Maldives

kao_sleep.gif

last nite went bridal select photos until almost midnite!

hi wu,

seems like u are the expert in hilton here.
can u explain what's the difference bw
(i) water villa
(ii) superior water villa
(iii) deluxe water villa

do u think it's more ex for me to book thru tour agents in SQ and add extra nites thru them? i checked out Fascinating Holidays, if i take the water villa package which includes 3 nites, and add additional 4 nites, it will work out to be SGD 4798. Including SQ flight, n seaplane and one nite at male.
What do you think?

Hi truffles & pearls
Welcome to this thread...

I bet Wu would say..dun go for the water villa, cos its very old liao...and then he will say can try go for the beach villa then see whether can upgrade o not....correct Wu?

Anyway wat is your budget..

Yo Zhuzhu,truffles&pearls,

KEkekek.....Zhuzhu you're not entirely right lah! I would say that at times, but still it'll depends on budget.
For those with lower budget...kekek... like me, and u and mira who wants to go for more days instead,will definitely recommends the beach villa or even the deluxe beach villa.

Ya... heard ppl complain on forum and even when I'm there, that the water villas are old, any time soon it'll be up for reno. However, the spa water villa are new though, but can't seems to find the rates though.

Difficult to discribe what's the diff, generally with the size, extra stuff like TVs,Bose sound system, better bath-tub(i.e Philippe starks) for deluxe water villa.

See live in the virtual tour urself:-
http://www.hiltonworldresorts.com/resorts/Maldives/index.html

Yo truffles & pearls,

I would say it's more ex to book from local agent on general. In ur mail u say 3 nites, then add additional 4 nites, meaning 7 nites?
Based on ur informations, is the SGD4798 for 1 pax or 2 pax? When is the period U're going?
Kekekeke.....can't seems to work backward on ur SGD4798 leh.
Please give us more info so that we can do the calculation for u?

Yo zhuzhu,

The whole day so busy, now then can rest a while.... U leh, free from jus now onwards ah?
Kekekek......

Ya loh...so quiet now..... where's the rest?

today seems to be a quieter day ...thnk all making their own plans for the weekend
for once not stepping in to do "extra" work on sat so will chill at home and maybe go touch up my hair colour - hvnt do since wedding ie last sept - head got "two tiers" liao lor..haha

enjoy everybody !! star star if u end up at shaslik give your review here ok

zhuzhu - actually shaslik dun hv the new fancy pants look but smell wise qt ok le that day
in fact i was remarking to my husb that the smell is very much like walking into an old fashion hamburger joint - way cool!

hi wu,

u r like the online hilton cus svs. haha
anyway, i came up wif the figures by adding the following:

1. 5D/3N package at S$2758 per pax, which includes 1 nite at male, 3 nites at hilton water villa, seaplane transfer.
2. Extension at S$510/nite per pax.

So if i add 4 nites in a water villa, it will be S$2040 per pax. so total cost for 7Nites in hilton water villa, including all the other listed expenses, it will be S$4798 per pax (only breakfast included)

I checked out the hilton website, the rates for a water villa is quoted at USD485 per nite, wif breakfast. But i work in the other costs like seaplane, SQ flight, it seems more ex for me to book directly with hilton leh.

BTW, travelling in June 06. and budget around $10k for 2pax

Wu
Was abit free lar..shsss cannot be too loud..but its fri mar..so no mood for work..

Bvbride
But i find the portion at shaslik abit small..I had set lunch the other day..was like not full after the meal leh..

Truffles
U haven add in the air tix tax rite?
With the tax, think its almost 10K liao..then u haven incl. the lunch n dinner..what about activities...10k might not be enuff leh

Yo truffles $ pearls,

u got shorter nicks or not....so difficult to type leh....kekekekke...:P

Yes Zhuzhu knows what I'm gonna say, airport tax inclusive? Room svc charge inclusive? Please check with Fascinating Holidays.

Actually not true. For Fascinating Holiday rates, I've calculated that it's ard 6% more ex.
So their rate is SGD9596 for 2 pax.

If book from Hilton:-

Water villa per nite = USD582.50 nett
Thus 7 nights is = USD4077.50
SEaplane ret ard = USD540 nett.
1 night male(breakfast) ard = USD100.
SQ transfer = SGD550++

Based on 1.65 exchange rates, total shld be around
SGD8883. Then add ard SGD226 per pax for SQ tax comes out to be SGD9335.
Fascinating Holidays rates might not have incl the SGD226 per pax.

The SGD510 per night per pax extension is already more ex than quoted by Hilton(USD515++ per nite ~ S$961), based on USD1.65 exch rates.

I think most ppl here would advise u go opt for Hilton's deluxe beach villa package instead. for May~July period, stay 7 nites but pay 6 only. Total cost only S$6.6K. I would reckon that the deluxe beach would be much better value!!
anyway do u know it's 300sqm of living space? In addition to that, I would choose the beach villa's island instead cost everything are new over there, ie. entertainment centre, shopping, main recept, gym, undersea rest etc....

To me the water villa island is a bit to remote, and to walk over to the main island, U'll need to walk across the 500m long bridge.... very sian loh. To us at that time still ok becos we stay at the sunset water villa whereby I can just call my bulter to arrange for transport, either by golf buggy or speedboat. Don't think such service are for those who stay in water villa though!

Jus my thots lah. Make ur money well spent!

Yo truffles $ pearls,

You're right, Hilton quoted USD485++ per nite for the water villa during June period. That's even cheaper than the quote sent out by Hilton to us(in Words format). Thus, booking from Hilton is definitely cheaper than Fascinating Holidays!

Another thing is, Fasc. Hol quote is weird. Their title says 1N Male, but below they put incl 1N Hulhulhe island hotel.
Take note!! -- Male is not equal to Hulhulhe hotel. Male is another island, while Hulhulhe airport hotel is on Hulhulhe island(Very ex hotel, can paid for additional 1N in Hilton, beach villa).

Wu ....sharks manz..shldn't hv said i was slacking .haa..juz after my post yesterdae, i immediately kana more arrows liaoz..darn!!

Haha...&amp; i'm juz back from a seminar 2day &amp; am totally lost in this thread liaoz lorrrr... >.<

Mish ..my tentative bking wif Club Med is from 13-19 May. Hmm.... reviews on club med realli dat bad?
But actuali when i surf net, there seem to b so little said abt club med kani...so i can't realli find anithin useful yet.
As for Hilton, tons &amp; tons of positive comments manz!!!! But sighz...hb can onli take leave in May &amp; if i go hilton, i can onli bk the water villas which are too exp liaoz...sure exceed $4K per pax w/o including food yet!!

The way u guys r raving over Hilton oredi made mi wonder if mebe i shld postphone mi Maldives trip til end of the year..... so i can make earlier bkings &amp; stay @ Hilton's beach villas when they're available... haha
Hmph..shld hv join tis thread earlier!! hahah

Realli hope that the experience i'm gng to hv at Club Med Kani is 101% worth the $$ i'm paying leh!!!! getting alittle worried over the lack of reviews in the internet!! hehe

hehe...zhuzhu...u oso becoming another Maldives expert liaoz...

Yo moonlight,

Kekekek........ Kidding only lah! Hey, TGIF!!!

Clubmed not that bad lah, just as I said to Mish about the pros and cons. Do consider loh. For clubmed, must take their water villa lah, beach villa not valued at all.
ANyway, another good choice is Mirihi Water villa. Pretty nice one, cheaper than HIlton and can also take seaplane!

Anyway, probably becos it's jus open(after being hit by Tsunami), thus not much review?

Aiya, wait till end of the year lah..ard OCT period whereby HIlton got free nites. I might be going during that season?....maybe can book together, that's another S$100 cheaper per pax for SQ flight! 4 to go!

Alamak...beach villa not valued ah? too small &amp; not comfy?
I reserve 3N lagoon suite 3N beach villa leh...coz wana ave $$ >.< **gasp**

Oct...sighz...moi turn not to be able to take leave! boss oredi forewarn..sianz manz...
can onli take leave starting late nov

Its been awhile since I last login. Just to check usually you will book w/o meals? Realised most of the half board around around US50 per pax. Would it cost so much if we eat alcarta?

yo people..

it's weekend..
enjoy!!

bvbride
didn't go there today...maybe tomolo or sunday...:p went to IMM today..:p

zhuzhu
hey enjoy your trip gal..u gonna love it..
hopefully good news from u when back..

Wu
haha.. think zhuzhu can be your stand in consultant when u are too busy to come in liao..;p

anyone went to the Natas fair?

Yo moonlight,

Clubmed beach villa rate not far from it's water villa rates, might as well go for all 6N water villa.

however, that's my perception lah. In the website, it claims to be build at the edge of the beach, which is something good. Floor plan of beach villa look rather decent too, just that for that price, the water villa is more tempting loh.

Then extra nite for clubmed beach villa is ard USD473, although all inclusive, compare to Hilton's beach villa, USD236, that's almost USD237 diff, and for 3 nites it's almost USD700 diff. For that amount hor, if I can control spent USD100 per day on meal in Hilton, I can do private BBQ, do some excursion, still got left over.

this is how I do calculation lah. Aiya, since u book liao, don't think so much lah. Eat as much as u can, play as much as u can, drink as much as u can, then "Wu Hua"!!

Anyway, chosing Maldives can never be wrong lah!

Hi Zenn,

U meant Hilton half board is it? HIlton is USD60+, while ur USD50 might be some other resort is it? Mirihi is it? Kekekeke....

That'll be USD100+ for 2 pax, thus USD110 nett.
Really hv to depends on their menu pricing. For Hilton, (I'm reading my Hitlon receipt right now)there's 1 day where I spent only USD36.85 n USD63.80 for lunch/dinner respectively for 2 pax. That's ard USD100 only, so ur USD110 seems alot leh, only half-B.
Unless U are a big eater, else really no point to go for their half board loh. Another suggestion is go there n see see look look first. If U like the buffet,or when u try ala-carte and still feel hungry, asked for half board or even full board lah. Don't decide now.

In fact, me and my wife normally had 1 main course n 1 finger food for lunch and 1 main course n 1 finger food for dinner, for a day, is actually more than enough liao. that's ard USD100 loh.
Then probably 1 nite go for night fishing(USD35 per pax), the fish we caught will be our dinner(cook 4 us free), stuff like that lah. U can decide when U r there!

Okie.... to long winded liao.... that's all for the example! Kekek...

Yo starstar,

kekeke.......checking my US stocks, surfing on Maldives trip, going into some car forum...as usual, multitask! kekeke...

Anyway, sleeping liao. So tired! Gd-nite, will talk to u again!

Sweet Dreams!

CheerS!

There was a Mastercard promo some time back for Maldives at S$1988/pax for 7 nights...so was it too good to be true? I din book cos I could not confirm my dates due to leave matters...

i'm back!didnt had time yesterday coz i was juz too busy at work. i've had a fantastic day so far. went to changi village with hubby for bkfast then went to walk around the beach to relax. the drive along the planes runway was so nice, seeing so many planes take off. and in the midst of it, hubby and i said to each other that we should really try to go for a nice maldives trip this year

hey Wu,
how come hilton giving free nites in Oct? is that the stay 7 nites, pay 6 nites offer you talking about? i'm just thinkin if mayb oct is a good time to go, then mayb we wil have sufficient to start saving up!kekekkeke....

hey yafang,
i dun think so...it sounds like too good to be true!

haru
wah...both of u rather romantic leh... strolling on the beach..
keke.. me at thome didn't go out..hubby working..coming later in evening...
see how..maybe u going to town for dinner.

zhuzhu
yup yup..think u can be his asst when u come back then..

hey all

glad to knw all are hvg fun this weekend. just coloured my hair (no hilights - too exp)
no more two tiered colour and i think i look less tired now

saw in March issue of female a very very brief article on Club Med Kani - a fewpix and not much write up - itz just an article abt what singles and couples can do while they are there..hmm...
really someone must volunteer to be guinea pig, throw in a few thousand and check out this place for real haha

haru - dun fret just plan and save - your Maldives trip will come true soon

cheers!!!!

hi bvbride,
yup yup! i think so too..should just start looking so that i can click and book as soon as its poss!kekekek....

hey,
anybody now how e weather there in June or Oct? coz hubby can't take leave in july,aug,sep..so that means we are left with June or oct if we wana go during the low season..btw, i can't seem to find e offer of stay 7 nites, pay 6 nites..

Yo Haru,

From Sept 01 ~ OCT 31 only see below.

01 Sep –31 Oct 2006

Beach Villa Stay 7 nights and pay only 5 nights

Deluxe Beach Villa Stay 7 nights and pay only 5 nights

Water Villa Stay 7 nights and pay only 6 nights

This Offer is applicable for Bed &amp; Breakfast only. Bed Tax and Meal supplements apply for free nights. Additional nights are getting charged at normal rates.

Weather shld be not too bad as compare to May~June period lah.

Quick quick! Book! Book!

hi Wu,
thanks for the breakdown.=> wah, sounds like realy a good deal boy...a lil tempted to go already in July!but looking at the offer makes me really gian to go in Oct instead,hahah...where did you see the offer anyway? didn't see it in Hilton's website. ya lor, to me hving nice sunny weather realy impt, if nt get be quite depressing if the weather gets all gloomy..

Hey Wu
Thnx 4 ur reassurance...haha...muz make sure i enjoy mi trip to the fullest fullest fullest manz!!! ^.^

bvbride
haha...tink i'm gng to b THAT guinea pig 2 try Club Med Kani out lorrrr.....
wait for mi review in May!!! hehehe >.<

Yo Haru,

This rates is from Hilton themselves, courtesy email from our Zhuzhu. However, there's some discrepency on the water villa's rates, that's all.

Anyway, still, the price of beach villa for Sept~Oct will still be more ex than during May~July, even though the Free nights offer.

Go book! The longer u think hor....a while later sianz liao.... :P

Yo Moonlight!

Remember to write a full report hor, and also take photos during all stages, i.e Speed boat transfer, Villas, rest, surrounding, everything, for our reference.....

Have fun!! and don't forget abt us, cos alot of the folks went and never return with the report(MIA liao). :P

Anyway, where's Stan, this guys already MIA so long. Maybe in Maldives liao!

Cheer!

Haru
If there is discrepency on the water villa rate, remember to ask Hilton to honour the lowest one..that what happen when I asked them about the deluxe beach villa rate..the price list they send me was lower than the one in the internet..so they said they will honour the lower rate

Hi Wu,

my nick long meh...just called me T&amp;P lor..3 alphabets..

Anyway, thanks for the advises. I'll go think think and see how. maybe i'll consider One &amp; only resorts too.

yo people..

how's the weekend?

wu n all
ask u guys a question... I rem Wu was saying that if we book the travel to Maldives during Natas is not as worth while...so can I say it applies to other countries too? say hawaii or europe? I must agree on the maldives one..but for other countries, I've yet to try it out. :p

Wu
hahahah...U bet! no worries! I'll report back w/o fail wif mi FULL report in May!!! kekeke
Can't wait!!!
Aniwei, todae i juz tried to upgrade mi 3N stay at the deluxe beach villa to lagoon suite but all fully bked. Lagoon suites damn hot leh...
And i wonder y May seems to b the low season coz it seems like 90% of the rooms all fully bk like dat!!! Argh...
But...nvrtheless, i'm starting mi countdown liaoz!!! Woohoo.... heheheh

btw club med got honeymoon special now leh...alot of perks...sighz..but travel muz be done by end Apr...grrr..
Hope i can control &amp; dont go for ani spa/massages when i'm there!!! haaaaa

wow! the thread really active...gotto spend some time catching up..

had been travelling this 1 week+...now in Taipei..very rainy..how i wish for the sun, sea and sand in Maldives

Yo T&amp;P,

O&amp;O..... Good choices. Choose O&amp;O Reethi Rah instead of Kanuhuraaa, as RR is newer.

Other worthy contenders are Taj Exotica and huvafenfushi as well as Soneva Gili. However, choosing these high-end ones would definitely cost more, thus reducing ur number of night stays..... if U got a big budget for this trip, don't worried, just go ahead.... all these are really highly recommended resort!

And also don't forget Hilton spa water villa as well.... worth considering.

Yo starstar,

Er..... I would say for group tour,it will be cheaper if u can have a critical mass loh. more ppl can neg. better pricing. Anyway, don't forget for guided tour, we're the ones paying for the tour guide's expenses.... :P

Yo moonlight,

Now complain no use liao.....kekeke...U already book. Aiya..... jus don't worried and really no regrets lah.... U wouldn't be disappointed for sure. We're all happy for u, and U'll have a wonderful and safe trip! counting down for u now!

hey wu,

indeed One &amp; Only Reethi is on my list and so is taj exotica and havanfushi.
I'll go source around 1st thou.
U think it's always cheaper to book direct with the resorts?

Yo T&amp;P,

Yes, I would say for most of the resorts, a direct booking with them will be cheaper or rather the cheapest u can get. however, do visit the below Agent webiste, whereby I got several quotes which is even cheaper than the resort itself(excluding Hilton lah.)

www.mal-dives.com

Yo T&amp;P,

A quick check on Mal-dive.com web for quote, comparing with Reethi Rah homepage, seems like Mal-dives.com can give a much better rates.

For the Water villas, calculated saving by up to 12%. Still it's around USD1000 per night for the low season.

Note:- Mal-dives.com quotes incl all tax, speedboat.

Check it out.

WOW, I have been reading the posts that you guys posted for the last 15mins. Alot of post.

Moonlight, I also see Wu's comparision make me gian to go Hilton. Hee. But Club Med is water villa. Nice. You go already must tell me okie!! Whether its nice or not.

Wu, I also calculated base on the facscinating holidays. Really more ex by a few hundreds - dependng on exchange rate. The only thing i worry about is the same worry as the last time i said... SQ no more offer... i die! hee. I wanna book all soon and get over and done with the booking leh. Hmm. Can make tentative booking with hilton and changee later or not huh? I scared no more promo for oct...

T &amp; P
for taj, a driect bookin gwif them is cheaper cos I booked thru wif them for Taj Coral reef...
checked out the rates offered for taj exortica.. compared n confirmed is cheaper..

zhuzhu
yup..planning for next trip next year lah.. just wanna a rough gauge so if natas is cheaper for other destinations(just in case Shang in maldives not having any good deals), we plan to book a tour to other places during natas.. :p u excited abt your trip? ;p

Wu
thanks for the info..
I'll research more on it..
hey regards to the venture, must I submit any proposals(formal) to ya? cos me dun know how to write leh..:p

moonlight
wah.. u wanna control on the spas when u r there.. hmmm.. think u should go for once at least.. experience the spa treatments in maldives.. :p feel so relaxed n 'out of the world'..

fan fan
wah.. u travel alot..
work requirements? ;p

starstar,

did u email/call them direct or use their online reservation service? Each time i check for room availability, it seems all the dates i want are fully booked.

are the rates quoted via email cheaper than those stated on their website for all other resorts?

tks everyone...