Maldives

hihi!!

suddenly got response...
Zhuzhu - eyelash crimping takes abit of practise and somedays nicer than the others...dunno why
i got hard to please lashes i guess kekke.
actually the manual non heated curlers are the best la. i very scared i burn my eyelids instead!!!
but do curl when u have the time
makes ALOT of difference u know. its already qt nice liao (even w/o mascara)
think the spree thing will just KIV first. when i think of the mountain of showever gels and moisturisers in my house i abit guilty la~ ;P

Hey Bvbride

U really got tons of VS stuffs in ur house ah? maybe u wan to post in some other forums to see if ppl wan o not

actually i only use curler so far, hubby says he doesnt want me to use mascara. he thinks its too much make up,hahah...but i have nvr tried heated curler!!sounds scary..=P

woah, i am super full now. met hubby after gym, went to eat rocher duck stall at beach road then headed to McCafe at west coast, ate fries, cake and had coffee..oh boy...burp!!!

wah haru
That is really alot for dinner leh...

The heated curler not scary lar..just like u use hair dryer to curl ur hair..

Hi Everybody,
MIA for about 3 weeks..

Bad News #1, my PC kinda of crashed after retrieving Wu's Maldives Hilton info the day he sent me. I tink corrupted lah! Where's Wu? Very quiet quiet huh? Must have escaped!! Wan to kok his head. My fren "repaired" my PC then I realised lost pictures and videos of my baby..luckily most got back-ups in my flash disk and pics/videos still in my digital camera.

Bad News #2, my Club Med Maldives no deal done cos I cant get my outbound flight confirmed. We switched to Hilton Mauritius which has a very very good promo but when confirmed, my hubby said he cant take leave. Jin Cham ah!

Good News..but we still going on holiday to Bangkok end Sep. Can oni take short trip cos baby mah....BTW, anyone happened to have stayed in Centre Silom apartment at the riverside? I made reservations with Hoteltravel just a minute ago after reading good reviews.

I really missed alot of updates here lor, too much info to digest

hihi!

Energiser: whao BKK! pple go BKK i also want to whoa already cos my husb dunno want to go or not like that ...very sian to bug him day after day.
i really need a break cos i hvnt been out of the country since last year. very mountain turtle one
btw - do chk out the "marketplace" thread under SG BRides if u got the time
not long ago there were people discussing abt places to stay in BKK.
Do update us of your experience when u are back ok
BKK is top of my agenda for short trip this year end. btw hopefully no more unrest/strikes
BKK is such a great place - the people should continue
to be hospitable since their tourism is booming.

Haru : Rocher duck rice place? got parking one or not? braised duck issit? hvnt been there. may try one day

still love the South Buona Vista Duck rice place la. think very convenient for u to go there since u live in Dover. abit out of the way for most people - hv u been there? got a Porcupine Supermarket there prev that sells very interesting ang mo gourmet stuff...now changed to Cold Storage liao.
if i ganna TOTO dun mind buying a cool little house in the vicinity - such a nice little cosy nook of a place!!

hi zhuzhu

posted once or twice before but no takers siah...dunno why....still got one tube of handcream - think its the one u say v strong smell one,plus one set of shampoo and conditioner, one shower gel, one extra body butter and then some...kekke...
will use them if no one wants to buy from me its just that i got this urge to buy toiletries all the time!!! - one of my weakness haha

Energiser,

BKK? I also wanna go BKK. The hotel you are staying sounds familiar. Hmmm How much are you paying?

Starstar,

I am so sick of being sick. Yesterday, I went to eat forbidden food! Curry fish, Chicken, Otak!

Heee. Notti hor? SIan la... 3 weeks liao leh. sian.

LPH,

I just recommended the access pool resort to my friends. They are going to phuket for holiday. Then I remember seeing your pics. Look nice. They decided to book it. Hehe.

Hey Mish
U wan to "fight the posion with posion" har..

Hey bvbride
U need my help to help u sell o not..cos i sell quite a no. of my stuff in the other forums...u can tongbang my sales list lor..

Truffles and Pearls: hvnt bought any of their makeup stuff yet so cannot comment on that
u are ref to those bronzers/self tanners for body right?
my stuff mainly are mainly toiletries from their Garden Collection

Mish: so how are u feeling after eating those hot and spicy food? think im ok even after eating chicken wings, chicken rice, chilli etc
now my cough is almost all gone after nearly 2.5 weeks of coughing
hope u feel ok soon =)

hi bvbride,
ya, hubby has been raving about their soup. so we finally went last nite, parking is nightmare!in e end i parked at concourse which is just opposite. the south buona vista duck rice is quite near my home! bout 5 mins drive..=D i have also loved the west area..of coz if possible would love to live there in e private property!!kekeke...

have u tried johson duck rice at ghim moh market? not bad also..but south buona vista one def better..

hi starstar and Fan fan,

decided to heed the advice from the pros here. My hubby cannot take so many days leave wor.
So might have to find another short getaway.
Yap , never been to phuket also, any recommendation for nice resort? More for R &R maybe 2-3 nights stay. Is it a good timing to go in dec?

NATAs fair i heard is 15 sept?

hi bookworm,
phuket is a nice place and u can really relax with the cheap food and some shopping as well as the patong beach. do try out parasailing and body boarding!really fun..actually no need to wait for the fair as there are some good deals normally given by the travel agencies. if not, u can book budget air tix and choose ur own hotel.=>

mish
wah!! u still go eat those stuffs... aiyo..think u be guai lah... stay cleaar of those food for one week.. i'm sure u'll get well in due course.

bvbride
I've been to the duck rice at south bouna vista...very nice...
think it's one of the best in singapore...

bookworm
yup...haru's advice is good..no need to wait till the fair lah... dec is the peak period... if u want some peace, think u should avoid the patong beach area. that's where the night comes very alive...

hey mish,
ya ya, think u better take it easy. try to eat more fruits and drink lotsa water!!

speaking of which, i brot some cheese crackers to office and now i keep munching on them...=P

bookworm,

if u guys like to go clubbing or more lively streets, i'll recommend you to stay @ Patong area. The reason being that its the beach with the most no. of clubs, stalls and restaurants. However, most of the resorts there are not really right on the beach itself as there's a road segregating out the beach. Burasari as some suggested shld be not bad..many Singaporeans go there. My colleagues staying there this week..will update you once i get reviews from them.

if you would like a more quiet beach but still near to Patong, i will suggest Karon/Kata beaches. for 2 pax, THB200 on tuk tuk can send u to Patong one way. Depending on your budget, the accomodation can varies. I stayed at Baan Karonburi. It's quite a small resort but rather cheap. Basic amenities are there. Beach just right across a small road. LPH went Access Pool Resort @ Karon and found it good.

if you guys just want to stay @ the resort and rot, and have the budget to spare, can consider going to Rawa, Chao Long, Bang Tao beaches, where the more expensive hotels/resorts are.

Dec is the peak season for Phuket. so prices will be higher than usual

starstar/zhuzhu/bvbride/fanfan/haru,

Hehe. Sick of being sick is like that one la. Been like taking medicine for 3 weeks. It so tiring. Sigh. drinking alot of water lo.

And not i buay kia see. I am tired of being sick! heee. cannot even eat potato chips. so sad. Cannot go gym and try to lose weight b4 wedding also. sigh.

hey mish
no need to go gym lar..think the air there lagi worse..u cannot eat so many things for 3 wks...can lose weight liao lar..

bvbride/mish
i booked the Centre Point Silom at the Chao Phraya river for US$86, nett incl breakfast for 2 pax..initially wanted to go for Novotel Siam Sq @ US$82 cos it's very convenient, but decided to try something diff this time by staying at the riverside. will let you know if it is really as good as the reviewers said. BTW, i booked the 1-bedrm suite which is 80 sqm and river-facing..heard it has very nice view. i stayed in Amari Watergate, Banyan Tree and Arnoma hotels b4 in BKK. The 1st 2 are nice (not vv convenient though) but Arnoma room sucks. Arnoma is convenient but you can hear pple walking along the corridor and even phone ringing next rm.

BTW, I'm kinda lost here...who are the ones going to holidays soon? getting married soon? Who have babies? Who are going to have babies?
I have a 7.5 months baby boy and I'm going BKK end Sep

Oh, another thing...heard that some pple are sick. My colleague has a cough remedy..she said boil a green apple until soft and add rock sugar for taste, then drink the water(repeat 3x, ie 3 apples). She got the remedy from another fren when she din recover from cough, and said it was v. effective. Well, no harm trying!

hey energiser,
good for you! glad u manage to book ur accomodation. => now u can start to look forward to your trip! when u gg again?

mayb u can share ur baby's pix with us!! i love babies and toddlers..=D

hey everyone,
me just came home from dinner with friends. went to try the hong kong cafe at marina sq. e french toast was yummy!!!

hi guys
went to Mt Faber for dinner yet @ The Hill Bistro...had Marina Seafood Pasta and Steak...the food is not bad..generous serving of seafood and the steak (though a bit small) in wine sauce is quite nice =p
i tried their chocolate milkshake..yummy too..they put a big sliced strawberry inside..so it was really nice as it's all wrapped with the chocolate milkshake
my bf ordered shirley temple..

but a bit pricy lah...arnd $70 for the whole meal

hi Energiser

think u will make the right choice for the hotel. i very mountain cos only been to BKK once and stayed in dingy service apts. hope my husb wil finally stop procrastinating and bk us a trip soon. my choice will still be Arnoma cos of its excellent location. btw how much for the airtix?
dun tell me u got alot of miles to redeem?

so u are a new mummy! as for myself - am married for nearly a year and still no guts to hv babies ! kekeke :D

don't try the HK cafe near Tiong Bahru market area...it's call Happy Valley HK Cafe (or something to that extent lah)...it faces the main road...used to be a kopitiam there... disappointing food..and they don't even have the most basic luncheon + egg + nissin mee ..i thot that one is a MUST have for all HK cafes...

tried the one opp Great World City (near Zion Rd Market)..the shop is call Tong Shui and in bright pink and green..had drinks and desserts oni..not bad...and the variety is a lot more and interesting =)

Haru and Starstar - hihi~

South Buona Vista duck rice is excellent! boneless and tender. i got a thing for food places tatz a little out of the way. the whole shop has got this old world charm that is so inviting~ kekeke.
Gim Moh Johnson duck - yep tried it once - itz good too! they hv soup too - fantastic!!!

Hv u ladies tried the Colbar somewhere near Temasek Club? so quirky right? so old school i like!! but husb getting lazy these days - after work is home straightaway. no hanging out anymore except Fridays la. good also la cos at least i know where he is - Home! and not out somewhere hvg too much fun! HAHAHA!!!

FanFan and Haru

Spkg of HK cafes... i esp am not fond of the "Central" HK cafe at basement of Taka. Service bad food soso and still always packed! i wonder why. First timet there - gana bad service from one of the many auntie stuff there. 2nd time there - the noodles were served in super old plastic bowl (with dark scratch marks - cos washed and scrubbed too many times liao) and yellow/brown stained spoon!!!!! yikes!!

Zhuzhu/starstar,

Dunno leh. I feel fat. Sigh. I think I am fat. sobz! Later cannot fit into gown and look horrible how? *stress*

Energiser,

That is a suite? Wow. Sounds good. I am looking at Lebuan at the state tower under the SLH. Hmm. Quite ex though. About 105++usd a nite. So I am still wondering whether to take it or not. Hmm I will go and check your hotel out later.

Fan fan,

You foodie! Giving food reviews! So cute! Hee. Glad you 2 enjoyed urself at the hillbistro. Hey i heard that there is a hk cafe at silap that is quite gd. U heard? Hmmm

bvbride,
you're right! Central HK cafe no good oso. Things are overpriced. But in terms of taste, sure win the Tiong Bahru one..that one can wait for close shop man..service lousy oso..anw, i think Central HK cafe is heng that got such a good location...but the queue is shortening now based on my observation..so maybe won't last long too

Mish,
me tam jia (greedy) mah...u meant siglap?

Mish,

i feel fat too! dunno wats wrg wif me? have not been snacking nor pigging out, but the weight has been going up! my face like puffer fish..why har? can the girls here tell me why?? i dun think i am preggie...

none of these hk cafes can beat the real stuff ya..i miss the "che chong fan" (dunno spelling) in TST, they have one of the best man...they kinda melt in your mouth and the fillings so fresh!

truffles,
yah...that's y i'm going HK for part of my HKM trip...to satisfy my craving for HK food...and after wedding, can just pig out..HAHAHAHAHAHA

the hk cafe in sgp dont serve very nice food.
ive tried tong shui and the one at marina sq.
tong shui is quite a gd place for hanging out with frens...not so crowded nowadays.

the one in siglap is juz 2 doors away from the very popular beach road prawn mee.

ive been wanting to try colbar...how to get there?
heard tat the food is not bad but i juz started my diet le

hi fanfan,
i've only passed by it during the day, but ur milkshake sounds good!!

bvbride,
if u very mountain then i more jia lat, coz i NEVER been to bkk..=P

i think colbar is very near my place too rite? near portsdown rite? been there once many years ago for lunch. but havent been there in ages..

hey Mish,
yup, and its open from 6pm-6am, am be prepared to wait for seats...its always packed. but french toast i actally pref the one at marina sq...

hey everyone,
i'm still hanging on to a plan to go morton's for steak one day..kekekek...maybe for christmas!!

hi fanfan,

i have stayed at this Langham Mongkok last year. not bad the hotel. very convenient too
the MTR just opposite the hotel only..
you saw the hotel rooms..? if not can show you some...

fanfan
the duck rice is braised ones...
very nice..must try...
hmmm...it's near to the kent ridge park... if u go from AYE...u go to the other end of the south bouna vista road... stall is at this shophouse... if u go from pasir panjang road...it's after the cold storage which will be on your left side...the shop is on your right...

bvbride
hmm...should try the tong shui cafe fanfan recommended..I went there last week... food wise n variety is simply ao many to choose from... I personally feel it's abit pricey..but worht a try.

LPH
colbar is located at portsdown road. U know where is temasek club? portsdown camp? It's next to temasek club... it's a house of its own...do keep a lookout when u approach temasek club...if u come from the north bouna vista road, it's on your left side... u'll see it bef reaching temasek club's entrance...if u come from AYE, it'll be on your right. U'll pass temasek's entrance before seeing the house. u can see a huge tree next to the house...

I went there recently..think a few months back.. the fish n chips was good. It's a place to just sit donw n enjoy the peace... rustic feel.. alot fo ang mohs go there esp weekends. It close at 8pm.

haru
hmmm..haven tried morton's steak n lawry's... which one is good? So far the best steak I tried is in aussie...at hog's breathe. Somehow the hog's breathe in singapore is not as good as aussie's... something is missing...

Energiser
u have pics of your bb? love to see..
btw did u do a scrapbook for your kid? u know collect pics of your kid during the process of growing up...

u bringing your kid to BKK too? anyway I've only been BKK once... stayed at Asia Hotel... near MBK. good place to go if u like to shop...

Oh ya... if u people are lookingout for place to go..can try to head for Hua Hin. It's a lovely town which is abt 3hrs drive from BKK. Got nice resorts...n those into golf..it's a must to go... cheap fees...n the town is not as commercialised as phuket n koh samui. Also if u r a spa fan like me...it's cheap there.. better than phuket..Been there once during my BKK trip... got a resort wif land transfer from Asia Hotel to the resort in hua hin.
Journey is quite long but still can tolerate...
along the way u past by salt farms...can see agriculture.

T&P,

I also feel fat. sigh. We bth must go work out! Hehe.

I am going to eat at Tong Shui tonight. after all your comments. hahaha. I tell my bf that we going to eat at tong shui. He dont have a choice. Oh it gonna be 6! Gd gd. can go eat soon!

Hi Starstar

whoa! the HuaHin spa thing sounds so attractive le..how to book? just go Asia hotel and book direct from there? how much roughly?
i am a spa queen - very spoilt! haha... no one spoil me so i hv to spoil myself lor...kekekke ;D
thatz how i always justify gog for regular massages! hahaha

Haru: my first year anni coming up soon so want to eat at a romantic place tatz not too expansive..someone recommended this steak place at GOodwood Park Hotel...maybe this time i try Lawry's - hvnt been there also...
secarly end up at my regular joint - Shaslik at Far East Shopping Centre! kekeke :D

Yo Folks,

So many post, my god.....see until blur liao.... Now it's food topic eh!
Really busy with work lah....

anw, so many topics but only familiar with the duck rice thingy. Have to disagree with starstar(sorry :P) the duck rice stall. It's not really fantastic, and the price is ex compare to others. The only thing "special" is boneless(old concept lah, chicken rice store all boneless) lah, then thin slice. The taste is normal nia. My Mum can even cook much nicer braised duck then them, seriously!! :P I cook once when I study back in UK, my 2 Thai friend finish the whole duck in a day! :P

Braised duck noodles must go to the coffee shop opposite bukit batok swimming pool, the best duck noodle in Singapore! Duck rice also nicer and cheaper than those of the bouna Vista one.

As for roast duck, Ghim moh market got a stall called "Jiu Jiang", the cantonese folks sells very nice roast duck, char siew(juicy, ask for half fat) and roast pork!! Go for the 3 kinds meat rice..$5 dollars. Beware..long queue lunch time.

Fanfan,

Can try Langham when go HK. Joy went b4, and I saw the pics, quite nice. Bedroom and toilet seperated by glass panel... (something like the Changi village hotel), but I think HK one nicer.

And for cough remedy, the best still drink "Luo Han Guo", those instant ones also do work. Must drink luke warm(The taste not many ppl can tahan, but it's a miracle fruits loh).

Yo Energiser,

Kekeke...Not my email fault right? U neber maintain ur file system properly is it? when is ur last time u defrag, delete ur trash files etc? Must maintain ur files properly okie? kekeke..... :P
anw, Windows based computer is like that lah, always tends to crash...not as stable as MAC system. :P

hi mish,
wah, so onz ya? hahah..sigh, me had to eat dinner alone, again. =< anywayz, i had some realy spicy tom yam bee hoon, my fav!!yum..

bvbride,
ya, i've heard e steak there (gordon grill) is not bad. my wedding was actually at GWP..

actually i also very sua ku, havent tried lawry's bfore too. fosters as recommended by T&amp;P is quite nice too. food is good.

yo Wu,
u're back in action!!ya, i noe that stall in bt batok, my hubby loves it. if i go ghim moh for brekkie i will sometimes ta pau e roast duck rice from there too for lunch. very nice, but long time never go there, now i think of it i miss it already..

yoz Wu...
finally see u in action liao..

hmm tokin about food..one thing for sure..i am not a food person..i only eat to live...

no idea where's temasek club...if i go down from buona vista, do I turn in to the small road before exting to the alexandra hospital?

i stayed at miramar hotel begining of this year...im so shocked when i step into the room.
its the smallest room i've ever seen. n the toilet seat is facing the toilet door. if u r stting down on the bowl, u cant even close the door.

but i would say tat the location is not bad la...n the airport bus drop at this hotel lobby. so its very convenient for us.

im also not a food person nowadays. coz scared of getting fat n going back to my pervious size again.