i super not shy - take about 5-6 slices every morning after breakfast and headed straight to jetty where u can feed and watch the fishes gobble up the bread - really nice! its not like some pond u know
the fishes come from the sea!

U might want to bring along some 3-in-1 coffee or tea there to cut cost on drinks. Mineral water should be provided i think, if u scared dun hv can standby one big bottle and boil water yourself when u are there.
btw u can chk out my Angsana pix posted in the previous weeks' thread

when are u leaving for your HM?
Do share your pix w us when u are back!

Hi Midas,

Yes... In Tioman. Don't think any of us here went before, but really a cheaper alternative for ppl who want beach resort....a quiet one I reckon.

Wu - thx for the info man
this japamala is really a v small resort siah..but tripadvisor didnt give it very fantastic reviews but still qt afew positive ones
zhuzhu said the ferry there is horrendous so if confirm will take VIP coach + speedboat transfer

Fanfan: your chair very expansive le - issit armchair or dinning chair? bot from those chi-chi shop like Molecule or something right?
btw the steak place i went hor is very old school ie "old fashion" looking - very 80's
servers all very middle age or elderly looking one
but total bill wil prob be <$100

Yo bvbride,

When u plan to go? kekeke..... I might be planning going there too. I might want to go there during the monsoon...kekeke... their biggest villa only cost half the rates of the peak period! Aiya... I cheap-skate one loh! :P
See how lah, either I go Japamala or maybe backpack trip to Japan.
Joy's friend will be going to Japan for 18days! DIY trip tonight. All accom + transfer cost only $2.6K, excluding makan lah! So I abit gian loh!
I'm studying the possibility of at least 10days trip to Japan, at least the 2 main island.

Fanfan: whao your chair v exquisite siah...my butt very chor lor sure break it one - hahaha...too dainty for me la ..speaking of the IKEA foldable chairs hor..am actually using them as dinning table chairs lor...wanted to buy proper dining chairs but hor after spending on ther stuff and Maldives no extra cash for furniture liao - my ah lau and i are easy la..now got other things on our minds ;P

Wu arrr: still deciding carefully abt my Japamala le...now cannot hero hero any o how go here and there liao man
still say u money tied up lor..still can plan to go Japan siah..but at 2.5K - its pretty tempting man

i thnk pple say sea in Msia v choppy le during Monsoon...

Yo bvbride,

Errr...... I would say please reconsider loh, for u especially. The Speedboat will be bumpy for sure, both during non-monsoon and monsoon.
Actually flying there for u is still the best choice but ex loh. Anyway, fly there you still need to transfer by speedboat from Berjaya to Japamala.
But I'm sure ur hubby will like Tioman water becos there's lots of fishes there!!! Remember I told u before? 20 hooks down 20 fishes up!! No baits, just with some straw tight to the hook!

My money is tight up becos I don't have much left loh! kekeke.... but 2.6k still ok lah.... definitely not Maldives trip lah. We'll see how it goes when Joy's friend is back from Japan, 18 days from now!

Yo Midas,

Not me... My wife's friend HM trip.
S$2.6K "only" includes all transfer plus accom....pretty reasonable isn't it? ANyway, seems like they travel in such a way that they'll have a base city. i.e. Osaka goes to Kyoto, then back to Osaka overnight... then next day go some city nearby again. Their base city includes Osaka, Tokyo, Sapporo, Hakodate etc... Then long distance based city is by JR train, instead of flight to save cost, they bot the 2 weeks JR pass.

Still studying the feasibility to go there...cos still busy with work, my wife too.

Bvbride
Cos i will get seasick..so that why i said the ferry ride to tioman is no good..aiyah dun go anywhere lar..stay in sin better lar..

Wu,
$2.6k per pax? did they include the transportation by JR also..seems not a bad deal leh..u must get the iterarity from them...then we can have a rough idea

I am in dilemna which resort to choose, hilton, banyan, angsana, mihiri etc....

Wu, as mentioned before we will be there to dive too, in your experience, which resort offer better shore diving :p

Yo Zhuzhu,

Not per pax. it's per couple!!
I don't know how they do it but it's possible...say one of my friend who just did DIY Hokkaido..

Yes...the 2weeks JR pass, something like the interrail in Europe... buy 1 or 2 wks and free whenever u go.
If go most cash, can go for ANA pass, that'll be flying.
S$2.6 not including food hor!

Hi Zeny,

you still haven booked ur trip ah? anyway when are u planning to go? Hiltono is full till July. Not sure abt others..

Shore diving would definitely be either Banyan, Angsana or Mirihi liao... Off all these resort, mirihi would be cheaper lah, Water villa some more.
Anyway, I never dive in Mirihi, too nua already!
I did saw an old Japanese hard core diver couple jumping off the boat jetty twice a day, morning and afternoon, for several days.... becos Mirihi is surrounded by drop and house reef. Just like Banyan and Angsana.

Err.. I guess you folks must be at least advance diver right? else cannot do off shore dive without dive master.

anw, you probably need to consider the per dive cost also. Malaysia probably is ard S$30 per dive. Hilton is abt S$120 per dive hor! Killer man! but off course diff treatment lah! We don't to fix out equip everyday, just the 1st time will do. They'll do the rest. We just double confirm.

Mirihi Non-limit 6 day dive is USD420++... and Nitrox is free, as usual.
Angsana Non-limit 6 day dive is USD636++.... WOW..USD200 diff. Probably Banyan is more ex.
anw, these are both 2006 dive rates.

I think the 3 resort will be good choice lah... just that Mirihi is Water villa and the other's are beach villa. However, not saying that the beach villa are inferior lah, they are of the better quality(although slightly old) as compare to the other resort. PPL alway prefer water villa, and some would prefer beach villa with pristine beach.

Get some rates and do some calculation to compare loh...

bvbride,

saw your angsana pixs already. niceeee ...

u're so funny. Not pond fishes ... haha ... okie I'll go see the sea fishes. =)

I'm not going so soon, around October, right after my AD. I will rem to post my pictures here after the trip.

so excited after seeing all of the beautiful pixs that you and others have put up.

have to save more already ...

hi Wu

yes, we have yet to book our trip to maldives..busy at work. we are planning to go in may, so now busy with research.

yes we are advanced divers and many dives (in '00) under our belt so diving without DM is fine..hubby good navigator underwater kekeke

dun worry abt the cost...we have already budgeted for the diving cost... :p

so in your opinion,mirihi is worth going right...

btw have you found any group rate for tioman ...kekeke

Hi Zeny,

Wha..... May cannot liao lah... but maybe can still try Mirihi, Banyan and Angsana loh. Hilton sure Bo liao.
Oh ya ...maybe also need min dives...but I guess u folks have at least 30 dives lah hor!
Not easy to navigate in the deep leh...ur hubby must be very good on this then, so I guess u guys can dive w/o a third party!

So I see u folks already know the cost per dive...the first time I saw, I almost
fainted...hahaha...
anw, please also write to Mirihi to confirm on the dive info, what I told u is my I'd remember, and might be wrong though.

Hmmm.... for me, Mirihi is a gem, and undiscovered one too... but recently the price hike, I guess it's been discovered by more ppl liao. If you've not been to any luxury resort, think Mirihi will be a more superior ones as compared with the resort in Malaysia, Bintan, or even Thailand. anw, cannot compare direct with luxury resort such as HIlton, 4 season etc.. diff category, as they got much much more facilities.
If u like or have lived in a Kampong in older days Singapore, think you'll like Mirihi....nothing fancy, a layback kind of resort, extremely quiet, in fact at times, too quiet...basically the only noise is the waves...
U know what I mean lah hor!

No leh....still haven found any group rates...kekekek...

WU,

you are scaring me with the kampong style of mirihi leh. Kampong style remind me of ... power shortage , water shortage etc... dun think we want to experience that for our HM. basically what we want is simple, water villa, nice sunset view, places to dives, full Amenities :p

hi Wu..

Prob need to give it a miss after all the pondering siah...haizz...thx for the useful info anyway - as usual u are so generous and helpful

now cannot take this kind of risk la...can always go next year lor for mini getaway for just the two of us.
then again u must tempt me w the fishing thingy lor...ok la when i do make it there i will bring rod.
sounds like Japamala got fishes to see when snorkelling hor...

Zhuzhu - hello - will report to u once i get any outcome
now just pray and fingers crossed hoping for the best. got a mummy in the Sept thread considering amnio test cos their triple test result not too good - very sad

Hi Midas....
hahaha....interested har? I'll try to get the info. anyway, I think with cheap accom plus the 2wks JR pass it's possible. No luxury items at all.

Hi Zeny,

Not the Kampong "Kampong" lah...kekeke.... don't have those problem u mention lah. Full amenities for a 4-star rated. Facilities wise, No Swimming pool though, but with such beautiful sea, why need a swimming pool?

You got a spa, 2 restaurant and a bar, small Gym, Dive centre, free water sports.
The water villa is very cosy, I would say the best in it's class(off course cannot compare with Hilton and those other premium resort hor!), with extremely cold air-con if u dare to set it to the lowest. Only thing missing is the bath-tub, which I don't need. Jump off ur sun-deck, you'll be swimming in ur own house reefs..
If u choose my room No. 18, you'll get to see both sunrise and sunset!!!
You did saw my photo before right? it'll explained it all.

Off course, not neccessary you want to choose Mirihi, there's are nice water villa for that price also but seems like not many resort have Healthy house reefs as comparison loh.

You can try to check out from some Diver's forum on Maldives dive resort comparison, they might have more info. It'll be the best if u can go for live-on-board lah.... can see more Atolls.

Yo bvbride,

Haahaha.... not to tempt u lah, tempting ur hubby!
U don't need a rod. Just use hand line, put on 20 hooks will do liao. U can only put probably 3-4 extra hooks that's it.

The varieties of fishes in Tioman is different from Maldives, I meant those ganna hook up lah!
Maldives are mostly the stupid Batfish, snapper. Tioman is more on the greasy grouper, Angoli, selar, kampong etc...