Maldives

Oh, I just realised that I'm the oldest patron in this thread! Some of you have been here for 1 and a half year, I saw my 1st posting here in Nov 2003. Kekek, surprised right???!

Fanfan: first day of work after long break is really sianzzzz i know...should be bz clearing emails hor

Energiser: yep they are quite huge but qt adorable actually. they come way up close cos they know that they will be fed at a fixed timing every evening..actually those are taken at Banyan Tree jetty where the feeding takes place, no feeding at Angsana

yep yep - my husb and i were rather fearful of the rays after poor steve's incident. whenever we look at our pix we always think how come we were so "fearless"

t&p
oh ok..cos I am thinking of using the VS one... u tried before?

fanfan
welcome back!!
gosh your pics really make people drool leh... those waters!!!

haru
haha..it's like that one esp u going to those winter countries....my parents now also like ya busy shopping winter clothes..they flying to Korea this sat. *envy* keke.... think the winter times ones not that bad.

Hee. I also know cannot steal shells. but i took 3 tiny ones back.. to remember maldives. So nice the shells. heee.

All back from maldives liao.. so no one going anytime soon? Fanfan. seen all ur pics liao. heh heh. nice! better shots than me! I am crap at taking pics! heee.

Wu, The sheraton at hk.. very nice. modern but quite ex la. hee.

Hmm maybe i should go hk next year. hmm.

Yo Energiser,

Nov 2003 is 3 yrs leh! Wah say!!... So guess u're the only surviving old bird lah. Wheres the others? Hmmmm....
Why u all so naughty har? Bad bad bad....stealing shell is bad!! :P kekekeke...

Yo T&P, Mish,

Wah...recommend me the ex one. Intercon and sheraton all 5 stars one right? I'm looking at rates around S$150 ones...really don't want to spent much in HK leh! RAther save for MAldives...Hahahaha....:P

Yo Mish!

Wha....u disappear for so long! So u wanna me to link ur pics in our table?

i wouldnt spend so much on HK hotel. feel that its not worth it n most of the rooms are so small.
i stayed in a 4 star hotel in TST last year. and the room is so pathetic, even smaller than my room. i rather spend the money on shopping and food, n considering the fact that im out of the room most of the day.

hello all,

Been reading the tread but still have some enquiries... I am planning my HM next year and we planned to go to maldives. Thinking of a 6d5n or 4 nites at the resort. We are interested in Anantara(Water Villa) after seeing all the pictures.. haha cos my hubby and me love infinity pools but of cos when we go there we will spend most of the time at the beach instead of the pool..

Just some enquiries.. How do u all book? any recommadations? is it cheaper to DIY book or book via travel agents. and if booking DIY, how to go abount it? And during which part of next year is best time to go? cos we are thinking of going in june to oct.. not decided yet.. And we are thinking if we can ask for a full board package or half board? which is better? i am really lost.. dunno where to start from.. and roughly how much does 4nites/5 nites cost?

any other choices of resort that is close to Anantara's price?

Agree with LPH. Unless I got extra cash, if not....er.. rather spend on my lens, makan, some shopping.

Fanfan, this mingleplace sounds too good to be true...sure they'll remember each and everyones name, music preference etc?? Maybe that's why they price their standard room at S$300... :P
Hey...too ex lah, rather stay in Langham!

Funny hor....we would rather spent like USD250 ~ even USD500++ in Maldives room rather than in HK!
Hmmmm.....

Last question, why HK rooms rates the lowest during beginning of Dec?

Yo amy,

Congrats on your up coming HM!!

1)3 types of booking method.
a)DIY (book direct with Resort, book ur own SQ flt)
b)Book thru Holiday tours(S), Singapore
c)Book thru Maldivian agents such as crown tours, Impex holiday etc.

2)Set aside a budget first, and this really depends on when, which mth u wanna to go.
a)Mid May ~ Mid July >>> Cheapest
b)Mid July ~ Nov >>> Shoulder
c)Dec ~ Feb >>> Super Ex.
d)March ~ May >>> Shoulder.
Generally it's abt like that, some resort might be diff abit.

Some resort like Hilton, full board will be like USD90++ per pax per day, while some like Mirihi only cost you USD32++ per pax per day.
what I wld suggest is just go with bed and breakfast. If during any day u wish to eat their buffet lunch and dinner, you can ask for it on that day....and charge it to ur room. Thus flexibility is there.

A rough guide for u on the how much u gonna pay for a 5 nites in Maldives.
1)5 star resort beach villa price(per nite) will range from USD290++ (Hilton) to USD800++(One n only), and that's during low season Mid May ~ July
2)5 star resort water villa price(per nite) will range from ard USD500++ to we wouldn't want to know. Most ex I found is USD10K.

Apple to apple comparison, Anantara rates probably around Clubmed, probably Taj Exotica. But, I reckon that you set a budget and the folks here can easily recommend u a resort, as close as what you'll like! Probably u can just list down your wish list, is it gonna be a beach villa or water villa or mixture. you want any romantic seaplane transfer to resort
, you'll like infinity pool right? Stuff like that!

Don't worry...all folks here will help u out and sent you to Maldives safely and back!

hi starstar,

never tried direct VS to Sg but VS within US. Ok no prob. I think shld be alrite if u ship direct via VS cos they use Fedex or UPS, so very reliable with tracking no. Can send to u doorstep too.

Wu,
if looking for more afforable one, can try miramar at TST, good shopping location, and near the MRT station. but not sure abt the rooms cos never stayed there b4 but rem it's a pretty good location. My agent always recommend it for value but we always end up staying elsewhere. Hilton not bad too but more ex but very convenient location. Room quite big for HK standard..

Hey Wu,

As usual... our main consultant whom can ans all ur queries... heee. Amy is in good hands...

I am too lazy to type le. lao le.. so i just pop by to read some threads every nw and then... then didnt type.. heee. Too lazy.

Post my pics ar.. mai la. hee. anyway got sooo many anantara pix.. no need mine la. keke

Yo T&P,

Miramar...yes. My friend also recommends me too.
That's why loh.... even got some money on hand, still, don't really want to spend on the accom in HK. Nett Nett, it's gonna be a rather small room as well.
Haiz......see how lah. Cos if I miss the Dec period, the next cheaper period would be May 07.
My actual purpose is actually go there buy some camera lens, as it can be up to 20% cheaper than here. Intend to use this 20% saving for the airtix.

Wah say.... u folks talk abt VS, now my wifey also interested. Yeah, I would rather shipped by UPS than VPOST....at least I can track my things. VPOST is like when knocking on the door then I know it's here. :P

Yo Mish,
Aiya, I just kay-po mah, early morning don't feel like working.
anw, now only 1 Anantara pics link by Bvbride mah... Fanfan still haven agree to post her link here in our table. Lai lah, lai lah!

Wu,

it's $300 per night meh? i remember seeing it on WOTIF and it's like less than $200 leh...maybe last min deals?

you can try BP House..read many reviews say it's not bad..i stayed at Park Hotel at TST few times..i find it a convenient place as well

answering your question on why begining Dec is cheaper...i'm not very sure leh..but i know HK hotel prices are tagged more to the vol. of the Chinese tourist..i know Oct (esp 1st week) is the most expensive as it's the Golden week in China.
Also, if i'm not wrong, begining Dec lesser conferences in HK compared to Nov..and of cos, towards Xmas and New Year, prices will climb up again...their rates are rather cyclical one..

and i didnt know must agree to post link one leh...heeheee...just put lah..i'd already filtered out all the "X-rated" pics...shy gal...not like Mish..hahaha

Hello Wu and all,

Thanks for ur explaination.. heehee.. But do u have any idea how much will Anantara cost for 4/5nites for lets say Mid July ~ Nov Shoulder season...

as for the food, i heard food there is exp rite? not so adviseable to get a fullboard package?

Hmmm.. wish list..
-I hope to stay in water villa throughout if budget allows if not maybe 2days beach villa 2/3 days water villa.. and do i need to stay 1nite in male?
- 1 romantic dinner i saw in forget whose picture that there is 1 chef cooking seafood for u in your water villa.. i find its really nice! not sure abt the cost...
-infinity pool but not a must.

Not sure of budget yet but maybe 4-6k including flight.. any suggestions?

Amy,
for me, i didnt get full board at Anantara. we bought cup noodles there and had them for i think 2 dinners and 1 lunch. didnt feel miserable as the mee is a refreshing change from their menu as their choices at each restaurant were rather limited. also, for us, after suntanning, not much appetite. so it really depends on whether you and your hubby are big eaters.

for me i booked thru Holiday Tours cos they've some promos going on for stay 4N pay 3N thingy..and for honeymooners, they throw in 1 dinner for u if u stay at least 5N..thot it was a good deal so went for it..

we stayed 4N at water villa and 1N at beach villa..total is around S$4k (excluding air tixs)

not sure abt the pricing next month, but heard they will increase the pricing dramatically next year. but i think if they jack up the prices too dramatically, its not worth it. cos service wise, they're still not that good i think.

Mish booked direct with Anantara. she stayed there for a week. got some deals too but not sure whether the deals are still ongoing.

T&P
thanks...I've booked liao... using their courier instead of vPost.
Cos I calculated... not worth it, in fact, think I'll pay more if I use vPost as my purchase is less than $100. Think they got some promo if u buy more than $100, free shipping within USA. Guess what, I bought not only the 6 in 1 dress, I also got another dress. :p well, that's on sale... find it rather nice so ended up buying. :p

Wu
must thanks bvbride n T&P for introducing the VS web site to me..else I didi't even know VS got sell such lovely dresses!!
tot only sell inner wear...keke...:p Thanks to u gals!
now it's in my fave liao...

Starstar,

what else u buy?
u ordered liao? darn..i was thinking lobang u something..haha..nvm lah..

Wu,
agree on Vpost. think next time i'll ship direct too if just buying frm one merchant. This time combined shipment, tot via Vpost better but the freight charges is really crazy..

hey Wu/all,
been reading the posts almost everyday now coz not as bz liao somemore, counting down to last day hee hee
just a suggestion, what about adding the expenses/cost in the table?? maybe not enough space... but will be a very good info mah (i think)

Hi y'all!

Amy: Welcome to this Maldives lovers thread

I booked thru Holiday Tours too same as Fanfan.
I would recommend just bed and breakfast too cos u really wont feel that hungry after a HUGE buffet breakfast. Dinner can order room service on ala carte which is cheaper then gog to their restaurants. alot of the stuff for room service is pretty good and HUGE portions.

Starstar: the Vs stuff are sooo beautiful yeah? i order some undies and tops from them from time to time
the orders take slightly longer than last time to arrive cos of the strict security checks but from my prev experience - shld take abt two weeks to reach u :P but good things are worth the wait. quality wise is good too

Yo T&P,bvbride,starstar,fanfan and those interest in buying VS.
Think it's a good idea, as wat fanfan suggest, to org a mass-order for buying VS. Can share the shipping cost....

Yo Fanfan,

Thanks for ur help! Think maybe delay my trip till May. I think Jetstar asia got promo at S$68 per trip per pax, from April till MAy....
Hmmm.....Let's see how lah! By then I'll ask u for more HK idea.

Yo Mira!

That's a wonderful idea! Hmmm.... I'll go and plan the new table format, but I think still limited info to put in loh, i.e breakdown of the total cost..... Let see how...will put up the new table then let u folks see.

Wu
wah!! u going HK in may next year? hey...why dun u wait till the summer sale then go? think your wife may like the idea too...:p

yup... think it's a great idea gals. hmmm... we shall org a mass order in future.

bvbride
ya...I like the dresses!!! gosh... so many see till blur... but can't splurge too much lah.. as I dun really wear dress one... me now actually shopping for CNY clothes. keke...

Yo amy,

Airtix alone will cost S$1458 and S$1658(for 2 to go and 4 to go SQ promo).
Thus if you're willing to folk-out S$6K in total, that means u'll still left with around S$4.3K for accom,makan and leisure. (S$4.3K is around USD2700, 1.56 Xchg rates).
Thus, Nett nett,you still got US$2.7K divide by the number of nites u wanna to stay there.

Anantara rates is till End March. Other rates not out yet.
Anantara water villa 4 nite stay during March is around US$2.8K, bed and breakfast only. Thus most likely u can achieve ur budget if u go during mid May ~ Mid July, probably the rates will drop to around US$2K for that 4 nites.

***March rates for 4N Anantara beach.V with pool is US$2.4K , and 4N beach villa is US$2.2K. Thus I think u'll be even more comfortable if u do a mix and match, 2 nites beach villa and 2 nites water villa.
If u choose to go during low season, u might have the chance to go for more days with mix and match.

If u wanna to try Seaplane transfer, Hilton is a good contender, as rates is going up every year, yet, the wonderful beach villa rates is still reasonable enough. Cons is Seaplane Xfer is ex,at USD270~290 per pax,but it'll be an unforgetable HM too.
I wld reckon Taj Exotica, Banyan Tree, Angsana are very good choice for HMooner as well.

Okie....maybe we can sent u some price list and brouchure, then I think you'll hv a better understanding on the pricing. If u trust us, you can provide ur email address here... I can provide u with Hilton, mirihi's info, lots of other folks here can provide u with the new Anantara and so on!

Yo Starstar,

When HK summer sale? Will the Hotel rate goes up?
Aiya... neber mind lah... We wouldn't be buying much stuff.My Lenses is my priority plus some sight-seeing.

So when is the Mass order??? KEkekek....

hey hey everyone,
wah, sooo much posts in sucha short time..i have been soo busy at work that i have no time to log in. also dun have much time to do much planning for my japan trip.

wah startar,
ur parents travelling lots? i think its nice!! think my parents will travel much more now that they are retired. kekeke..

hi starstar / T&P,
saw your 6 in 1 dress! very cool! i quite keen on the shirts.. but some nice ones are in bodysuits
can let me know when is your next order..? just try 1 or 2 piece 1st...
the sizes you gals are wearing is it 1 size smaller har..? coz i am like in between S and M, can enlightening me...

wu,
if you are reading this, i am going shopping soon...!! muahahahaha

Yo Amy,

U can take a look at this newly reno resort. Rates is very reasonble. For March period, a deluxe water villa with half board cos only USD2379 nett, inclusive of speedboat transfer.
It got 2 infinity swimming pool too! Hahahha...
anw, from pics, this resort got one of the better and wonderful sand-banks....Hahaha...Haru might be interested as well!

http://www.olhuveli.com/index.htm

miramar is the 4-star hotel im talking abt when i went HK during last yr new yr. the room is super small. 1 thing good abt this, is the airport express bus stops at this hotel. for my last trip, i stayed at metropark mongkok which is a 2/3 star hotel. but the room is definetly bigger and brighter. n its nearer to fa yuen sreet, my fav shopping street.

talking abt VS, i juz ordered someting from there by joining a spree. me very lazy to check out the shippin cost n keeping track. a spree here is such a great idea. so whoever wants to get anything online can juz suggest the webby?

Yo!

Wu, you can be Maldives Ambassador
Anantara not comparable to Club Med lah, think Club Med is cheaper leh, cos got full board thrown in. FanFan spent $7-8K on accom and food and excursion there right?? U won't believe it, I spent only US$25 in Club Med, darn cheapskate. Ha ha...spa full-house, excursions limited..

Everyone here is a travel bug, not just to Maldives...vely rich hor...keke. I also "gian" to go Japan next year. Anyone did F&E in Tokyo?

Yo Energiser,

I'm a Maldivian liao.... so don't have to ambassador. Kekekekek....
U spent only USD25 in Clubmed?? What you spent on then?

Yo T&P,

Canon Ixus 60? No idea leh. But I've check on Ixus800 IS, now some shops selling at S$540(w/o GST) and Ixus850 IS selling at S$615(w/o GST).

Get the Ixus850 IS lah, it got all the function of Ixus800 IS, plus the most impt thing. Super wide angle....at 28mm. Almost same as my DSLR angle liao!

Wu,

actually want to buy the 850 too but i saw someone selling the 60 in marketplace mah..so tot to check how much..haha..cousin using that and he said it's quite good.

joystream,
1 size down shld be safe. what are u buying?? =)
go spend Wu's money ya..i'm sure he doesn't mind! hahaha...

Yo T&P,

Naughty naughty you! :P
anw, she richer than me.... so don't need to spent my money! Hahahaha....

How much they selling for the Ixus 60? 2nd hand is it? Clubsnap?

Yo T&P,

So ur hubby is gonna pay for your camera isit? Kekekeke...........
anw, if got money, sure very honour for sure! No money, still want to be honourable hor will digging own grave loh. kekekek....:P
You watch the 9pm CH8 show? That guys pressure by the wife to buy a semi-D.....I think that's the bad example lah!

I think not really worth the money for Ixus60 lah. Anyway, the retail price might be just around there, S$450. Then some shops can even bargain leh!
Another S$100 more can get u the IS function on Ixus800. At S$540, it's really a bargain liao. Actually camera nowsaday is getting cheaper and cheaper.... bought my 4MP casio at S$750 at 3 yrs back! Really don't understand how can they built such nice camera at a lower pricing.

If can, get the Ixus850 IS. Good buy!! Wait for the Sitex show, maybe they might just dump the Ixus60 at a incredible price.

hi T&P!!!
i looking at the shirts. some very nice and cheap. (some of their shirt are in bodysuits) about US$38. quite oki right..? then prob some inner beauty stuff.. kekeke... their tops also very sweet lor. how about you..? when will you be ordering yours..? need to revamp my wardrobe lei.. so boring...

I already booked my Maldives trip, staying at Club Med in January... after reading through the thread, I'm wondering if I overpaid for it.. our package costs $7828 for 5D4N.

Hi Mei,

Way say, which agent u booked from?? I think urs is at the high side, too high in fact, probably it's because u're going there in Jan, peak season. What does the price include?

I spend around that amount for a 7nite Hilton + 1nite Male stay in 2005, food, fishing, diving, glass bottom boat trip etc..., and 8 nite Mirihi + 1nite Male stay in 2006, all inclusive, food, BBQ cruise, 3-4 time spa for 2 etc. Off course both at low season lah! The only diff is probably more rain, and less fishes to see, and off course less ppl.
If u can delay ur trip till Feb~April time, you got much more choice resort to choose from. You can even go Four season Maldives for 4 nites for that price.
Is Jan suppose to be ur Honeymoon?

Yo Joy Joy,

What u want to order, I buy for u lah! Kekekekeke....

Hi Wu,

I have checked with travel agents as well as through Club Med direct, the prices quoted are all the same. There is a price increase implemented in November. Moreover I am going straight after my wedding & I understand that is the peak season.

My package price includes the usual all inclusive package for Club Med holidays, stay in the lagoon suite (think you guys refer to it as water villa?), flight by SQ.

As honeymooners, we are also entitled to spa treatment package, fine dining dinner (which is not included in the usual meals), bottle of champagne as well as complimentary plaza premium lounge service on departure at Changi Airport.

We were actually keen on Hilton, but the price is a killer. In the end, we reckon Club Med to be the most cost-saving as everything is all inclusive.

Yo Joy,

Yes...darling!
Mass order lah!

Yo Mei,

That's what I guess also, right after ur wedding. No choice loh, once in a life time mah hor!

anw, you're really short on time, else, you can also consider Anantara and Taj Exotica. Even Banyan Tree and Angsana are very good choice as well, at least for their really unique beach villa that is near to the sea/beach and it's superb sand+coral reefs!

Yah, I've just check. Hilton Water villa price is way out. They require a min of 5 nite stay as well. It's cheapest Water villa is priced at USD6200 nett (Seaplane, fullboard,tax,perks etc).
However, a beach villa is also a good choice, at USD4500 for 5nites everything in! Off course all these exclude the SQ flight tix lah.

Unless you're willing to sacrifice for a 4 star resort, you'll be able to stay for at least 1 to 2 more nites for that price.

anw, I think ur 1st night BoHua leh, as you'll be reaching there at 10pm and consider 1 nite liao. Alternatively, see if u can arrange to go 1 nite earlier, stay in one of the Male hotel, then check in Clubmed the next morning or noon, thus you'll effectively spent more time there? Worth a try though!

Hi Wu..

*Kowtow* You are really the Maldives guru here man!

Anyway.. once in a lifetime, just go for it lah. My hubby wants to stay in those suites built over stilts, no beach villas.. & we have checked.. these are really costly & we feel that if meals & sports are not included, we are going to have to spend a lot more, so in a way, Club Med is more wu hua lah. When we checked the Hilton one.. can faint man!

1st night all bo hua leh for Maldives trip... anyway, I did not have time to take my own sweet time to do homework & compare due to time constraint as well as I've been really busy with wedding preps.. so just book.

Anyway, thanks for your advice... I'll be checking in on this thread often & will definitely post pictures of my honeymoon trip when I'm back!

Yo Mei,

Anyway, all folks here already guru or even more guru. I just more Kapo that it. :P
Yes off course, once in a lifetime 4 ur HM. I would definitely spent that kind of money too....Haiz... for me, my time not much cash after wedding so settle for perth instead.
anw, clubmed strategy really works...those all-inclusive kind of thingy, but if I can remember correctly some items are not, like fishing, cruises, stuff like that.
anw, you know why Hilton more ex, especially those water villa? They uses up-market stuff for their villa, all designer stuff, bath room, tap, and those bed I tell u, it's the most comfy I even slept on. Thus that kind of pricing.

No prob at all...my honour to help out! Kekekek...
anw, it's for sure it's not once in a lifetime kind of thingy, you'll be begging for more Maldives in future for sure!

Cheers and have a wonderful HM there in Maldives!

Hi Wu!

Yeah.. when I read through.. I realise all are gurus & die-hard Maldives fans! The place must be really gorgeous for you all to be raving so much about it as well as make so many return trips there.

I saw your Hilton pictures.. indeed the bed looks darn comfy.. but too bad our wallet don't allow that.. heheh.

It is a huge amount to pay for HM.. but hubby reckon HM worth spluring.. moreover.. we want a HM where we can just chill out, nua, play some sports & gaze into each other's eyes at a romantic place. Heheh...

I've been to Club Med holidays before & I love it.. so it should be ok for us as we are quite sporting people.

Next time when we have recovered from our wedding debts, we will consider going for a much more luxurious resort.

Yo Mei,

Hahaha...ya, all folks here almost all becoming Maldivian PR or some even holding a Maldive passport liao. Kekekekek...

Anyway, I think choosing Maldives as a HM location really worth it lah! 8K is really nothing, when comparing to what u gonna do there, at the wonderful place call Maldives!
Remember names like One&Only, Huvafenfushi, Soneva Gili and W-Hotel....so far these are the more ex and luxurious one around! If not, can settle for those we've went, still very good indeed! Recover quick and go go go!!!