Maldives

zhuzhu, the promo not from uob.
mayb, wu can enlighten whether its a good deal not.

Haru, i also go ultimate spa...went to try once n gotta psycho to sign up for the package. the massage is good but not the facial.

Hello Haru

agree with u - sometimes i dun get much out of facials too.. rather spend the $$$ on massages
tonight trying out CT bank promo on Bioskin facial. love the outlet at Wheelock but u know itz still the service they provide that counts. they dun sound too good over the phone though....
i very scared they psycho me big time and if i rej them they will give u the typical "slam the file in your face look" very scary!!!
will let u all know if itz good
most packages are above $1K - cannot la...will see if they can give me anything cheaper $1K can pay for nearly one and a half airtix to Maldives worr... :p

hi LPH,
ya, they seem to emphasize more on their massages. but they claim that they use high end products for their facial..hmm..

hi Wu,
now its more of budget issue thats why confused but i dun wana regret not getting it when we are there wishing we had a better camera to capture maldives' beauty!=P

hi bvbride,
u must tell urself before u go not to give in. the best thing to do is not to bring any credit cards so you wont be tempted.=> i have recently bot a 2 year package to the gym so i dun intend to commit myself to anymore packages.=D

imagesxela,
I dun even have time for TV. Early in the morning see sunrise, morning swim, breakfast, sunbathing, snorkelling/diving, lunch, take a nap at the beach, activities/ diving followed by night diving, have a shower, dinner, stroll along the beach (explore nightlifes along the beaches), go pub or lounge for drink, listen to their live band, sleep early.

DSLR is still a good choice for long run. As for short/ uncertainty, can take a semi-D camera.

Haru,
Canon 350D kit len for general shooting no problem, but u wanna take good shot, might need to buy another len.
Wide angle lens are generally for landscape, to capture wider view, the cons is getting distortion in images you took. Nowadays with digital software, you can do it by stitching technique (stitch photo to photo - panorama image)
50mm lens or micro lens with big apexture is better (F1.4 or 1.8) is good enough for a start.

Since you have good complexion, not neccessary to go for any facial. Nowadays, Credit card have a lot of offer for facial, hence no need to sign any package.

In Male, lady have to wear cover-up from top to bottom like traditional muslim if you are visiting their mosque, otherwise you can wear anything. They are not particular with foreigner, just dun wear bikini and shorts.

I walk barefooted at the resort.

Hi Wu,
I took off with a Canon Powershot G1 many years ago. It equipped with many functions of the latest camera, but lost out on the image pixel that all. Now G1 is not even in Canon Catalogue List. Hee! Hee! Hee!

Yo LPH,

Kekekek....still analysing ur info that you've provide. This deal is till July only leh. sianx....but their free nite thingy very tempting isn't it. Now much other info provided. Price also excludes the usual surcharges. I guess not only they got such offer, other agency or maybe that's the offer by Banyan and Angsana themselves. Got time I'll check out!

Yo Haru,

It's depends on how much budget you wanna to put it for the DSLR. 350D kit will cost you $1350. 3rd party wide angle lens will cos u $850(canon 10-22mm lens very good one with almost no distortion at widest but ex loh), Zoom lens probably another couple of hundred more. Add on filters(at least the polarising one) is a substantial amount loh...... I count count count then scare if I never catch the tricks in using a DSLR to nice photo, it'll be a waste even if I'm there loh! Not to discourage u lah....try to get early, and book for the canon photography course(I think free right?), a crash course is better than nothing!

Yo imagesxela,

That's the problem loh... I see the tips in the canon website untill I blur blur..ie. Aperture priority lah, f-stop lah....gong gong liao. Roughly know lah but need to digest! :P
Ya canon is 1.6X crop, Nikon is 1.5X and it's 18-70mm kit lens, thus my DSLR friend always recommend me to get the Nikon instead.

Yo Adel,

Looks like I'm gonna stick with a semi-D camera first, S3 will cost me only $750 with tons of free gift. I'll just add a wide angle less ~ $200, probably another polarising filter I think good enough liao.

Oh yes the 50mm lens is a good lens to start off...that means extra lor!
Oh ya, the G series range from Canon all very famous..not only the Ixus range. How many MP is your G1?

i used to go to Aspara @ Amara Hotel for massage..not bad..and quite afforable for a hotel spa..think a massage is only $70+...my bf and i bought a package for 6 session that time..average out abt $50+ per session..

Wu,
GOOD choice. S3 is cheap. Be prepare to buy flash loh!
50mm lens are the cheaper and very useful lens. Good to own one. Nikon have been in camera field for decade. Due to its reputation, many ppl will prefer it to Canon. Afterall, a good camera is one that can live up to your needs.
G1(3.3MP) is great-great... grandfather of G8 (6MP)

Haru,

I got your email. omg... prices increased! Sigh... Now must recalculate costing again.. and nw no morning cruise... so sian.. i want morning one leh...

Yo Adel!

ACtually hor...3.3MP although Grandfather lah, but still very useful isn't it? Just to view on computer, 3.3MP really more than enough. I think printing A4 size also not problem!

I'm thinking whether or not to buy the flash. I heard from Clubsnap forum member say the Canon flash is ex...most buy 3rd party one. Need to find out more!

Thanks for the advise...actually I almost forgetten I shld put the flash in my consideration list. :p

YO one more question, do u know how does a underwater strobe works? Does it work like a flash or just purely turn on only? How it fires when use with my underwater camera?

Wu,

Mine can print A4 size. No problem.

Dun know how a strobe works! But I think it is just a mini spotlight. Cos underwater is all bluish mah!

hi mish,
i checked and they said they still have daily morning cruise but didnt mention how much. it think zhuzhu mentioned, bout US45?

Hey Wu and blue ginger,
hmm..so does it sound like nikon is a better choice? but nikon is more ex?

Yo Adel,

Anyway, I normal choose to shoot just 3MP photo..and me too, My Casio is 4MP, but most photo turn out nice too.

Ya lor, seriously thinking of getting the strobe this time round. There's no linkage to my undersea cam, thus I don't know how it works, unless it got those function of the Nikon Flash i.e. SB600

Yo T&P,

U meant the Hilton undersea restaurant? Ya.. it's USD220 nett per pax(incl 10% scv Charge).

Why leh? Taj exotica also hv one? .... but the food too "Exotic" to our liking. The trick is don't ever try Exotic food in Maldives... the meaning Exotic is diff from Singapore. :P

1 example lah. Curry powder on yorgurt! Phui! :P

Yo Haru,

Nikon price is around $1600, but with the kit lens, you got slightly more wide angle and more zoom.

Then Nikon can use to 3rd party lens, i.e. Sigma!
Canon lens very ex in comparison.
Then now Sony just launch their DSLR series and lens.... I guess there'll be a war!! Sony is unlike Konica Minolta....they will be very aggressive. Hopefully this will benefit consumer, cos there'll be a price war!! :P Nikon vs Canon Vs Sony!!!

hey wu,

nah they dun have. but i am thinking of doing a pte dinner at their ocean pavilion which is a stand alone pavilion 1/2mile away frm shore, all by itself. its USD400per couple.
jus doing a comparion bw the costs...feel abit expensive leh..but quite interesting ya..

Wha... so almost same loh. I think ur USD400 doesn't include 10% yet right?
Aiya, sure it's gonna be more than USD400. They, recommend u wine lah, this and that...I think all wine is optional. Then u go there sure pai say one mah, 1 wine might be more than USD100!! :P
Those folks are not pushy but they talk with sense..that's the reason why we book the dining. :P Ganna "Gong Tao"!!!

Check out the menu first... if it's fusion kind of food, beware! I wld rather go for a pte BBQ dinner!

We regret abt the decision to spent so much on something that is really not nice loh! yes undersea rest is unique, ur's a 1/2 mile pavilion unique also...but u check out whether this USD400 can be more useful elsewhere?Spa? Excursion? etc.. Maybe can spent on a combination of stuff!

Kekeke....really up to u. If u got spare cash why not! If u think that's a chance of a lifetime experience, why not! If it'll improve both of you couple's relationship, I say go for it! kekekekek....

4 me, the only regret is the food, the undersea rest is unique, and the only 1 in the world... my feeling is half half lah. Happy and not happy. :P

Yo Haru,

Yes... just launch. It's called the alpha series!! with lots of innovative function. One I can remember is their sensor is less prone to collect dust due to it's special coating! and special mechanism to shake off dust...something like the Olympus DSLR.
Oooooolalala....and it's 2.5inch LCD!!! Much bigger than both Canon and Nikon's one. :P

Check out the first impression review here:-

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0606/06060501sonydslra100.asp

Yes Yes ...price war!!!

Wu,
Underwater DSLR cannot use Flash like SB600. Using strobes is like light in the water world, bright enough to take clear images, hence no need flash. Usu, strobes are attached to the housing so that you do not need to carry many things in your hands while diving. It is not comfortable as well you know better, right!

Wu,

i read a review written by an ang moh who tried and she said food is great. i saw the menu, looks not bad, a mixture of fusion n western. a total of 13 items. think i'll do tat as a surprise for him...
and then look into one of the spa treatments, a sunset crise n maybe try my luck in fishing..maybe as lucky as imagesxela, can catch something..

Yo Adel,

Kekek... I know lah. I initial thot, like SB600 can sync with the DSLR.
I guess u are right lah, just like a light, turn on then jus point the light to the object.

Oh yesss..... not comfortable at all. I like to dive with my hands folded. And I find that taking underwater photos hor, I need to be really steady, something like firing a M16. In the end hor, I breath more.... my 200psi gone in just 35mins. Very Ma-Lu leh...all the divers following my dive master must surface, and they got at least 20mins more to go! You know what I meant lah... There goes the USD60++ dollars! :P Pai say!

Haizzz....I'll need to control my breathing! any technique to pass on to me? those dive instructor in Maldives ask me to breath deep, and blow slowly...trying to learn that!

Yo T&P,

Kekek...hopefully AngMo are telling the truth lah. ALl the Angmo that eat with us also say nice when asked by the waitress...but we see they never finish loh.

Yes yes yes...ours also the fushion plus western type of food. small small dishes. 10 over different courses. Starting with appetizer, lots of bread, cold starter courses, hot starter courses, main courses, different dessert, tea/coffee,sparkling juice(cheaper than wine :P),chocolate etc...

We also told the waitress nice....be nice ppl mah.

Beware!!!!! kekeke..... Okie lah..enough of sour grapes. :P

If u never try, you never know isn't it!!

I say go for it!!!

Yo Haru,

If you really can't decide whether u wanna invest in a DSLR, can consider renting a set. See below

www.peridotpix.com

I think shld be around $100 plus for a week for a 20D with kit lens.

You can also check out other rental rates in clubsnap below:-

http://forums.clubsnap.org/forumdisplay.php?f=75

Rental rates for a week is roughly 3times of daily rates.

Hope it's another alternative 4 you as well. I'm considering to rent too. kekekeke.... :P

hi Wu,
i see.. interesting! i didn't know can actualy rent cameras..but i think hubby will say rather buy. but def worth considering!just that we won't have chance to play around with camera before using it for our trip..

hey T&P,
i think i wont go for the dinner at undersea restaurant. thinkin it mite be to too "exotic" for our asian taste buds!haha...thinkin mayb just go for cocktail.=P

Wu,
I agreed ending dives in 35 mins very malu, especially everyone have to follow you.
Deep breathing and stay calm and relax at all times. Always more bouyant when I'm too excited. Fast inhale and and less exhale mah! BTW, how many times you dive per year and where?

Strange, I hardly see any people ard the resort in the day. AND I dun think those people, except the resort staff, are friendly.

hey Wu,
just did a rough calculation and with the activities that we definitely wana do (sunrise cruise/sunrise fishing/spa/ithaa cocktail/private bbq) plus the rooms and seaplanes will already costs about $4200..then will have to budget out the rest for e other lunch/dinner. Its amazing how quick you can spend there within a few days!
kao_scared.gif

Hey Mish
my sunrise cruise cost USD35..but got it for free cos for honeymooners, they have one FOC activites (those USD35 one)..

Haru
Seaplane ride less than 30mins lar..It was simply too hot to wear anything with sleeves in Male..thats why i dun care...just wear sleevless

Like wat Wu said..the GO would encourage u to walk barefooted in Hilton..but i rather wear my slippers..cos sometimes got some seashell on the beach..dun wan to get my feet cut..

LPH
I signed up a massage package with The Ultimate b4..but that was b4 they change name to "The Ultimate"..they were called inner harmony previously..think change management liao..place is nice..but I seriously hated the position of their washroom...badly positioned..they always put me at the room at the other side..then after doing scrub..I had to walk across the reception (in my bathrobe) to wash up...so embrassing..

zhuzhu,

there is a toilet on both left n right. the one inside has steam bath n leads out to the outdoor jacuzzi. how much is your package? mine doesnt include scrub, got to pay extra.

Hey,

Thanks haru and zhu zhu! I am going to see see!

T&P!!!! YOU LEAVING TOMORROW!!!!! Sooooooo exciting!!!!! Taj taj taj... take photos!

hi all morning!!

my bioskin facial was alright,itz not their policy to squeeze so no pain at all. felt the shoulder msg they gave was longer than the facial itself. overall felt very pampered!
paid $68 (excl GST) cos of the CT bank vouher
didnt chk out the facial pkg cos i know itz really expansive like $2800 onwards!!!
for those keen on msg they quoted me a "CT Bank" pkg - $888 (excl GST) for 10 sessions of 1.5 hr full body msg !!! soooo tempting!!! but she didnt hv time to push so i didnt sign anything kekeke =) think most (nt all) of their roooms comes with shower facilities attached

hi zhuzhu,
wow, i hope they will offer us some perks as well as it is our wedding anniversary celebration..=P

T&P,
so quick, now its ur turn liao!!! so exciting!!!

Hey LPH
I signed up the package b4 my big days, which was like nearly 2 yrs back..think for like 10 sessions..cost me around 1k+..can't remember oso..I remembered they tried to con me to sign up more packages..then i complained to the staff, the therpist not very hygenie..after doing my legs..never wipe her hand..then do my body..yucks!!

They got 2 toilets meh? everytime, they only direct me to 1 toilet only leh..that time i sign up when they were still at Far East plaza..then after that they move to Shaw..but i still preferr Far East one..although small but cosier...

T&P
Tomolo is the DAY!!!

Hey Haru
U never ask them wat perks they givin for anniversary...

hello pple,

yap tomorrow is the Day!!! Woke up this morning and 1st tot was "Ah...when i wake up on sun, my 1st view will be the beautiful Indian Ocean" =)

Haru,
I was talking abt Taj Ocean Pavilion Dinner. I asked Wu for the undersea dining cost, just to do a comparion, see if it's around tat kind of price range or am i being quoted for more.

Yo Adel,

That's only when I'm holding underwater cam taking photos...35mins. :P Other than that, shld be not much better ~ 45mins. Max is 1hr. There's a kid who dive with us lasted almost 1hr 15mins. :P Small lungs lah.
I find most of the dive master when exhale hor, so little bubble... me bubble like nothing, can tell from my pics in the album. They can bubble foe so long then inhale again.

Tioman certification dives(5 dives), 2 dive trips to in Redang(3 dives per trip) and Maldives Hilton 3 dives. That's all. :P Only started to pick up more skills during my last Redang dive, i.e. during surfacing, too bouyant, straighten body and release some air. kekeke...else float to the surface, no safety stop.
Then Maldives folks teach me the breathing technique.
Ya ya ya....excited more bouyant, that's why when I take underwater pics, one hand need to release some air. kekekek...

You're right, most are couples mah, and really don't wanna others to disturb them or even make friends with them. :P

Yo Haru,

That's not too bad liao... plan well b4 the trip and can really save some money. However, when u there sure got urge to doing something ex one lah...then Heng heng meet those super sweet talker GO's hor, u'll be Pyscho to do something special and ex liao!

T&P and I are talking about exotic dining, that also includes HIlton underwater dining and also the Taj 1/2mile pavilion dining! Kekeke.... I'm also checking out the sailing private BBQ offer by mirihi...too ex, so hv to think thrice!
Wha...ur $4200 haven incl SQ flight is it? if never include, then add add shld be ard at least 7K loh!
Nevermind, be happy and don't think so much k?
Yo another thing, Olympus DSLR E500 got promo, Kit lens plus another free lens, ard $1560...good price. My other friend might be getting 1. That's another option for u

Yo T&P,

That's tomorrow!!!

Haru
Agreed with Wu...we go there oso did not plan any budget..go there..see wat activites we like..just book lor..not that we are rich lar
since we are there..might as well pampered ourselves..of cos the prices must be reasonable lar..not like go for there USD300 spa session per pax..that one way out of budget lar..

Yo Zhuzhu,

Muahaha....that's the problem loh, I also plan but in the end over budget. However, I still stick my 3 dives plan, else worst.

It's the "since we're there thinking" makes us spent extra. :P

Yo zhuzhu...time to update the table.. kekekke... so excited! how many days more har?

Yes, Boss Wu
Here is the table

Update @ 9th Jun 2006

<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Resort</TD><TD>Photo Album</TD><TD>Departure</TD><TD>Returned</TD><TD>Total nites</TD><TD>Countdown(Days) </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Taj Exotica/Baros(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/album/208550556KcSIWJ </font><font size="-2">http://community.webshots.com/user/plannerholiday3</font></TD><TD>Oct 04</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starstar</TD><TD>Taj Coral(WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2120573087</font></TD><TD>Mar 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla/Sunset WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/pictures.html?id=2123875645</font></TD><TD>30-June-05</TD><TD>8-July-05</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bvbride</TD><TD>Angsana(Beach Villa) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/wpwgrent/my_photos</font></TD><TD>Nov 05</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>LPH</TD><TD>Clubmed(SupRm/WVilla) </TD><TD><font size="-2">http://photos.yahoo.com/lengph</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>29-Apr-06</TD><TD>4-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moonlight</TD><TD>Clubmed(BVilla/WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.moonlight00.shutterfly.com/</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>13-May-06</TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=2105956261</font> <font color="ff0000">New</font></TD><TD>19-May-06</TD><TD>25-May-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Returned </TD></TR><TR><TD>T&amp;P</TD><TD>Taj Exotica(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.tajhotels.com</font></TD><TD>10-Jun-06</TD><TD>18-Jun-06</TD><TD>7</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nelc</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Jun-06</TD><TD>25-Jun-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wu</TD><TD>Mirihi(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.mirihi.com</font></TD><TD>29-Jun-06</TD><TD>8-July-06</TD><TD>9</TD><TD>20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Haru</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-July-06</TD><TD>7-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>22 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Greentea</TD><TD>Fullmoon/Hilton(WVilla)</TD><TD><font size="-2">http://www.fullmoonmaldives.com/</font></TD><TD>9-July-06</TD><TD>14-July-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mira</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-July-06</TD><TD>16-July-06</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>31 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mish</TD><TD>Hilton(BVilla)</TD><TD></TD><TD>19-Oct-06</TD><TD>27-Oct-06</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>132 </TD></TR><TR><TD>FanFan</TD><TD>Mirihi</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Nov-06</TD><TD>18-Nov-06</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>157 </TD></TR><TR><TD>imagesxela</TD><TD>Laguna or Club Rannalhi</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Maybe Very Soon! </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thank you Zhuzhu Boss!!! Kekeke..

Wah...time really flys... used to be 60 over days..counting down!

AFter the trip, I'll be sianx again.... Morale again rock bottom... Why I alway think about after the trip. :P

hiya people!!
it's friday!!! n it's the opening of world cup tonight!!

wah...I totally lost of all the talks of cameras...see till I blur..:p haha that's why yesterday I never post anything..:p dun kow what to post...

T&amp;P
yo.. tomolo's your turn..
excited right? packed your stuffs all? yup..on sunday your view will be awesome!!!

Hello starstar

me too lor thatz why just talk abt my facial experience lor..kekeke
not a camera person la - as long as the image clear and colours accurate and i look ok then its a good camera lor..hahaha

tonight i wil dash off fr work on the dot to hv japanese buffet at mirama hotel, then bk home to watch World Cup opening ceremony!!! one of my fav band singing - head of Il Divo? they are FANTASTIC !!!! they are the proteges of Simon Cowell

oh yeah Truffles and Pearls!!!
hv a Fantastic time ok
really envious of u - Taj Exotica is way posh and not sure if i got budget for it yet
got a feeling that i wil be soooooo tempted after seeing your pix le!!!
total package cost around SGD 7000 hor - excl expanses there.....

bvbride
haha...sama sama...:p image look good..I look good..ok liao..
yup..heard bef the group... wah..u are really a great fan of the group...

T&amp;P
rem to take pics ok?

hi bvbride,

mayb u'll change ur mind after u see my pics??
hhahaa..cos i'm a really bad photographer, so most likely can't do justice to the beautiful place.
yap, cost 7k. dunno what we'll do there yet, will update u guys when i m back =)

Truffles,

Waaah...Enjoy yourselves... remember to take more pics of the place. I wanna see how much they have changed!

Take care!

Hey Mish
Boss Wu commands me to post mar..so I have to post lor..

Wu
Actually agreed with u.. after I come back from Maldives..no motivation liao..haiz..

Starstar &amp; Bvbride
Me oso not into cameras...so u see my postings for the past few days oso very little..Since the rest tokin about cameras..then we tok girly stuff lar...got watch "nu ren wo zui da" on SCV??