Maldives

i think thailand is a good choice for poor 'beach resorts-xiao' ppl (like me).
but i still would like to go back maldives, juz too lazy to do the planning and researching.
when i save u enuf, juz give my budget here n wu can work out for me rite? hehe...

Haru, I've a colleague who tried yoga and she's worse than u. when she did some of the pose, she has nose bleed. n that is the 1st and last time she tried yoga.

Hihi!!

yoyo Ms Fanfan: U funni lor ... U where got poor beach bum? u are one of the most well travelled here le..3 HM destinations and u mentioned that u hv been to Mumbai + US!!! Gosh!

Actually i wont spend that kind of $ in Thailand le cos u can just pay abit more to go Maldives for world class beaches and marine life! think Haru and Wu will agree readily...kekke
Anyways all these are v subjective one ...everyone got their own preferences right? ;D

Wu - that means its approx $5278 for a couple w airtix! suddenly like qt expansive hor...hmmm...BV and B+B only...like what i paid for at Anantara (4N B+B WV)
u think off peak season can make it? v scared of the rain there la. this year end got qt alot of rainfall...
u can wait till 2008 off peak season??

Whoa Wu - you invest qt alot hor...im v kia si must hv cash w me all the time cos must always standby for contingencies - (touch wood!!!)
$500/pax is qt a lot man.

Haru _ heard that Fancl is really cheap in Japan so grab as much as u can! the rest of the international brands are more expansive so just focus on Jap stuff ...think the range there are crazy~~ i love pretty pretty stuff

cheers!!

oh yeah btw

there are alot of frequent fliers around here
any idea how many krisflyer miles to change for one return tix to Male??kekekeke...finding ways and means of getting cheap flights hahaha...for future reference of cos...

Yo Mish,

I work for coming to 9yrs liao leh...kekeke... must have some cash isn't it? aiya, anyway, it's also because some other things still under installment and loan lah! Renovation loan, still owe around 30K. :P
Mirihi because of the seaplane thingy mah, that's why cost more lah!.....
Haiz...phuket... I still phobia leh, few days ago they show the Tsunamin docu again.....me kia Si one lah! :P

Yo Fanfan,

You cannot be poor beach bum lah!... you went 3 places 4 ur HM leh! Kekekkeke..... Then somemore all nice nice hotel and resort! :P
Haiz.. I would rather go Redang then Phuket loh! Jus don't ask me how come but I just don't really like Thailand.....been there once, impression not really good.

Yo LPH,

The best way to save money is to org a bigger group, lots of thingy can share...and ask for discount!!! Hahahahha...
sure...we can work out a place together if got the budget. Hmmmm.. need to find out ways to ask for cheaper rates, jus like the tour agent, probably up to 50% discount!

Yo bvbride,

should be S$5K, It's only around S$4500 if u do BB. The one i gave u is halfboard becos u ask for half board rates right?... that's around USD65 more per nite per couple.
If u can tahan take a speedboat to Mirihi hor, can probably save another USD200... Kekekek...
I think the seaplane charges do eat lot into our budget lah, but hey... I love seaplane flight! I bet You and ur hubby will like it also!!
2008 har? Hmmmm....later u secretly go to Maldives again in 2007 leh?
Okie...serious now. I think 5N still not too bad, spread the risk of everyday ganna rain fall, definitely better than 3N. My 8 nites stay there almost every 2 nites, there'll be 1 nite raining, but morning, everything just clear up!
If u can afford hor, go more nites lah?
This year I might not go again lah, cos we're planning for another trip, maybe to prague.

Yo bvbride..don't keep too much cash, as it value either no change or change little even u put in bank. In-flation mah! Aim for some returns, especially China funds. It's giving me at least 12% return for the past 3-5 yrs liao, and I reckon with current China's progress, it'll continue to growth at that rate!

WU,

forgot that u lao le... hehe. Phuket.. hmmm ya.. bit scared after the tsunami thing... but maldives also kanna ma...aiya.. fated one la...

i just wanna go for holiday.. sigh.. but seems like 2007 bit too poor. i think i go for short trips better. heee

bvbride and Wu,
i'm a poor gal okay...especially after that bout of HM trips...burnt 1 big hole in my pocket liao

Haru
must try the blue drink at Fancl Japan. It's not available in Singapore. They're famous for that in Japan. As for the prices, u do some reasearch before u go lah. Cos i heard my colleagues say some products, not much price difference.

Mish,
i only remember to go Bali, requires 15000 miles while to go HK, need 30,000 miles..heeehee

Yo Mish,

Hahahah....Aiya oredi tell u I kia-si one loh! I know is fated. Kekkeke.... :P

Yo fanfan,

At least u use to be a rich gal...kekekek.. me too now trying to sew up my hole in the pocket.

hihihi!!!

Mr Wu: wkg late today? today i wanna go home early man - so holiday mood liao...so tired everyday after work..haizzz

yep yep i asked for half board - i lao hu too liao i thought half board = B and B sorri ah..i only want breakfast la - save the $$ for fishing and spa
that would be ideal.

u got major far far away trip every year le...dun forget u are asset rich wor. Prague!!!! sounds very expansive man
i dare not buy Unit Trust le.... dun believe it it some how...

see how actually 5N is ideal cos after some time i sure get sick of the food there one kekeke...btw was it really really sunny when u went in JULY?? at Anantara - it was sunny for like one two days the rest of the time either drizzly or overcast

Yo T&P n joy n bvbride
the two dresses I ordered at VS came today!!! YEAH!!! Very happi wif my purchases..though it's abit loose at the hip for the halter polo short dress. The 6 in 1 dress/top is really worth the $$.... I've never seen such cool thing in singapore!! keke... so glad u gals intro the web site to me...
whahaha.... it's actually quite fast...I ordered on last monday n came today....
they sent by air mail. Came thru the postman.

bvbride n Wu
yeah....like what Wu mentioned...good to do some investment... keke...
just save some cash for rainy days is good liao..think there's a guideline on how much u need to save as cash for emergency...only know u'll need to use 10-15% of your monthly salary for insurance...not more not less. For cash savings...can't rem think it's abt 5-10%... something like that.

Wu, u bought the china IPO isit? good har?

bvbride
for the SIA Krisflyer miles... if u plan to redeem for your hubby too...u'll need to register his name under your Krisflyer account. U can do this when u do your redemption. For info, u'll need 40000 miles to claim for an economy tic to Maldives. (u'll need to fly to USA/Europe often cos if u fly to LA n back u'll earn abt 17526 miles) Best if your company sponsor your trip and give u a business or first class tic, it'll be easier to achieve.

That's why the SE Asia tics are easier to hit..cos like what fanfan mention... got budget airlines mah..so lesser miles is needed.

haru
did u managed to get your xmas lights? Giant may sell...

Yo all!
The hol fever is sure on. Even tho I just returned from Maldives, my mind keeps thinking of where to go next. I think it is the Dec festive mood and moreover pple in office are clearing leave to go hol, so very switched off at work.

LPH, woah, yoga till nose bleed, it's very scary! Haha.

Haru, I agree with you. Yoga is one tough nut. I tried once and that's the last time. Got to do with stiff body! I ended up feeling more stressed. I oso used to do body pump. Now, just try to go gym (did today
) but always got excuse.
I fixed up my Xmas tree liao. Did you go to Concourse for the lights? They oways have the annual christmas stuff.

StarStar,

That's fast!!!! I can't wait for my too...
I scare the postman come then nobody at home..
the worst thing is if he slot the letter thru my door, the letter sure gone case one.. coz my doggies will chew it!!!

Yo bvbride,

Hahahaha....ya ya I know actually u meant BB. :P
Asset rich, house or car? Haizz...I classified them as liabilities. kekekeke....
Prague still early to say....
now no cash cannot go lei....
Unit trust is another form of stocks, just that it's a group of different company shares, from different industry from certain region to create that entity. I call it the "poor man" investment thingy. Rich ppl got money to buy different company shares to spread their risk and pay lots of transaction fees, we normal folks just cannot do that so got such unit trust thingy loh!
Risk is everywhere, even put money in bank also constitute certain amount of risk.
anw,unit trust is a long term thingy, just like stocks,most of mine start profiting after 1yr, and it appreciate when majority or bigger holdings in the unit trust do well, and thru compounding, dividends to boost the unit trust's appreciation.
To illustrate further, I invested $5000 from my special account in one of the China balance fund, it averages around 14% per annum for 4 yrs. Now its at around $8400. If i still left it in the special acc, it only fetch me $5850. Thats a huge diff loh! Trick is hold on as long as possible, a stock will never go down foreverunder normal circumstances...it'll have chance to rebound! That's how rich gets richer!
Our govt also take our CPF to invest in such things also, else how to pay us interest?
Hahaha...okie lah, better stop all the theory thingy.....talk abt Maldives!

Most of the day very sunny,but I would say there's overcast too(around 30% of the stay there), and most of the time rain during the nite(like every other day), still can find lots of time to tan, else where can tan until like Maldivian???kekekek... For consecutive 2yrs, in Hilton also same, all during the July period.
So u aiming for July period in 2008? or 2007? kekekekek....
however, best bet, if possible, at least go during early April time.

Yo Starstar,

No...never buy the China reit thingy....no cash leh! kekkekeek.....
ACtually I think better save more than 10% of our salary. At least 20%.
Insurance coverage should be at least 10 times of our annual pay, but really differ from family to family lah! Rich ppl might not need so much coverage lah!
So far I only invest in US stocks...cos I can only access to US stock chart, and anlayse from there. Then US stock I can buy in smaller shares, unlike Singapore, almost all must buy 1000 shares, diffcult to diversify with limited funds.

So u bought any Singapore shares??

starstar,

hee..glad u love ur dresses. eh next time u wear, walk across the street and let me see leh..haha.

joy,
when u n wu go work, the doggies r free to roam the house? very nice to have doggies to welcome u home at night rite..

Haru,
the lights rite..i just got my sis one from Taka sq. u can check it out too if still have not gotten it.

Yo T&P,

Yes.....all our worries were throw out of the door when we open the door, both of them are so happy to see us!

It use to be the other way round, once open the dog, the "smell" almost overpower us....as they poo outside the dining, kitchen area... :P
Not that they're not train but their usual place that they do biz( the toilet) is full! They're actually very clean animals, don't wanna to step on their biz...so have to do outside! :P
Now, after joy started bring them downstairs to do biz every morning and evening, no such problem liao! Hahahha....finger cross!
Eh...do u have dogs at home?

Eh... where's Bvbride today har? usually she'll post the 1st msg.... kekkeke...

wow! u gals made VS clothes sound very tempting leh....but i thot the style don't really suit me..heheee...me more tshirt and berms gal..

Wu is right in that theory in terms of blue chips and stable stocks..if you buy penny stocks, depends on your luck though..

So Wu, which stock u looking at? Me bought some Thomson Medical before I went Maldives..earning some $...heehee..but only bought 4 lots..so the profits not even enuff to cover expense @ Maldives..sigh

Hi Wu,

no leh..no dogs but used to have..now hb dun allow..but I always wanted to have a dog when I get my own place..

penny stocks must buy in bulk if not the profit will be very little..hb just bought some, asked me if i want 50lots and i forgot to tel him i wan..now regrets manz....have an uncle who doesn't work, just buy blue chips..so everyday go drink coffee, bring children to swim blah blah..sigh..if only i have that kinda of capital.

how how? me sianz then went to surf on Maldives again..saw White Sands Resorts in May 4N at honeymoon suites is abt USD2,061

for their normal water villas USD1,905 and beach cottages USD1,365

all half board prices....hmmmm

Yo fanfan,

I'm not looking at Singapore stock leh...long time never play liao, lost track.
I Bio Taiwan semicon(TSM), yahoo and Intel listed in the US market. Watch them went up for at least 15% without doing anything....Haiz...
Most of these stock very cyclic for these 3 yrs, just like TSM, I earn around 30+% holding for 1 yr. Should have bot back then...now too late. :P

You still haven add in the seaplane flight charge for White sand!! It's even further than Mirihi!!

From pics...the water villa not nice lah!!! at that price I rather u choose Mirihi or the cheaper Veligandu!

Yo T&P,

So when u getting a doggie?? Kekekke....
Penny stock must be careful lah, in and out must be precise and swift, else easily ganna burnT!
Just be carefull loh! Safest bet is invest for long term in quality stocks.

Hi T&P,
ya, they are free to roam around... coz house already quite small... if lock them up worse... cannot imagine..
anyway after wu crossed his finger this morning, they did it again..!! pee in the living room..
kekeke since you love dogs i recommend you a book "Marley and me". i haven got the courage to buy that book yet coz think will cry one...(its about the author talking about his life with the Labrador) my sister read the book and cried for 2 chapters...!!! but i will still buy it..

T&P
haha...yup...if u are at home lah...hey since we stay so mear we should meet up at JP one of these days...keke...

Wu
??? tot rich people then need more coverage...keke... anyway guess it'll depends on family... anyway this is what my fiancial pplanner told us... cos we overbuy liao for insurance...:p

anyway we didin't buy the China IPO alos...cos we bought the Banyan Tree one...now not enough extra $$ for investment liao... keke...least it's earning.... bought it at $0.97 per share... last I saw it's abt $1.32...

hmmm...talk abt stocks...keke...think ST one went up rather high too these few days. It went up just after we sell it not too long...DBS also...

joy
yup..think your stuffs should arrive next week....
do watch out for it...

hihihi!!!

yep today i didnt great u all TGIF hor...so TGIF~~ peeps

Starstar : im so glad u are happy w your purchases man. VS can really get u hooked

i saw the top u bought - guess u must hv gotten the red or purple one since it is for CNY?

Master Wu - u really jack of all trades man. really take my hat off. so now am starting to see what i can do with my little bit of $$ that i hv in my Special account

next is to get some more hospitalisation protection fr NTUC or something

i ever checked out the DBS Vickers stuff (for online trading) online before but looks like the registration is not so straight fwd man..guess will call their hotline for assistance man. v dumb at this sort of stuff
on a brighter note - i know my eSavers giving me higher than normal savings rate la. 3.25%pa. kekeke.

so once i get the online trading thing up then i go shopping for stocks..or u hv any shortcut ie any good brokers or remisiers who dun mind my peanut investments to recommend??

and Joy~~ guess the stuff we ordered wil come in a rather large box - so lets just hope Ryo and Pepper dun shred up the registered mail collection slip okie
btw if u want to buy one of my 3 hair conditioners just let me know

ok will chat more again later ... u all hv a great weekend ok ! cheers!!!

bvbride
haha...bingo!!! yup..u are right... i got the red one....
darn..agree wif ya man... VS can get hooked...me now just look forward to the next purchase... but dun think it'll be soon...keke after spending so much this month cos I ordered 3 pairs of Birkenstork too....
Guess it's there liao... :p

so coincidence...i juz saw a spree on birkenstock and still looking at which on to get. am looking at the mardid 07 edition or the betula collection. its abt $70.
starstar, 3 pairs is a lot...i dont wear sandals except on weekend, so think i'll buy 1 pair.
am buying from this webbie...http://www.tobiasmayer.com

capitaland didnt get the IR...hopefully, i dont get a heart attack when the stock mkt opens on monday. but im very doubtful
i've been keeping this shares for years, praying tat they get either the sentosa or marina project.

my dog also do his business twice a day. n always at the door when we r back. if he's not at the door, tat means we got work to do (tat is cleaning up). coz he wldnt step on his own pee n poo.

wu,

Agree penny stocks must be very careful. We only buy once in a while..so far ok lor..like the one my hb just bought..he got it for 0.215, now abt 0.29. We do long term investment as well..like unit trust etc..penny stocks's just for extra income..=)

Joy,
I hope it's not me to ruin wu's luck with the doggies ah..ahha...
Ok will go check out the book!

starstar,
I also wanted to buyt the banyan IPO but hb not very keen..so in the end didn't..haiz..
true man..we shld meet up at JP one of these days. That time say can go amore together..tat is after i go try the workout..till now I still have not try it...so lazy! turning into a fat pig..hahah..

LPH
haha..3 pairs cos I take one pair...hubby one pair and my MIL one pair... we getting it as a birthday gift for my hubby's mum.
my fren also 'tong ban' us one pair so we got free shipping liao... I also got the Madrid 2007...

T&P
yeah...btw I signed up wif Amore liao for the gym n classes...
haven started yet... thinking of going in jan or feb...
how?

hey starstar how much did you pay for the Amore membership? for how long?
i signed up for the 1 month unlimited $58 during the promo, yet to activate (will do soon, this week)
that day i went using a voucher, they said promo 1 year unlimited membership for $7xx instead of usual $9xx, i think very good rite?
so after the 1 mth finish, might sign-up for a year

mirror
I signed up during their anniversary in sep... think it was $31xx(include GST) for 3 years unlimited. If never include GST it's $29xx. It cmes wif some discount vouchers(which I didn't use) and a free complimentary Vibrotrim session n a free personal trainer session. Used the Vibrotrim session liao..
which outlet u go?

how's the weekend? hope's good...
yeah xmas coming!!!

hi bvbride and wu, thanks for the analysis. wow. thanks so much. but just been told by hubby that he would be busy busy busy...haiz. not fated to go liao.

hey LPH,
wah, so serious! i think not everyone can do yoga no matter how basic they say it is..

hey everyone,
i had sucha a hectic weekend and i tot i can start to wind down from tis week till the christmas break but turns out that I can still just as busy. work has really been piling up for me..really can't wait for the christmas break and the japan holiday.

hi starstar/energiser,
yup, i bot the lights from metro paragon when i was there on sat to grab some other stuff. bot it for $21. its those with all the diff effects like soft glow, blinking, etc..quite cool..exactly like my previous set.

joystream,
i've read the book 'Marley and I', really really really nice...altho i was tearing a little when i read it...but really sweet book.

hey Wu,
what a coincidence! hubby and i were also considering going to prague last year. (before we finally decided on maldives, kekekek...beach bums!). heard from my european colleauges that its really nice..but of coz,its europe so its not cheap. but i think travelling experience is something worth paying for..can great chance to pamper your wife!!

hey ya all,
i think birkies are MUST have in every wardrobe!!hahah...well, i am a birkies lover.i have like 7 pairs (of which i wear 3 pairs the most often). it may seem expensive but you get great quality. my sis bot my mum a pair for her b'day and she loves it too. its the kinda footwear which you either hate or love..=P

haru
Ganbatte ne. Just think of your Japan holidays as your reward after all the hard work =)

since coming back from Maldives, my work productivity seemed to have dropped though ...heehee

think becoz my colleague is overweight, tats y having such problem when doing yoga.

btw, anyone been to hua hin before?

starstar,

yap, have the basic spa package, pretty happy with the fuss free massages. it's really cheap with the additional scrubs/wraps..so no complaints so far. Not a jacuzzi person, so I didn't really appreciate the hydro treatments. Have not tried the detox one before..if u try, let me know if it's good. Kelly's pretty nice..if u try, maybe u can ask for her. If u like the hard hard kind of massage, there's tis auntie..darn power!
so u let me know abt the classes ok, i have abs. no motivation to exercise lately, must find back the determination.

Joy,
NVM lah. Wu will sayang u...=)

Can u guys believe it..i actually dream that I am gg on another maldives holiday last nite..woke up to reality..sianz...

Yo bvbride,

Hospital plan, don't go for NTUC, go for other insurance company instead. Not because of Joy working in AIA lah, but heard too much abt them regarding claim. anw, it's already official on newspaper, they are much slower in claim.
My mum used to have colon cancer, and claim from Prudential and AIA is very swift and no hassle.
For online trading, now u can go for local broker, such as lim & Tan, poems etc... now they all can buy different countries stocks. Spread ur risk in other country as well.

Yo T&P,

Last night I dreamt about Me and Joy is waiting for our seaplane transfer at the Mirihi seaplane lounge......really!!! Still can remember now.
anw, never see u there leh!! Kekekeke....must be going to different resort then!!! :P
Hahahaha..... I sense Maldives coming ur way again eh!???

Yo Haru,

Ya...I think Prague will be ex as well....Haizz... hope we can make it this year!! Kekekke....

Yo Mei,

Busy is not an excuse not to go Maldives!!! Must Go!!! don't wait for rates to go up, and island to sink before u decide!!

hihi all

T and P : i totally get what u mean. i had the Maldives dream as well but not recently
hope your dream beacomes reality soon!!
chk out anothe resort for us
soneva gili perhaps? ha

hihi!!

browsed thru today's Life Section. Interesting artical abt the Great Barrier Reef tdy - looks like a fab place to snorkel but guess got sharks - or so i heard. The Hayman resort they recommended is nothing to scream abt or else they would hv printed some pix of it??kekeke
the facing page got this Sri Lankan Airlines deal for Male at around $450++ think must transit at Colombo - so WU - What say u> kekeke
guess u are qt set on Prague liao ...did u say this year? my gosh - u are really Rich lor...

bvbride
yeah...saw the advert on sri lankan airlines one...hmmm... I also tot of Wu...but dun thin khe'll get the deal cos he pro SIA only...he feels safer....

LPH
hua hin? yup..went there last june... I went to saty in BKK for 2 nites then took a land transfer to there... nice place..somethin glike phuket but not as commercialised....thin it's somewhere in between Phuket n Krabi...
good place to go for a relaxed holiday...

T&P
oh...yup...I'll let ya know if I go for the detox one...but not in near future...maybe later bah...

u very cute...think too much till dream of it liao...

Yo T&P,

I took seaplane to Soneva Gili! :P Kekekeke....just woke up also!
Hahahah....

Yo bvbride,

SriLankan airline not cheap also...SQ is $500++ for 4 to go right? $50 more for safety and not transit, I think oki lah! kekeke.... anw, Srilankan still now at war loh!

Aiya...Prague has to depend alot on my wife's performance kekekek.... it's a Convention for her and she must meet certain target loh!
Hope she'll do well!!

You Starstar!

You know me well....I kia si one! :P SQ is theoritically safer for sure!!!

starstar,

any recommended area to stay in hua hin?
how to arrange for the transfer?
i'll b gg from bangkok but havent decide to stay 3 nites in hua hin or 3 nites in bangkok. book the air tix for 5 nites. still havent decide on the itinenary yet.

Hi LPH,
i think it's abt 3hrs ride away frm Bangkok by road..
that time when i was surfing for Aleenta, they could arrange transfer..but it was rather ex..