Maldives

Yo Mira,

That's the way!!!! Chinese saying:- execute first then issue report!!!

In fact for me, I'm the one who psycho my 2 other friends, and the decision was made on the same day, and booked on the same day. However at that time I'm also taking a risk, although the rates is the cheapest all time, my bank was left with only S$4K. And there's news that we'll be receiving mid year bonus, I calculated there might be ard another S$4K, and with that I took a risk and book straight (now think back, I'm quite implusive also. :P). Anyway, I'm broke after that trip. Slowly build-up my saving again.

Yo Haru, bvbride,

YEs....as bvbride said, we wait and save for next year lah...kekekek....anyway time really flies these days. In no time would be CNY again, followed by the Maldives trip. Hurahhhhhh.......

hi bvbride
sent to your e-mail liao
hmmm just my 2 cents, will the price increase next year? it seems to increase yearly (any destination also like tat rite?)

yeah expensive, but i've never really travelled anywhere, even to thailand only once
so it's OK to pamper ourselves this time

Wu,

I just called Hilton Singapore to enqire about the 5n free 2n one. But they say they dont have it leh. sigh. Where did you get the rates? I think I wanna book that one. Sounds like a great deal! I just e-mail hilton maldives to check already. Hopefully they have that deal. OH NO! dont tell me it over! Sobz

hi bvbride,
ya man, but i guess the exchange rates are normally in their favour for the angmohs..whether its in US$ or Euros..

sure,i'm in the aquatics field. =D i enjoy my job coz we dun really get issues like politics,etc as much as in the corporate world. but it can get pretty hectic and crazy too..me not teaching as much now coz i'm in charge of operations (meaning HR,accounts,mkting etc...you name it, i do it.=P)

so you planning to scout around for career switch?? =D

haha Wu,
i like your analogy about how time flies. but its true, can't believe that i've been married for bout 7 months already!! hubby was just talking bout how he missed the time we were on our honeymoon...not so much of miss the place but how we were happily chilling out, sipping our cocktail at the beach!hahahahahhaha....

Yo Mira,

Sad to say, yes, it seems like resort rm rates are increasing yearly.
Thus, have to do calculation in a smart way. Anyway, do u know Hilton got point system which U can exchange for free nites?Cat 6 or 40000 points will get u one nite free at hilton Maldives.
Say if U got only 35000 pts, U can buy points and top up to get 1 nite free.

However, 1USD = 10 pts lah. So USD4000 will get u 40000 pts. :P
TO buy pts, 1 pts is USD$0.01 pts.

Yo Mish,

I did sent u a words documents right? The updated rm rates from HIlton themselves(Zhuzhu asked from Hilton).
Okie, I copy direct from the words docu for ur references. Take note of the date.

06 May – 17 Jul 2006
Deluxe Beach 7 nights and pay only 6 nights

01 Sep –31 Oct 2006
Beach Villa 7 nights and pay only 5 nights
Deluxe Beach 7 nights and pay only 5 nights
Water Villa 7 nights and pay only 6 nights

Yo Haru,

Now go still not too bad....USD quite low. When I'm there, the USD ~ 1 vs 1.7 ah.... Lugi man!

Eh.... what's aquatic? Fishes is it? What company is that? Kekeke..... ka-poh hor! :P

Yeh...U're right. The politics alone and suck u dry. Most of the time spending unecessary energy argue with ppl..... really energy sucking! :P

Remember me? I have been following this thread cos I have not given up my plans to go. Hehe..

I am back cos my hubby has changed his mind and we might just be going to maldives this june! But only for 4 or 5 nights though. Now deciding between a few resorts:

1) Hilton (Highly recommended by Wu)
2) Club Med (All inclusive)
3) Mihiri (Low water villa rates)
4) White Sands (Low water villa rates)

How how??? Anyone got further comments to share? I am also getting whites hairs from this resort hunting thingy! Haha....

Stan, can email me the attachments you have regarding white sands? Email addr is [email protected]. Thanks!

i really love this thread! the more i read, the more i feel like going to maldives
i surfed a few sites..really nice..

Wu, the promotion valid after Oct? I'm planning to go in Nov leh.

Stan, I'd emailed the hotel this morning. Hopefully they will reply me soon.

Office politics is almost everywhere. For me, I just pretend I don't know anything.

I must say..White sands reply is pretty prompt..i just send out an enquiry this morning..and after lunch they reply to me already..

Must say..their water villa really cheap until "Lao Sai" (pardon my language
)...at least for the period of May-Jun which I am looking at..

Hi nelc,

Aiyo....never forgot about U lah..kekekke... DOn't juz follow the thread, do join us in this thread.

1)Set ur budget 1st
2)Decide on ur resort choice, i.e. Hilton only beach villa is affordable. Resort like white sands, cheap water villa rates as compare with other resorts water villa only (Not beach villa)
3)Do u like to try seaplane transfer or speedboat?
4)Go with ur heart. We have so many recommendation for u liao

Kekeke..... for me I love Hilton seaplane transfer lounge, the seaplane arrival pavilion at Hilton....stuff like that. I've seen other resorts equivalent, lousy seaplane transfer lounge, seaplane arrival on floating platform then transfer by speedboat....damn sianx..... Aiya...these are "Ku-chi-ku-rah" thingy but I'm very particular about this now loh!

However beside White sand, there're at least another 5 resort of such water villa prices or even cheaper, U can also take a look at. Below are some choices, incl 5 nights,normal water villa, either seaplane or speedboat quote from www.mal-dives.com

a)Veligandu (USD1902 seaplane trf, FB)
b)Velidhu (USD1450 seaplane trf, FB)
c)Filitheyo (USD2065 seaplane trf, HB)
d)White sand or Ari Beach)(USD2325 seaplane trf, HB)
e)Full moon (USD1881 speed boat, HB)
f)Taj Coral (USD1689 Speed boat, HB)
g)Laguna (USD1985 Speed boat,NA )
h)Angaga (USD1572 Seaplane, HB)
i)Mirihi (USD2322 Seaplane,HB)

Above quote is nett with either seaplane or speed boat. All taxes included.

Yo Fanfan,

Sad to say no offer after oct for HIlton. However, I still must warn all folks here about booking during so called high season. So resort will still take ur booking even they're fully booked.....then last min charge U a higher price or last min cancel ur booking. Do be careful. Thus best is don't go during these period....

Kekeke...join us next year Jul 07 lah or go on Jul 06. :P

Yo Zhuzhu,stan

Angaga and Velidhu even more cheaper......more lao sai!!! :P
Care to take a look as well. Don't know leh, I like Veligandu more leh, out of all the resort I listed above. Maybe it's 1 of the earliest resort I'd plan to go, and probably it's just my 6ht sense?? Hmmmmmm.......

hi Wu,
me also like you,i notice more of the nitty gritty details..i think it says alot about a hotel on how they take care of the little details. I'm in the swimming field lah...kkekeke....

i must say that e promo for sEp/Oct (stay 7 nites, pay 5 nites) quite an attractive offer!i suppose thats right smack in the midst of their monsoon eh?

hi Wu,
me also like you,i notice more of the nitty gritty details..i think it says alot about a hotel on how they take care of the little details. I'm in the swimming field lah...kkekeke....

i must say that e promo for sEp/Oct (stay 7 nites, pay 5 nites) quite an attractive offer!i suppose thats right smack in the midst of their monsoon eh?

Wu, Yeah! I got the reply from hilton already! Yippie! They have the package that you gave me the last time. Really must email directly to maldives hilton. Hmmm Spore hilton doesnt know anything about it! Yeah yeah. Now i can plan for the other things eg: air tix. Hee. But air tix a bit ex. actually my fiance wants the white sand water villa but i still feel hilton is better. hee. Maybe can go there and try to upgrade!!

Maybe natas might have better price for the flights to male. hmm

Yo Haru,

Oh.... I see...hmmmm that means swim-ware stuff like that lah? Kekeke....
Ya....Nitty gritty is the right word...jus cannot think of that thus used the malay translation. :P

Actually it is a good offer for the 7N thingy, however still second to May-July period.... Anyway, those monsoon is not those in Singapore lah...just the change of wind/sea direction lah...kekekek...

Yo Fanfan,

Yes it is consider one of the higher season loh... Anyway those season thingy is based on those european, western countries loh....not based on ours. :P How come... becos weather cold mah, then all ang mo wanna warm warm abit so come to asia loh...kekekeke....

Next year lah? want or not?? Kekeke.....

Yo zhuzhu,

I thot U said Hilton adi, still think of other resort ah???kekekekek......

Velidhu is one of the one brought up by one of the oldies(forgot the name liao)... Really cheap pricing man. hmmm........

Yah lah, got Angaga island. I've also took a photo of it in my album man. That time I jus take, then come back, I search thru all the website and finally identified it as the Angaga resort.
We did land at another resort, the one that those visitor need to jump onto a floating platform then wait for Dhoni transfer to the island.... In fact can tell they a bit pai-say also....so weird..don't even want to drive them to the jetty.

And yes the resort sounds like Aga-aga.....kekekek...our local delicacy. :P

Yo all!!

another happening day here...so active !!! thx mira for fwding the activities - just want to compare the rates between Angsana and Hilton!! think Angsana's activities cost more definately yikes!! i went to Angsana last Nov u see..keeke

haru: planning my career switch asap this year, hate to do the resume sending bit - really really sianzzz....
sounds like u have a wonderful portfolio at work - politics is like a daily affair for me haizzzzzzz......

Wu: work is hectic lor....got targets to meet and stuff aiyoh....Whitesands like quite potential hor...but if the water there not nice i also v sian lor u know what i mean

the thing abt arriving at the resort at night is that it is definately not as exciting as taking the seaplane cos itz pitch dark except for lights coming from distant resorts. the winds can be chilly and u feel like u are being "smuggled" to some unknown place in a very posh ferry HAHAHA!!!

Buuutt...when u wake up the next day - u get this wonderful feeling cos u are surrounded by hotel comfort, sun, clear blue sea and wonderful breakfast buffet :D simply havenly ahhhh....

Wu
Did say i want to book hilton lar..but then if got a cheap n good water villa..y not...

Bvbride
you very funny, say the nite transfer like smuggling humans...u wan to switch to whic industry...

hi bvbride,
well, all the best on your job hunting!most impt to find something you enjoy.=> i really like how u describe the nite of arrival and the next day....sounds so amazing....ah.....*bliss*

Yo bvbride,

I know what u mean...

At least ur speed boat "Smuggling" trip is short one..kekekek..... I remember during my Poly days, a group me and my friends decided to visit one of the Malaysia island call Pulau Aur (now it is famous for diving). during that time, not much speed boat or faster boat goes there and we took a small fishing boat.....total trip is 6 hrs. :P Vomit ah! for the first 1/2 hr, the boat men needs a bamboo to poke the way out into sea....whole trip is from mid-night till next morning. However, it's really unforgetable trip loh.... It's the first time I see so many stars, and lots of shooting stars at that very night as we lie on the deck. We fell asleep not very soon and woke up to find that the whole boat was full of fishes, most of them flying fish.

Kekekeke..... you smuggled thingy reminds of my "smuggling" days back during those time..... really happy times.

Thanks in "helping" me remember one of my such trips..kekekeke.... some of these memories are really sweet loh

Hey, can also sent me a copy of Angsana's prices as well... me kay-po want to compare also.

Hi star,
Found your pix! Thanks!

Hi stan,
Can email me too? [email protected] I received the rate from Whitesand for Jul - $153 per pax per nite + $20 for half board. If thats the case, Hotel Travel seems cheaper.

Hi nelc,
As compared wif the rest which Wu suggested, Mirihi not exactly cheap but my gf stayed there and commented very nice. Good reviews from Tripadviser too!

Hi stan,

Ya I saw and wrote to them. But the rates seem more x dan Hotel travel. Dun ve much pix for water villa leh

me oso aiming @ Whitesands now cos of the Honeymoon water bunglows..but still pending their rates for Nov..

Wu, I hope I can go back again in Jul...heeheee...must see my FH want to go back or not..

hey everyone
now it seems like everyone super switched on eh? just a matter of getting the best deal now...kekekekek..

hahha...i think i'm getting super tempted after hearing bour how the view waking up on the island from bvbride....i think it must be so awesome!!!

Yo Stan,

Looks like you're sticking with white sand liao....Kekekek...
Don't forget to tell us when U've book hor. As we'll need your valuable trip report when u're back.

Yo Fanfan,

Last time me and starstar also looking at the Coco palm. Price is at the high side if I'm not wrong. Their previous website with drawing quite nice but when see the pics, not so nice loh(beach villas). Like surrounded by dense vegetation like that.
Their high end water villa is the one that will cause drooling. They got the glass bottom jacuzzi pool. Can see the sea.
But ex lah!

http://www.cocopalm.com.mv/dhunikolhu/villas-lagoon-palace.htm

yo wu,

still not yet make the final decision. winners will be between Hilton and white sands loh. Hilton is really looks more elegance, but of cos we have to pay more lo.... anyway i think the decision would be made soon la, haha.... else have to go Yun Nan Haircare or Beijing 101 liao.

Yo stan,

Why have to pay more for Hilton leh? Oh...if U compare water villa lah, yes it is.:p
Wha...I wait for ur decision hor, also need to meet U at Yun Nan or Beijing 101 also. Kekekeke...:P

Kidding lah.... U still got time.

this is the quote i got from Coco Palm Dhuni Kolhu. Do tell me whether the prices are a lot more cheaper than Hilton or not:

Accommodation
Beach Villa
US$440 per night based on double occupancy on a Bed and Breakfast basis
The above rate is inclusive of bed tax and service charge

Deluxe Villa
US$528 per night based on double occupancy on a Bed and Breakfast basis

Lagoon Villa
US$869 per night based on double occupancy on a Bed and Breakfast basis

Yo Fanfan,

Hilton beach ~ USD234, BB, plus tax
Hilton deluxe beach ~ USD420, BB, plus tax

Forget about Hilton water villa. quite old liao. Heard that they'll go for reno soon.

Yo Fanfan,
Think ur coco palm rate is till apr.

Hilton ones is from May ~ mid July.

For same period Late Apr ~ late July Coco palm is:-
Beach ~ USD326+USD32(10% tax)
deluxe~ USD386+USD38(10% tax)
Lagoon~ USD686+USD68(10% tax)

hey zhuzhu,
i would love to go in may if poss. but really out of budget to go leh..esp in may..that leaves me with only 3 months to save up!=Z