Maldives

dear wu,

"low season, i.e. Mid May till Mid July" but im afraid my honeymoon will be affected by rain season leh....

Hi Stan,

I'll sent the price list to you on Monday, cos all info are in my workplace database. Okie.

No problem, happy to help out.

In the meantime, check out some resort listed here in the StarAsia travel for guide. Normally price will be quoted higher then self booked!

http://www.starasiatravel.com/eng/s_hotel_frame.cfm

U can also go to the tripadvisor web below to look at different resort's review by customer as well. just search for the resort name in the search column.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/

Check out GSA website also. some might be attractive to you.

http://www.gsa.com.sg/index.php

Have fun!!!

Yo Stan,

Mid May should be Ok lah. Really depends on luck loh. more rain fall during low season. However if unlucky hor,even high season also can ganna rain fall. That's why most ppl would go there for morre days.

My 7 nites stay in Hilton from July 1st onwards, only 1 passing shower during the 2nd day, less than 30mins. Then last day ganna tropical storm from 12pm till departure at around 4pm. horrible storm, never seen in Singapore.

Really loh, depends on luck. hopefully your marriage, those happiest will bring you good weather luck when you're there!

yo wu,

so nice you.... i on behalf of my wife to say thank you to a person who are so nice but never meet before.... ok im going to carry on my "homework" (go to those www u provided to me)liao....

hi Wu and Stan,
wah, looks like we are getting closer to help achieve stan's dream trip! hey stan, i do agree with Wu, do set aside some $$ for additional activities coz maybe when u are here u mite not think of doing it but once u reach there, cannot tahan, see the water only drool then u really wana snorkel,etc...=P in fact i checked out SQ flight is like what Wu said, would come up to about $1500 for 2 pax. i think its the flight that really costs a bomb. Dun mind to pay for hotel but e taxes for the flight is almost insane..sigh..

hey Wu,
i was also a lil tempted by the much cheaper rates of Club Med last nite, but honestly i think bout the much bigger villa at Hilton, cannot forget...hehehehe...and also the much bigger space and i really like the novelty of the bridge connecting 2 islands! well, hopefully tax goes down or perhaps i mite see how and cut down one night and see how much we can save staying 4 nites..

Wu
dun make me like a sa ka queen....

just trying ways n means to get more discount to hilton...Ang Moh normally like those kind of chinese stuff mar...

Actually hor..i suddenly tot of a que...say if we were to stay at hilton..n its by seaplane to the resort...normally we would check out around 12noon rite? but SQ fly at nite only mar..then wat happen to our luggage?? Lug it around Male meh?

Haru
So r u still tempted to go this yr?

Yo Haru,

Really, the flight is the real killer! how I wish go budget air flying to Maldives.

If you calculate properly hor, the room rate is not that ex though, when even comparing with some Malaysia resort such as Bejaya or Laguna. Just that normally locals here always go by per person basis, while in Maldives or places like in Mauritius or even Bora Bora, they go by per nite per Room basis, thus prices seems high.

Last year, when Hilton charges me only USD150++ per night, that's almost the price I pay for when I went to Laguna Redang. Haiz......... how I wish we can just "Teleport" to Maldives at an instant!!

Clubmed can lah, must at least go for the water villa. The so call beach villa or superior really are small leh!

Wha...u must decide fast hor...later airport tax increase again. The oil prices is climbing again due to the situation in Iran, the terrorist threat!

Yo ZhuZhu,

Kekekee....... no implying anything but, it's true that somehow we must get some discount from them after so much free adver for them hor!
Maybe it's time to write them a mail!
kao_babydust.gif

Haiz...... really sian when checking out right?? for me still not too bad. We got late checkout, around 4pm, regardless of that tropical Storm during departure. how we wish they say flight cancel then we stay one more nite at the sunset water villa..... Kekekek.... :p

Well, the seaplane was surprisingly stable even during the storm. We reach Hulhulhe airport(differnt island from Male hor) around 4.30pm. We go straight to 1 and only 1 restaurant there. luggage just place on the floor loh. slowly eat till 8pm++ then shop around the "very Small" airpot till departure.

I think during booking of the hotel, try to ask for late checkout. if cannot, at least ask to depart on the last few seaplane, so that you'll still can have time to Nua around Hilton area(there's really lot and lots of places to Nua).
There's of course other eatery around the airport lah, maybe 1 or 2 more.

If still they arrange early check out and seaplane flight, maybe can register for a submarine tour there at Hulhulhe Airport. I saw a adver there lah, but not sure about their operating timing. After that, really nothing to do loh!

Well, forget about Male city, really nothing much to see there loh!

yo wu,

ya lo, MAS is going to increase their fuel surcharge from USD18 to USD50, more than 200% increase man.... have to act fast liao....

hello all!

Wu - i stil log in to look see everyday cos itz so interesting here. will def post something if ive got the time. itz so exciting seeing someone new here like haru and stan planning an upcoming trip

sianzz dun hv much time to clean house also. working hours getting more intense and got to put in alot of extra hours so by the time itz weekend im totally exhausted man! lau liao si ani kuan la i guess.

will plan to do some last min vacuuming this coming sat! tmr wil be another killer week for moi

Stan! w good planning am sure u wil hv a fantastic honeymooon ! u must go there soon really. what i did was shop lesser and eatless good food to save up for the trip. i know - the wedding + banquet can really burn a HUGGGEEE hole in onez wallet but i was lucky to hv some spare to go to Maldives! the trip was truly unforgetable man. after coming back i didnt even bother to look at places like Phuket, Khrabi and Redang! kekekeke i rather save abit more to go Maldives again! hopefully soon!

hey Wu

btw my fishing was just the dhoni type leh..they charge by the hour so we went for 3hours la cos very gian la want to catch more and more fishes mah. my ah lau is the fishing siao type thatz why. it was so peaceful cos it was just us and the two fishing guides from Banyan Tree ! if some other couple shared w us it might hv been cheaper! but no one wanted to fish that day so we just went ahead lor....expansive but no regrets! dinner was free that night for us

Yo bvbride,

Understand ur feeling..... when busy, really really stress up, especially with those money thingy....... Haizz.....

Today and yesterday, me and my wifey also busy cleaning up the house. Ai..yo.... with my 2 doggies ah, the dirt would weight tons if never claen for 1 week ah. There's some dirt(esp those on the wall, my Doggies saliva ah, make the wall turns black, really had a hard time cleaning, luckily got the super sponge makes easy!)

Really drain-out these 2 days. you better start to clean early hor! kekekek......

Aiyo..... I like fishing also, but USD350 really too much lah! We did that at Hilton also, with a total of 4 couples(incl us.) but only pay USD35 per pax. Ya...really have to depends on the head count lah, but for that price hor, add a bit more can go for sports fishing liao! Those special power baot with "penn" fishing rail, specialise for Marlin, Giant Tuna, sword fish, sharks and other big fishes! If we are really planning for a trip next year, can share share the boat fees. For 4 hrs, cost USD550. I think for 4 or 6 person.

hi zhuzhu,
of coz i still tempted to go this year if poss.am believing for miracle so that we can go for the trip fully paid!dun wana bury ourselves with debt just to go for the trip. =P

hello all!!

haru: think alot of pple believe in the miracle of 4D and Toto! hong bao draw coming up ! kekeke
just a fleeting thought...

Wu arr: i know what u mean but ah lau likes normal fishing only la..he said that sport fishing is no joke one the boat moves all the time - i sure sea sick - cannot cannot !!!

hv a nice day!

Yo bvbride,

Kekekeke........ everybody is eyeing the 4D and Toto. Don't forget about Bigsweep! Next month Bigsweep special price is a trip to Maldives, Maritius or Scychelles.

Actually hor sea-sick is likely to happened on slower boat or slower motion(longer wavelength, i.e even on those big ferry). Speedboat hor, no problem lah! For me, although I'll not have any sea-sick, but will feel more uneasy on slower boat than on faster ones.

If ur hubby likes fishing, Malaysia around Tioman area is a good spot also. I ever organise my company trip to an island hopping trip, from Pulau Permangil to Pulau Aur and lastly at Tioman. Fishing along the way, really lots and lot of snapper, grouper etc.... Saw dolphins along the way too.

You folks can try that place.
. Juz that I've lost the boat owner's phone....else...i might go again! :p

hi bv n wu,

pulau sipadan is another diving heaven.

now i also "invest" on toto, 4d and big sweep. hope it can realise my maldives' LUXURY honeymoon, kekeke....

Yo Stan,

U dive also?? Have u been to Sipadan?

Way to go!!! U never know when will be lucky, but most lucky period is during when one is happy, juz like u, juz hold ur wedding right?

I'll sent u the Hilton info in a minute. Have fun reading them!

Wu

hi wu,

sorry to tell u that i cant dive, not even can swim well.... hahaha.... u must ask for wat wanna go to maldives right?? but the landscape is really attract me so much.....

ya i got ur email liao.... thanks a lot... im gonna read it liao....

Stan
I also can't dive..not a good swimmer myself...but wanna go maldives to relax lor..

Oh..i just buy 4D for this wk..hopefully CNY got some $$$ luck for me..

hi stan,
no worries lah, no need to be swimmer to enjoy the beach. my hubby also can float and swim well, but he LOVES the beach. =P

For the avid diver, the way to go is a liveaboard. It's the most cost-effective way to see the Maldives (underwater anyway). Next best thing is to dive with Soneva Fushi - they've good sites close by and very level-headed dive guides and DMs. For marine enthusiasts, the Banyan Tree has a very good Marine Centre and a full-time crew of 5. They will take you to their ongoing projects and teach you lots of stuff. I got into an enclosure with like 8 black-tipped reef sharks! Very cool.

hi zhuzhu,
I bought toto for tonight.... wish us good luck ya!!

hi chicklet,

wow u hv been in Banyan Tree? U must be very rich oh....

hi chicklet,
omigosh!my biggest "fear" in the sea are sharks. i totally freak out just at the thought of it, even if it is a baby shark.yikes!

wah...busy busy period... busy clearing up my house and also all the CNY goodies shopping... still haven clear the wardrobe...leaving it to tomolo to do it...:p How's the prep for CNY?

wow chicklet..cool...can see sharks...BUT me like haru...terrified of them... that's why have no courage to take up scuba diving leh...:p

stan
no worries one...once u been to Maldives..u'll love it there... it's really a paradise on earth man...
your honeymoon is sure good...

hello Stan!

moving fast arr..bought TOTO already
BESTEST luck to u ok

btw if u want to go for Angsana like moi u can hop on to Banyan Tree as much as u want cos they are "sister" resorts. they hv a ferry travelling thru and fro every two hours very convenient and fast! the ride is only 10mins or so. i didnt go there for any form of diving but went to see the stingray feeding session everyday =) COOL!!!

Hi Zhuzhu,
from the web information, it seems like that is the wet season in Maldives, but I'm just wondering if it's true or whether it will really affect a trip there. Zhuzhu, you heard anything about the weather then?

Yo ZhuZhu,

Toto same as last year, I think it's 10mil!!!
kao_drool.gif

So how much you gonna spent on Toto this mth? Hey don't forget about big sweep also. Special prize is trip to Maldives!!!!

Hi Foong Yee,

The low season AKA wet season is from Mid May till Mid July. Good pt is accom is cheap, bad pt is more rain fall. Thus advisable to go for more days. It's unlikely that it rain everyday lah! :P

Anyway, I've been there last year from 1st July till 8th July, encouter only 1 shower(a while), and tropical storm on the last day!

To conclude, really can save alot of money of go in the low season, can be as much as half the saving!

Wu
Won't spend too much on toto..if its meant to be mine..it is...

Foong Yee
If you are not really into water activites there..i think wet or dry seasons doesn't matter much lar..

Yo ZhuZhu,

You're right... even a 50 cents ticket might win u that 1st prize!
Good luck to all then!

A question to all, what would u do with the 1st prize, say u win $1 million?? Kekekeke... :p
How many days would U spend in Maldives, and which resort??

yo wu,

if me?? haha around the world in 80days!! eh but for in such a short time, around the world in 365days la.... (30days in maldives, kekeke....)

Yo Stan,

So how's your research on Maldives going on? If decide to go hor, must info us leh.....
Happy for you folks mah!.

If have S$1 mil ah, me too... will go for island hopping trip in Maldives! Same 1 month! Kekeke....

Then, I'll slowly dump the rest of the money into stocks, long term investment, and continue to stay in My HDB! Then the yearly/quarterly divedend from stocks will finance my yearly/twice yearly Maldives trip
Hehehehehe.....

Morning all

now everyone discussing on Toto and 4D - think i set the ball rolling huuh..

Wu - Ditto for me - will do the same if i got the bucks man. will spend one mth island hopping at Maldives, besides Hilton will explore all the other exclusive and expansive resorts like Huvafenfushi and Soneva Gili! WHoa!!

after that come back to Spore for short "break" then off to US for major shopping spree! hehehe....

the rest of the $$ just throw into some conservative investment plan and continue stay at my own little HDB place! kekeke..why throw all the $$ into buying a brand new chichi condo somewhere? dun see the point (for myself) kekeke... can save alot in terms of property tax and reno u know kekeke

itz another bz day for me!

cheers!!!!

yo wu,

sure no problem, i will definately inform you guys when the date is confirmed.

as u said, travel during low season will save the $$$$$$$$ up to 50%, so i am planning shd i go on low season.....

hey everyone,
hmm...think like wat Wu said, will spend some on travel. and invest the rest. But i wouldnt mind considering a nice condo for the facilities!hehehe...=P

Yo bvbride!,

Wha..... u got the plan liao wha... if got 1 mil. What if 2 mil? Buying condo?? Kekekke....
"Tahan" for a few days more lah.....holiday coming liao.

Yo Stan,

Waiting for ur good news!

Yo Haru,

Wah.....can tell you really will enjoy life if rich hor! Kekekekekke ...... :P

hi Wu,
well, i will enjoy some of the finer things in life, but also enjoy the simpler things in life lah...hahah...

yo stan
been to Maldives last year march for my honeymoon...enjoyed my one week stay there...
stayed at Taj Coral Reef...
wanted to go back to maldives again 2007 (ya wif Wu n the gang) but hubby dun really feel like going back there yet..he said too short the time since our last trip...:p *cross fingers he'll change his mind*

Yo everyone
so how's the toto? anyone got real lucky?...
didn't buy.. cos I dun really kknow how it play one... what system seven blah blah...(dun laugh leh...really didn't know lor..:p) real sua ku...:p

So fast the CNY coming... here's wishing u all an early wish for the new year... "Gong xi fa cai"...may good health n prosperity revolves ard all of you!!!

hmmm..wif regards if I ever got one million...I'll most prob invest some n save the rest... maybe go on a maldives n Hawaii trip...haha...
also can give some to the poor...
getting a condo seems good idea... buy a condo n rent it out...haha.. extra income!!! :p

yo star,

no need to know how to play toto la. just go to the counter, give 2 dollars and tell the counter "toto 2 dollars" and the ticket back, wait for next day's paper for result. or chk online after 7.00pm lo....

Yo ZhuZhu,

Kekeke........ ya loh, 1 mil seems to be so much hor, can't even figure out how much is that! Imagine changing the 1mil to S$10 dollars notes! :P
Hai..... it's ok lah. Simply life isn't that bad lah... rich folks also got their own problem. Must be abit "Ah Q" thinking sometimes.....Kekekeke... :P

Imagine in our lifetime, we're able to earn more than 1 mil actually.....but sometimes wondering where the money has gone too???? weird?? Haizz......

Yo Starstar,

welcome back. Seems like you're pretty busy eh??
How's everything going on, the CNY prep?

Actually hor, think about it, Alaska Glacier Fly/cruise also not bad leh. Received the brochure from Citibank, so bloody nice the scenary!!...Hmmmmmm..... Even fly once across the Alaska mountains, really breath taking view as well. Okie....next year, either go Maldives which is still the first choice, or Alaska cruise! Kekekee.......

3Cheers!

hiyah last nite 4D never strike ah...

think I must start planning my maldives trip after CNY liao...see how much $$ left after the ang bao giving session

hi Wu,
yea, think it awesome to be able to see the glacier. my hubby dreams to see penguins in the antartica one day...he loves penguins.=P