Maldives

hi Wu,
i think i'd rather buy some granola bars and cereal drinks. think cup noodles too bulky to pack leh..oh, speaking of which do they regulatns on bringing food items in to their country?

Yo Wu,
my hubby already plans to upgrade maybe on our last last one or two nites. he very easy to be persuaded one, but i told him i wil only upgrade if its complimentary (hahahah!) or really cheap cheap.kekekekkekek......coz now already beach villa stretching our budget liao..=p

Yo Haru,

Maldives is a Muslim country, so Pork stuff is prohibited. Halal food lah. I think those stuff u mention still ok lah. Anyway, they never check us also.

Anyway, the beach villa would WoW u for the 5 nites there liao. don't even have to upgrade lah.... better to use the money for other stuff, i.e. fine dining, excursion stuff like that. Or even can go for their discovery scuba diving? no cert but let u have a feel of diving. Their service is top-notch, really no fight! Or must try their spa.... the glass bottom spa lah also can!

Unless they offer u deluxe water villa and above then consider lah. the normal water villa not really that value. My think lah! You go there access urself!

Hello Haru

U went redhill early in the morning liao? whao...
im the sleep in type so will prob go for my 4AM
curry rice at Telok Blangah Rise - just 5mins from my place tonight

can see u planning very intensively, no worries la since WU brought so many cup noodles there think no prob!!! me too - i brought my own 3-in-1 coffee (scared they dun have) plus cup noodles plus biscuit plus one Ooloong tea!!! kekeke

Wu: USD2500 for a couple is so "cheap" u know...oh man - just went to the Komandoo to chk out the guestbook and see what pple had to say
looks very positive le!!! :D
maybe for my 2007 Maldives trip

hi Wu,
i have no diving cert/experience at all. is it exp to take their course there? okie, hopefully i can convince hubby to spend the money on other stuff instead!

Yo bvbride,

Yes..... Sama sama comments from guest on mirihi as well leh..... difficult decision for me now. And that's a USD900 diff question as well.

Yes...another contender for the 2007 trips.

Yo Haru,

Don't need to hv exprience. Need u to know how to swim and only breath thru ur mouth only! Quite difficult for some of my wife's friend. Cannot breath thru mouth.
Anyway, if U know how to snokel can liao.

Anyway, hilton's open water diver course(the basic license course) would cos u USD650++ Really ex as compare to getting the license from local dive school(as cheap as SGD400).
anyway, U can do the discovery scuba as well...for USD140(1 day) or USD70(half day) just hv a feel. Come back S'pore then do full course.
Alternatively U can go for a course here in S'pore, b4 u go Maldives, and will probably take-up a few weeks days for lesson plus 1 weekend in Malaysia on ur final certification.

Really, I think even I go Hilton again, will still stay in the beach villa, max would be the deluxe beach only. Last time we upgrade becos we got another 2 friends mah...so the upgrade cost share by total 4 person, much more "Wu Hua".

hi Wu,
i love to snorkel except when there is strong current, kinda make me sea sick...*.* i def think taking a course here would be much practical.

Yo haru,

Tats good! diving needs u to know how to snorkel as well....
Hilton house reef is not that fantastic(even compare to Malaysia's one), I think due to damage during the reno work. But do join their snorkelling excursion lah... those reef outside are much better! don't be surprise if u can see sharks, turtle, giant tuna stuff like that! It's safe to snorkel there!
Just beware of any strong current! Well I even encounter stonger current in Malaysia than in Maldives.
CheerS!

hi Wu,
my hubby can't really swim,actually he can't thread water, so he just swims continuously when snorkelling..omigosh!!!i'm realy terified of sharks!!! but my hubby wld really get excited if he sees one. so afraid that he would grab it by its tail if he sees one,haahahhah....

hey Wu,
those pixs were awesome! i love takin pix too, esp of little things whenever i travel..i wished i could take such artistic shots myself. i'm really looking forward to snapping away when i'm there!! think i'll wake up early just to take some shots of sun rising..=>

Hey Mish
I dun have the email from full moon already..should have deleted them liao

Haru
I plan to bring about 5 bottles of the 1 litre mineral water..and maybe another bottle of sesason lemon tea..then also about a doz of cup noodles..biscuits& chips also...alot?? anyway I already prepared a luggage to stock the food stuff lar..hmmm if ppl duno..tot we runnin for our lives..

Tok yoga pose at sun at sunrise!!! gee i dun even know if I can wake up dat early..maybe try sunset 1st lar..

I realised that Male had 30 hotels & guesthouses...but quite a no.of them dun have email...so cannot check with them the rates & locations..

MALE HOTEL
Aquatic Residency
Athama Palace
Beeva Inn
Blue Diamond Guest House
Buruneege Residence
Central Hotel
City Motel
City Palace
Classic Inn
Extra Haven
Holiday Lodge Guest House
Hotel Aila
Hulhule Island Hotel
Ikaz Hotel
Fehi Aabaadh Tour Inn
Kai Lodge
Kam Hotel
Leisure Island
Maadhuni Inn
Maafaru Guest House
Maagiri Lodge
Male’ Tour Inn
Marble Tourist Lodge
Nasadhura Palace Hotel
Noofaru Tourist Lodge
Ocean Reed
Onathoori Guest House
Relax Inn
Royal Inn
Sea Lodge
Sosunge
Transit Inn
Try Inn
Villingili View Inn

hi zhuzhu,
i also tot of bringing water,but i'm thinking is it very kua zhang to bring a huge luggage?kekekeke...actually dun need lotsa clothes, so may i can stuff more food and drinks then!

Hey Haru
Ya lor..dun need alot of clothing..so can free 1 luggage for foods...anyway U wait for my return..then I can feed u with more info...

haru
I actually tot of bringing water when I went there last year but hee.. but didn't..we ended up boiling the tap water to drink.... well if u dun mind the strong taste of chlorine, it's ok to go without the luggage of water...
we still find it ok.. so as long got water to drink can liao..haha..

zhuzhu
yupyup.. must bring food.. regret didn't bring any last year..
got so sick of the resort's food...

Wu
wah... it's a nicce place too.. oh my..maldives so many resorts to choose... simply spoilt for choice...haha..

Wu,

I think 10nights.. really too many nights. hehehe. My hubby says that 7n in beach villa is fine. But he also like water villa la... so now... still trying to decide. hilton is a safe choice. but no water villa loooo...

Hey.. Did you go for the island hopping or some fishing village trip? Is it nice? Hmmm I wonder. If nice, can go see see.

Zhu zhu,

Full moon email deleted ar? Nvm la. They so dao. I email them last thursday.. still haven't reply!!!!

male got so many hotel ar? Hmm. dunno where to stay when we get there..hmm...

Yo Folks,

Don't hv to bring a lot of luggage lah. Travel light, preferably back pack. All food and water goes into a carton box. So once U finish everything, just throw the box away loh. Ask ur hubby to carry the box loh! Kekekeke......

Yo Mish,

Went for the sunset fishing, normal loh, those line fishing, but lots of big fishes caught lah, my wife caught one Big Bat fish, my other friends caught some Grouper and snapper.
Never visit the fishing village, some ppl said not nice. You can go for the sun-set cruise which I never did. shld hv gone for one also, on those huge Yacht!
Then probably last day U guys can go for the private BBQ dinning loh!

Yo folks,

Hv u folks enjoy ur weekends? Sianx.....it monday again.....

Anyway, u folks hv fun talking hor, I think my work place network is currently doing upgrading, too bloody slow to access this webiste.... so talk to u all in the night!

Yo Haru,

Kekekek........ no lah... my during my last trip hor all my luggage funny funny one. Got tripod(looks like a machine gun, some airport staff kept looking at me), then got my telescope,My Giant Binoculars and off course my big Makan box(at least 20 packs of cup noodles,cup soup,can food,3in1 coffee etc..etc.., stuff like that)

So this time round what u gonna bring :P Kekekek....

Wu
I will be bring the tripod also..u really pack ur makan in a box ah? not funny meh?? anyway they dun have kopi there meh? hmm cup soup..can consider bringing that also..

oh manz! this thread is amazing!! Moved so fast even over wkend!!! haha

Wu..i luv those pics!!! V v v pro indeed!! And taken so so so artistically lor...haha ..Solid sia!!

Star star,

Took your advise and went to send full moon another email yesterday. Waiting for reply. Hee

Wu,

Fishing-I cannot make it la. Hehehe. I can only eat fish. Cannot fish.

Hmm. This Hilton guy I emailed always doesn't answer my questions wor. I ask him 5 he reply 1... hmm. Very difficult. sigh....

Zhu zhu,

U staying in which one in male? Hmmm.

Moonlight,

You must be very happy!! Hee. Looks alot nicer than the ones that club med took hor? Hee.

Haha...Mish..yah manz!
Guess it boils down to photography skills!! ..
But i believe in the fotos club med hv taken la.. Coz tink dat fotos can b edited.. Muahaha... So the plainer the more accurate? keke

But i'll definite keep those pro pics in mind &amp; hopefully can replicate some pro pro shots too...wahahahah..... >.<

btw...juz bought 2 new bikinis yesterdae!! haha.. tink i'm realli getting into the maldive mood liaoz..how how how? no mood to work oredi!! Time seems to b crawling now leh...haaaa

Zhuzhu..wat's the period in May u're gng ah? hehe...4got liaoz.. Will we bum into each other there? haha

well, i think i will pack some cornflakes, muesli bars, biscuits and 3-in-1 drinks and possibly some water (1L bottles). i think i mite get a tripod for my digicam too.

hey moonlight,
i have lotsa bikinis, some of them are even brand new, never been worn. in fact, been wanting to sell those i have bot but never work before coz i have too many! if u are a size S, and would like to buy some i can let it to go to cheap cheap lah..=p

Moonlight
I flyin off on 19 May..coming back on 25th May..u leh?

Mish
I haven't confirmed the Male hotels..now writin to some of them asking for the rates..

Haru
Din know u a bikini gal....so now u can bring all ur bikinis to Hilton..each day different one..
u not bring cup noodles there??

Moonlight,

hee. Yes! Pls take more photos and show us okie!!

Zhu zhu,

OOOOoo.... Can send me the rates of the hotel when they reply you not? So that I can also look at it... Budgeting la.. hehehehe

I think my hubby gonna get sick of my talking about maldives all the time. hahaha.

Haru,

You sound well-equiped! Hee. How about snacks? Chips? Etc? Hee. I am a snacky person.. cannot forget to bring snacks!! haha

saw the pictures on club med kani.
hopefully i can get such pro shots there too.
counting down to it...3.5 weeks more and i'll be in paradise.

hi zhuzhu,
think i'll still bring some, but not that many. if not, wil eat until sian also..hahah...ya, i used to go for some beach holiday once every 6 six months before i was married so was pretty crazy about biknis before..=P

hey mish,
of coz! bring some pringles,easy to pack too!

hey Wu and zhuzhu,
Hilton sent me an email to confirm the change of dates liao. but they did not ask for any other details like credit card no,etc...is that normal?hmm....i will prob get in touch w them again closer to the date to arrange the seaplane.

Haru
U asked them do they need ur credit card for confirmation...but they got give u a confirmation no. rite?

Mish
I got reply from hotel relax inn last nite..maybe when I get reply from other hotels..then I do a compilation for you all to compare

haru...
u muz b such a beach babe!!hees...u so slim!! i'm a size m though..wasted keke
but nvm mah...here's finalli the chance for u to parade all ur bikinis @ maldives!!!!! ;)

zhuzhu..aiyo..so qiao....urs directly after mine...i'm gng from 13-19th ^.^

lph..oh! u gng club med too? hows ur package like?
Muz come back wif lotsa pics &amp; reviews yah? So i can hv a better idea wat to expect...keke

hi zhuzhu,
ya i had a confirmation number from their previous email when they got the date wrong. but now they confirm that its amended.. thanks for doing the compilation of the male hotels!!=>

hi moonlight,
no lah, me no beachbabe, more like beachbum. hahah..but i am a sucker for nice beaches..kekek..i've always wished spore had a nice beach so that i can learn surfing in a shark-free environment,kekek...

zhuzhu
hmm..so u'll be going after moonlight isit? both of u the same resort? Hilton?

Haru
u also booked Hilton isit? when will u be going?

hey starstar
Yes going after moonlight..
aiyah paiseh..moonlight is going to club med...not hilton...I just looked at my table again..

hehe...yep yep...mi gng club med ah...hees

zhuzhu..lucky u...manage to get beach villa at hilton!! i can't...&amp; water villa too exp liaoz..hehe...dat's y club med

haru..hehe..i oso luv beaches &amp; the sun too!! Wld luv 2 try all the sea sports there manz..juz hoping the queue wldn't b too jia lat coz afterall, they're mostly foc at club med...umm..
And wld luv to dive too! Sighz...but hb no interest...sobz...

envy u gals..can start count down liao...
for me, most of the resorts dun have Nov rates yet..sigh sigh...

so u guys buying a carton of water to check in?

im staying in the club med water villa.
originally took the sri lankan promo. but changed it to SQ and upgrade to water villa.
call them last week to try to extend but was told that all rooms fully booked.
so going for 5d3n only, hopefully can finish learning boat sailing, wind surfing....

hi lph...
club med water villa veri hot hor..i tried to upgrade mi beach villa to water villa but am oso told all water villa fully booked! sobz

Share wif us ur experience when u're back!

hi starstar,
yup,i booked hilton from 2-7 july.=> am praying that the weather will b sunshine all the way!!

hey fanfan,
not a carton lah, but i think i'll try to pack in about 5 bottles.=P

hi moonlight,
ya, i noe wat u mean..even driving by the beach/sea gives me this awesome feeling. i remember when i went to mauritius and at the end of the tour, the guide told us he had a surprise for us and just at that moment, the van drove to am amazing view of the west coast sea....the view was simply breathtaking and i was just speechless and everyone on e bus felt that e surprise was simply more than we expected. (we tot like they gona treat us to some makan,hahha)..

oh ya, club med is all inclusive rite?? hahha, in fact was telling my boss today about my trip and he was also saying, just stuff urself for bkfast and then nibble for lunch/dinner so that we dun hv to spend a bomb on F&amp;B...=P

hi haru
am sure your 5Days at Hilton will be romantic and fun

no need to bring that much water right?
the two of us didnt even finish one bottle of mineral water a day ! maybe itz just us - nt very into drinking lots of water keke

dun worry - i also did the same - ate loads for breakfast, have biscuits during lunch time (if hungry) and tong all the way till dinner after that. itz do-able and i felt less fat from doing that. perhaps u can share a bar snacks like hamburger or something cos itz def more affordable. my burger at angsana cos like USD15 - very cheap already - can share some more

counting down for u too cheers!!!

Yo Folks,

Wha.... amazing leh.... the thread is moving so fast till I cannot catch up.
Jus received mirihi's quote. Water Villa at USD260++ BB, Seaplane USD230 nett. Free water sports...... Hmmmm... after calculation probably needs ard 7K for 2 pax, 7+1nites.
Still comtemplating whether to go cos the island very very small. only 350m by 50m, unlike Hilton got 2 big islands to wander ard......
To cut cost.... will likely do the same again.... bring my makan box!!! :P

Yo Zhuzhu,

Really got no choice but to pack all my makan in the carton box.... kekek..our full pack full liao. U know how many things we brought there?

>> 2 full length full pack
>> 1 big tripod
>> 1 diving bag full of gears
>> 1 bag to store my 5-inch diameter telescope
>> 1 bag to hold my giant bino
>> 1 big box of makan
..... kekekekek.. as if war has juz broke out! Refugee man!
That side no 3-in-1 coffee leh, I remember got AngMo coffee and tea only in the room. Bring some tuna can to spread on bread or biscuit would be nice too.

Haru,

It's better to confirm w Hilton again. print out the eamil then bring there. If they really forgotten...hahaha... ask them to give u 5 nights Sunset water villa! :P Muahahahhahah!!!

Yo Mish,

Yes U are right! seems like most of them, not only Hilton but others also never always give full info to U. What I learn is list down all info I want in point form i.e 1)blar blar blar 2)blar blar.... etc.

Yo Fanfan,

Komandoo island worth taking a look. they already got Nov rates, in fact rates till Jan 2008!!!
Nov rates for beach villa ~ water villa(full board) will be from USD250++ till USD390++

Check it out!...... bvbride also quite fancy the water villa too! Me too find it rather value, with that rates!

http://www.komandoo.com/rates_villas.htm

moonlight00...not only water villa is hot.
any other villa is also fully booked.
coz i tried to extend my stay at beach villa when they told me water villa is fully booked. looks like there's no chance that i will have an extended checkout timing.

Wu
I like ur idea of asking for 5 nites free in sunset water villa...

eh u really like running from the war leh..so many bags...but hor when u put in a carton box..during check in not weird meh? I never done it b4 leh...how big is ur carton box?