Maldives

hi fanfan,
i see. nvm, its ur HM anyway, so either way u will definitely have a fantastic time!

hey everyone,
hope you all had a good time chilling out today. me slept in and went for a wedding reception at ritz tis aftn. when i was at the wedding ceremony kinda bring back memories of my own wedding...ahh...its such a nice feeling to be a bride. i think its like a dream come true for a girl..
kao_wedding.gif

hubby and i went to watch Barnyard after e wedding, quite funny! very family kinda show, but lotsa humour.=D we also went to Surf N Turf for dinner, their steak is quite good! yum...

fanfan...thanks for the info.
im considering tubkaak, have sent them email and was told that the seaview room is no longer available for the oct period.
most of the nice resort is located in koh lanta. quite troublesome to do the transfer from krabi. from airport still need an hr plus drive to the pier to take ferry.
n after reading what imagesexla went thro for the racha trip, me having 2ns tots abt ferry transfer. still cannot decide le.

star star,

i have been drinking water like crazy. Of course sometimes mouth itchy... go and eat things like 2 pieces of potato chips last nite and the coughing nearly killed me. Scared already. Now very guai. Dont eat nuts and chips. Heh.

Zhu zhu,

You also have not recovered? Yours has been awhile isn't it? Hmm. U also better not eat crappy stuff like me. It really makes the throat worse. I also scared my hubby get infected.

I just went to see the doc again. For the THIRD time. And he wanted to give me a 3rd dose of antibiotics. I rejected. I say that I rather try other methods first. Sigh..

Lph going to krabi? Hmmm Where is Koh lanta? Hmm Nice resort? I wanna go bangkok just before maldives. Hmm looking at hotels everyday. The airport tax went up by 10 again. Sianz. Every nw and then will go up one.

Hey Mish
Ya lor...mine normally took a while to recover..but now its not so bad liao lar..think my hubby worse..got lots of phlegm..

Hey ladies here
anyone into makeup?

hi zhuzhu,
why leh? u wana buy some make up? me not really a make up person coz my work doesnt really require me to put so much make up and honestly i think i look funny with too much make up. hubby also prefer me without too much of it. but i do have a thing for those quite stuff. my basics includes moisturizer, sunscreen, loose powder, blusher.=>

hey haru
no lar...i was looking in other forums..and ppl are drooling over shiseido majolica majorca (their drugstore range) which only available in Japan...haiz..S'pore really sucks..so many stuff available in jap, HK & TW..and we only have limited here..

Hi hi pple,

Looks like things are still hustling and bustling here.

Bookworm,
Just look through the various archive pages in this thread, lots of information that are useful for your research. Especially the websites. Take a look at

www.mal-dives.com

It has quite a good overview of many hotels and even the various rates till 2007. Transfer type is also included. No need to absolutely book from them unless they are really cheaper. The problem with them is the service and also the availability of the rooms are not always accurate. But it helps greatly in narrowing down to the hotels within your budget and expectations.

Fanfan,
You super lucky gal get to go soooo many places for HM?? Still remember u complain ur boyfriend not romantic enuff? First go Hongkong shop for nice bikinis and outfits for Maldives, at Maldives, get a nice tan and SPA, then go Phuket show off the new image?? :o hahaha....

To the sick ppl,
Do take care.... guess rest and more rest is the most crucial during flu. Water of cos, but if u dun sleep and let your body fight it off, it will take a long time to recover. So please, get a straight 5 day MC and REST.

Hope you get better soon.

Adi/Fan fan,

Did you guys check out the tripadvisor's review on anatara? Hmmm. They say that is very nice. but few places are still close. sigh. I wonder if it will be open by the time we get there in oct. *cross fingers*

They take so long. Some ppl says that there is no house reef there. Hmm.

Zhuzhu,

I think nowaadays the bug abit potent. I think need alot of rest. If nt, cannot recover. I have been drinking like crazy. But it still doesn't work. sigh.

mish, koh lanta is one of the small island near krabi. they hav nice resorts there and it seems to be cheaper than krabi. but quite troublesome to do the transfer.

Zhu zhu,

Dont have. But i Coughing. I think cannot drink liang cha. Auntie say... cough then cannot drink cooling stuff liaoz.

LPH,

Oh? Hmm icic. I heard that there is an island call railey bay or something like that in krabi. also very nice.

hiya all
how's the weekend? me got a tan over the weekend...at the air show..haha....
lucky wore sphagetti strips...if not, sure look wierd wif a tee line....but still got the 2 line down the shoulders...haha..:p anyone been there?

mish
how u feeling? better? dun take cold drinks... whenever possible if need to, drink tea or coffee... coffee with minimal sugar/no sugar can reduce phlegm.

great to know antara got good reviews...yup..cross our fingers that it'll be fully open when u go...

fanfan
haha..u still envy people...
think we all envy u leh...
great for ya...

haru
glad u enjoyed your weekend...
yup..guess it's every girl's dream to be a bride...

Adi & starstar,
dun need to envy me lah..all my airtickets to Phuket and HK are on budget airline..so minimal cost there for us
Maldives air tickets oso FOC..think after this, no $$ to travel liao..

Mish,
you gotto determine whether your cough is heaty one or cold cough...if u oni cough very jia lat @ night, then it's those cold cough..so avoid cooling things...just drink more water...u got try the Manuka honey?

oso, what did the reviews say huh?

Here's the review on the Fullerton Asapra:

Good points:
- Nice lounge area and restrooms

- Big couple rooms

- For swedish massage, the massue (duno how to spell lah) ensured that the the knots on my shoulders are "untied"...she kept kneading my shoulders until i dun feel the "crack"

- For Thai massage, my bf said it's not bad..he even fell asleep (but he's a pig lah)

- Reasonable price for a spa @ a hotel like Fullerton. Esp so if u use the Amex Platinum for the 20% discount

Cons:
- Our appointment was 2pm. But their rooms were only ready for us at around 230pm

- My massue strenght sometimes not very consistent..after when I said the strenght was okay, it seemed to weaken and I have to ask her to be harder again...maybe she's tired??

Fan fan,

I copied trip advisor forum's review.

we are here at Anantara now and are staying in the water villa's - they are truly amazing and are very private between them the only time you will see other people is if they are swimming past! The rooms are big witht he most comfortable bed ever and the bathrooms are huge too! the bath takes about 1 and 1/2 hrs to fill it's that big but it's worth it!.....The resort is not yet finished as the fushi cafe is still not open and wont be for 2 weeks and all the villas are not all finished either but the work going on is very quiet and doesn't disturb you....We have just had an amazing meal the thai restaraunt with the waves lapping benieth you.
Free internet use in the library and laptops needed for internet in the rooms. The food that is not on half or full board you have to pay the full amount on but we have eaten at the italian also and have yet to see this option of not included - and lobster at the thai is included... anyway i'll review when I get back with photo's !
You will all love it

Fan fan,

I have not tried manuka honey. My aunt refuese to let me have it. Says that its too "liang" coz i coughing. will get worse and all. Is it true?

Star star,

Coffee and tea better? Hmmm I should try. Hehe. I wanna buy an air purifier. Doc say maybe my office's air not very gd. Where to get a good one?

I hope and hope anantara will be ready by then especially the spa. sigh... i cancelled my hilton's tentative booking already.

Mish do take care ok... i just got out of my nearly 2.5weeks of coughing fit. like u i started with flu and then running nose and then super bad cough with thick phlegm and then now cough is trickling off. so happy

drink more fluids - as for myself i believe in Manuka. didnt take much of it for my cough this time round though. too lazy. was still eating all the fobidden food such as chicken, tea, chilli....kekekke...thatz me! haha...

Haru!!! sorry for late respond. Hanabi is great! great value for $$ cos itz approx $38nett. but buffet excl dessert but c/w free flow of green tea! yumm!!
itz at odean tower - very near Calton and one side of the building actually faces Raffles Hotel
do chk it out when u hv the time ok!
i find the ambience much much better than IKOI at Mirama cos it is not as cramped and can eat at a more comfortable environment. service is prompt too =)

Zhuzhu: u are looking at one "hiao" one ie me! love make up but no time to put on too much paint these days cos super bz!!! i hv heard of Majorlica brand u mentioned but hv yet to chk out their stuff online. all i know is that their compacts are BEAUTIFUL!!!! must get someone to buy from Japan lor. my fav makeup brand is now Maquillage for itz lovely colours and beautiful packaging
itz part of shiseido as well. think this brand replaces their older line PN.
got any lobang for MM pls let me know

hi Mish,
thanks for sharing ur experience with us!! can't wait to see ur photos and complete review boy..gosh..really pray that i can visit maldives again soon.=P

actually i think manuka is great remedy for anything. not sure bout it being too "liang" tho..

hey bvbride,
thanks! will try it one day. must u make a reservation? so its e standard jap cuisine like sashimi, sushi,tempura, etc?

just read a v sad news article... the croc hunter Steve Irwin has died from freak accident. a stingray apparently stung him right at his heart and the blow was fatal. how sad!!!
didnt know stingrays are that dangerous!! i remembered touching them at Banyan Tree in Maldives and they appreared so gentle. the feeder was so brave and he was surrounded by a school of them while he was doing the feeding! oh boy!!!! wild life can be so unpredictable.

Haru: yep typical jap cuisine. they even hv small portions of jap curry rice and ramen ! yum!!!
pls reserve cos that place is very popular

hi bvbride,
yeah,heard about on radio..my dad sms-ed me too.the thing is i think the stingray is out in the wild so maybe diff from those in maldives.

thanks for the tip!

Haru,

Thats not me! hehehe. it will be nice to be me. I am not at maldives la. Thats someone from the tripadvisor forum write one. I copy for fan fan to read.

Hmm It seems everyone is so into manuka! hehe.

BVbride,

Same here. am also eating nonsense. hmmm thats why didnt recover? Quite guai liao la... i cannot tahan liao. sick for so long.. hw nt to eat everything??? hehe. I just had some curry somemore... terrible rite?... just abit nia...

Hey Bvbride
Saw that news on TV oso..sooo sad..but then seriously lar..its just a matter of time..with all his dangerous stunts..

I saw the pics for majolicia..super nice..and their eye shadow is less than S$10..I found some jap webstite selling..but then with me duno a single word of jap..abit difficult..i know some ppl order from Taiwan auction..just thinkin maybe ordering from this jap website and use VpostJapan might be cheaper..

U into spree oso har? Cos i was at this other forums where they hold a no. of sprees leh..if u keen..PM me lor..

hi mish,
oops!hahahha...sorry about that. read too fast!!

hey zhuzhu,
just feel so sad for Steve's wife and his kids..they are soo young.=<

hey zhuzhu,
u started taking folic acid already? supposedly good to take esp when planning to conceive. i just ordered a bottle frm friend, from Nutralite i think.

hey haru..
no need to get too expensive folic acid..
if u go NTUC unity..they are selling 100 tablets for $2.50 i think..i bought it ..but lazy to pop the pills leh..

I see quite a number going for Anantara...I think i will seriously consider. Will be popping ti Natas fair to check out.

for the Taj promotion, any one has any the exact website. Cannot find leh

hey fanfan
ya lor..the lazy sporean way is to pop pill...

Hey bookworm
Can consider anantara cos its a NEW resort..NATAS fair got special promo for maldives?

Are Wu &amp; Joy in AUS already? Like never heard from them for a while?

hi zhuzhu,

we are still in SINGAPORE!!!! will be around till 28th then we fly there...wu and me are always looking theu this webbie... kekeke just never talk only..

anyone has experience in booking hotels with Asia Web Direct? Have emailed them but no response yet..scared tat the room i want wouldnt be avaialble anymore...alredy checked with another resort and the room i want is already taken up. been checking my email a few times a day waiting for ther response.

still feeling qt sorry whenever i come across news reports on Steve Irwin. such a lost. his kids are so adorable. so poor thing ~

Zhuzhu - nothing immediate to buy from MM but dun mind exploring those lobangs that u have
can post the thread here? i cannot PM from the office la..thx!!!

LPH,
i did...but i booked for Phuket hotel..their response to me was quite fast leh...i did a few query after my booking was confirmed..and the person in charge of my case was quite prompt

bvbride
I understand how u feel abt Steve... Me also feeling rather sad...cos I'm one great fan of his...love his documentaries...he's one reason why I like Animal Planet so much...
One huge loss for the world... sigh..this is life.. just feel sorry for his wife n 2 kids..so young some more...

zhuzhu, T&amp;P, haru
think GNC also got this pill for women right? saw it before on the shelves... think contains folic acid...
wah!! u gals preparing liao har?

joystream n wu
u guys mus be busy wif work.... seldom see ya two...

btw u guys decided to rent a porche when over there? ;p think should give it a try...

bookworm
when is NATAS? For the Taj promo, u'll need to email direct to the resort if u are interested.

Mish
discipline....discipline....haha...cannot like that lah...little bit also cannot...if not, very hard to get well one... must 'tahan'... once u are well, u can eat all u want...
isn't it better...;p

Fanfan,
U going to phuket? I was thinking if my hubby cannot take so many days leave, then maybe will go for a short getaway at another resort liao.
Can share share ur info?
But will like to go maldives, never been there, but some of u mention, not worth to go for 3 nights right?

bookworm
u can go to www.phuket.com

click on the link to find out more on the phuket resorts..spoilt for choice...
the link is given by fanfan..
I'm also planning one trip there next month...

yup...Maldives should go there more than 3 nnites... think of the transfers n the $$ of the air tics... not very worth it if u spend only 3 nites there after going thru all the hassles esp when u reach there at nite n it's like one nite wasted n only 2 nites there...
If your hubby can't take so many days leave, go for a region trip...save the maldives when he can take longer days...
just my opinion.

btw when's NATAS?

bookworm,
the link starstar given one is the website i frequent
i think quite informative and good..
the rates given oso rather competitive..

will it b your 1st time to Phuket? for F&amp;E packages from local travel agents, their choice of hotels rather limited and mostly @ Patong area (the busiest beach @ Phuket)

maybe u tell me your preference, i see i can recommend any resorts not..

hey bvbride and starstar,
ya, was just talking bout him too over lunch..even tho he is quite a fanatic gota say he has made such an impact on animal conservation. am sure his legacy and contributions will continue to have a positive influence in the animal conservation arena..

hey everyone,
seems like all of u planning for holidays!! i feel alil more relieved today after clearing quite a bulk of work that has been waiting to be done. will be heading to gym after work today finally..its been such a long busy period especially past 2 weeks that i have been going for a while.

hey bookworm,
there are quite a few nice hotels in phuket. e last i went there, i saw that Burasari looked quite good and its right in e centre of patong. maybe can check it out? =>

Hey T&amp;P
The folic acid from NTUC Unity are packed in a box..no need to ask the pharmacist..just asked the SA if u cannot find.. Me bought it..but too lazy to start taking

Hey Joystream
Must be looking forward to ur AUS trip hor...sooo envy

Hey Bvbride
I oso got nothing to buy from MM yet...need to finish up my current stocks b4 buyin anything else..
Oh the other spree forum which I frequet is this..
http://ladiesfirst.proboards104.com/index.cgi?

At least no need to have min postings b4 u can participate in the spree

Starstar
I remember someone said GNC have..but think the pills oso got some other vits inside beside folic acid..if u are planning hor..its good to start eating lar..anyway if u buy from Unity..100 tables for $2.50...cheaper than GNC one leh..

zhuzhu
thanks..I'll check it out from unity then...

haru
ya..agree wif ya.. it's a loss...his passion for conservation is so strong...can see in his programs..

hi Zhuzhu

chked out the link liao - thanks! didnt know there are pple out there so crazy over MM
i saw the products briefly on TV and the TV hosts were raving abt the compact. didnt know that the pricing is so attractive but guess by the time we ship in it wil be qt expansive liao...hmm...not gog taiwan le
dunno if they hv in BKK? kekekke...
there is this very good and very cheap eyelash curler that someone help me to get from BKK
think only like SGD2 max. can really curl your lashes with just one squeeze! :D

Hey T&amp;P
That forum i posted earlier did quite a no. of spree lar..i also participate in some sprees...mostly on Niu Er Pdts..

There is any forum: www.sgspree.tk
Never participate in this one..just go there and check out what they have only..

Hey Bvbride
From what I see on the MM orders..the shipping cost not very X..i think about extra $1 per items..I think the Mascara is about S$20..the single eyeshadow is about S$10..Anyway if u happen to register there..let me know..me oso there...

zhuzhu,
you using what brand for your eye lash curler..?
i using shiseido one... not bad...
the mascara you can try lancome hpnose...!!! power!!!!

hey joystream..
i heard that shiseido one not bad..i bought the heated eye lash curler from SASA..I oso got the Koji one..but then abit idiotic in using it lar..

zhuzhu,

you try "pulling" your lashes while clamping it. (moving upwards). sounds painful hor..? but you dun clamp so hard hor... later no more lashes...!! then apply the mascara in zigzar motion. (left right left right)...

hahaha joy...u so funny..

usually i dun use curler lar..normally i just put on my fiberwig..just dat my ah lao comment that..puttin on the fiberwig only lengthen..but not really curl..so I hiao lor..go and buy a curler..