Maldives

yup yup...Jakarta is really cheap shopping haven...
I was telling my hubby that it seems like a better place to shop than in Bangkok...:p hee hee..told him I wanna be his excess baggage whenever he's going to Jakarta...:p

wif regards to whether it's safe or not...seems pretty fine to me... well..just dun venture into those alot of ang mohs place... the hotel i stayed in is Citputra hotel(4 stars)..beside it is a huge shopping mall... I even went there alone whenever my hubby's is out for training...
noticed that the mall are freqent by the locals there(the rich ones I guess) cos all of them seem rather well dressed. It's called Citputra Mall(6 storeys).. they even have breadtalk, starbucks n coffee bean there...
best of all, ajisen ramen is there too.... the price wise is so much cheaper than here...

The upmarket one is called taman Anggrek... u can find designer labels there n best of all, if u are a fan of Mango... u can get the clothes at a cheaper price due to the currency exchange.

basically it's a great place to shop for stuffs.. frankly speaking, if not for the terrorist threats etc... Jakarta is in fact a better place to shop than in BKK. BUT the traffic in Jakarta is killer... I'm stuck in a jam for more than an hour just to get to a mall which is abt 20 mins away from hotel.

the stuff there is so cheap till I went for facial twice in my four days there n it cost S$25 only for an hour treatment using Japanese products. The spa aroma massage cost S$25 for an hour. Really feel darn pampered...:p

Wu
haha..seems all guys are like that... ;p u very blur leh..that post was written in airport lah..me going off that time...:p

Hey...so the 2007 maldives trip who's still on? Zhuzhu n haru going this year right?

Oh ya..for those who missed A&W...haha..Jakarta has lots of outlets there...:p

hey starstar,
wah, hear u saying it makes me drool.....=P think it was me,i'll also go nuts and all the shopping, sipping tea at the cafes, mani/pedi,etc....

Yo Starstar,

I'm still on for the trip to Maldives 2007. Hopefully the accom rates for most resorts stays reasonable flat!

Haizz..... this year would be a good year to go. As what ZhuZhu said, can try for a jr. Piggy!!! Plus USD is going DOWN!!!!!

How about bvbride? Any plans for next year trip to Maldives?
Not neccessary Hilton lah, if there's any other better value resort comes up, or even cheap water villas, like those in Velidhu island, I really don't mind as well!
Just love the powdery white sands+ crystal clear water!
kao_drool.gif

I wouldn't want to go to "high class" beach resort in Thailand or Bali or Malaysia with the accom price almost same as those in Maldives!

Would you choose Banyan Tree Phuket over some Maldives water villa, same price accom? which would you folks choose??

yo yo same for me ya ..i rather choose lok lok chalet but at maldives..rather than the most ex luxury in phuket, i sure really have great difference...just the atmosphere wise..... been to phuket, find the place quite to my disappointing lor..maybe i stayed in Patong area very commercialised that time...heeee...
I go for Maldives !!!!~~~~

ya Wu is rite...i check up the Velidhu water chalet really cheap and worthwhile, i think most important i look out for when checking is the privacy sun tanning area ') wwwwwaaahaaaaa.~~~

Good morning all!!

Wu : 2007 - keen of coz saving hard arr..Hilton is fine provided i stick to the basic beach villa. agree abt the thailand hiclass vs normal class at Maldives. really cannot compare lor. diff water, diff sand diff everything!

on the other hand not sure if those "cheap" water villa is up to std or not in terms of water, beach etc. personally i like water without corals in them so that i wont get cut la - me very clumsy u know hahaha

Wu u still hv the link for Velidhu island?

Yo Kalbarri,

You're right,after I went Maldives, really can forget about Phuket,bintan krabi etc..... for that price, I would rather go Redang(more value) or it's surrounding island, which are much cheaper. Really over rated resorts/places.

So you've already check directly with Velidhu resort is it? What's the pricing like for this year, Water Villa??

Yo bvbride,

Kekeke..... remember you talk about your corals story. Not much coral reefs around Hilton lah.
Eh... actually those water villas at velidhu looks decent leh, better than most of those near Male.
Aiyo... really hor, the beach villa at Hilton already very good for me lah. I don't mind staying there again.

Here's the link you ask for....and it's time for you to organise these link under your favorites! Kekekeke.....

http://www.johnkeellshotels.com/maldives_resorts/room.php?id=9

Cheers! Have fun!

hi bvbride,
me also dun like corals, esp dead corals..=P

hey zhuzhu,
e reason why i hesitating is coz we havent actually saved up much since our wedding coz of all our commitments.but like what Wu said, wana enjoy our couplehood before we start a family then its even more commitment. well, will see how everyone goes. still keeping our options open to go hilton maldives. the coming CNY and massive red packets distribution is gona be another heavy "expense"!=Z

me still keen on next year... the velidhu resort seems rather good...
dun mind there in fact...
maybe can stay there a few nights then go Hilton...

btw Wu is Hilton far from Velidhu? quite lost wif all the names of the atoll...:p For me, definitely the water villas in Madives lah...pay so much for Banyan Phuket wight as well go Maldives...

haru
?? tot u going Hawaii? so when u going? me also torn bet Hawaii n Maldives... actually not me, it's my hubby... he's not too keen on going back Maldives within such short time span from our last trip...
still trying to convince him... :p

yup yup.. $$ fly away... all the hong baos n stuffs we are buying...well least it's once a year kinda of thing...

hi ya dunno any air ticket will be on sale till june time? i saw MAS fly to male at only $350, that will be a steal but too bad only till mar. wonder any plane having promo for air ticket to Male till June travel ya??? heeeee

oh thanks Wu for the link, been trying to search for it bur cant find~~~~

oh star star also wish go hawaii, i spend abt 10days there, visited almost most beach in hawaii, can say also really nice, furthermore also got shopping, atmosphere v lax... but if u want those "cut off" mood as in maldives and the beauty there, hawaii cant offer that~~~quite a crowd always ~~~ but no doubt it is another great honeymoon place too.

haru,
that why lor...go this yr liao..then i can start my house hunting and parenthood lor..if not, next time where got $$ to bring kids to maldives..

Kalbarri
i think SQ got promo, travel till jun..but must booked by mar.

Yo starstar,

Velidhu then Hilton? Cannot lah....kekekeke.... Velidhu is at the north Ari atolls, while Hilton is South Ari atolls.

So seaplane up, seaplane down = USD500 for the total transfer per pax!

So how?? KEkeke....

Yo Kalbarri,

I think MAS S$350 also not including taxes. Should at least add another S$200 for taxes. Will check later.

Yo Kalbarri,

Check liao. MAS promo till end March(booking + travel) is S$338 excluding taxes. For 2 person return cost S$1100, thus tax is S$212 per pax.

SQ promo booking till end march, travel period till End sept. 4 to go ~ $450 + S$226, 2 to go $550 + $226.

After that date, no info leh.

wo so good!!!!!!!1 thanks WU, but pity leh, until mar only, if it is until june then great! wa...the seaplane so ex? i thought USD$200 is for return ? hahaa... is there another option is airplane go and speedboat back har?? heee.... wished to try different transportation heeeee

hi Wu,
sigh...the flight taxes are sooo expensive. and the seaplane is now $270 per pax!yikes!plus a nites stay at e airport hotel, see stars man.esp all in US$.... =Z but it seems so silly to just stay 3 nites, thats why i'm budgeting based on 5 nites..working it out just now, wil easily come up to $5k excl.makan...piangz...

Yo Kalbarri,

Seaplane should be around USD250 return. Starstar say go Velidhu followed by Hilton, then it's X2 mah. Velidhu is North while Hilton is south.

Speedboat cheaper around USD120, but 2 hours leh!
Can Tahan 2hrs Bounce bounce bounce meh? Dhoni worst, 5 hrs plus! Vomit ah!

I think better save on other things then to save on the seaplane charges. It's really fun to travel on Seaplane, very nice view somemore!

Yo Haru,

Haiz..... ya loh...everything is going up. Transfer, room rates, hopefully not makan. Well for you 5 nites, try to survive 1 day or 2 eating Maggi cup noodles loh. Can save another at least USD100 for 2 days.
Kekekee.... Imagine I survive 1st 3 days, 4 of us, on Maggi cup noodles + chicken sausages. Actually we're abit paiseh, becos those staff would know whether you have eaten at their restaurant or not, cos everything is computerised! But we don't care lah! Kekekeke.... :P

If you can tahan, don't book Male Hotel loh! kekeke... the airport area is 24hrs open mah, but it's difficult lah, after the Flight.

If you going to Hilton, I can at least advise you what things you must do or can simply forget about it, just to save some money for other Valued stuff. Hey... all these money add add together quite a substantial amount leh!

Just my thoughts lah!

Yo Ladies!

Laguna Redang is having a promotion! First 500 ppl, 3D2N garden view cost only RM268 per pax, I think it's full board.

I like this resort becos it is now "sitting" on a beach which I used to like it very much. that's a couple of years ago B4 the resort was build. It used to be almost powdery white as well...kekekek like Maldives. Now slightly worse only lah. The Famous Pasir Panjang beach I think!

It's a rather "value for money" resort (At this price lah) in Redang as well.
If you folks are free and got no other planning, can give it a try! Take Air Asia to/fro during weekends, shouldn't cost that much. In order to cater for cheap airfares(transit),most likely have to stay 1 night in KL,can shop for half a day in KL also!

Link below!

http://www.lagunaredang.com.my/Promotion-EBSS2006.htm

Cheers! Have fun!

Yo Haru,

Kekekeke...... ya loh... then you'll book Maldives trip from Redang, then fly straight there!

At this price hor, Redang Laguna is really worth a visit lah.
I'm looking at my schedule, maybe might go for a short one, a short Dive trip perhaps!

Brother and sister, I am planning to Maldives during feb or march. I have been doing some homework for Club Med Kani, $1485 5D/3N via SQ. Can anybody gimme more opinion where I suppose to have my first ever honeymoon leh???

Thank you ya......

Hi Stan lim
have u asked club med are the rooms available? cos I think i asked their water villas for march, they say not available liao..

Need more info, ask our expert Mr. Wu here..

hi stan lin,
first of all,great choice on the maldives! nt to worry, Wu will be able to provide u with lotsa info.=D

oh, really?? thanks in advance ya Mr. Wu

Hi, zhu zhu. according to the email i get from club med spore, they said:"The first available date for reservation of the Lagoon Suites is in May 06". But from the resource i gathered from the internet, the best travel period to Maldives is between Dec - April. I just cant wait till may liao..... heehee....

anyway thks for ur info as well haru....

Yo Zhuzhu, Haru,

You gals really make me so pai-say....
...kekeke...

Let's help Stan together lah... make sure they'll have the best value!

Hi Stan,

Firstly, congrats on your marriage!!

Maybe u can share with us your budget loh. Then folks here can really do the sum, and give you the best value resort!

With ur budget, we'll see whether a beach or water villa can fit in.
Then hor, if you got heathly budget..... hor hor hor.... there's the ultimate resort in Maldives called the Huvafenfushi!!!

ok? Cheers!

Wu,

You are a bad guy.... after finished enjoying your pix album, i really cant tahan anymore liao la!!! I can smell the sea.... i can feel that the ocean is inviting me.....

Fisrt, my budget was appx $3000, but after visited ur album, i think might kena increase to $3500 - $4000 liao.... im going to broke liao.... but for wonderful memory, i will pay for it la.... now pls gimme some advise, Mr. Pro Maldives Advisor.... :D

Huvafenfushi?? I went to the web site, really is "ultimate" oh. maybe later i go to UOB to rob the $$$$$, only then i can settle the bill there. haha...

hey Wu,
we should try to get know to some hilton staff, preferably the top mgt..then get them to come to this thread...let them know we (esp u) had been promoting hilton...see can get some discount o not..

hi stan lim,
that's the spirit! me also only budgeted like $4K for my trip, but after including all the misc expenses, i think i may hv either put it on hold or go for fewer nites.

hi zhuzhu,
great suggestion there~!!!hehehe..maybe we should send e link of our thread to them!muahahahaha....

hi haru,

so how many nights u r planning to be there?? is this the fisrt time u visit to maldives? sounds like your fav is hilton oh....

hi stan lim,
well, i was planning on 5 nites (+ 1 nite in Male) but the airport tax,seaplane charges plus the hotel stay in Male is really adding on to the already high cost. i've never been there but looking at the resorts websites, i think hilton is more value for money. and i stayed at hilton mauritius for HM, and i really enjoyed it. i've also been to hilton adelaide long time ago, liked it too. so no complaints on hilton so far!

Hi Stan,

Hahahaha...... agree, I'm very bad, but hey, I want to share with all that it's not neccessary to spent a huge sum on some fancy fancy resort in Asia, I would really rather spent on Maldives.

We're really paying the money for the white powdery beach, and clear blue water. You might get similar fancy accom in phuket or Bintan, but not such kind of beach+water.

You also don't have to pay like USD1000 per night on Soneva gili or Huvafenfushi, with Hilton beach villa, you'll enjoy too, at just USD200++! But off course if you can afford, They really are fabulous.

Sorry, I'll have to ask you another question, just one last one. Have you even been to a beach resort? Max how many days? What are the things you did at the beach resort? (Do you Dive, snorkel or NUA???) Kekekekke....

Anyway, My rough calculation for you to stay in Hilton beach villa, 5 nites,+1 nite Male, all inclusive(eat and play comfortably) is around S$6K based on USD1 ~ S$1.65, during Mid May till Mid July period.

FOr this amount, includes:-

SQ return fares for 2.
1 nite accom at Male.
Seaplane transfer return for 2
5 nites accom in Hilton Beach Villa(BB).
USD100 daily for makan
USD500 for other stuff, i.e. special cruises, trips, fine dining, some exotic excursion etc....

I would advise u to go for more days, at least 5 nites lah, since the air ticket will already stands around S$1552 for 2, thats around 30% of the total cost.

If your budget will stands at S$4K, we'll then help u come out with another formula loh, i.e other resorts near Male, or other resort with Full-board like Clubmed Kani etc...
Why we recommend Hilton is becos of the value cos, it's difficult to find a beach villas so big and at only USD200 per nite.

Honeymoon leh.... try to spend more lah, Your the other one will love you till death ah!!!
kao_kiss2.gif

Yo ZhuZhu, Haru,

I have the GM name who is heading Hilton Maldives. Wanna to sent him an email?
Kekekekekke......

Hi Wu,

So jealous+envy at u leh.... so ur wife will definately love u after 2 or even more generation la, haha....
$6k is not a small sum to me brother, i really cant effort of it la.
so for my situation, i think club med is best suit to my budget liao lo.... somemore hilton hav to pay usd100 on meals, while club med 1 price include all things liao.... haha no money no talk.... maybe gimme another few yrs i can visit there again.
so appreciate ur advise wu!!!

hi Wu,
hmm....maybe we can say that we can avid supporters of hilton...hehehehheh...can give special deals or not,hahahahah!!!

hi stan,
so now u noe why i'm taking more time to consider my trip. but if i can afford now, i'm def booking it NOW!=P

hi stan,
well,i've never been there. but of coz given a choice i'll go for hilton coz its a villa and not just a unit part of bungalow.and the land area is so big (from what i see from Wu's pix) and the place just feels more luxurious.=P i just went to ClubMed website, price really alot of diff. if that was hilton rates, i already book liao...hahahah..

Hello hello all esp mr stan lim our new addition!!! u hv come to the right place!!!

the bv is back la - was sooo bogged down by work

as for myself - i spent only 3nights at Angsana Ihuru. we paid like $3500 for the both of us for the deluxe beach villa w attached jacuzzi
one more night wld be excellent cos Angsana is really really small. can finish roaming in about an hour. kekeke but hubby and i got the best time of our lives!!!!

the bulk of our expenses went intoo fishing and dining. Buffet BBQ dinner is about US65
each but if u want to order the small stuff like hamburger (yummy!!) or pasta itz abt US20!

Drinks just drink mineral water provided in the villa la cos one coke is like US12!!!

the fishing nearly killed us cos we paid about US350 but we had so much fun !!!!it was great spending 3 hours out in the sea in you own dhoni. the waters are just so beautiful clean and clear and blueeeeeeeeeee!!!
dinner that night was free cos we ate the big grouper we caught hahaha :D

Haru and Stan: good luck with your search

CHeers!!!!

Hi bv,

i searched lots of forum on the internet and finally i found 1 which i feel very comfortable to me, and that forum is what i am using now! so glad to join u guys....

just visited to Angsana, it gives me another choices....

Yo Stan,

Hey..... don't misunderstand. The USD100 "meal" is based on a really luxurious meal, i.e each person 1 course lah...some wine lah...this and that.

For my case, normally, spent less than USD50 per day. The meals portion is rather big, so at times I share with my wife. Then Sometimes skip lunch becos the breakfast is really sumptous! It's able to "Tahan" until afternoon whereby free teabreak will be serve. So with my "formula" you can at least safe another USD250. If you can like me hor, first 3days eat Maggi mee, than can save more! Kekekek....

If you can find "KaKi" to go along with you folks, like Haru or ZhuZhun, who are also planning for this year trip, you'll able to cut another S$200 (S$100 per pax) for SQ.

I also added USD500 in the S$6K for you to spent on other stuff like excursion etc...
If you can say, die die your budget is S$4k hor, I can sent you the price list for excursion, activities, special dinings etc..... Then at home you can do the calculation yourself which excursion you'll go and which you'll not, or reduce the nites stay, stuff like that! If you follow strictly to your planning, then you'll not exceed your budget. Kekekeke....but who never exceed budget when go maldives....sure exceed one. I also exceeded by S$4K for the 7+1 nites stay there!

Clubmed beach villa is really not a value one loh...small. Unless you're saying the superior ones, like chalet like that. Anyway, Clubmed pricing only for 3 nites(your stated price lah), then actually effectively you stay only full 2 nites, becos 1st day you'll check in around 11pm~12am!

The fix spending is as follow:-
Hilton Beach Villa per nite:- USD236 nett!
Seaplane transfer(return):- USD250 nett per pax!
Male 1 nite stay:- USD75 ~ USD100 nett
SQ return(SGP-MALE) per pax return:- S$776 nett (2 to go, 4 to go cheaper by S$100 per pax)

You'll just have to add-in other for meals etc...

Think about it okie!

Yo bvbride,

You're really really busy leh! Used to comes in almost everyday leh you???

The fishing you went is it sport fishing or just normal fishing???? If it's dhoni fishing, USD350 is very ex leh! Or is it that you go for several trips for a couple of days???? Kekekeke.... Fisherman ah!

Wu,
I know liao... CNY is coming mar...so we sent the GM an e-card lar...then attached the link as well....how??? good idea hor...

Yo ZhuZhu,

Hmmm......good idea but....that GM is AngMo loh! Abit weird right?

however, still a good idea! We can sent him during Good Friday lah or other AngMo Holiday lah!!

Wha, you really know how to please a person hor! kekekekeke.........

Or we should sent him a real card! Probably add more touch to it. Yesterday during shopping, I saw a gigantic greeting card, roughly A3 size, then we all signed on it and sent to him and his team? kekeke....

yo wu,

i have a few question, as below:

1. can i skip the 1 night in male? (straight go to hilton? cut cost plus can't wait liao)

2. MAS is selling at $350 return, per pax :-http://www.airfares.com.sg/airfares/mh/7_at_mh_mle.htm (any comment on this?)

3. wow the seaplane will cost me USD500, my air ticket is more cheaper than it leh....

if above-mentioned can be settle then it becomes POSSIBLE to me liao, see....

4 nites @ Hilton = USD 944 (SGD 1576.50)
MAS Return = SGD 350 * 2 (SGD 700)
Seaplane return = USD 500 (SGD 835)
Plus $ for makan ~ USD 50 / day * 4 = USD 200 (SGD 334)
Total = SGD 3445.50

USD base on 1.67 exchange rate

Yo Stan,

Good morning! Ok here it goes!

Do remember, for the rates, we're taking low season, i.e. Mid May till Mid July. Other dates, the price can be exponential!

1)For Hilton or those resort far away from Male, usually ppl take Seaplane(20mins) or seaboat(2hrs). Seaplane don't fly at nite thus the stay in Male/or Hulhulhe airport is a must, Or you can just stay awake at the Airport, waiting for seaplane transfer in the morning. But a bit tiring lah after the SQ flight reach Hulhulhe airport ard 10pm. Transfer normally done around 9am.

2)MAS is selling S$338 per pax but not including tax. Tax+ other surcharge is S$212. thus for 2 pax, total is S$1100 But the trip must be completed B4 march. For march period, Hilton or other resort accom prices is much higher. I.e Hilton Beach villa will cost USD190++ more!

3.Kekeke..... but I think USD500(for 2 person return) is worth it. Becos u fly so low, the view is really breath-taking! It's really a very good experience. Alternatively, u can opt for speedboat. 2hrs leh! (To fro Redang only take 45mins) I think it's cost around USD120 per pax also. Or u can mix and match, 1 way by seaplane, 1 way by seaboat? Hilton can arrange that!

Your USD50 makan is a bit little, can eat finger food + burger sets lah. But for me and my wife, actually good enough loh. Trick is breakfast eat full full. Wait for 5pm free teabreak, actually also can eat very full, cos lots of nice pastry + biscuit + expensive brand tea etc...

But are you planning to have other activities such as sea-sports, snorkelling, sun-set cruises etc????
Do U think U can stretch a bit more on your budget? If really cannot hor, then we see whether there's some other valued resorts as well. Ok

You have a email acc? I'll sent you more info, price list for your reference. ok?
Don't worry, we're almost there!